GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C350e plug-in hybrid

October saw the launch of Stuttgart’s answer to the BMW 330e plug-in hybrid, the Mercedes-Benz C 350 e – the petrol-electric version assumes the role of the flagship of the local C-Class sedan range, replacing the C 300. We’re providing a detailed gallery at the new car so that you can take a closer look.

To recap, there are three variants to choose from, with prices starting at RM289,888 for the Avantgarde, RM294,888 for the Avantgarde with an AMG Line interior (as you see here) and RM299,888 for the full AMG Line model. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a four-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Outside, the C 350 e is differentiated from its petrol-powered siblings through blue highlights around the LED Intelligent Light System headlight projectors, as well as blue front brake callipers and blue “Plug-in Hybrid” badging on the front fenders. As standard, the car rides on 19-inch 10-spoke alloy wheels; this one gets AMG multi-spoke alloys. The AMG Line model gets the same wheels, but adds the sportier AMG Line exterior kit.

Inside, the only identifiers that this is a plug-in hybrid are C 350 e-specific screens on the COMAND centre display and the instrument cluster’s multi-info display; other than that, it’s the standard-fare C-Class interior. Standard features on the Avantgarde include keyless entry, push-button start, a sunroof, Thermotronic three-zone automatic climate control, a reverse camera and a 13-speaker, 590 W Burmester sound system.

The AMG Line interior variant gains an AMG flat-bottomed steering wheel and metallic highlights, and bumps up the kit count with a panoramic sunroof, open-pore black ash wood trim and a 360-degree surround view camera. It also swaps out the Audio 20 infotainment system and 7.0-inch screen with the COMAND Online system and an 8.4-inch display. The full AMG Line model gets the same interior.

Power comes from the ubiquitous M270 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged petrol engine that develops 208 hp and 350 Nm of torque – the same outputs as the C 250. Sandwiched between it and the 7G-Tronic Plus automatic transmission is an 80 hp/340 Nm electric motor, resulting in a total system output of 279 hp and a whopping 600 Nm.

As a result, the C 350 e is capable of sprinting from zero to 100 km/h in 5.9 seconds, as well as delivering a combined fuel consumption figure of just 2.1 litres per 100 km on the European NEDC cycle and carbon dioxide emissions of only 49 grams per kilometre. All-electric range is 31 km, and the car can travel in this mode at speeds of up to 130 km/h.

Juicing the electric motor is a 6.38 kWh lithium-ion battery that sits under the boot floor, resulting in a stepped luggage bay and reduced space from 475 litres to 335 litres. Charging time is around one hour and 45 minutes via the RM7,500 wallbox, or two and a half hours through the standard household 230 V outlet; the charging port is located under the right tail light.

We’ve driven the Mercedes-Benz C 350 e in San Francisco – read the review here. For a complete look at the different specifications of the C 350 e variants, visit CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 350 e Avantgarde (with AMG Line interior)

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 350 e Avantgarde

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Kunta PangSai on Dec 30, 2016 at 11:45 am

5.9Sec, this is impressive. Overall good built quality

• Kunta Kinte on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:08 pm

Rm300k for a small C class it outright cheat. By the way, I thought hyrbid and EV got tax incentives. So, by right, this car should not incur tax if it is locally assembled.

In US, car is about US$40k. After conversion, it should be about RM180k.

MBM tipu rakyat kah?

• Ah beng on Dec 30, 2016 at 6:42 pm

You have a pang sai calculation

• Bodopiang on Dec 31, 2016 at 4:13 am

If you are lazy enough to charge it, this will be fuel guzzler, same like other normal benz. Lembu minum air

• Merz driver on Dec 31, 2016 at 10:32 am

Obviously you have not driven one and just simply bash.

• viosfan on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:45 am

My Vios more fuel save. 14km/l in city. Buy Vios, no need to recharge, recharge, recharge to save fuel

• hazzif on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:08 pm

one dumb question…where is the charging point to charge the car in malaysia?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 3:59 pm

You can charge it at ChargEV stations nationwide, although you’ll need to be a member with your own RFID card to use them. You’ll also need to bring your own Level 2 charging cable.

• I’m really interested in getting a hybrid merc but since I live in a condo,it’s impossible. There are no charging points in the car park. What a bummer…

• Condom on Dec 31, 2016 at 4:09 am

If you are rich enough to buy a merc , why dun you build your mini station at your parking lot?

• Ts, your condo Management Office should be able to get it fixed for you. Else inform the Ministry of Energy & Green Tech, they’ll assist with your condo management. Cheers & Good Luck

• When is the launch of E350e as replacement of E300??

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:03 pm

The boot space seems more practically designed then the BMW 330e. The 330e is only slightly raised, but it covers the whole floor. The C350e is raised much higher, but it covers only further inside the boot. So you still have a fairly large area nearer the boot opening. However, the C350e’s boot opening itself is smaller than the 330e. But I’d still say the C350e beats the 330e in terms of overall boot space and practicality.

• c350tonggek on Jan 01, 2017 at 10:42 pm

They can always add the boot space by “tonggek”ing the bontot

• heybadigol (Member) on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:07 pm

Just wished that MB would do a hybrid for the GLC. Now that would be really nice, as the stepped/raised floor won’t affect boot space as much as it would on a sedan. They may even be able to find some space below the floor.

• Nikolai on Dec 31, 2016 at 9:40 am

Unfortunately it’s only available for the LHD market because the GLC 350e’s transmission doesn’t fit the RHD version (similar problem like how the GLK couldn’t be adapted for RHD)

• When are you launching the E350e??please launch more hybrid cars as our fuel price keeps booming monthly..shame to known as oil producers!!Mercedes Msia plz play ur role by launching more hybrid and CKD’s for sustaining your market position..

• Simon Ambrose on Dec 30, 2016 at 4:46 pm

One question, when are they going to launch the E300. Cause i remember they say it was on a November but its almost 2 months..

• Merc Fan on Dec 30, 2016 at 8:43 pm

Is there any idiot that pay almost RM300K just for C350e. My brother working with Benz was told that the Benz now having internal politic and the top management was supplied with wrong info and over optimistic. The whole idea is to reduce thier sales so that they can get rid of some Nazi.

• I hope Merc Malaysia launch the GLC 300e. That’ll be the ideal eCar for my family.

• Mikey on Dec 31, 2016 at 4:14 pm

For those who have the $$$, this C350e seems 2 have the right packages. It has all the bells & whistles & then some.

It has more space than an older E-class where U can seat 2 behind comfortably with space 2 spare.

U pay cheaper Road-tax & insurance & at the same time get 2 say U are doing justice 2 our environment by emitting lower carbon footprint.

• Is it right that from what i see from the picture, at this price Mercedes still not giving the keyless start? This may not be an important feature for some, but at this price this is the basic equipment

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 03, 2017 at 4:00 pm

The push start button was removed in this picture.