Proton Iriz R5 rally car spotted, set for WRC2 entry

Following the teaser image of a rally-prepared Proton Iriz, here’s the first full-car image of the Iriz R5 as shown in Furancho Racing’s Instagram post. Details on the new rally car are scarce, but given its R5 moniker, the rally-going Iriz can be expected to comply to R5 class regulations, which dictate the use of 1.6 litre, turbocharged engines mated to all-wheel-drive, along with a minimum weight of 1,230 kg.

The headlamps and grille from the roadgoing Iriz appear to have made it to the R5 car, with the integrated front bumper and front fenders headed by a large central air intake with an “IRIZ” script on the mesh. Adding on to the rally car look are the roof-mounteed air scoop and carbon-fibre side mirrors, as well as the eye-catching wheelarch extensions for the wider wheel/tyre combination and increased clearance.

Proton Iriz rally car teaser

As can be seen here, the Iriz R5 currently wears plain silver paintwork in place of a full racing livery, though it does have Proton decals along the sides and the top of its windscreen. Presumably set to contest the WRC-2 class (R5 regs make it eligible), the team behind the Iriz R5 will surely be looking to follow up the successes of the Satria S2000, which took rally driver Alister McRae (younger brother to the late, great Colin McRae) to an APRC title in 2011.

What do you think of the Iriz R5? Would you like to see a high-performance Iriz, perhaps breathed on by R3? Sound off in the comments section below.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• kapchai on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Great Uber car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • Same L0rr on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:08 am

High maintainance of campro engine & CVT bising Punch, really not suitable for Uber & Grab! Buy Toyota better!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
  • This is not P1 sponsored (maybe just the car), so dun get ur knickers twisted. Thankq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • redidiot on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:12 pm

i dont know…. the company is not exactly in the black, everybody else ikat perut, the recent budget also left a lot to be desired and P1 wants to go rallying??? personally i dont think its prudent. it’d be a different case if P1 sells the rally cars to privateers or the likes… i dont know lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
  • karam singh on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:16 pm

i am bacckkk !

• panjang on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:38 pm

Anything small,agile,handles nicely, and has enough power is interesting to me hence Iriz
    R3 is ok for me.
    If its up to me,i want the old 1.6 cps engine to power it,Who cares abt emission in My rite.

• Waste of money. Better sort out their outdated models. Or lack of models. Have we seen any chinese car company went racing internationaly? I never seen one. & yet they’re producing a lot more models & bigger quantity than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 24
    • I agree.
      Nissan went to racing – almost deid, bought by Renault
      Mitsu went to racing – close to deid, bought by Nissan
      Subaru went to racing – never grow
      Citroen went to racing – like wanna deid alredi
      VW went to racing – sumpah dieselgate
      Toyota went to racing – no result, quickly pull out b4 deid

But then P1 is not racing this time, its private venture.

• Please read, and read, and read again the article ok? Till you understand if the WRC2 team is Proton team or not.

• Mikey on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:56 pm

Foo yoh, I think many will want to book a R5 rally car for the price of a City/Vios man. Common P1, this will be your chance to clear stocks FAST with the hardware included. I will book 1 NOW.

• donno on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:36 pm

It looks like the car is just a mockup, with fake vents on the bonnet. Probably it is because the “matsallehs” are excited about this but those back in Proton still uninterested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
  • power x sangat on Oct 24, 2016 at 7:38 pm

looks ok, but power not ok….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Proud on Oct 24, 2016 at 10:01 pm

Looks awesome!!!I am pretty sure its going to be a great R5 car.

• Sinimausinggah on Oct 25, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Oh my Iriz: Proton’s brand reputation and “Sumpah CVT”

I really like this car. I do. I mean I like it a lot. Mind you, mine is a MANUAL. So, no ‘sumpah CVT’ here. Performance is good on manual transmission (good because mine is only 1.3), average fuel consumption is decent (7.0L/100KM) – based on what appears on info panel after 2 years of usage – and I sometimes drove this car up to 170km/h (on Highway of course, not on normal road).

Ride and Handling is superb. Yes, SUPERB. No matter how hard I try to dislodge the car from the road, it REFUSED! It feels even superior than a Volkwagen Polo that my friend own. The chassis has really amazed me. It rides with the sophistication of a car a class above. Driving it casually in the city won’t make it feel any different than other B segment car, but once you go 120km/h and above, all of sudden a cheap car like this turns very premium. You will immediately feel like this car firmly grips itself on the road and tells you “I got you buddy, just go!”.

It’s sad that Proton’s reputation has caused this model not to sell well. And of course, the sumpah CVT also plays its role.

Most of Irizes are driven in the city. Rarely do I see it on the highway. And I saw mostly women especially aunties drove it. Typical driving speed will usually be not more than 80km/h and tackling corners like driving a van. I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel about it. Because this car is made for more spirited driving. It’s really a man’s car. Don’t be fooled by its feminine ‘awek’ name “IRIZ” and cute look of a guinea pig. This car is really a beast (minus not so powerful engine).

Having said that, I really wish Proton someday will equip Iriz with a turbo engine. And please! Proton! Please! It must be a MANUAL! Your ProTronic isn’t pro at all.

Speaking about Iriz R5 rally here, I have no doubt that it could do very well. On track and off track. The potential is there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0