Tesla Model 3 production to start this week, deliveries begin this month ahead of schedule – Elon Musk

Tesla delivering ahead of schedule? Not many would have bet on that, but the first Tesla Model 3 cars are set to be delivered this month, and production will start this week. This was revealed by Tesla CEO Elon Musk on Twitter.

“Model 3 passed all regulatory requirements for production two weeks ahead of schedule,” Musk tweeted, adding that the first one is expected to be finished on Friday. There will be a “handover party” for the first 30 customers late this month, and Tesla plans to produce 100 Model 3 units in August, 1,500 in September and 20,000 in December, the EV maker’s boss revealed.

The Tesla Model 3 order books have been opened for more than a year now, and the backlog should be rather big by now – days after Tesla started accepting orders, more than 300,000 people put down $1,000 deposits to have their name on the queue.

Tesla hasn’t updated the booking count, but Musk said last month that “there are more and more deposits every week.” But at the company’s annual shareholder meeting in June, Musk did say that one who puts in an order then probably wouldn’t get their Model 3 before the end of 2018.

The $35k electric car has been spotted testing, and the Model 3’s vital stats are in the open – the range is around 346 km vs 400-539 km for the Model S, 0-96 km/h time is 5.6 seconds vs up to 2.3 seconds for the Model S P100D, and cargo capacity is smaller too (396 vs 850 litres). Model 3 owners will not benefit from unlimited Supercharging use – it’s pay-per-use for the entry model.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sonyman1 on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:17 am

Malaysia want to sell how much?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:18 am

Amazing. Such a young company yet 300,000 people can put their deposits down.

I hope this gives inspiration to Proton. So much older than Tesla and yet, orders are hardly few thousands by the general public. Bulk orders come from kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • U do realise deposit is only $1000, and fully refundable at any time, with no commitment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
      • Leafable on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:39 am

U do realise it mean how confident is Tesla on their own products will sell like hot cake. Which it did attract 400k booking.

• Muhd Shahidan on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:37 am

what a dumb comment. OMG. Most depositors don’ bail out like you

• Blue_traveler on Jul 04, 2017 at 1:05 pm

John, have you thought through, that with 1k each, times 400k ++, you will have a $400k++ money to roll over? Put that kind of money on a overnight banking repo rate,( meaning that you loan the bank that amount of money, yes it’s a real thingy, where do you think your house booking desposits goes, after you gave it to the developers, ain’t sitting around doing nothing, that’s how they make even more money. That’s why many ngo and ministers have wanted to pass the regulation of deposit of 10-20% and the rest only on completion OC. ) daily until you need it, would nett you lots of extra non taxable moola? No need ask for handout every time… think about that.

• And have u gip some thought that w/o commitment, I can put in today, take out tomolo, then change mind and put in next week later?
          Finance parley: never hope on variable income. In the end, its what they tabulate at end month that gips profit. But then stock markets dun run like that. Now u know why this kompeni is heading to bankruptcy despite the huuhaa.

• wish to buy one in Malaysia… =)

• thepolygonal on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:38 am

They could very well make this car looks more nicer but noooooo.. they reserve the better design for a more expensive variant…

One reason Model S sells very well is because of the way it looks.

• Leafable on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:46 am

Tesla please please come to Malaysia. You will have lots of customers. Promise.

• Hadi Bawang on Jul 04, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Dude..you just come out from which cave? Go contact Greentech Malaysia to purchase.

• Leafable on Jul 04, 2017 at 3:26 pm

Little Dude you are half full or half empty. They don’t sell Tesla only lease to company. Ordinary folks wouldn’t be able to just walk up to the Tesla showroom and purchase one in Malaysia.

And Greentech don’t owned Tesla thats why they couldn’t build or install any Tesla Superchargers here in Malaysia which is 1 of the selling point of Tesla.

Get your fact right Little Dude.

• 12yrsold on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:21 am

Sorry Malaysian. This Model-3 will not be here anytime soon. It is actually good. Why? Because if there is any problems, let the Americans be the genie pig. After 2/3 years, maybe EM will export the car/technologies to MY.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:39 pm

dear elon musk, please see the monstrosity of malaysian taxes and help us