2017 Honda CR-V – four variants confirmed; five-seater version only, Honda Malaysia explains reason why

The previews of the 2017 Honda CR-V so far have revealed both 1.5L VTEC Turbo and 2.0 normally-aspirated versions of the fifth-generation SUV, but nothing specific has been mentioned as to just how many variants there will be in the line-up.

We now know there’s four at the very least, of which three are 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo versions – the range-topper will be a 1.5L VTEC Turbo Premium 2WD with Lanewatch and Honda Sensing, items which have been mentioned but not seen on the second variant in the range, a 1.5L VTEC Turbo AWD (as seen in Kota Kinabalu).

The third is a 1.5L VTEC Turbo 2WD, which was on call at a special event to highlight the elements of the Honda Sensing suite (via the 1.5L VTEC Turbo Premium 2WD) earlier today. Finally, there’s a baseline 2.0L i-VTEC 2WD, which was the CR-V model previewed in Penang earlier this month. A 4WD version of the 2.0 litre is looking unlikely, but if it does then the range will consist of five models.

All the 1.5L VTEC Turbo variants use a 1.5 litre direct injection turbocharged VTEC engine with 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, while the base model retains the previously-seen R20 naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre i-VTEC motor with 155 PS and 190 Nm. Both models get Honda’s Earth Dreams CVT transmission, replacing the five-speed auto seen in the outgoing model.

It was also confirmed at today’s event that the entire fifth-gen CR-V range sold in Malaysia will all be five-seater versions.

As to why the seven-seat model is not making its way here, Honda Malaysia personnel said that based on a survey carried out by the company early on, buyers in the target market for the car responded that extra seats aren’t really a primary point of consideration. Instead, most place space and features ahead of extra seats, and that’s why we’re only getting a five-seat model.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 1.5L VTEC Turbo AWD in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 2.0L i-VTEC 2WD in Malaysia

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments indicate disappointment among consumers about Honda Malaysia's decision to produce only a five-seater CR-V, as many desire a seven-seater option for larger families. Several comments question the survey methodology, suggesting it may not accurately reflect market demand, especially from larger families who frequently need extra seats. There is concern that Honda Malaysia's approach will lead customers to consider competitors like Nissan X-Trail, Kia Sorento, or Mitsubishi Outlander. Many feel the absence of a 7-seater diminishes the CR-V's appeal and may result in lost sales. Despite positive sentiments about the styling and features, the primary dissatisfaction revolves around the limited seating options, with some commentators criticizing the survey process and Honda Malaysia's market strategy.

• “We now know there’s four at the very least, of which three are turbo versions – the range-topper will be a 1.5L VTEC Turbo 2WD with Lanewatch and Honda Sensing, items which have been mentioned but not seen on the second variant in the range, a 1.5L Turbo AWD (as seen in Kota Kinabalu).

The third is a 1.5L Turbo 2WD, which was on call at a special event to highlight the elements of the Honda Sensing suite earlier today. Finally, there’s a baseline 2.0L i-VTEC 2WD, which was the CR-V model previewed in Penang earlier this month. A 4WD version of the 2.0 litre is looking unlikely, but if it does then the range will consist of five models.”

This doesn’t make sense. How can a 2WD be a range-topping model? Surely this is a typo and the range topping model is a 1.5l VTEC Turbo AWD high-spec, followed by a 1.5l VTEC Turbo mid-spec, then a 1.5l VTEC Turbo 2WD, then a 2.0l VTEC 2WD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
    • 4 variants but not a single seven seater variant? So disappointed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:41 am

Let us hope the price is right. We don’t really care what models come in, so long as the price is cheap. In US, the CRV 2.4 CBU is about US$22k. Comes with Honda Sensing as standard.

A fresh graduate in the US earns US$4500. In Australia, the CRV is at RM94k. A fresh graduate there earns AUD$4500 also. That is about RM15,000

In Malaysia, a fresh graduate earns RM2500. And according to EPF statistics, 78.3% of all EPF contributors earn ONLY RM1500 and below.

The car is at RM150k to RM170k. Let us hope gomen keeps their 30% price reduction promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • look at this car, i m surely a stupid if dun buy proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 42
    • meejawa on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:07 am

Yup, I was confused as well when I read it. Tersongsang the hierarchy..lol

• carazy on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:12 am

Bye CRV, Outlander here I come… Honda pls read all the comments here, you will have a better survey result here in paultan.org!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
    • Ingolstadt on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:17 am

The Tiguan. Car of the Year

• Tricycle on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:45 am

Yes, the range topping should be 1.5 AWD plus all the features. It is pretty weird for HondaMalaysia to offer 2WD at its range topping.

