2017 Honda CR-V 1.5 VTEC Turbo previewed in M’sia

The 2017 Honda CR-V is making its preview rounds across Malaysia, with the latest stop in Kota Kinabalu featuring the 1.5 VTEC Turbo AWD variant of the upcoming fifth-generation model. We’ve previously seen the 2.0 i-VTEC 2WD model in Penang last weekend.

This silver show car features full LED headlights, LED fog lamps and LED tail lights as seen on the 2.0L 2WD model, but the 1.5 Turbo AWD variant does add on 18-inch dual-tone alloys and dual tailpipes. Lanewatch and Honda Sensing are still missing on this model – no monocular camera at the top of the windscreen or millimetre wave radar in the grille.

As such, it looks like there will be a higher spec variant above this one – a 1.5 VTEC Turbo AWD Premium, perhaps, following the Civic range. The Honda Sensing active safety suite will include Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with stop-and-go Low Speed Follow (LSF), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM).

The turbocharged variant uses a 1.5 litre direct injection turbocharged engine with 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm, while the base model retains the same naturally-aspirated 2.0 litre motor with 155 PS and 190 Nm. Both models get Honda’s Earth Dreams CVT transmission, putting the old five-speed auto into retirement.

Measuring 4,584 mm long, 1,855 mm wide and 1,679 mm (AWD 1,689 mm) tall, the new CR-V is 55 mm longer, 35 mm wider and 6 mm lower than before. It also has a higher ground clearance of 199 mm (209 mm for AWD), compared to 170 mm in the outgoing model.

It appears Honda Malaysia has opted for the five-seat version of the CR-V only, though our neighbouring markets (Thailand and Indonesia) get a third-row seat option to make it a 5+2. Max cargo load capacity with the second row folded flat (one-touch operation) is 1,084 litres.

All variants now get six airbags and Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) as standard. Also available across the board are goodies such as keyless entry and push-button start and a reverse camera. We will know more soon, so stay tuned to paultan.org.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo AWD in Malaysia

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 2.0L 2WD in Malaysia

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Maria on Jun 11, 2017 at 9:21 pm

The design of new generation is not pleasant to my eyes especially at the back side..I have to say the 4th gen facelift is more “rugged” than this new one like too soft..I’m so dissapointed with Honda for not bringing 7 seat and diesel crv to msia althought the latter people don’t busy with it. But the 7 seat is useful for some people to carry to kenduri or any kind of ceremony but..BRV not to powerful enough to carry 7 peoples with small power output.

But on the positive side, thumbs up for bringing Honda Sensing to CRV and I hope they put it at another model also. I just hope they could bring 7 seat with Diesel AWD and i’m sold.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • Basher politician on Jun 12, 2017 at 3:01 pm

Basher will come here to compare price with Australia again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
      • Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Honda can sell well in Malaysia. Not like junk company still losing RM4 mil per day for past 10 years but still in business

• Hairudy on Jun 13, 2017 at 9:54 am

If you have nothing nice to say. Don’t say anything at all

• simon on Jun 12, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Buy x trail la. 7 seats mah.

everyone complaining not 7 seats. can always go for the x-trail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
  • Ben yap on Jun 11, 2017 at 9:56 pm

My bet is that the crv turbo will be priced at rm160k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • why no 7 seater? why oh why… is it because odyssey..but brv got 7 seater maa.. xtrail also got… will new cx5 got 7 seater?…

Honda sensing or 7 seater? why not both la honda.

waiting for luxury coaster to come in…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Everybody seems to be complaining that the CRV is only 5 seater and not 7 seater.

May I remind people here, Honda Malaysia and DRB are partners in crime. When your local guy is DRB, what do you expect?

DRB already failed Proton big time. They are probably the bodohs who told Honda Malaysia that people want 5 seater.

