Mercedes-Benz Malaysia marks another record year in 2016 – 11,779 vehicles delivered, 9% up from 2015

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has marked another stellar performance in 2016, with the brand achieving an all-time record sales figure of 11,779 vehicles, a nine percent improvement over the 2015 total of 10,845 units.

The number was good enough to give it a 2.4% market share in the total industry volume for 2016, and place Malaysia at the top of ASEAN sales markets for the brand, ahead of Thailand.

Last year, the company launched 17 models, including the W213 E-Class, C117 CLA facelift, R172 SLC, C205 C-Class Coupe (and Cabriolet), G-Class facelift and the X166 GLS. It now has over 50 models in its local product portfolio.

As for local assembly, it is now producing eight models at its Pekan production plant, namely the C 180 Avantgarde, C 200 Exclusive, C 200 Avantgarde, C 250 AMG, the W213 E-Class, S 400h AMG as well as the GLC 250 AMG and the the C 350 e plug-in hybrid. Local production amounted to 7,882 units last year.

In terms of sales figures, its best ever month in 2016 was recorded in June, with 1,203 units sold, and Q2 was the best performing quarter, with 3,359 units shifted during the period.

The automaker’s premium sedans led the way, with the C-, E-, and S-Class collectively recording a total of 7,750 units sold, of which 4,762 were W205 C-Class units. The E-Class meanwhile contributed 2,034 to the total, while the W222 S-Class chipped in with 954 units.

The brand’s compact vehicles – comprising the W176 A-Class, W246 B-Class, X156 GLA and C117 CLA – recorded 2,316 units sold. Of these, 1,034 were A-Class examples, with 638 CLA and 571 GLA adding to the total, the remaining 73 being B-Class units.

A total of 1,671 SUVs were delivered to customers in 2016, with the model breakdown being 1,421 X253 GLCs and 250 GLEs, a mix of the W166 GLE and the C292 GLE Coupe. Included in the total were models in the Mercedes-Benz Dream Cars range, which recorded a total of 301 units sold.

The company divulged other numbers in its 2016 performance presentation. It serviced 108,226 vehicles in 2016 – which represented an 18% jump over the 91,936 vehicles serviced in 2015 – whilst achieving its highest customer satisfaction index in its history.

Meanwhile, MBM’s sister company, Mercedes-Benz Services Malaysia (MBSM), which offers comprehensive financial and insurance solutions, said it racked up a servicing portfolio of RM1.8 billion last year, with four out of every 10 vehicles sold in 2016 being financed and insured by MBSM.

X222 Mercedes-Maybach S 500
C190 Mercedes-AMG GT S
C217 Mercedes-AMG S 63 Coupe
C205 Mercedes-AMG C 63 S Coupe
W213 Mercedes-Benz E 200
W205 Mercedes-Benz C 350 e
X166 Mercedes-Benz GLS 400 4Matic
W166 Mercedes-Benz GLE 400 4Matic
C292 Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 AMG Coupe
X253 Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 AMG
C253 Mercedes-Benz GLC 250 Coupe

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Megane on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Whoa congrats Mercedes. Economic crisis what ? Bullshit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Hot dog on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Economic tough , nobody saying crisis , bro !
      Rich peoples became more riches, others 90 % still living debts…besok belum tau macam mana !

• javfan on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:49 am

rich people became more rich because they think like rich people. the 90% living in debts you mentioned there are mostly the rich people…
        you think the rich people don’t apply for loans meh? there are reasons why the rich have more loan than the poor. they know how to manipulate the system, they know how to reduce their taxes. so you are right… the rich get richer & the poor get poorer.

• Kunta still using persona on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Well done merz, rich getting richer now. Poor getting poorer.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:34 am

Mercedes every year outshines BMW. BMW infact lies about their figures. This is because every year Sime Darby takes few hundred brand new units of BMW cars from BMW Malaysia as company cars for VP1, SVP and above.

BMW Malaysia is owned by Sime Darby. So, this you cannot consider as sales as parent group is buying from a subsidiary.

Previously, Sime Darby Group leased the BMW cars from Hertz Rental, which is also owned by Sime Darby. Again , parent (sime) buying through a subsidiary (hertz) from a subsidiary (bmw Malaysia)

In total, every year, Sime Darby buys several hundred units.

I hope MAA can look into this as it misleads the public thinking BMW got sales over 1000 units to the general public

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Adenan on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:33 am

understatement. Sime actually gets few thousand units for staff every year. They got over 30,000 workers lah

• Bimmerfan on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Premium brand stil So good sales….summore than bmw.
      Benz malaysia oso gip pre-reg car? Free service or 5yr warranty?
      any1 here can help..

