Proton Iriz R5 takes debut rally win at Goodwood 2017

Fresh out of its garage, the Proton Iriz R5 has taken the overall win in the modern rally category on the third day of the Goodwood Festival of Speed. The Mellors Elliot Motorsport-prepared hatchback took to the dirt paths right after it was uncovered at the event, and went on to outpace other more powerful rally machinery, including a Ford Fiesta WRC, formerly of Ott Tänak’s entry into the 2014 season.

To recap, the Proton Iriz R5 is prepared to WRC2 specifications, which also qualifies it for the Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, which MEM has contested (and won) before with the Satria S2000 in 2011. That car also won the Intercontinental Rally Challenge (IRC) and Super 2000 World Rally Championship (SWRC).

The Iriz R5 is powered by a Mitsubishi 4B11T turbocharged inline-four, with sleeved cylinders to drop displacement to 1.6 litres to comply with regulations. Componentry for the Iriz R5 includes Michelin tyres, Xtrac transmission, Reiger suspension, Brembo brakes, Cosworth electronics, Speedline wheels and more.

GALLERY: Proton Iriz R5

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• JERRY on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Well done Proton.
    BRAVO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 6
    • Rooney on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Well done Brits!
      Tahniah GEELY & Mitsubishi Ralliart !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 24
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:38 pm

This goes to show why we need to immigrants into Malaysia. I hope more white people and more Mainland people come to Malaysia to give us the technical knowhow to do well in life and be successful.

Who knows, maybe we can have a few mainland people to sit in the Cabinet also to advice the Government how to do the right thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 55
      • Ralliart dah kolos shop. Oh wait, cannot say out loud cuz jepunis lord….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
      • ThanksGodimNotAMalaysian on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Yup… finally we can really show that all Malaysians are useless, and they definitely need foreigners to make it better. Shame on u Malaysians LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 35
    • apa Ran jxao pun kena GST on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Bro, what u shout out?Proton? should rename Geli…….not Geely oled

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Well done MEM. Goes to show, you need the white man to make Proton No 1 again or the Chinaman to save Proton.

Maybe Malaysia needs more immigrants to come in to make us more successful and intelligent and bail us out more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 38
      • Meanwhile wheres ur Rally Yaris dah pegi? Go back to cave lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • Aik. When 40k immigrants came, u pulak says must send them back home countty. Mana mau ni?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
      • awg1031 on Jul 06, 2017 at 12:49 pm

sure, come, work and live in malaysia..but once u think u are above of others, and berlagak sombong..u can get out of this country..we only need ur brain and experience, not ur arrogance to the nation, language and people

• Powershot on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Well done, MEM

• Yusof Talha on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Well done Geely! not even a month you took over, Proton already win!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 24
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Thank you China and thank you Geely for making Proton successful again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
    • Well done on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Is it too hard to give credit where it is due and just say “well done” or “good job”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • ada side airbags tak? kena tanya ni dulu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Ahmad on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:08 pm

So will proton’s car sales improve?

• Where’s Myvi SE Advance?

• Ahmad on Jul 05, 2017 at 10:46 pm

So will the P1 car sales improve after this?

• Uvuweveyeyeyeyeyeyeye OSAS on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Proton iriz chassis + 4B11T + AWD = a perfect combo ! This is what we get when iriz turn into a beast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
    • lilytan on Jul 05, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Proton always have potential. They just need motorhead rather than parasites to tap it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • Ksatria on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Geely would be proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
  • Passion on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:01 pm

You see. It can be done

• PeroduaLover on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Good, no rear axle problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • tokmoh. on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Cukur, Proton ke arah kuasa besar dunia.

So technically Iriz can fit in a 2.0L powertrain. Hmm iriz T6 Drive-E powertrain with 6-speed manual would be a beast hehehehe

Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • my england is bad on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Waiting for basher to say company near bankrupt wants to waste money and enter rally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • jinggo on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:27 pm

Congrats Iriz…. myvi what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Hilang rear axle at 1st corner. DNF.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:43 pm

Careful, Perodua will send love letter to you cuz you imply their products are bad.

They sold 1 million myvis, they know best, jangan persoal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • 12yrsold on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:30 am

Myvi/P2 will tell U they don’t need to go rally & they don’t need to impress people in-order to sell as rallying cost lots of $$$ so they let the BIG boys with CASH to do the rallying.

They rather MYOB & concentrate on improving their car because by mid-2018, they have to equipt/conform their vehicles to “Standard” set by authority otherwise they will Ta-pow or need bailout.

