Mercedes-Benz Malaysia announces 1H 2017 results – 5,913 vehicles delivered, best-ever month in June

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) today announced its performance results for the first half of 2017, with relevant numbers being a total of 5,913 vehicles delivered and 61,850 vehicles serviced by its after-sales network in the first six months of the year.

Compared to the first half of 2016, the sales numbers are marginally off the pace set in the same period last year, when 6,017 units were shifted, but MBM is expecting to remain on track for another record year in 2017. The sentiment is aided by its performance in June, when it recorded its best-ever month, driven by strong demand for its locally-assembled W213 E-Class.

The 1H sales numbers were led by its locally-assembled saloons, namely the Mercedes-Benz C- E- and S-Class, which shifted a total of 3,663 units during the period. The W205 C-Class provided the lion’s share of volume, with 2,075 units sold. This was followed by the E-Class with 1,358 units and the W222 S-Class, with 230 units delivered.

The brand’s SUV offerings chipped in with 1,233 units, while its compact car brigade contributed 739 units to the total. As for the aspirational Dream Cars range, a total of 268 units were sold in the first half of 2017.

The period also saw MBM launching a total of five dealerships, bringing the number to 31 nationwide. Outlets that opened this year were the Hap Seng Kuching Autohaus, Cycle & Carriage Bintang Cheras Autohaus, Hap Seng Bukit Tinggi Autohaus and the Mofaz Kota Bahru and Kuala Terengganu Autohauses.

Aside from new outlets, the company has launched 11 models in the first half of the year, notably six AMG 43 models at a go in May (the C43 sedan and coupe, GLC 43 and GLC 43 Coupe, SLC 43 and E 43) Eight more vehicles are set to be introduced before 2017 is out – the upcoming arrivals will consist of four variants, two special editions and two new models.

The briefing today also highlighted fresh approaches initiated by MBM to engage customers and offer them a more personalised experience. New contact points include OneWeb by Mercedes-Benz, which provides a one-stop integrated state-of-the-art web platform that facilitates the needs of both new and existing customers.

The platform, combined with the workings of an online test drive booking system and online service booking, allows customers to reserve a particular model they are interested in for a test drive or make a workshop appointment online any time.

There’s also the Mercedes-Benz Gallery, which gives potential customers’ freedom to explore the brand through an immersive mobile virtual reality experience and interactive digital signage.

Elsewhere, MBM is introducing SalesTouch, a mobile sales tool that will enable the brand’s product experts and sales consultants to provide customers with real time information. This will include virtually customising their Mercedes-Benz car according to desired specifications and provide a real-time update on the car’s availability.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 06, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Mercedes always better than BMW and more long lasting. You want evidence of it? Try to look on the road and try to find a BMW that is 30 yrs old. You can never find one.

But Mercedes, even 1960 Merc also still running on the road. W123 berlambak on the road and those models ran in the 70s. Got so many 200D and 240D still running fine

So you can see, Merc got double or triple the lifespan of BMW. BMW, after 20 years, you need to demolish your junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 22
    • Unlike a Merc... on Jul 07, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Which is immediately rubbish when you bring it home, driver inclusive.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 06, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Compared to BMW, Mercedes does not mislead about their figures. BMW Malaysia actually leases over a thousand cars to Sime Darby staff who are VP1 and above. They do this through Hertz Rental. Both Hertz and BMW Malaysia are subsidiaries of Sime Darby.

So, in actual fact, BMW Malaysia does not really sell these cars. But yet, they will put it in their sales figures every year. Every year, they lease another new batch of 1000 over brand new cars to Sime Darby.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Trollop koya kiye on Jul 07, 2017 at 10:15 am

Prove it. Dont tell me all those BMWs i see everywhere are driven sime darby staff. Joke commenter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 07, 2017 at 11:29 am

Try to read properly. BMW sells how many per year and how many are for Sime Darby staff.

Try to read.

• Trollop koya kiye on Jul 07, 2017 at 3:42 pm

BMW sells 700-900 cars A MONTH in Malaysia. What are you trying to say when you said they’re not truthful about their sales and then try to imply that it’s led by rentals to Sime Darby staff? Read your own post again. So what did you try to imply? You said they’re not truthful about their sales. How much of the 700-900 cars a month are not truthful?

• In fairness, he didn’t say all BMW cars…

• Tax the rich no problemo

• Meanwhile Poor fresh grads use their EPF retirement to settle study loans….And MY is ekonomi kukuh, kos hidup rendah, pendapatan tinggi according to abang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 13
      • Fresh grads not yet start work alredi got money in EPF to pay of loans? Pls gip me sauce cuz I oso want. Tenkiu.

