Mercedes-Benz SLC launched in Malaysia – SLC200 at RM398,888, SLC300 AMG Line at RM468,888

mercedes-benz-slc-launch-1

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has launched two new convertible models at Zouk Club this evening. Leading the charge is the Mercedes-Benz SLC, which takes over the mantle from the SLK as the three-pointed star’s offering in the small roadster segment.

Pricing for the baby SL starts at RM398,888 for the SLC 200 and RM468,888 for the SLC 300 AMG Line. Both prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Looks familiar? That’s because the SLC is essentially an extensive facelift of the SLK, with the new moniker the result of a range-wide restructuring of model nomenclatures. The front end has been redesigned with reshaped headlights (LED Intelligent headlights on both models, with twin projectors) flanking a new “diamond” grille, while a more aggressive triple air intake arrangement has sprouted underneath.

mercedesbenz_slc300-4

At the back, there are LED tail lights and a new rear valence insert with integrated exhaust exits. Both models get 18-inch alloy wheels – five split-spoke rollers on the SLC 200, two-tone AMG multispoke items on the SLC 300 – but only the SLC 300 gets the sportier AMG front and rear bumpers, the Night Package with gloss black trim and chrome pins on the grille.

Not much has changed inside, with the addition of a larger COMAND central display (from 5.8 inches to 7.0 inches), a new AMG-style flat-bottomed steering wheel, a new colour multi-info display and a stubby gearlever from the AMG A 45 being the only discernible changes. The SLC 200 receives dark aluminium trim with a carbon fibre-like pattern, while the SLC 300 gets gloss black interior trim panels.

Elsewhere, the folding metal roof has been revised and now operates at speeds of up to 40 km/h, and there’s also a new semi-automatic boot separator that works with the Keyless-GO system on the SLC 300 – the latter automatically goes into the lower position when the roof is being stowed, if it was left in the upper position for increased luggage space before setting off.

mercedesbenz_slc300-14

Standard equipment on the SLC 200 include a sports package with sports suspension, an AMG Line leather upholstery, a memory package for the seats, steering column and mirrors, manual air-con and Airguide wind deflectors. Other features include Audio 20 CD infotainment with Garmin Map Pilot navigation and Apple CarPlay, a reverse camera, Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, Pre-Safe and Active Brake Assist.

The SLC 300 adds Keyless-GO entry, Nappa leather upholstery, Thermotronic dual-zone automatic climate control, Magic Sky Control electrochromic panoramic roof, a Harman Kardon Logic 7 surround sound system and COMAND Online navigation.

Both cars are powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine, mated to a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission. In the SLC 200, the blown mill makes 180 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque between 1,200 and 4,000 rpm (0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds, 237 km/h top speed); the SLC 300 gets the full 245 hp and 370 Nm (5.8 secs, 250 km/h).

Browse full specifications and equipment of the new Mercedes-Benz SLC at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz SLC 200

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz SLC 300 AMG Line

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• SLC200 that costs RM400k??

I would say no thanks for this overpriced junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Excellent

• I know its different segment, but…I thought MX-5 was already overpriced anyway! For luxury and brand-contious ppl CLC250 is a better buy. For the drive just get the MX-5 and save the cash then…

• Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Ha ha ha, a “small” roadster that can only seat 2 with only 4 years warranty cost 400k while a small saloon with 5 years warranty that can seat 4 comfortably cost only 10 %.

What is more interesting is the Tri-Star can take only a trolley of goods in Tesco while the small saloon can take at least twice more. TQVM for bashing in advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • Mikey on Sep 29, 2016 at 9:24 pm

Say what U like, the person sitting in the SLC will most likely look down on the people who drive anything cheaper than his SLC.

Please call me a hypocrite or a looser bcos I am one. How about U !? Thanks for reading & I will thank U even more if U can think out of the box B4 typing here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 30, 2016 at 7:31 am

You can afford issit…your parents must be somebody hor…or you buy under market value…got cable aaahhh

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:07 pm

AutoFrenz (the original. I say think out of the box not think/write without your brain( if U have 1). Which part of my post says I am somebody ?! If U have a bone to pick, I’ll give U 1 if U ask.

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 30, 2016 at 1:10 pm

I will laugh at you stupid SLC owners, because your car is obnoxious and out-of-proportion. Looks weird and overpriced. Meanwhile I enjoy myself in a nice local car, full of safety with basics already on par with your SLC, and heading my way to collect rental fee from my 3 shoplots and 7 condos, saved from RM400k.

• Mikey on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:28 pm

LKK, I assume you’re replying 2 me. What has SLC do 2 U & who is questioning your car ability/safety features ?!

U sound like an angry & frustrated man. If U really have 3 shop lots & 7 condos, U will not tell me/us here.

A rich man will act/speak/write & carry himself with confidence. He will not claim to own/have xxx numbers of $$$/properties.

BTW, Why do U have to collect rental when U can ask your tenant to bank-in or give U PD cheques ?!

Finally, I did not claim I drive a SLC. U clearly have comprehension/understanding English.

• sukhoi on Sep 30, 2016 at 2:31 pm

You drive SLC, I drive local car. But then I drive using brain and I arrive faster than you. Problem?

• Royrogers on Sep 29, 2016 at 11:51 pm

I really don’t understand why some people will compare a 2 seater roadster with a 7-seater SUV. It’s like comparing a mobile phone with a laptop. Can we have more relevant comments here please. Anyway, for another RM12k more I would rather get the new Porsche 718 Boxster (480k) over the SLC300 (468k). More powerful (300bhp vs 245bhp), much faster car, nicer exterior and interior and a more prestigious brand. It’s a no brainer really. Come on MBM, you can do better!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 30, 2016 at 10:51 am

lol just buy recon

• Thetruemaserati on Sep 30, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Among the whole Mercedes line up, this is probably the worst buy.

Overpriced small car. Doesnt even look awesome