• What safety? on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Technically, this car was not modified and tuned by Proton. But this proved the chassis made by Proton is good and could take some beating.

I hope Proton could learn something new from Mellors Elliot Motorsport (MEM) on how to harness Proton’s own chassis much better so they could produce better all-round cars for the masses.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • P1 chassis had alwiz been better than others, deswai MEM went for them instead of ,say, P2. Nothing much can learn really cuz rally car is not road car. Each have focus on diff areas, even thou both using same cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • tokmoh. on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:44 pm

More practical they learn from Volvo how to use more hot pressed boron steel to stiffen the chassis further and make it safer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • No need. They alredi using HPF tech. Better learn the trick on how to price a China car at conti prices and fool pipu to buy them.

• malaysian on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Have to expect much higher price though.

• Bashers says “ini tipoo, all the other competitors must have kena deadak. How can a lousy P1 win anything? Somemore against champions like Fiesta WRC. No way!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 23
  • Well done proton & MEM. Haters can keep on hating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • C. P. MOHAN on Jul 05, 2017 at 5:43 pm

I know WRC cars are very different to their production models, I get the need/reason to be different, but if the engine is developed by Mitsubishi can it be still be a Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Toyota has no shame to call GT86 as their own, so why not.

• Jerry on Jul 07, 2017 at 2:10 am

Lol toyota actually CO-DEVELOPED the gt86 with subaru. And it still pay homage to the og ae86. Do a research before you write

• PROTONTigaBintang on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Wasn’t the 1990s Saga, a Mitsubishi ? We still recognise it as Proton. Same goes with Mitsubishi Colt, I mean Satria. Still a Proton. All hail Proton !

• Do people call the pagani and aston martin as mercedes as they using amg engine? nope…it was taken by MEM from evo x to modified it…it still count as proton due the chasis and car body is from proton.

• rally_fan (Member) on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:44 pm

The 4b11 engine is used in the “Proton Inspira”.. It is homologated as a Proton engine because it is sold as part of the Proton family of products as a mass production engine and thus recognised as such by the FIA.

• uvuveyeyeyeye osas on Jul 05, 2017 at 8:23 pm

memang la enjin bukan proton punya. tapi, chassis iriz tu proton yg punyer. ini menunjukkan chassis keta2 proton hebat. sebab tu lah semua keta proton sedap layan corner walaupun standard kilang. jdi ksimpulannya, enjin 4b11T adalah penyumbang utama kpd kemenangan tersebut. tapi, kemenangan trsebut tak akan dicapai tanpa chassis kereta yg bagus. jdi, chassis dari proton adalah 1 pelengkap kpd kemenangan tersebut. kau bayangkan lah enjin 4B11T ni kena pasang kat myvi,myvi menang tak? tak myvi kalah . kereta terbalik 10 kali, masuk gaung, chassis bengkok tak tahan, paling femes rear axle tercabut. pastu perodua tak ngaku dan salahkan MEM(andaian je hehehe). kan dorang dah sold 1 milion myvis. perodua = angkuh , riak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • 12yrsold on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:36 am

That is why they say – The Iriz R5 is powered by a Mitsubishi 4B11T.

• Petoron Sagu on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Suka…. Suka jugak. Happy happy. Tapi enjin tu bukannya ada dlm iriz malaysia. Kena tipu lagi la…… (awaiting moderation from YB Kunta).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • my england is bad on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:19 am

Bodo, if you have engine only, no body/chassis how to race? You wear it at your back like those grass cutter ah?

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 124
  • malaysianz on Jul 06, 2017 at 12:17 am

COngratz to the winner. but why not using CAMPRO CFE Engine…

• Uvuweveyeyeyeyeyeyeye OSAS on Jul 08, 2017 at 12:11 pm

Sebab , dlm kategori race ni, keta kena ada system AWD. Jadi, campro cfe bukanlag pilihan yg bijak

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 06, 2017 at 12:22 am

geely wrc team

• komarad on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:20 am

Proton Geely MEM

• ae101 on Jul 06, 2017 at 11:11 am

Im surprise Uk based company used proton car as their project. Previously was Neo S2000 and now Iriz. There are many platform out there. But why proton? Does this company has relation with Proton?

• Yes. Something weird. How can P1 have such gud chassis that of all the available in open market, yet MEM picked P1 and then have the gall to win in its debut? How dare these colony trumped them white overlords!

• awg1031 on Jul 06, 2017 at 12:50 pm

proton can excel if motorheads is at it’s head, not a bunch off politician and accountants

• Bernard on Jul 06, 2017 at 11:06 pm

We need foreigners to show us proton can do it. Simple as that!