Proton offering child car seat worth RM1k for RM299

Proton has announced that customers will be able to buy a child car seat worth RM1,000 for just RM299 with the purchase of any Proton model. You can only buy the seat separately for RM599.

The seats offered here are compliant with ECE R 44 European safety standards, and has a weight limit of up to 18 kg. The seat supports Isofix and seatbelt installations, plus both rear- and forward-facing configurations. There’s also a support leg for better stability.

Customers will also be able to enjoy a RM500 festive bonus along with an additional RM1,000 loyalty bonus when they purchase a new Proton model. This is in addition to a five-year free service package worth RM4,100. The promotion is subject to stock availability and other terms and conditions.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Existing Proton Car Owener on May 02, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Hello! How about existing Proton car owener? Any discount for us?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • Kutuk kunte on May 02, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Whatever p1 do, will kena bash by basher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 8
      • Koh Chong Lau on May 03, 2017 at 9:14 am

How this will work when majority of Proton buyers got 6 kids and they believe in dukong their children on their laps?

I have seen cars with car seats installed also but people still dukong their baby on their lap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 23
        • Hamid on May 03, 2017 at 9:57 am

This is a fact. Cannot agree more.

Better for Proton to teach its buyers about Family Planning. Lower income but yet get 6 kids.

Or Proton should give 6 car seats at this offer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
          • Kutuk kunte on May 03, 2017 at 11:03 am

See.. Told ya.

• Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 03, 2017 at 11:06 am

Instead of selling car seat at 70% off, better for Proton to sell all their cars at 70% off.

Like Perdana, Rm110k, just sell at RM40k. Do a lelong sales. Sure can sell.

Kunta also told me if RM40k Perdana, he also confirm will buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
          • But he told me he only afford 2nd hand EX5 wor…

• rally_fan (Member) on May 03, 2017 at 1:47 pm

joke of the century..? asking a car company to teach family planning?

• Why not buy a P1 now to find out?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Savage Cot on May 03, 2017 at 12:20 am

Can i just walk in buy child seat only? I don’t want to buy the car coz i know it lousy.P1 don’t manufacture that seat so i just want to buy that for my boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 52
      • At least P1 give something more important then dumb bodykits. That is a good inisiative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • jibby2.60 on May 03, 2017 at 8:10 am

talk like someone driving conti car, but asking to buy discounted child car seat. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Noodle Not Supremacy.Go back Noodle Mainland on May 03, 2017 at 3:44 pm

He’s not dumb.What if he walk in to buy quality child seat at discounted price.Then sell it at double the price,yet still cheaper than actual market price..He walk in repeatedly into hundreds of p1 showroom asking to buy that seat.Make a business of it.How smart is he? From that he is taking advantage of possible cash.Oh people like you so naive!..Always degrading people intention.No wonder you just drive a myvi? Of course you have to buy p1 car to entitle 1 seat..silly

• Aikon on May 03, 2017 at 9:56 am

Nope…you have to buy the car to get the child seat

• mr1031 on May 04, 2017 at 1:41 pm

than buy at normal shop la BODOH

• Andrekua on May 02, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Oh man… at least they let you kept one of your children alive.

I thought they were going to equip their cars with more airbags since it was designed for 5 or more passengers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 51
  • Aero (Member) on May 02, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Dua tangan thumbs up for this initiative ! All car companies should consider offering a child seat package, especially for their MPV models.

I think the high cost of ISOFIX child seats are one of the main reasons why so few people use it. Even if it’s made mandatory by law, the problem might still persist.

It is the middle and low income Malaysian families with three or four children who will benefit most from cheaper child seats. Most upper class families can easily afford it (if you can spend RM200k on a Mercedes, then a RM1k seat is hardly an issue). High income families also tend to have fewer children on average.

A 5-star NCAP car only works if you wear your seatbelts and use proper ISOFIX child seats.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 5
  • jinggo on May 02, 2017 at 8:44 pm

So, perodua.. whats ur plan? Any counter offer?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
    • My sales grapevine tells me: child-frenly BODYKITS & cute “facelift” paint scheme! Sure will sell more than safety oriented P1s.

