VIDEO: Which child seats to buy, and how to install

Last week, we kicked off our three-part public safety video series – created in collaboration with Proton – on child safety seats, looking at why these items are one of the most important things to get for your car. Today, we’ll tell you how to choose the right seat for your child, as well as how to install them properly.

Yesterday’s tragic accident on the North-South Expressway – in which a three-month-old baby was killed – highlights the dangers of improper child seat installation. Although a seat was found at the scene of the accident, it was thrown out of the car, and was not initially noticed by a passerby who was lending help.

Before we get to installing the seat, however, you need to be aware of the kind of seat to purchase, depending on the height and weight of your child. It should also be noted if your car comes with just seat belts, or dedicated ISOFIX child seat anchors that make installation much easier, with a lower margin of error – although an ISOFIX seat is more expensive than one that is only designed to be secured with a seat belt.

Then there’s the matter of actually fitting the seat securely into place. Although the methods can vary significantly from seat to seat (always closely follow the instruction manual), there are a few universal tips.

Firstly, make sure that the child is seated in a rear-facing position for as long as possible. Only when the child reaches the maximum weight limit of the seat should they move to a forward-facing seat, as this gives them the best possible protection in most accidents.

VIDEO: Which child seats to buy, and how to install

The seat itself needs to be secured properly – using a seat belt, make sure that the belt is pulled as tightly as possible to ensure a snug fit, while users of ISOFIX seats need to ensure that the installation markers are green, indicating that all connections are properly fitted. Lastly, secure your child using the safety harness, remembering to tighten the harness to keep them safely in the seat.

The most common mistakes made while using child safety seats include:

• Child seat installed incorrectly or too loose – very common.
  • Inappropriate car seat for the child’s height and weight, i.e. three-year-old in an infant carrier, or in a booster seat.
  • Child seat installed, but child not buckled in or very loosely harnessed – either because child complained it’s too tight, or child unbuckled themselves.
  • Child harnessed, but seat not installed – parents thinking as long as the child is buckled in, they’re safe.
  • Incorrect harness slot used – certain seats require harness slot changes as the child grows.
  • Using damaged or expired car seats.

Remember to tick the above checklist before setting off, even for short journeys. Make sure both the child seat and the child are properly harnessed. The video above shows you what to look out for, and how it’s done. Let’s make it a habit, and share the video to raise awareness on proper child safety seat installation. If you missed it, you can also watch the video below to find out why child seats are important.

Proton is now offering a child safety seat worth RM1,000 at just RM299, with every purchase of a new Proton. The promotion is subject to stock availability and other terms and conditions.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 29, 2017 at 6:44 pm

Thank you Paul Tan and team for making the effot to do this. We are grateful to you and your team for doing so much to ensure car seats are compulsorily used.

We remember 2 years ago, with your own hard earned money, Paul Tan sponsored many car seats to be given rent free to the public.

This is what you call responsible corporate social responsibility.

The car companies? What do they do? Besides charging the highest car prices in the world and making big fat untung from the Malaysian public, hardly do anything like this to promote child safety seats.

BMW did try but it was a ploy to sell their RM3000 car seats. Come on BMW Malaysia aka Sime Darby aka gomen GLC owned, don’t you think RM3000 car seats are a bit pricey? Even for rich BMW owners, RM3000 for car seat is melampau.

Since most car companies are gomen owned in Malaysia, I hope the Gomen instruct their GLC based car companies to do what Paul Tan is doing. Educate the public, subsidise car seats and promote it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 25
    • Hmm… must be stuck in cave jam when P1 did their baby seat promo, huh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 48
      • Wahab on May 29, 2017 at 11:12 pm

P1 the only car company in Malaysia? Bodoh tolong simpan bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • If even P1 can do it, then…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • Simpan je lah child seat Proton. Gunakan sendiri. Dah tua mintak lagi duit.

• Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 11:40 am

Proton 8S lifestyle:
            1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Selalu Sales
            5. Sapu all saving for repair
            6. Safer models no one buy
            7. Sold to China Chinese
            8. Siapapun tak nak beli

• Boss Baby on May 29, 2017 at 11:23 pm

This fella never gets bored with P1. Always doing promo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
      • Nasser on May 30, 2017 at 9:20 am

john, you got nothing nice to say, just shut up. Pakai otak sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on May 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm

n P1 though…i know u hate P1 at least mention them oso since this is Paultan-Proton collaboration.

• Basher choose to cheery pick the facts he like and ignore those he dun like. To fill in the gap, he uses “cave facts”

• weldan on May 30, 2017 at 3:16 pm

superb job paultan’s team….we need to create awareness among Msian the importance of child seat….kudos