In terms of traction AWD is better than 2WD.

Slightly dissapointed, but still better than Tiguan which is only offered in 2WD and very much underpower 1.4T.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:16 am

That is indeed odd. And there are three 1.5 turbo models. One with VTEC, the other 2 no VTEC mentioned, so dont know whether got or not. I’m thinking there’s a bit of typo and misunderstanding going on. Better wait for official launch for final information.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:45 am

Haha, it’s the same turbocharged and DI 1.5 litre unit across the board, but to make it absolutely clear, each mention of the engine now identifies it as 1.5L VTEC Turbo right across the whole story.

• Packers on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:58 am

Yes, total agree! How can a range topping CR-V do without AWD?

• Disappointed. Cancel the booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:48 am

Actually Msia 7 seater better cause all the abang-abang got 5 to 6 kids each.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
      • Sense on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:23 pm

But normally people with 5-7 can’t afford CR-V. So they’ll get the BR-V. If rich people with 5-7 kids will not even look at CR-V they buy Alphard & Vellfire or other cars from a premium brand. or buy Odyssey.

• Honda Caryn on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:05 am

2017 New CRV 2.4, 20K Raya rebate!
      Same same 5-seater.

• Lcians on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:15 am

Smart move. Fortuner lah !

• Lee chin leong on Oct 28, 2017 at 10:46 am

I like 7 seat suv but dislike 7seat mpv no everyone like apha

• How many hip & lifestyle livin familis have more than 3 kids?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Don't Forget Parents on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:59 am

They have parents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Pls ask the parents get into the MPV instead of SUV. It will save their hips and backbones.

• Side income for soccer moms…CRV school bus.

• Albert Yong on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:11 am

majority of the population. Remember Mahathir say must have 5 kids??

• Really? Majority r those that fed on organic grown, sustainbly farmed, glutten & chemical free superfoods, that lives in posh areas, and go overseas holiday every 6 months? Wow! MY dah berjaya!

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Sometimes (or maybe every weekend) u need to take your father/mother/ in laws/nephews/ nieces for a drive around town with your two kids also….

….or at least 4 chicks jalan2 makan angin saturday night…cannot let them sit on your lap while driving…not safe – PlaySafeDriveSafe

• Great and nice looking car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
  • Mabuk ketum on Jun 15, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Which mabuk ketum smart bottom that thinks having an extra 2 seats on the back does not give more space ? What were they thinking ? To whom did Honda do these surveys from ? Drug addicts ?

Baffled with this coz I really wanted to buy after seeing that our neighboring country got 7 seaters and we get 5 only. What the fish ???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 10
    • Ah Kow on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:43 am

That Honda Malaysia personnel simply bantai only la. The survey from where wan?

Win-win situation : Make it an option for 5 seater and 7seater. Can attract 7 seater customers as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
      • aggreed. thats what i thought

• Ah Kow on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:05 pm

As far as I know, there’s no ROCKET SCIENCE installing extra 2 seats at the back. There wouldn’t be much hassle, especially at the back, as there are no electronics involve unlike the front seats.

What is that hard to make it optional for customers. I can’t seem to reason this “5-seater only” decision.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Seatbelts. And seatbelt reminders. Costs. Bean counters won.

Again, no idea what demographics HM had sampled. Most SUV and MPV buyers tend to favour the extra rear seats, even if they are +2s.

While i understand that the small 3rd row seats are limited in use (mine spend most of its time outside of the car) but the convenience of having 2 extra jump seats is sometimes indispensable.

Even Tesla offers 3rd row “+” seats in its sedans, more so a family SUV.

Really too bad the Santa Fe 2.2 CRDi is so much more than the petrol version or it would have given this CRV turbo a run for the money.

• suomynano on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:16 am

Ini semua salah survey DRB….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Honda MY is owned by Honda jepunis, unless ur saying Honda jepunis oso now r belongs to MY, like some say toyota now belongs to MY.

• Exactly .. what in my thoughts..

• Eternalgl0ry on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:00 am

wa… malaysia really like to deduct everything.

