Honda Jazz Hybrid, City Hybrid – battery replacement to cost RM5.5k; replacement rate in Japan only 0.1%

Honda Malaysia (HM) launched the new City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid in Malaysia earlier this year, and the first few units have already begun making their way to eager customers. While there are those that have openly embraced the new the Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive) technology, some still have their doubts.

To ensure the public is well informed, as well as provide better peace of mind, the company has now released a slew of details relating to not just the technology, but also what the after sales situation is like for current and prospective customers.

According to data from Japan, over 256,565 units (sales to date) of the Sport Hybrid i-DCD-equipped Fit Hybrid have been sold in the country since it was introduced in September 2013. Since then, the hybrid battery replacement ratio stands at just 0.103%, and some simple fiddling with the calculator reveals just 264 cars needed their hybrid batteries replaced.

As for the present-day Jazz Hybrid and City Hybrid, HM is pulling out all the stops to provide proper after sales support to its customers. This is why both cars come with an eight-year/unlimited mileage warranty for the lithium-ion battery. Even if a battery replacement is needed (outside the warranty period), a unit will cost RM5,513, which HM claims is the most affordable compared to other car manufacturers.

The company provided a comparison chart involving the two Honda hybrid models and the Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid (also a CKD model), where the figures are clear for all to see – RM5,513 for the Hondas versus RM9,800 for the Hyundai. Of course, it is important to note the battery capacity on the Honda hybrids are 0.860 kWh compared to the Ioniq’s larger 1.56 kWh unit.

Other notable differences include starter battery replacement costs, maintenance costs across five years and tyre replacement costs. As the Ioniq is in a different segment from the Honda hybrids (C-segment instead of B-segment), such a comparison should be taken with a pinch of salt and retrospect.

Beyond replacing the hybrid battery, HM also claim its new hybrid models do not require any special service to maintain the Sport Hybrid i-DCD system. The standard warranty coverage (excluding the hybrid battery) is five years or unlimited mileage (Ioniq gets five years too but with a 300,000 km mileage cap), with 10,000 km service intervals, as per a regular City. Customers will also receive six free labour services at 20,000 km intervals, alternating with paid service (Ioniq gets free service for three years).

As a brief recap, both the City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid use the same Sport Hybrid i-DCD system, which is a step up from the previous Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) in terms of power and efficiency. The setup combines a 1.5 litre engine with idle stop, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

Overall system output is rated at 137 PS and 170 Nm of torque, making it more powerful than the regular Jazz or City’s 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine (120 PS and 145 Nm). The claimed fuel consumption figures are 4.0 litres per 100 km for the Jazz Hybrid and 3.9 litres per 100 km for the City Hybrid. Furthermore, the hybrid battery is automatically charged thanks to the cars’ electric servo brake system for improved energy regeneration.

With all the facts and figures laid out before you, will you opt for the City Hybrid (RM89,200 OTR without insurance) and Jazz Hybrid (RM84,880) instead of their non-hybrid versions? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: Honda City Hybrid

GALLERY: Honda Jazz Hybrid

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mr. Octopus on Sep 05, 2017 at 12:33 pm

0.86kwh = Approx 80 cells of lithium-ion 3000mah batteries for RM5,513 is reasonable considering the price per cell now is about RM40 (Original LG Chem HG2).

• Periasamy on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:36 pm

A lot of heroes like to buy Hybrid and EV. But be careful about battery prices. Honda has been honest. But BMW and Audi are keeping very silent about their prices.

The Audi A6 Hyrid battery is RM60,000. Yes, you read that right. This is why the A6 owners are crying now. This is why A6 Hybrid 2nd hand value has collapsed. 2014 A6 hybrid now can get RM120k from RM380k brand new.

2nd hand buyers are scared to touch a hybrid car.

The same with 330e. Can BMW Malaysia be honest and tell us how much the battery cost? I hear around RM50k.

Buyer beware.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 7
    • Periasamy on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Bear in mind also, Malaysians are scared of hybrid, not just because of the hybrid price. It is the repair of the electrical system that is scary

Ask Prius owners and they will tell you, anything electrical cost nothing less than RM10k to repair.

So battery may have 0.1% return rate but each time your electrical kaput, RM10k goes down the drain

So, what money do I save from petrol like that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
      • lilytan on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:46 pm

If u seek economic benefits from using a hybrid then u will be disappointed. Repair cost and lower RV will null all the petrol savings (at for least now). But If u are a green person then hybrid will be good for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Ulkamikup on Sep 05, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Dont talk cock here bro. I’m a prius owner. Apart from the hyrbrid battery (rm6.3k) there is no other issue about the system. The cheapest maintenance car i even owned. If u are not the owner just shut up.