• Nizzan on Jan 13, 2017 at 3:33 pm

300 SLS AMG sold in 2016?! Did I read correctly? That’s 600M given the price stage that each cost about 2M.

• If you have quality, even is expensive, people still buy. If you are ” relaxx lah, biasalah”, give 9k discount on top of already cheap plak price, still no one buy. Think about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Ex VGM staff on Jan 12, 2017 at 9:32 pm

I remember the 80s Mercedes Benz had less than 10 models all in all. They were the newly launched 190E, the W124 mid size sedan (not yet called e class), the w126 s class and G wagen. 124 had several body type other than sedan, also a wagon and coupe. While the 4 door S class had few trim spec to choose (among which 280SE, 380SE and SEL) it also has a coupe variation incl 500SEC and 560SEC. And that’s all about it.

• I first read the news in The Star today, but I knew Paultan.org’s coverage of the news will be much more refined and of quality compared to The Star. And as usual I am not disappointed.

P.S. Carsifu.my really sucks. Really, really sucks. They might as well close down that sight for piss poor auto coverage.

• transformer on Jan 13, 2017 at 12:00 am

agreed how come a blogger that really review a car and give sincere comment whereas those big money publication just want more advertisement from auto/phones/IT makes and write intros of specification rather than a proper review. Not only The Star but another english daily’s also shit after changed TEAM since last year.

This remind me of Top Gear Season 22 vs season 23. I’m on Amazon The Grand Tour(Jeremy Clarkson trio) these days….

• nabill (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 9:50 am

Those local publications u have mentioned have the most pathetic 3rd world mentality car reviews ever… Its all kissaxx reviews, no negatives about anything that they review, like reading an advertorial…. The sooner they die the better…

• Tax the rich.

• Gaviny on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Mercedes and BMW , wah quality must buy expensive never mind . Mazda CBU wah so expensive my ckd Camry is better

???????

• showroom and service one of the best compare to others.Well done Mercedes Malayia!

• Mikey on Jan 12, 2017 at 10:41 pm

WoW, out of 11,779 vehicles sold, Local production amounted to 7,882 units. It also means our local assemble(CKD) cars at Pekan is as Good as any.

In M’sia, BMW used to be the leader in the premium section bcos they use to have better looking/design cars.

Lately, Merc seems to be able to deliver/develop better looking & better design car than BMW. Their mainstream C/E/S class looks more modern & sporty.

Despite our slowing economy, seems like the premium car like Merc & BMW are doing better than P1/P2 & Toyota in 2016 comparatively. Why is this so ?!

Some say the rich are getting richer. Other said the rich are immune to slowing down. Whatever is the reason, we need the rich to keep on spending bcos their $$$ will keep our economy afloat.

Thank Q to our rich/wealthy spender bcos without your taxation contribution, our economy will have a tougher time surviving. John must be happy now bcos taxing the rich is his famous word.

• It’s reality. We need the rich people of the country to keep spending so that the rest of the income classes in malaysia can benefit via sustained creation of jobs which come with multiplier effects leading to people able to put food on the table and send their kids to school and eventually grow into an income bracket to contribute taxes to the country.

Thus, news of record sales of premium cars in the country is actually a GOOD thing. You have to get worried once sales of premium cars slow down.

Thank you rich people, I keep striving to be like you.

• Andrekua on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Haha… how they become rich of they kept spending? In reality, they are earning even more now with all the price hike. You want them to spent more, they will in turn profit more. Otherwise how to keep upgrading cars until their son and daughter all also drive Mercedes and BMW.

• If they got rich not by manipulation, i have no objection.but if otherwise it is really bad..rich got richer poor get poorer

• transformer on Jan 12, 2017 at 11:52 pm

consumer are tired of BMW kidney grills(its time for a major revamp BMW)

• SURE BMW will fight back next year with the launch of new 5 series .

• Andrekua on Jan 13, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Well, our government want money only. Hence they will listen to the riches. Like recently, if they implement employer paying levi for their foreign workers, then no more money to pay for new Mercedes/BMW.

• In another Malaysian statistic... on Jan 13, 2017 at 2:10 pm

…the number of Malaysian hairdresser increased by 9%. What a serendipitous and completely unrelated coincidence.

• John Doe on Jan 13, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Err excuse me, when new c class facelift coming?

• Heard is coming soon, better wait bro

• Y U Fuk on Jan 15, 2017 at 11:26 pm

Nice cars, but over time, the marque is losing the edge over time to Audi, Jaguar & BMW. In this category, just because you sell more cars, does not mean your cars are better. It’s not a volume game. I guess in Malaysia, it’s still the old status symbol to own the ‘3 star’…..so your neighbor knows that you have made it in life and your on your way to receive the Datuk ship ?! In my opinion, Audi is under rated, and are lovely cars ! BMW engines are wonderful and Jaguar exudes class & elegance. In India, till around 2012 the ‘3 star’ was the status symbol and top dog, but then once the buggers got hold of Audi & BMW for a test drive, the tables were reversed. If I’m not mistaken, in 2013/14 the ranking between the 3 were as follows: Audi-BMW-Mercedes Benz. The Japs are soon catching up with the Lexus, then there is the Camry & Accord which are great luxury cars as well. My bet will also be on Jaguar, but first they must increase the amount of dealers/3S in major cities to gain traction. Perhaps over time, a CKD Jaguar ?