The reason why overseas is so popular with CRV is because it is AWD. If its only 2WD what for buy this kind of SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Bezza on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:08 am

2WD 2.0l for previous model CR-V have more sales than 4WD..
      your are so topkek… even can’t afford for Bezza still want talk about automotive industries in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Honda Malaysia, Did you get the wrong survey result of people don’t want the 7 seaters? Are you serious?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 3
  • Honda has always been doing its homework. No wonder honda cars are selling well here. Perhaps proton n toyota can learn frm honda too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
  • kiddd on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:25 am

I prefer 7 seaters..
    you lost one customer..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • yeah…u lost another customer too, guess the Kia Grand Carnival wt its powerful turbo diesel & 7 seats look more suitable for me

• Cakap lebat maaa.. kalau 7 seater pon ko tak beli. kih3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 22
  • Pokok on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:48 am

What kind of survey Honda did carried out? I just turning my head to X-Trail as the extra two mini seat still good enough for my kids, comparing to none. It’s a disappointed decision to many families who looking for a 7 seaterSUV. X-Trail is still considered 5+2 not 7.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 2
    • dodgeviper88 on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:31 am

I guess you’re considered the minority. If it was so in demand the X-trail would be the best seller. Perhaps the survey is right after all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • Simon on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:19 pm

FYI, the x-trail is the best seller since introduction.

8k plus units last year compared to 5k plus units.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Because Nissan (TCM) only offer 2 airbags for that hefty price…boo TCM

• Good. Nissan x trail has a 7 seats as standard spec. A good alternative.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Maxco on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:04 am

Let’s vote

7 seater – like 5 seater -dislike

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 27
  • JChong on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:06 am

Really sick and tired reading this HONDA CRV articles everyday

Four times in a row repeatedly publishing Honda CRV .

Boring and not interesting anymore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
  • Boboy on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:19 am

Huh? Where did honda do the survey? With honda staff members?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • There is no doubt the CRV will sell well regardless it is 5 seater or 7 seater. But I still feel it will sell better if it had offered a 7 seater version. But no way of finding out if it doesn’t offer an option in the first place.

I personally think the true reason is that Honda doesn’t want the CR-V to canibalise the Honda Odyssey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • I don’t think it can even with seven seats as it’s targeting different market segment. 140-170k versus 250k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Azlan on Aug 09, 2017 at 12:44 am

I dun think that way.. only honda malaysia will go for this reason..

• Kok Phin on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:49 am

I was amazed with indonesia crv prestige with 7 seater, its look like the complete package for a family of with kids. 5 seater for daily use, while the extra 2 seats come in handy when going out with grandparents.

Has been discussing with my friends regarding possibility of 7 seater and we are excited for it. At the end of it got disappointed with honda malaysia final decision.

So based on honda malaysia survey, we seems to be the minority group. :(

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • 2.0NA 2wd, without honda sensing
    1.5T 4wd, without honda sensing
    1.5T 2wd, with honda sensing
    1.5T 4wd, with honda sensing

Summary the specs is like that.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:15 am

Is the crv still relevant when a good product like xtrail/rogue is available and leading in terms of sale worldwide…even cx-5 can offer so much more than this ugliest crv ever…whats wrong with honda…every new crv will become uglier and uglier…pity all those honda fanboys who have to drive an ugly vehicle while looking up just like when they drive brv…i hope they will repent and eventually drive in a very humble manner…after all its just a honda…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • the problem with xtrail in msia is that its safety equipment is still lacking compared to this….xtrail only hv 2 airbags?!!…since the crv only hv 5 seats, guess i need to look at carnival/sorento instead…full safety equipment wt an additional powerful & frugal turbo diesel.

• Puten Kecil on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:18 am

A very brilliant move Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
  • jinggo on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:16 am

Ok Honda Malaysia. I will proceed with Nissan Xtrail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Carlover on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:12 am

Test drive Sorento 1st

• Go ahead.. no one is stopping you.. But later dont get jealous when you see the all new Honda CRV with Honda Sensing + Full LED Head & rear light..

Btw, you can always be proud of your 2 airbags X-trail :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 17
  • loadster on Jun 16, 2017 at 5:41 am

I was hoping the highest spec model to be an AWD 1.5L Turbo with Lane Watch and Honda Sensing.

• Hansum on Jun 16, 2017 at 7:14 am

The 2WD is the range topper and not the 4WD? Very interesting.