• Meanwhile, poor fresh grad won’t even look at local cars because no image and standard. Only look with the H and T eventhough they know they poor. And then complain this and that. No wonder they stay poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Real richman car > all

• Johnson Amigo on Jul 07, 2017 at 12:41 am

malaysian getting richer every year, 400k mercedes is peanuts…

• Horrayooi on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:40 am

Mercedes is business tax deductible no problemo

• 12yrsold on Jul 07, 2017 at 11:20 am

Malaysian in general is NOT getting richer. The percentage of people receiving BRiM is higher for the past 2 years.

A check with our Gov Insolvency department show there are more Malaysian bankrupt every year & they are increasing by the day/month because they took personal loans & use credit cards to pay for their needs & wants.

Our priorities are wrong. We should buy a car because we needed one & not because we Want one.

What I’m saying is your point is not right. Malaysian is NOT getting richer, it’s the rich getting richer.

• BRIM higher cuz recipient income level has been raised, making more pipu eligible to receive it now. So MY pipu IS getting richer, but so has the rich as well. Deswai need to tax the rich more, so that BRIM level can raise higher to cover more pipu.

• Corporate buyers get 20% discount if they were buying Merc if Im not mistaken. Instead of buying the outdated BMW and boxy Audi, they would definitely go for Merc.

• Tricky Ricky on Jul 07, 2017 at 7:06 am

They’re the most unexciting looking premium cars today compared to bimmers and audis. I wonder what sales trick they employ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • Teropong on Jul 07, 2017 at 7:20 am

Paultan, you guys really need to upgrade your comments section.

1. Introduce authentication (via FB, Google) before commenting. This is to introduce accountable commenting and less keyboarf warrior /political trolls

2. Fix your Likes/Dislikes system. Everytime you refresh the page, you can like/dislike the comment again

It’s so tiring to see that an automotive blog has almost zero comments/discussion on automotive content and full of trolls/flamers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 10
    • Taek kucen on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:11 am

Read this site for free and still demand for this and that. Dont talk cock larr…just read and shut up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Trollop koya kiye on Jul 07, 2017 at 10:16 am

This site relies on ad revenue which is brought by the so called “free readers”. Don’t simply tokok.

• taek bmw on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:41 am

bmw boss and employee upset with Mercedes doing well.

• Fully agree. That will stop dupes and oso nick hijackers.

• Teropong on Jul 07, 2017 at 2:43 pm

You oso never register… Tapi nak semua orang log in – cis!

• rchoo on Jul 07, 2017 at 8:54 am

The rich become richer.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jul 07, 2017 at 9:11 am

Tahniah to MBM. Most valuable premium brand in Malaysia (they sell more cars than even non luxury brands like Kia, Isuzu, Hyundai, Ford, Mazda, etc). Not surprising when you consider how desirable they look. Sadly, when you drive them, they are not as dynamic as BMW. Having said that, most luxury car buyers don’t really care about that. Only the enthusiast care about the dynamics. The rest just want a luxurious looking ride that shows to people that they’ve made it in life. Just wish BMW can step up their design a bit. while not ugly, they are a bit restrained for a car that is considered the UDM.

• Gaviny on Jul 07, 2017 at 10:07 am

Best pre registered year

But that’s none of my business

• tokmoh. on Jul 07, 2017 at 10:36 am

Maslan : mana rakyat terjejas, mana? Kan dah kata GST merendahkan kos sara hidup, tengok makin ramai mampu beli Mercedes!

• amused on Jul 07, 2017 at 11:49 am

im not suprised with this article. this yearly particularly , ive seen the number of merc on the road popping up every now and then..it’s like the rich are getting richer day by day…200k ish cars are not a big deal nowadays. (sigh)
    from country’s economic state perspective, not sure whether are there still plenty of opportunities around or these are coming from god know where types of activities.

• Panjang on Jul 07, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Middle income trap. Read up dude.

• Richman here on Jul 08, 2017 at 9:37 am

Its true. The rich are richer because they live below their means. The poor are poorer because they live above their means. The poor dont understand they are supplying more n more money to the rich when they live like that. Look at malls in weekends. Mostly middle n low and freshgraduate fuel the business with cash. Starbuck is always full. Luxury cafe is queueing. Gucci prada fills with people of working status but not bosses or bosses wife. To my surprised, rich ppl rarely run into those luxury shops. Thats why office pretty sexy lady always tipu or con by fake rich office man in an expensive suit. Spending differences separated the two group. Maybe you can run into those real rich during weekdays in malls when u expect no one is going there. Mostly, when others need to wear formal n luxury for work and this not so luxury t shirt wearing guy walking relax beside the smart worker that the pretty lady refused to look at because of their attire is the the rich guy they dream of. So close but so missed. Hehe

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 09, 2017 at 10:02 am

Bolehlanders are crazy about Hitler cars as it represents wealth and status.

More developed countries will go for Lexus and Infiniti. Goes to show that Malaysia is very 3rd world indeed

• Johari Jeffrey on Jul 10, 2017 at 12:43 am

U Owned a Mercedes and have experienced their after Sales Service?