GIIAS 2017: W213 Mercedes-Benz E350e previewed in Indonesia – Malaysian launch this quarter

Mercedes-Benz previewed the E350e for the Indonesian market at the 2017 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS). The plug-in hybrid W213 is not yet on sale in the Republic, and Mercedes is likely waiting for the government’s finalised low carbon emmision vehicle (LCEC) regulations before moving in.

Taxation based on C02 emissions would benefit plug-in hybrids like the E350e – it produces just 57 g of C02 per km, as emblazoned on the showcar’s profile. Official claimed fuel consumption is 2.5 litres per 100 km.

The E350e is equipped with the M274 2.0 litre petrol unit as seen on the C350e, and has the same output of 208 hp and 350 Nm. There are however slight differences to its motor and total system output numbers. Here, the electric motor is rated at 87 hp/440 Nm (80 hp/340 Nm on the C350e), and combined output is 281 hp and 550 Nm (275 hp/600 Nm in the smaller car).

The car’s high-voltage lithium-ion battery has a total capacity of 6.2 kWh (identical to the C350e), and in Europe, the recharge time quoted for the unit is 1.5 hours at a charge rate of 3.7 kW (16A/230V line) via a charging point or wallbox, or around three hours via a standard domestic power socket.

Performance numbers include a 33 km operating range in all-electric mode and a top speed of 130 km/h running on electric power alone. This W213 does the 0-100 km/h sprint in 6.2 seconds and has a top speed of 210 km/h.

The E350e was launched in Thailand in May, and its Malaysian introduction is just around the corner. Already announced and previewed for our market, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has set the PHEV’s launch for the third quarter of this year, which we’re in now.

Our soon-to-be range-topping W213 variant will come with an AMG Line exterior and interior, like the car you see here. The kit list will include 19-inch five-spoke AMG wheels, Multibeam LED headlights, a panoramic sliding glass roof and Airmatic suspension.

Inside, it will have Nappa leather, an AMG Sports steering wheel, widescreen cockpit meter panel, pre-entry climate control, Comand Online, as well as a Burmester high-end surround sound system. Expect to pay slightly under RM400k for the top W213 (taking over from the E300) when it arrives.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E350e Malaysia preview

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 14, 2017 at 12:55 pm

So the top of the crop CKD version is finally here to do battle with the CBU 530i…but then wait a minute…if the 530i receives its CKD version wouldn’t the price be a lot lower than the Benz? Then there’s the 530e that will be coming later with an even lower sticker price. MBM will have to be extra careful in its pricing…in beginning to see more of the new 530i compared to the new E class on the road.

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 14, 2017 at 1:09 pm

I’ve always wondered, is it the right time to buy hybrid/PHEVs now? Or is it better to wait a few more years? The cars are comparatively cheaper due to the promotions by the govt for such vehicles (provided they are locally assembled), but what is worrying is the resale value. Would anybody want to buy a used PHEV car now, knowing the battery (which I can only imagine will cost an arm and a leg) will need replacement not long after that? Surely, RV will take a big hit, but will it be compensated enough by the savings you get through a cheaper price brand new? Eventually, PHEVs and full electric cars will be the way to go, as some countries like UK and France will ban petrol/diesel powered cars completely by 2040. In Malaysia, there is no long term strategy for this. So it appears, its better, for now, to avoid such cars. Unless you buy PHEVs to save the environment. Then, other considerations mentioned above is no longer important. Which is good on you, for thinking about the future, rather than your wallet.

• 12yrsold on Aug 14, 2017 at 3:09 pm

I-Say-Man. Indonesia Taxation is based on C02 emissions just like Europe & many parts of the world. I know many M’sian do not like to hear this But looks like we are behind Indon on this Man. Ha ha ha, john, what say U??

• Every country is diff. Even SG can fine a Tesla for excessive emission and that on top of 10X price for COE. So how can any country compare with each other?

• 12yrsold on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:09 pm

john, U are the ONLY one that always compare with SG COE. U should know why SG cars are more expensive or U have ran out of points to bash SG.

• Yes. Another cash cow to gov. So whats the diff?

• 12yrsold on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:48 am

It is indeed a Cash COW to our Gov. Is this why the Gov is supporting COW business?!

• Becoz need to cover 70B USD loss by Temasek?

• What’s the point tax on CO2 emission if the price are more expensive there in Indo. Here in My, bigger engine means more CO2, tax more. I see no problem about this.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 15, 2017 at 7:58 pm

fail la…g30 so muc bettter