Brake pad can last till 250k km.
        No belting to repalce as prius is a beltless. No aircond belt, no waterpump belt.
        The eCVT is using normal non CVT fluid. Rm130/4 litre. Damn cheap. Interval change is 40k km.
        Brake service cost u less than rm100 every 40k km.
        Coolant interval change is 240k km. Coolant per 4 litre is rm74.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
        • Asian Driver on Sep 05, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Smart toyota owner. Double thumbs up Toyota!

• Tell us how much in future when your electric AC compressor or the hybrid power control unit need a replacement.

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:40 pm

That’s why. Hybrid batteries are expensive

Basically you are not saving any money if you need to replace. Honda crz also have the battery issues back then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Wise Cracker on Sep 06, 2017 at 8:25 am

What are the issues regarding the cr-z battery? Care to explain? Im a cr-z owner & a COCM member. So i can verify your statement if it is true

• Kalimutju on Sep 05, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Can umwt do the same? Reveal the cost, T and C as well.

• Mat pan on Sep 05, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Gerard, how about their gearbox? Got covered by warranty?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:08 pm

That’s covered by the standard five-year, unlimited mileage warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • The hybrids will need to save 45,000km of fuel use just to justify the battery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Is hybrid car really worth it??? on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:23 pm

After 8th year battery rosak kena keluar RM5,500 for replacement battery…..whatever savings done semua terbang melayang….sakit woi sakit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • It’s only about RM58 a month for 8 years saving. For someone that can paid RM1k for car installment, that should be no problem. If RM58 to RM100 allocation for car maintenance a month is a problem, Honda is not for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
      • Short Round on Sep 05, 2017 at 7:20 pm

My fren got the 1st Prius in Mesia from 2005. Never got problem also.

• That’s like 1.5 years drive for me. Got saving another 6 year no problem.

• Thats savings on top, not ur normal drive. If ur battery kongs due to wear & tear, the 8year warranty dun cover this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • joonlin on Sep 05, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Don’t forget the battery give you extra performance.

• Ong Chai Lin on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Would like to buy a hybrid Jazz but am worried about the hybrid battery’s ability to take long spells of non-usage as I would leave the car for 2 to 4 weeks without usage when I go outstation. I normally don’t drive long distance. Convince me please. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Adnan on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Don’t buy a car…cheers… just use Uber or Grab or rent…you will save more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 16
      • ex-VGM staff on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:00 pm

savings from parking, insurance, maintenance and repair and the worst is depreciation. save all.

• Pls use public transports instead. tenkiu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Poor aftersales on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:02 pm

All these specs and information is nice to look at but Honda needs to improve it’s after sales and build quality first. Just go visit any SC and there will be dissatisfied customers. Overall Honda is just one step above the all time worst after sales….Naza Peugeot. I’ve heard tales of gearbox warranty being void for installing an additional 3rd brake light. This is beyond ridiculous. If they really want to make more sales and keep their existing customers, then their after sales folks have a lot of catching up to do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • How much to replace the whole transmission [Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive) ]?
    :)

• lilytan on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Maintenance is good but the fact that this honda hybrid have no spare tyre is the actual deal breaker for many.

• The last time I used my spare tire was 6 years ago.. when I got flat at Elite Hw. Don’t seem that important now that I got emergency patch fluid on standby in my Lexus now. Only coat 20 bucks.

• lilytan on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:40 pm

It depends on your luck. If something shreds your tyre or punch a big hole i doubt the repair kit can help.

• Victor on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:14 pm

I was year 2012 Honda Jazz Hybrid CBU model ex owner, I still remembered how dangerous to drive my car due to hybrid system malfunction, battery replaced within few months of ownership (if not wrong within 3k km) aftet Honda Malaysia deny on the failure and ask me get lawyer raise court case. The battery replaced with the special approval from service branch mamager with their test drive car (swap) but problem remained after replacement especially during raining day. They have run out of idea whats go wrong. I sold this car in Jan 2015. Seriously Honda Malaysia ask their customer raise court case when customer take video record how thing go wrong and share with them is a damn bad practice. See how many honda jazz hybrid on sell in mudah.com …..I believe many Victim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • Turtle on Sep 09, 2017 at 11:49 am

Hi victor. I plan on purchasing a used 2013 honda jazz hybrid car. How much is the cost of replacing the battery? Do you suggest i buy a used 2013 jazz hybrid or just go with the newest jazz hybrid available? Thanks

• Kamaluddin Bin Jaafar on Mar 02, 2019 at 10:14 am

Hmm! We own the JAZZ hybrid after the GST ended and to us, the Honda hybrid with a partial system of On/Off concept is good enough. When Honda 1st introduced hybrid system in 2011, after a test drive, we bought 2 units for the family and traded our 3 year old City. The 2 cars are still our favourites for its originality of hybrid cars, quality products in all aspects, very comfortable for a 1.3litre engjne. Even our new JAZZ hybrid, apart from its improvements the 2 old units still better & timeless!. This is what we are clear, value for money and not mentioning the savings in fuel over the years from 2011- 2019, now with very little, like no known repairs except for regular maintenance with Honda service centre.

