Mercedes-Benz B-Class facelift launched in Malaysia – updated B 200 Sports Tourer goes for RM218,888

Click to enlarge specs sheet.

The Mercedes-Benz B-Class facelift has arrived in Malaysia, as revealed by the full spec sheet (above) that’s taken from the brand’s official local website. As before, only the B 200 Sports Tourer variant is available, priced at RM218,888. The figure matches that of Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s updated GST price list announced earlier.

Mechanically, the B-Class remains unchanged. A 1.6 litre turbocharged engine with 156 hp and 250 Nm of torque powers the front wheels, through the same 7G-DCT dual-clutch transmission as before. It can get to 100 km/h in 8.4 seconds, on to a to speed of 200 km/h.

On the outside, our sole B 200 model is dressed in the new Urban design and equipment package. This includes a two-louvre grille, integrated exhaust finishers round the back and extra chrome highlights around the car. The sportier AMG Line – introduced on the B-Class for the first time – can’t be had here, unfortunately.

Among the standard-fit items are automatic LED headlights (though not the higher-end full-LED Intelligent Lighting System unit), 18-inch five-spoke alloy wheels with run-flat tyres (up from the outgoing 17s) and tyre pressure monitoring system. A comfort-biased suspension is fitted to Malaysian-bound models.

Inside, the updated B 200 gets a bigger centre display (8.0-inch compared to the old 5.7-inch screen), though it’s matched to the same Audio 20 multimedia system. New to the mix is a reverse camera function. Automatic climate control, heated and powered front seats with memory function, active parking assist, cruise control are all included.

Safety wise, seven airbags come standard, including a knee bag for the driver. Also fitted are Collision Prevention Assist and Attention Assist. So folks, would you get this or the new BMW 218i Active Tourer for the same price?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• B class or 2series ? Please leave the answer below

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:33 pm

Why need turbo for such a small car? My Avanza can accommodate 7 people comfortably and can run with 1300cc. So Toyota still the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 83
      • avanzasnail on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:09 pm

Avanza with 7 people inside is underpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • People in Myanmar use an EX5 to transport 7 people. EX5 doesn’t have a turbo as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • rotfl on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Yeah if EX5 can transport 7 people then let’s transport 20 people in Avanza, all without turbo.

ROTFL

• Saw Hai on Apr 21, 2015 at 5:30 am

Don’t talk cock Sam Lorr. You sound like your mother. You should be driving a 1998 kancil. Can fit your whole family in it. Total cost to own today is 3K. You can fit all 7 idiots from your family in there. Including your mother.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • I think every motorhead will be happy with the turbo, unless ur makcik ustazah who drive avanza

• If you are young (35 or below) – 2 series
      If you are Pak Cik tua – B class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 21
      • lingerie dept on Apr 20, 2015 at 10:15 pm

If you are Same Lorrrr = wacoal

• 2 series is bulkier n taller, look more like suv.
        While b200 looks like hatchback.
        Front look i prefer b200, sleek and sportier . 2series..nah i hate those oversized nostril
        For rear, b200 offer sleek n classy look while 2 series is more aggressive sporty look

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:18 pm

Talk about coincidence! MBM matches the BMW in pricing but gives a slightly larger screen, front memory seats and a punchier engine. I think cruise control is not available in the 218i AT either.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:19 pm

Hahaha who going to buy this junk over Proton Iriz ?

Our Iriz have equity to BMW and volvo and it only cost less then 70k.

Ugley expensive Benz go back to German !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 20, 2015 at 6:25 pm

much better than bmw lousytourer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 30
  • Why would anyone with a fully functioning mind would buy a 218i septictourer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Hafriz, u forgot to mention the new steering wheel…the one with similar design to W205

• spongewai on Apr 20, 2015 at 8:40 pm

yesterday i test drove a BMW 2-ies Active Tourer is not quite fun and kinda under power

so winner is B-class lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • Volksie on Jul 07, 2018 at 11:49 pm

What? Your avanza much better than merc? Iriz? Hello stupidos, people who buy the benz and bmw with that 200k tag are rich people who only thinks about the standard n lifestyle. They dont give a damn if your avanza n iriz or even your alza or exora can fit 20 people at a time. Its all about class n lifestyle.