• Voiddance on May 02, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Told you this wil work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Good effort! A better idea would be, make this a standard offering to all future Proton owner, not just a limited time offer. It is whole lot better than giving free tinted, payung, etc. (People will most surely get a better tint at 3rd party shop anyway)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 8:51 am

Agree with U. It should be mandatory. Free tinting & payung does NOT save child but child seat DO.

• Not all new car buyers r famili person with small kids

• Aikon on May 03, 2017 at 10:44 am

A few things to note:

1) It is not free so you can opt no to buy it
        2) You can buy it with your car purchase and sell the child seat off tho those who need it OR
        3) You may give it as a gift to a family member of friend who may have need of it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • samad on May 03, 2017 at 3:05 am

Don’t waste your time.
    i see parents carrying their kid while sitting in the front seat. Some even while driving.??!!
    Unless JPJ makes it compulsory & a law ,no one will give a damn about having a child car seat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • gunblade on May 03, 2017 at 8:11 am

It’s not about the law or other people thinking. It’s about you yourself. If you are willing to risk your child head bump into the front mirror, you can ignore all this. For those who know the importance of SAFETY will take this offer seriously.

• Dun mind the parents nowadays. They have outsourced parenting (& therefore responsibility to their children) to others. So if their kids come out rotten ini mesti salah pengasuh, guru, skolah, Gov, tadika, ibubapak, maids, tuisyen centers, education system, other pipu, random pipu, but never theirs.

• kamarus on May 03, 2017 at 8:13 am

Semua 4 org anak saya pakai carseat dari lahir. . Anak saya yg 9 tahun masih pakai booster. Tak perlu undang2. cuma kesedaran. sekurang2nya proton cuba menggalakkan ibubapa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 9:00 am

Maybe bcos the car was NOT equipped with Child Car Seat or the parent perceived that their hands are safer. Laziness do play a part too.
      All in all, its all in their mind. People do not care Until they loose/lost one of their love one. By then, it is too late. Compulsory is your key word.

• 4G63T DSM on May 03, 2017 at 7:58 am

I do applaud the move.

But it seems proton might have gotten some duties exemption. Imported child seats are still taxed 30% import duty and GST on top of that. I for one do not think proton is such an altruistic entity.

The bigger finger should point to kastam on why they insist on taxing safety gear for the rest of us. As a big proponent of child automotive safety, this is a major failing on the government’s part.

For that reason i buy my seats from USA and bring them on the flight back for free. Airlines allow you to fly them in free, and there is no local tax on personal items (but yes, you do need to travel with a toddler)

• namaste on Aug 30, 2017 at 6:59 pm

agreed.. i bought my children strollers and graco car seats at toys r us shop in houston….can bring it on airplane at no extra charge. they are damn cheap there…unlike here in msia… the custom take some.. then the shop also mark up a huge sum.. end up the user have to pay premium for these necessities

• azrai on May 03, 2017 at 8:41 am

Now they know what to sell after Proton Cars close down. New business plan DRB-HICOM. Make it mandatory, and all sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • sohai on May 03, 2017 at 9:38 am

don’t laugh… even at a discounted price, this car seat might have a better profit margin than the car itself.
    it might just be the product that will bring Proton out of the red…

• pengguna proton kecewa on May 03, 2017 at 10:43 am

As long it is Proton there surely be reliability and quality issue…better buy from Manjaku or any specialty store outside…this proton baby seat sure have problem one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 30
  • jerung on May 03, 2017 at 11:04 am

Recently they offered 5-year warranty plus all-in service, and now they are throwing in this child-seat promotion. Credit should be given when its due, so kudos Proton.

All these efforts are meant to raise the dwindling sales. I’ve owned three Protons over the years, and as the saying goes, once bitten, twice shy. Even if given a Proton to me for free, I’d probably sell it off and buy another car.

