VIDEO: Why child safety seats are so important

Let’s face it – accidents happen. And just as we would like to give our children only the best, surely we would want them to have the best protection in the event of a crash, wouldn’t we? On the evidence of the number of children being killed on our roads, however, this reasoning seems to have fallen on deaf ears – particularly when you see that kids are still being left to run around unsecured in cars while on the move.

As such, we are kicking off a three-part video series on child safety seats, created in collaboration with Proton. We’ll be looking at why child seats are one of the most important items you can buy for your car, which one is the most suitable for your child and how to correctly install them in your vehicle. This video takes a deeper look into the first question.

It all boils down to basic facts. It doesn’t matter how cautiously you drive or how hard you try to avoid an accident; in no way, shape or form does that stop other road users from crashing into you. And a child’s shorter height and less developed body mean that a regular seat belt – designed specifically for adults, lest you forget – is incapable of adequately protecting them in a collision.

Please share for public information

Posted by Richardt Piek on Sunday, 14 December 2014

Neither are your arms, in case you were wondering – in a 50 km/h crash, an unsecured infant weighing 7 kg will be thrown forward at a force equivalent to an adult falling from a five-storey building, according to the Automotive Association of Malaysia (AAM). That’s where a child seat comes in, with a hard shell and a special safety harness to keep the little ones away from the brunt of the crash.

Watch these videos to learn more, and share them so that more people will be aware of the importance of child safety seats.

Proton is now offering a child safety seat worth RM1,000 at just RM299, with every purchase of a new Proton. The promotion is subject to stock availability and other terms and conditions.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 23, 2017 at 6:55 pm

Educating is as important as enforcement. The problem in Malaysia, got no enforcement. Even back seat belts are never enforced. Polis take duit kopi and let go the offender.

We can educate how much also, if there is no enforcement, it won’t work. We must clean JPJ and Polis first. Look at Australia, people are so scared to even enter a car with a child without a car seat.

Problem in Malaysia….too much duit kopi. This results in deaths and injury. Eradicate duit kopi then increase enforcement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 31
    • Jangan Hulur, Jangan Kawtim, Jangan Settle

Its all depends on the giver wanna gip or not. Then dun gip lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
    • pok nik on May 23, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Menurut laporan akhbar Kosmo dan majalah Mastika, penggunaan tempat duduk bayi dalam kereta di kalangan rakyat Malaysia kian meningkat ekoran kempen kesedaran yang dijalankan di blog Paultan. Syabas Pok Nik ucapkan kepada warga kerja Paultan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Damn man. What you’re saying is somewhat true, with the education and enforcement. But blaming on duit kopi is yesteryear thinking. Not all police are like that. Stop stereotyping people. Next time your house got bulgary you go ask for who? So called duit kopi people la right?
      Anyhow if the government say must enforce? What will people like you say? Government Cari duit mkn also right? There’s no winning with people who keeps on pointing fingers and doing no sh*t about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 23, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Why Malaysia has the best drug laws in the world? Even Mat Salleh FBI and CIA also say, Malaysian drug laws are the best in the world.

This is because, if found with certain amount of gram dadah, terus gantung. No questions about it. This is enforcement. This is strict liability offence.

Make car seat a strict liability offence. Make sure also duit kopi is eradicated or kept to the minimum.

• suomynano on May 23, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Major reshuffle at tepung department, enforcement pest killers have protected the rats instead of going after them.
          Those arrested were found to have given information on pest control operations to the rats.

• Rahman Andak on May 23, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Those families with 6 kids like to keep kids on their laps. This is kampung mentality. Come to bandar but still keep kampung mentality.

Unfortunately, the majority of population got 6 kids and all keep on lap.

• Citi Zen on May 24, 2017 at 8:35 am

So people with ‘city mentality’ are the exemplary drivers on safety and road manners?

• Oh my. Basher will come says why use iriz instead of unsafe mivi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
  • Sam Kuntaik Loo on May 23, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Here in Malaysia, RM299 child safety seat, bash like no tomorrow, no money to buy.

But RM2990 (usually more than that) Stupidvo bodykits, praise until heaven, no need to think twice, must buy now to show off my taik car. Oh Wai…

• Gray Imports on May 23, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Just curious, how come there’s no more driven web series available after 2015?

• Forget about baby seats! It’s 2017 and many fools out there only care about RV when buying cars! Heck, many fools still don’t even bother to wear seat belts!! I can’t brain!!

• Not Toyota Fan on May 24, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Kudos on your CSR on road safety. “Thumbs up”. As a joke, should run a poll to ask who is more cute & loveable, the Teddy bear or Jonathan Lee.

• While this is a good safety equipment, the greedy government still want to charge GST . Why not exempt GST and make it mandatory for kids to use child seats?