• Honda Malaysia will bring in 7 seaters after a year and kill the 5 seaters version. How much space will be taken up by the 2 foldable seats? Personally I prefer to have the spare seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • bigboss on Jun 16, 2017 at 7:56 am

i don’t know which survey they are conducted, what sampling that they are use.For me it should make a survey based on major people in malaysia based on status, economy, area and financial as well. If let say people who single status will be more vote for 5 seaters than people has more family members.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Bob_B78 on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:06 am

Of course the new crv will be offered 5 seater only. Basically its a Jazz SUV. Ever since when any Jazz variant got 7 seaters? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
  • The survey does within Honda Malaysia staff?

• ryder0707 on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:23 am

I think HM is trying to BS. If 7-seater is not important why do you think you can sell BR-V? Btw, not everyone prefer to drive MPV aka “minivan” so they might go for 7-seater SUV like the Nissan Xtrail or Mitsubishi Outlander.

Who are the target customers by the way? I bet most of them are single or small family and the percentage is not even 10% of parents with 4 or more kids. Compared to country like Ausie(7-seater is available),In Malaysia it is common to see parents with 4 or more kids and they need the extra 2 seats. So clearly your stats is wrong and the survey result is crap.

At least you should provide the additional 2-seats as an option or accessory. If they really want it, just pay extra and install it. Why is that so difficult? But now with only 5-seats you are closing the door and it is really a deal breaker if 7-seats is a requirement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 1
  • Konpius on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:30 am

“The third is a 1.5L Turbo 2WD, which was on call at a special event to highlight the elements of the Honda Sensing suite earlier today. ” so this version got honda sensing or not? Yet the second higher one doesn’t? Confusing.

• thepolygonal on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:37 am

I guess the survey got it right. Those that own CRV loves the boot space and how much it can carry during long balik kampung journeys. But it’s also because maybe those that wants the CRV are not looking for the extra 2 seats…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • If they only make survey from existing owner of CRV then it may be true. But for potential buyer who did not own a SUV before, HM make a big mistake by not including the 7 seater version. They should know if they bring the 7 seater in, they will be the market leader for 7 seater SUV with the price they will be giving. Looking at the picture the, 3rd row sit are much better compare to others in the same class of vehicle.

• timbuktu on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:38 am

this car is quite fugly if you ask me.

• Prospect Buyer on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:48 am

Why top range not AWD with all-in? Honda Malaysia is very wierd !!!!

• Hazsanariffin on Jun 16, 2017 at 8:54 am

What survey?

• I dont know about others…but I actually look forward for 7 seater CRV. Will buy CRV if it is 7 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Sam "Jialat" Loo on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:03 am

Range topper is a 2WD with LaneWatch and Honda Sensing, followed by an AWD without LaneWatch and Honda Sensing…?

Am I reading this correctly…?

HM seems to have their priorities misplaced…

• 12yrsold on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:11 am

To explain mean to JUSTIFY. Did HM get their marketing wrong on this?? Hmm…

• arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:14 am

for seven seater, they can always opt for the BR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 26
    • Some people don’t want to buy a seven seater but with 2 airbags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:22 pm

well, then spend more on luxury ones like the Alphard or perhaps… a commercial van

• BRV is too small. It is seven seater, but can only carry 6 people.

• arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 1:24 pm

like i said, they can spend more on MPV or commercial, which sit as many as they like

• Maharoots on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:51 pm

bro, brv is 1.5 liter engine only. some ppl looking for 7 seater with more powerful engine. so when fully loaded, engine is not stressed.

• arowana on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:55 pm

like i said, they can spend more on MPV or commercial van, which sit as many as they like

• Powershot on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:16 am

I’m a little bit confused. So, if I got this right the four variants are:
    1. 2.0 NA 2WD
    2. 1.5 T 2WD
    3. 1.5 T AWD
    4. 1.5 T AWD + Honda Sensing

Personally, I’m quite disappointed that Honda Malaysia opt out the 7 seater configuration. If not, it will be the perfect offering considering the current choices for non-premium 7 seater SUVs are quite disappointing. Unless Nissan releases an upgraded X-Trail with 6 airbags next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • bye CRV, reconsidering Sorento, SantaFe and X-trail

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • onda Malaysia personnel said that based on a survey carried out by the company early on, buyers in the target market for the car responded that extra seats aren’t really a primary point of consideration.

———————-
    What a sohai decision that listen to survey. Look at your BRV sale should be good enough to justify your market demand.