So the big question is, what would Proton have to do to convince people who’ve had bad (or nasty) experience with owning Proton cars before to change their perception? Child-seat promotion doesn’t do it. 5 years all-in service…maybe, but what’s the point if the car keeps going to the workshop? Proton was never known to represent good quality.

Crisis of confidence – that’s the whole problem, and the one possible solution is simply to have Proton being taken over (bought over). If Proton was taken over by Peugeot, VW, Toyota, Honda… I think most people might give Proton their 4th or 5th chance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on May 03, 2017 at 2:03 pm

Change ownership, change management and change powertrain.

Get these 3 right, they’ll get the break they needed.

Plonk in Toyota powertrain, instant hit like Perodua. Jimat minyak, cheap service cost, tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, people will beli je.

• Better yet. Plonk in the jepunis into EU design. With new CRV, who needs XC90 at ridiculous prices, eh?

• tokmoh. on May 03, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Smart people buy ori World’s Safest Car, instead of copycat jepunis tin milo.

• mr1031 on May 04, 2017 at 1:47 pm

buy world’s safest car but with malaysian drivers and passengers on board who never wears seat belt also mampos when accident

• sohai on May 03, 2017 at 7:46 pm

not everything broken can be fixed…
      proton has reached a point of no return.
      they had the support of rakyat and they screw it big time. you know how lansi they were along with the proton salesman back in the 90s?!
      you get what you sow, and is only fair. I only hope the rakyat don’t have to pay more for their mistake.

change ownership change management change power train? is it still proton we are talking about in the end? you just proof my point. there is nothing about proton except the manufacturing plant.

• tokmoh. on May 04, 2017 at 10:08 am

Not if for the first time ever, Proton functions as a business rather than political cash cow for cronies to milk.

Volvo was effectively bankrupt and feels irrelevant at the time they got sold to Geely. What a difference today, breaking sales record and profit for 3 years in a row, going into 4th.

Geely was still like any other China car before Volvo takeover. Today, they make cars way better than Proton.

Geely only needs managerial control of Proton, and mark my words : if they do, they’ll be on to something big.

Lynk & co > all
        Geely > all
        Volvo > all

• Not Toyota Fan on May 04, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Proton held the rakyat to ransom back in the 90s & for more than a decade after too. There really was no choice & no alternative. Want an alternative to Saga or Wira for around that price range? Sorry, go buy Proton. Imagine the Wira Aeroback 1.6 only had 2 colours choice, dark green & red. And it sold like hot cakes. Salesman were arrogant, taking undertable money to expedite delivery. These Saga & Wira rebadge Mitsubishi also had numerous QC problems. Service Centres were “tidak apa”, giving replies like “Proton macam tu punye, Abang”. Nothing gets rectified, they just do simple oil change. Proton was lucky that it was Japanese technology. With such poor product QC & servicing quality, do you really expect the rakyat to continue supporting and be made a fool of again & again. We were forced to buy Proton 25 years ago and after that bad experiences, we no longer wish to buy Proton. Proton never treated us like VALUED customers, nor were given the due RESPECT. We were just suckers that they can cheat again & again, with impunity & not a single remorse or regret. We shed no tears for Proton predicament today.

• tishaban on May 03, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Insurance companies should be giving out carseats for free to anyone buying insurance. Why? Because a child in a carseat will be less likely to suffer serious injury in a car crash, saving the insurance companies money in the long run.

But then again knowing enterprising Malaysians they’ll sell the carseats and put their kids unbuckled in the cars anyway…

• Sohai on May 03, 2017 at 8:55 pm

How about this, if you don’t have a car seat, the insurance company will charge you more premium, and if you get injured without wearing a seat belt, they won’t pay your claim.
      So, since you know Malaysian that well, you think it will be more effective this way?

• Mr so so on Jun 23, 2017 at 5:36 am

My sis is working with proton, and no surprise out of 10 only 1 will actually take this offer. They still say 299 is expensive and yet they have no issue buying new phone…