• What about the replacement cost for the dual-clutch automatic gearbox?

• Ha ha2 on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:27 pm

What a stupid question posted by haha. Wait for next five years and you shall get the answer. After all warranty is for 5 years.

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:27 pm

5000 not inclusive tax and gst.

Basically you are not saving money if you need replace this

• applegreen on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:30 pm

RM5,513 + 6% = RM5,843.80.

This is 2017 price. If u buy honda hybrid now in 4-5 years maybe battery price more than RM6k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Statistically, battery price is dropping /kWh due to manufacturing streamlin

• The Saint on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:02 pm

I would’ve gotten the Jazz Hybrid but for the omission of paddle shifts and LED head light.

• Quote japan buat ape. Land of ppl tukar kereta selalu. Of course 0.1%. Malaysia most keep 7 yrs above coz loan tunjuk rate yang tu la

• FireAce on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:15 pm

In Japan maybe 0.1%, in Malaysia, with our heat and humidity, totally different story. Ask those in Hybrid car Malaysia forum, HV batteries falling like flies, mine included (Prius C).

Don’t forget too in Japan, car is very affordable (vs. their income). Car broken down after 3 years probably no longer have any values (and car loan) on it so it ends up in chop shop, striped, cut and exported. For these cars, Honda will not get any request for replace HV batteries, hence the 0.1%.

• Ben Yap on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Buy a bike la…. for RM2K, as long as your leg still got power to pedal, u can save all the fuel.

• factchecker on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:54 pm

“The standard warranty coverage (excluding the hybrid battery) is five years or unlimited mileage (Ioniq gets three years), ”

This statements seems to contradict the earlier article mentioning 5 years warranty for ioniq

https://paultan.org/2017/01/06/driven-hyundai-ioniq-hybrid-thinking-out-of-the-box/
    “By the way, the Ioniq comes with a five-year/300,000 km warranty. The hybrid battery has an eight-year unlimited mileage warranty, and it costs less than RM10k should you need to replace it after the warranty period.”

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Apologies. The Hyundai Ioniq has a five-year/300,000 km warranty and an eight-year unlimited mileage warranty for the hybrid battery.

• Loy Boon Hor on Sep 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

My worry is abt yr gearbox which is relatively problematic!

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 05, 2017 at 5:09 pm

I would buy if it came with less than pre-facelift S equipment with all safety features. Meaning efficient power train, steel wheels, no radio (we have smartphones), 6 airbags and all other safety equipment.

• personally i won’t consider a hybrid for the next 10 years. hybrid exists because of oil price and the “save the earth” commitment. take into consideration how much higher the maintenance will be in a hybrid car compare to a NA engine car, i better choose a car with conventional engine with conventional gearbox.

• Jason on Sep 05, 2017 at 6:02 pm

Actually buying hybrid car in malaysia is really not worth it. This is because we don’t have many Mechanic know how to repair hybrid car. And the cost to repair is very high. Don’t expect go to Honda Service Center will be cheaper. So the conclusion is unless you are Green people or you are very rich, hybrid is good for you. Otherwise Petrol car is still the best choice.

• heyheyman123 on Sep 05, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Proton got EV but Perodua don’t have

• Jason on Sep 05, 2017 at 8:50 pm

All this warranty is bs. I bought my 2012 CBU jazz hybrid from a reputable Honda 3S in Old Klang Road. After 5 yrs of usage my IMA battery starts to drain very quickly and recharges very quickly, a sign of aging battery issue. Yeah sure it comes with an 8 year warranty, but when you complain the service centre will take almost half a day to run tests, and then return your car and claim that tests showed that everything’s normal and no action needs to be taken. I bet when the 8 year warranty is up they’ll say the battery will need replacing. It’s a nice car, but still please tread carefully eventhough Honda Malaysia is supposedly a reputable brand.