There are many 5 seater SUV in town can be chosen. (Mazda/Kia/Tucson/Xtrail/WV..etc) and why need to complete with others and chose CRV?

In the present of D segment market with the pricing around RM 140K, I dont think there are any full 7 seaters SUV in town.

You should be ahead of all the competitor but your decision has make a big mistake to complete in the 5 seaters segment.

I tot of getting a full 7 seaters SUV to replace my estima.

Well, need to KIV for the time being.haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Regarding the 5-seats issue, I think its a very good move by HM. Well done and I fully support this. Those who need the extra 2 seats can freely choose the other SUVs in the market which come with a 5+2 config. The CRV for Malaysia should always be a 5-seater only. Don’t need the extra weight and bulk from the 2 seats which are totally redundant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 55
    • If they can have 4! Variants they can at least make one of it a 7 seater..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • jinggo on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:38 am

Its a foldable seat la bro.. u dont like the extrs seat just fold it ok. Haiyaaa…

• Ben Yap on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:24 am

if the Honda CRV 1.5 turbo paired with CVT can take 193 horses and 243Nm, this means that the Civic with ECU remap Stage 1 can also take 205hp and 265Nm power output.

• Honda making STUPID excuses by not bringing 7 seaters into Malaysia just because they don’t want to jeopardize the sale of crappy BR-V which has a long pending orders.
    Big Boo to cocky Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
  • Survey monkey on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:45 am

I think that Honda Malaysia is trying to surprise everyone by introducing a 7 seat variant at the last minute. Why do you think those preview cars have totally blacked out windows? They are now probably still taking “survey” results from this Paultan feedback for all we know.
    wait for it….

• neemfa on Jun 16, 2017 at 9:50 am

buruk and hodoh. and honda’s decision to drop the extra 2 seats further adds to the misery.

• I prefer 7 seater. you can use both as 5 seater and 7 seater if needed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • jason9012 on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:05 am

no 7 seater? then not gonna book it…stupid honda

• I was so looking forward to the 7 seater. I’ve held back purchasing other models once the possibility of a 7 seater CRV was made known way back then. The BRV is too basic for my needs. The integrity of your survey is questionable for I believe there are many like me who need the flexibility of a 7 seater.

• prefer 7 seaters, lost one customer from me too

• As to why Honda withheld introducing a 7 seater variant I can quite understand. As amazing and versatile as a 7 seater can be, the rear most seat are rarely use, see any X-Trail or Outlander with rear most seat up and occupied are rare. And talking to some known SUV buyers I know of, most do not want a 7 seat because they mostly do not have as large of a family and also do not want a “empty sensation” in a car with that many seat. Si a bummer to minus away the rear most seat, but Honda perhaps have researched the Malaysian SUV buyers well enough to execute this decision.

I am actually, again delighted at the prospect of a 2WD Turboed version. 4WD in most case in urban usage is negligible and if you plan to do frequent off-roading in your family SUV, I highly suggest a Fortuner or Everest for a CR-V is never really suited for that sort of usage. So yes, very contradicting to popular opinions here at Paultan, regardless it will sell well in Malaysia, is a Honda after all and Malaysian are always blinded by the allure of Hondas as much as they are blinded by their own opinions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
  • Mazda/Nissan/Kia/Tucson will be laughing all the way with the introduction of 5 seaters CRV. At least, CRV will not have the advantage over them with 5 seaters arrangement.

Bravo Honda for making your competitor happy and ensure the Nissan Xtrail NO:1 in these segment with their 5+2 seats.

• prefer 7 seaters, lost one customer

• C. P. MOHAN on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:26 am

I believe that HM for the CRV anyway got it right. Families these days are smaller in number with changing/different lifestyles who prefer larger boot space to pack their accessories, my concern is that the top-model should be 4WD maybe its pricing, don’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:51 pm

I have 2 kids. But I still want a 7 seater SUV (BRV is too basic). Poor decision by Honda Malaysia. BOOOO HONDA MALAYSIA.

• Honda only do survey on orang kaya mandul that only have 1 or two children with them. That is why they got this result. If they do survey on productive orang kampung, sure they will bring 7 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kiddd on Jun 16, 2017 at 3:26 pm

‘mandul’ and they throw their parents into ‘rumah orang tua’ no need extra seats..

