2017 Honda CR-V scores five-star ASEAN NCAP rating

The New Car Assessment Programme for South East Asia (ASEAN NCAP) has released the first crash test result under its new 2017 protocol, with the Honda CR-V bagging a five-star safety rating.

Under the new system, which accords a maximum of 50% for Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), 25% for Child Occupant Protection (COP) and 25% for Safety Assist Technologies (SAT), the new family-oriented SUV gets 47.25% for AOP, 22.84% for COP and 18.71% for SAT, resulting in an overall score of 88.80%.

Looking in closer detail to its AOP score, the CR-V receives a frontal impact score of 14.76 points out of 16, and a full 16 points for side impact protection. It also scores 3.26 points out of four for Head Protection Technology (HPT), or curtain airbag coverage, so overall it gets 34.02 points out of a maximum of 36.

In terms of COP, the scores are 15.65 points out of 16 for frontal impact, a full eight points for side impact and 11.11 points out of 12 for ease of child seat installation, and 10 points out of 13 for a vehicle-based assessment for fitment, for a total score of 44.78 out of 49.

Lastly, the CR-V gets 13.47 points out of 18 for SAT, including a full eight points for Effective Braking and Avoidance (EBA) tech such as ABS and stability control (it gets both as standard across the region) and three points out of six for seat belt reminders (it only has them at the front).

It also receives 0.47 points out of two for blind spot monitoring (LaneWatch is available, but only on the passenger side) and a full two points for Advanced SATs such as autonomous emergency braking, lane departure warning, lane keep assist and a driver attention monitor, all of which are available on the CR-V.

The car tested is a Thai-spec 2.4 EL model with seven seats. In Thailand and Malaysia, all CR-V variants come as standard with six airbags, ABS, stability control, front seat belt pre-tensioners and front seat belt reminders, with our top-of-the-line 1.5 Turbo Premium 2WD also getting the full suite of Honda Sensing driver assists, including autonomous emergency braking, adaptive cruise control and lane keep assist.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Albert Yong on Aug 17, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Not bad, their COP is high. This is why Ertiga failed cause their COP is dangerous.

This is why people go for Japanese cars and don’t bother about Malaysian made so called “SUV”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 21
    • James on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Everything must condemn malaysian car. If you don’t like, you can go out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 76
    • ex-VGM staff on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Ertiga is not Japanese car for the Japanese. Or the world. Its a budget MPV for growing economy countries.

• Redidiot on Aug 17, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Errr..the Ertiga IS Japanese, it’s a rebadged Suzuki. What bull crap are you talking thru your ass this time??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 52
  • Albert Yong on Aug 17, 2017 at 7:23 pm

Good for Honda, they send test car for NCAP is the same car that they will be selling to the public

Dont be like cheater companies, they send higher spec test car to NCAP but in reality, they sell lesser spec car to the public.

The get caught and kantoi. Then try to cover up the story.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 8
    • karam singh on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Good car, excellent dynamics. The worst service in Malaysia history. The lowest scores ever in rankings.

• U mean like the BRV tissue boxes they been selling? But thats oso Honda wor…

• kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2017 at 12:21 am

u really spreading false info.. u know that NCAP crash test use lowest spec variant to be test.

• James on Aug 18, 2017 at 9:16 am

You talking rubbish bro. They sent EVERY spec variant to be evaluated. That’s why you can see they state like bezza top spec 5 star NCAP, the other spec 4 star NCAP.

• Not really. While they may test multiple variants, it depends on availability.
          ASEANCAP may not test on lowest spec like KZM bro said, but they will grade the car variant upwards/downwards based on safety spec list.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2017 at 11:59 am

I might be wrong bout lowest variant for test. The previous ASEAN NCAP rating do notes that without ESC/VSA/ESP car with 5 star point will downgrade to 4 star. old method SAT is not calculated in the point. they oni need to test 1 variant not every variant. The new one SAT is calculated into pointing. If bezza sent to crash test now all variant will get 4 star so no dual 4-5 star for same model. again oni 1 variant needed not every variant.

• tokmoh. on Aug 17, 2017 at 7:37 pm

Geely Boyue > all
    Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
  • DPCraft on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Wow this new CR-V is 100KG heavier than the last one which is 1560KG

• Nice COP score, but i expected the SAT score to be higher.

• Proton oso got la..so wat tiiiu on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:50 pm

So wat..every other car oso got 5 star la sohai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Somebody on Aug 17, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Erm… Because the maximum you can get is five star, so you can’t get higher?

• Hassan on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Iriz and Preve oso 5 star but fail wor

• How does a 5star car fail? In what sense? U mean a 0 NCAP star Datsun can survive better than a Iriz?

• heyheyman123 on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:23 pm

At least Honda have more safety features than Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 11
    • karam singh on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Farrrrr better.
      P1 better P2 in term of safety too ;D

• Come on lah... on Aug 18, 2017 at 7:29 am

Pls look at the price difference….

• 12yrsold on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:56 am

Honda should have more safety features because U are paying hard earn $$$ for it.

• Dare2dream Only on Aug 17, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Nice score…..but the design of this CRV is getting uncle-ish by the day…..

• TAHAR on Aug 18, 2017 at 1:59 am

I do not really believe in ASIA NCAP RESULTS

IF THIS COMES FROM NSHTA OR EURO NCAP RESULTS, THEN I WILL PAY ATTENTION AND BELIEVE ON IT.

• C. P. MOHAN on Aug 18, 2017 at 10:56 am

Since the vehicle is already on the road, presumably the rating is not a criteria-tool. My question though is what happens when the tests shows a weak rating which is below the official stand, if any.

• Does it even matter? A ZERO NCAP star Datsun is still on roads and we even have pipu clamouring & demanding to bring it here.

• SadekSegaraga on Aug 20, 2017 at 4:41 pm

I still cant accept that HM takes away 7 seater for CRV