• How to compare the maintenance cost of city to Ioniq which is at least one class above. Spec wise Ioniq wins hand down. Of course you cannot expect a bigger and better equipped car come with lower maintenance cost. For example tyre. Ioniq tyre size 225 45 R17 and factory fitted with Germany made Michelin. Surely it will cost a lot more than the tiny tyres on city/jazz. But try to go fast on highway and around bend,Ioniq is much more superior. Same goes to battery. Ioniq battery almost double in capacity. Their per kwh cost is identical.

Lastly, Hyundai come with free service up to 60k km with all parts inclusive. Not just labour fee.

• snails on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:27 am

The 0.1% claim is a bit misleading, as it is the replacement rate for Japan market, which have vastly different condition compared to Malaysia. Our hot & humid climate, long idling time due to traffic jams, will lead to battery being hotter and harder to cool down, which will surely shorten the battery life, so in the end, the replacement rate for Malaysia will be greater than 0.1%.

Another thing, the RM5k replacement cost is not that amazing if you think about it, since Honda battery, 0.8kw/h is one of the smallest in the market. As mentioned in the article, the Ionic have almost double the battery capacity, and another local assembled hybrid, the Camry also have around 1.6kw/h. So Honda’s battery is around 50% of the current market standard.

• Rabbit on Sep 08, 2017 at 10:12 pm

They used Japan as they have big enough sample size. Oh, you need to know how the system works before making judgement. The battery system have cooling system. Why worry? Battery capacity is car specific, why compare with 2 level higher cars like Camry? The world is going into electric cars, and being backward thinking will not lead you to no where. Faster snail, faster catch-up with the technology! You are slow.

• what if raw material prices for the battery went up in few years time? still guaranteed at RM5,513?

what if exchange rate changes?
    what if new tax law that slap ridiculous prices on hybrid or batteries? still at RM5,513?

• Mazlan M.DIN on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:55 am

What about insight hybrid 2012 model? How much is the battery?

• prasys on Sep 06, 2017 at 11:09 am

I see a lot of people here are not so friendly with Hybrid. PHEV and electric would be the future , of course it takes time for our trusty Malaysians to adopt to it as well.

Hybrid is not about economical in the first place , the main purpose of it is to reduce carbon emission. I mean , if you are thinking of buying a hybrid to save petrol you are wrong.

So if you are in for the new tech and willing to take the gamble , yes go for it.

• mrhonda on Sep 06, 2017 at 8:32 pm

not save fuel, alot buy because more ‘power’…boy racer ^^

• hondainsightowner on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:48 am

6 years proud Honda Insight owner here. No battery issues until now and no maintenance on hybrid system being done and no brake pad change till now and maitainance still we SC due to very affordable price. Average is RM300 for minor service and RM600 for major service.Mileage is on 160k km at the moment. On average I save around 40% of my petrol compare to all 1.3cc car out there. My daily work comuter to work from Cheras to Tropicana, around 60km return trip is only cost me RM6 per day equal to RM30 per week. My advice don’t over thinking and enjoy the hybrid drive, you wont regret, the joy is like you driving kancil because petrol cost is never a topic for your journey! What more should I say? Waiting more HRV hybrid :)

• Rabbit on Sep 08, 2017 at 10:23 pm

I owned Civic Hybrid. It’s fast, fuel saving, low maintenance cost. I only fill up 2 times a months as each tank of 40 litres can travel upto 800km. Driven more than 120k km on the car, travel across to Thailand, I have enough experience on hybrid and I will not let go of my car any soon.

• Thanks guys. Better info from real owners than theoretical info

• Alexander anak brandah on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:42 am

helo sir im newbie honda civic hybrid 2013. I buy second car. Worth or not. How much replacement for hybrid batery. ? Tq

• pangolin tan on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:34 pm

i am honda insight onwer since 2010 till now , almost 8 years … no big issue from day 1 , and my car battery still working well and hard for me ,

• pangolintan on Jan 03, 2018 at 9:35 pm

i am honda insight onwer since 2010 till now , almost 8 years … no big issue from day 1 , and my car battery still working well and hard for me ,

• Hi Sir.. just want to ask.. how long waranty period after replacement new battery for city hybrid? Anybody can clarify.. thanks.

• Alexander anak brandah on Jan 29, 2019 at 7:35 am

Can i know how much price for replacement hybrid batery for honda civic now 2019? Jb area

• Aero Solitude on Aug 10, 2022 at 9:50 pm

Wife’s 2012 Jazz Hybrid has been serving us well for almost 12 years now. No issue at all, only that the front suspension might need replacement but SC did mention battery now might cost up to 7k .gulp

• Chua Thong Bee on Mar 03, 2023 at 8:28 am

Hi I looking to change 2018 Honda city hybrid battery. Do your side do it?