You can’t expect much from people who believe in lepak, rilaks and minum teh 8x sehari

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
    • Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Better we have 7 seater cause the abang abang all got 5 to 6 kids

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 11, 2017 at 11:37 pm

1.5 Turbo CRV estimated at RM170k.

We want to see a reduction in car prices. RM170k is way too expensive for Malaysians. Where is Gomen’s promise to reduce car prices? By right 30% off, will help Malaysians save a lot.

We Malaysians are waiting for the price reduction for a long time now. Gomen mungkir janji.

Malaysians are suffering so much with high cost of living and cost of food is escalating higher and higher. Gomen should help by honouring their promise to reduce car prices.

Currently housing loan and car payment is most people’s highest payment in a month.

In Australia CRV CBU is RM94k and in US CRV 2.4 CBU is USD22k with 10 airbags.

In Malaysia, Made in Malaysia CKD is RM150k. No logic. And now, this 1.5 Turbo at RM170k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 28
    • When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 53
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:10 pm

john oh john, still copypaste the same thing. You keep on saying your gomen has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we must be grateful. But pls pakai hotak. How many people can afford RM388k?

If gomen reduce also it must be for Saga, Axia, Myvi and Persona. Majority people can only afford RM60k and below.

bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit

• Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well, try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• Nancy Liu on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:01 am

You keep repeating the same thing. Dont
        you feel bored? Find a life Mr. john. What do you think?

• Little John on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:05 am

LIttle John,

Mind you, people have the right to compare and memang is our country PM promise to reduce the price. People hentam because there is a need to hentam.

Unlike you, sit there and stay quiet forever may be. That is why you kena bully always may be?

Just a thought.

• Just a thought.

Why u no demand the other side, why until now no abolish tolls in the 2 states like they janji since 2008, hmm?

• mmmmmmm on Jun 12, 2017 at 4:36 pm

high cost of living no need to buy 140-170k car la pandai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Australia got their CBU CRV from Thai. My question is what is Thai price for CRV?

• CibaiRen on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Don’t forget, car excise duty not reduce but fuel subsidy now zero. think twice before buying a new car.

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:37 pm

1.5 Turbo sure can jimat minyak.

• Aeroheads on Jun 13, 2017 at 7:42 am

For 170k,I get a Volkswagen Tiguan Highline..mush better in ride,feel and safety

• vezeroth on Jun 13, 2017 at 11:39 pm

tbh this is not the goverments fault but honda malaysia, the 1.5l turbo actually will be taxed less and therefore should be less expensive but honda malaysia is milking the profits… the dont need to sell the 2.0 but instead sell the 1.5l at the 2.0 price however the want more profits at the expense of malaysians. The malaysian public should boycott honda crv and stop buying to bring prices lower.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 12, 2017 at 12:07 am

5 seater variants only? BOOOO TO HONDA MALAYSIA. From the current Honda car owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Bootak on Jun 12, 2017 at 7:23 pm

With 7 seater you are going to buy one? If not, why boo?

• Henry on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:38 pm

If you want a 7 seater you can go buy something else. Too bad if you know only one brand.

• ex-VGM staff on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:08 am

and UMW Toyota not even took 1 step after Honda launched Civic FC, HRV, BRV and City facelift.

now it is CRV.

soon, Accord Turbo.

one word for Toyota – dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota Kunta Kinte on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Toyota in Malaysia is dead long time ago. Declining sales, unsold inventory. Take a look and speak to insiders and you will know the truth. I would rather get the latest VW Tiguan, value for money. Can see many n the road now.

• And KK is venting his frustrations here. Pitiful fella.

• 86BRZ on Jun 13, 2017 at 10:49 am

Toyota is waiting and observing closely bro. Like the AE86 in Initial D before it overtakes.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:10 am

honda tried so hard to copy volvo rear light styling but failed miserably, looks terrible imho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • Shamgti on Jun 12, 2017 at 5:02 am

Why different from our neighbour??!! Drb think Malaysia buyer so stupid?? Stupido Crv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • funnyman on Jun 12, 2017 at 5:39 am

whoever does the ad, feedback for your info, didn’t excite me at all. the warning is plain stupid.