• Actually, if you have a young family with 2 kids (example 3-4 years old and another 1 year old) that are both still need to be on the baby chair. That leaves you with a tight tiny seat in between the baby chair. With the extra 3rd row, you could at least fit the grandparents or any of the parent sitting at that row. It’s not that you use them everyday, but when you need them it’s there for you to use. Nonsense survey. It’s a cost cutting measure, PERIOD.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Complete bull for not bringing in the 7 seater..Malaysians prefer the option of having 7 seaters although it’s true they don’t use it most of the time..this was a series of surveys done by an automotive supplier company I know…and they did it all over Malaysia through various demographics…

one main factor I assume they are not bringing this in is because they want to target this to a more entry-level premium market which prefers 5 seater c segment suv…but fact is ..they have to understand..Honda is not an entry level premium brand and that target market would go for cx5, tiguan or the upcoming 3008….they don’t mind taking a hit on sales volume as the other models are doing well..this is an experiment to gauge the brand acceptance of the Honda brand at that entry level premium spot that brands like Mazda, Peugeot, VW etc currently occupy…it will sell ..but get real Honda..your brand power is not up to those rivals

• bye honda…u just lose 1 customer..im going for myvi this time..owai~

• The damage has been done for now. But wait another 3 to 4 years, Honda Malaysia will introduce 7 seaters version. Mark my word.

• isengard12 on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:06 am

True. That is how business works, bring in something new but hold on to extra features that people need. Let the money roll-in. Then comes the face-lift, and voila, sell more again.

• isengard12 on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:01 am

No 7 seats? With the H-badge, it will still sell. Malaysian mentality of having good features, looks, gaya , and body-kits as buying consideration.

Malaysians don’t put practicality & safety as “serious” must-have features. Instead, people here are fond of LED-DRLS, LED headlamps. Looks is more important, so is the H-badge.

It is kinda hard to blame Honda Malaysia as a business entity because those things sells. Sad.

• Henry on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:05 am

No point bitching here about the non-availability of the 7-seater. Just go buy something else. Buy a Hyundai Starex, perhaps? It can seat 12.

I am one of the many who don’t mind a 5-seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Henry on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:16 am

Luckily for car manufacturers, HM in this case, most of their buyers do not read the bitchings/moanings (real or imagined) posted here.

Business in these trying times in a crowded market like ours is beyond the comprehension of some simpletons. They would like ten variants to each model. Talk is not cheap. It is worthless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • What is so wrong of adding 7 seaters option into your 1st introduction of the new CRV? You won’t cannibalize your Honda sales, since CRV is higher margin & revenue than BRV for sure. Instead now you are pissing many buyers to look for other competitors. For those looking forward better option in 7 seaters, getting CRV into Malaysia market is the right move. Introducing it later doesn’t really benefit HM, instead you definitely lose the potential buyers looking for one now! The survey is total nonsense and lies. The marketing team can be fired!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • What’s wrong with offering 7 seats? If people do not want it, they can always fold it down.

It’s better to HAVE it than NOT HAVE it, no????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • With out 7 seats and weird arrangement version offered … is this to maximise profit?

• nissan on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:37 am

Thank you honda for choosing the 5 seaters version.

As a Nissan representative, I will be worried if you introduce your 7 seaters SUV to the market.

At least, our Nissan x-trail with 5+2 still the best option under this segment.

Thanks again for your market survey and make us No:1 in these SUVs market.

Bravo, Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • No point bitching here about the non-availability of the 7-seater. Just go buy something else. Buy a Hyundai Starex, perhaps? It can seat 12.
    I am one of the many who don’t mind a 5-seater.
    ————————-

If Honda is having this mentality then they will fail miserably. haha.

“If you dont like pls buy other”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Henry on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:20 pm

Ya, they “failed” so miserably until they are now the #1 non-National brand. Do you use your fingers to think? LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • isengard12 on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:48 pm

What abby meant is CRV should fail miserably? They are number 1 in non-national brand because of their product appeal in B & C segment.

Think again.

• hyundai89 on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:53 am

Hm, what are u doing?? just provide 7 seater as standard, to use or not to use, it’s depends on consumers..people who need big boot space they can just fold the seats down, people who need carry more passenger they can fully utilize the all seats

• Honda screwed Honda on Jun 16, 2017 at 11:59 am

Honda screwed Honda.

Stupid survey when in reality 7-seater CRV is truly added-value family mover.

Honda screwed Honda.

