Mercedes-Benz S-Class facelift to arrive in Malaysia mid-2018 – E350e and E63 4Matic+ launching soon

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) is set to introduce two more W213 E-Class variants this year – the E 350 e plug-in hybrid that was announced in April still hasn’t been officially priced, but a market debut is said to be expected soon.

The other E-Class model is the E 63 4Matic+. Speaking at the sidelines of the C238 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe launch earlier today, Mark Raine, MBM’s vice-president of sales and marketing, intimated that the 563 hp and 750 Nm sports sedan will make its premiere here during a “special occasion,” and we’re surmising that it’ll be sometime in September, in conjunction with the 2017 Formula 1 Petronas Malaysia GP.

Raine also reaffirmed that the facelifted W222 S-Class will only be arriving in Malaysia in 2018, and gave a more concrete timeline of the car making its way here “towards the middle of the year.”

Like with the current pre-facelift, it’s expected that the refreshed flagship will be sold here in its eventual plug-in hybrid form, though how that will shape up will depend very much on whether the hybrid incentives in place until the end of the year are extended, with no resolution yet on this front.

Raine said that the company remains on track for another record year in 2017, with the company expecting to achieve its 12,000 unit target for 2018 (it shifted 11,779 vehicles in 2016). The model introduction count for 2017 is also set to surpass that of 2016, when 17 models were launched – 19 was the number touted at the company’s recent event where its 1H performance results were announced.

GALLERY: W213 Mercedes-Benz E 350 e plug-in hybrid, second preview

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Periasamy on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:56 am

Hopefully the E350e will be priced like the E300 Bluetec Hybrid at RM333k.

Let us see if MBM is greedy cause a Diesel Hybrid like the E300 Bluetec cost more to build than a petrol hybrid. Everybody knows diesel engines cost more to build.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
    • Diesel engines is ekceli easier to build as it less intricate valvtrain and dun have sparkplugs as compared to petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Not true. Diesels are more expensive to make because they run on higher compression ratio than petrol engines which means you need to make the block stronger thus heavier. Besides that, the transmission will need to take much more torque from a turbo diesel than a turbo petrol.
        Sparkplugs are very cheap compare to rest of the components. Diesel engines have glowplugs which is more expensive.

• En Syukur Selalu on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:01 am

E350e super good bargain. rm200K tax diskaun, saya puji kerajaan perihatin.

• It will be rm399k

• It will be rm399k.. let see

• AhKeong on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:02 am

I wonder if MBM reads paultan comments. Previous post bout E Coupe everyone complain to bring in E350e. Now they launching it soon. lol

• E 350e launching? The current owner of new E-class will cry like a baby.

• what makes U thought so?

• Few years down the road, E350e customers will cry cuz their RV will be lower than E350 normal.

• I am e250 owner, i dont need to cry as i know the phev vehicle in malaysia is not necessary, our petrol price is cheap compare to other country, per charge can last for 20++KM, what for? Dont forget u need to count in the electric fee, it is not free… and the extra weight of batt under the boot also shrink down the size of boot.

• My boss bought S400, XC90 & X5 hybrid cuz fully-loaded top spec. Performance & fuel efficiency so-so only.

• Jayden Tan on Jul 29, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Yes ppl buy luxury hybrid is bcoz of their higher spec, not so much into environmental issue. Petrol costs is relatively cheaper compare to costs of replacing the battery

• I own w213 on Jul 28, 2017 at 10:30 pm

I will not cry bcos i think phev car is actually unnecessary in our country…
      Per charge claim 30km but after test is only 20++km…
      U can afford to pay 400k for the car price, how much u can save for 60k km if use agility plan for 36 months, let say if you only use hybrid for 20 to 25km per day? Oppps… airmatic taste tempting right… lol.. with 270kg extra weight compare to petrol version.. the airmatic is just to balance back the car level. Also.. how much u need to pay the electricity bill for the 6kwh for the full charge?

• Gravatar on Jul 28, 2017 at 10:55 am

Benz S400 facelift, Show The World You’ve Made It.

• BowArrow on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:06 am

“…Like with the current pre-facelift, it’s expected that the refreshed flagship will be sold here in its eventual plug-in hybrid form” I thought S400H is hybrid only not plug-in hybrid..?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:22 am

Yes, the current S400h is a regular hybrid. The article says the facelift is expected to come in its eventual plug-in hybrid form (which has not been announced yet).

• Is there a need for plug in, since the engine regen shud be able to charge it while driving. Does plug in variants allows pure EV mode drive?

• meejawa on Jul 28, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Paultan grammar improve skit…sometimes we see so flower flower until dunno go where..while on the simplest sentence also can give ambiguity..how la

• Vincent on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:44 am

While C350e priced at about MYR300K, the right price strategy for E350e will be at MYR 388K. Unless Mercedes Malaysia intend to kill own E200, only focus on E350e…

• Najib on Jul 28, 2017 at 2:55 pm

I would love the E350e in the traditional mercedes grill. The e class looks best in the traditional grill and selenite blue imho. Call me old fashion but i love seeing that 3 pointed star being exposed in the sky.

• Merc Fan on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:04 pm

The only reason people buy hybrid is because they suppose to be cheaper than non-hybrid. The reason why it need to be cheaper is because nobody want it after 4 years.