• I will wait for the facelifted version and comes with diesel & 7 seats variant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Sense on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:07 pm

Hopefully, Facelift will look a bit better, this new one looks very awkward compared to the previous generation.

• Untung Manyak Wang on Jun 12, 2017 at 8:48 am

Why civic 1.5 T only 170++ hp?

• 12yrsold on Jun 13, 2017 at 12:02 pm

They tune the CRV with higher HP because the CRV is heavier I think.

• wisdom on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:34 am

No 7 seater?

No thank you.
    Next!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • andrw on Jun 12, 2017 at 10:21 am

volvo tail lamp . then honda fanboy will say volvo copy honda. just as they said the elantra tail lamp copied the city’s.

• Honda Malaysia on Jun 12, 2017 at 12:54 pm

suria sabah..infront upperstar

• sabahan on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:08 pm

wow….. the tail so ugly….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Dun diss Volvo lah.

• tokmoh. on Jun 13, 2017 at 11:09 am

Want nice, buy original Volvo.

This copycat is proof why buy ori is best. Volvo also got 7 seater.

• Pay 3X more just for 2 extra seats?! Better get CRV and buy plastik chairs from Ikea. Now both car & chair got same same Sweden design.

• Chinaman on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:33 am

If you take away the badge, I would think it is a china car from behind, cause the rear design very chinaman style

• hondaman on Jun 12, 2017 at 1:46 pm

tunggu facelift.. baru akan dapat 7 seater…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 12, 2017 at 2:41 pm

if they have to hide the interior…its a worrying sign that it might be a disappointment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • kereta_lembu on Jun 13, 2017 at 9:56 am

Maybe Honda still thinks that Malaysians don’t have internet, although it is true for some places but most people can just google and see how it looks like on the inside. As if we have a special Malaysian edition interior that nobody has seen before. If any difference also will be minimal lah…all these are marketing gimmick to create interest. Nice try but next time try something more original.

• Maybe HM will be suprised with 7 seats CR-V comes for turbo variant.

• Bob_B78 on Jun 12, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Alamak! SUV Honda Jazz!

• no_capble_suv on Jun 12, 2017 at 6:24 pm

From Youtube, this seem like not capable SUV compare to Subaru Forester.

• The third generation CR-V still looks the best in my opinion.The CR-V has always been a reliable vehicle and as solid as a tank and hopefully the new one follows suit.

• SUV Owner on Jun 13, 2017 at 1:07 am

For those looking for 7 seaters, pls go for full size MPV rather than compact SUV like this. 5 seaters is the right choice for SUV this size, adding extra 2 seats only make the car heavier and less trunk space which is CRV good at. Even bigger SUVs like Lexus RX and BMW X5 sticks with 5 seats because no way 7 people can seat comfortably in this car size.

• Hayenadeblue on Jun 13, 2017 at 1:48 am

Turbo but with cvt?? No thanks. Nk ikut subaru ikutla. Dont regret it later honda. Mercedes tried with cvt before and changed back to geared box (dual clutch eventhough not necessarily to be dual). Sadly all japanesse car manufacturers are going to this direction (cvt). Maybe not korean (hyundai, kia) yet. Hmmmm. Interesting. Only if the quality of korean cars in par with the japanesse ….

• Hayenadeblue on Jun 13, 2017 at 1:49 am

I believe us variants will have both cvt and dual clutch versions. And the dual clutch will be more expensive. In other words, cvt is for poor people.

• transformer on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:55 am

5 seater is a big mistakes Honda!

wanna try to lay foundation, smooth upgrade path for its facelift (7 seater)…

• 5 seater ONLY ???? not 5+2 seater as expected? Honda Malaysia should ask what their customer wants than decide on their own. I’ve seen Indonesian highest spec comes with 5+2 seater and panaromic sunroof. in this case X-Trail is my choice.

• Horrible design. That weird rear, complicated front grill with too much chrome bling here and there. Chrome is outdated, that’s why US models are much nicer.