• hondaman on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:01 pm

I am a CRV G4 owner, wondering who Honda malaysia surveyed? btw, same thing was told when they intro the G4 without reverse sensor. Claimed that rear camera good enough from their survey. After i’ve spent a fortune to install(cz SC claimed warranty void if do 3rd party, it was a permanent accessory 6 months later

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:11 pm

The whole range should only be offered with the 1.5 Turbo engine because I’m pretty sure that the 1.5 Turbo engine is better for the environment compared to the 2.0 NA engine.

I really hope that the next BRV is not a five seater.

• Wp HM. 2WD 1.5 turbo as the range topper.

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST AND AUCTIONEER on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:47 pm

ppl who buy this crap is only for showing off, .anyways to those who are buying, do try to keep up yr installments for at least 12months ..otherwise i need to bring the medics along when i visit you.. ask the BRV & civic owners…pity them, we do carry defibrillator as an added service for you

• Sean Y on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:01 pm

HM marketing fail…

• Gingping on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:15 pm

What! No seven–seat, your survey must be done in your office’s meeting room. You have no idea on how many family orientated guys out there who will treat it as their primary choice…Anyway, thanks for pushing me outlander.

• Buy A Bus on Jun 16, 2017 at 2:33 pm

As I browse through all the comments above, I couldn’t help thinking if more seats are so important then BUY A BUS 44 seats lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Now i have to consider X-Trail or Outlander. Reason people choose BR-V because its 7 seater despite its ugly look. Looks like Indonesian people get better bargain. CRV 1.5 Turbo Prestige comes with 5+2 seater and panaromic roof. I wonder who are those people behind survey? good news for other manufacturer. bad news for HONDA MALAYSIA! :-(

• 5+2 seater on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:04 pm

You lost one customer in me HM…Hoping for a 5+2 seater CRV…

• Tan AT on Jun 16, 2017 at 4:41 pm

It’s a hurtful and disappointment to hear that the well sort after 7 seater touring model will not be available here. 7-seater touring were well received in US and Indonesia. I doubt and are lying they did the survey to stand the claim 5-seater popularity. The CRV model they displayed at mall is the same size as HRV. What a joke Honda Malaysia and double thumbs down to them…. Sad!

• For those who complain about no 7-seats in this next gen CRV, go buy some other brand. Leave the CRV as a strictly 5-seater for the malaysian market. It is what it is. The extra two seats are redundant and add unnecessary extra weight. Go buy an X-trail or an MPV if u want to fetch more pax or the whole village or whatever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Mr.Misai on Jun 16, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Very Disappointing… I’ve been waitng for new crv since early this year. Main reason is the 7 seater. Dont know where they did the survey, since most people i talked to prefer the 7 seater

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 16, 2017 at 10:37 pm

Tryout a used Tucson. Great value for money

• I would have preferred the 1.5 Turbo Premium, AWD, 7 seater as the top model. This would be the variant that I will buy

• Jet-Pack on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:30 am

At the very least HM should offer a couple of 7-seater options and the rest of the offered variants with 5-seats. Then nobody would complain so much.
    Something along these lines…

2.0 SOHC i-VTEC Mid-Spec 2WD, 5 seater
    1.5 TC Mid-Spec 2WD 5 + 2 seater
    1.5 TC Premium with H/Sensing 2WD 5 + 2 seater
    1.5 TC Premium with H/Sensing 4WD 5 seater

• Akmal on Jun 19, 2017 at 1:41 pm

The truth is…if Honda sell 7 seater new CRV…BRV no one gonna buy…no nonsense survey carried out actually…it’s all about selling cars only…want to finish old stock…then later bring 7 seater in…

• Baharis on Jun 20, 2017 at 7:34 am

I am planning to get crv if it offer 7 seater option. Now need to look into recon market for estima or osyssey..
    You lose 1 customer here

• where is 7 seater? on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:31 am

Honda Malaysia, you should bring in 7 seater to Malaysia.

I am not sure what are you thinking but you should look at all the comments on above me and you will know how many customers are eyeing on the 7 seaters. You should either fire your survey team or if there is some agenda behind this , then you are doing the wrong move.

Protecting BRV i dont think so, coz is a different pricing and different size of SUV. May be you are thinking about the pricing of 7 seater which may shoot up to RM 170,000 and may not sell good at that pricing, then may be you should do a survey on how much you should price your 7 seater lohhhhh.

IN short, you should fire your survey team since they are pointing you to the wrong direction. Look at the comments here, they are real survey comments to you as well.