Honda City Hybrid – over RM100k without tax breaks

The Honda City Hybrid was launched in July, at a price of RM89,200 – just under the range-topping City V at RM89,240. According to a source from Honda Malaysia, the City Hybrid would carry a sticker price north of RM100,000 if not for Malaysia’s current hybrid tax incentives.

Toyota made a similar claim in 2015, saying that the Camry Hybrid would cost around RM250k compared to its RM175k launch price without hybrid tax incentives. Moving further up, BMW claimed that the tax breaks lowered the price of its 740Le from RM854k to RM599k.

Back to the City Hybrid, what makes it more expensive to build compared to the more conventional petrol variants is of course, the hybrid i-DCD system, comprised of the electric motor, lithium-ion battery pack and variant-specific seven-speed dual-clutch (dry type) transmission.

Other items include modifications to the braking system (electric servo brake system) that aid regenerative braking, electric air-conditioning compressor and a quicker steering ratio (up by 15.6%) to improve steering response.

Now, all the parts above contribute to a 69 kg weight gain, which would adversely affect the car’s handling and dynamics. To combat this, the City Hybrid gets fatter rear suspension, stiffer rear frame and more rigid pillars that support the front suspension. Honda says all these improve the car’s road holding, high speed stability and more importantly, handling and agility.

It gets its own 1.5-litre Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC engine as well, with a total system output of 137 PS and 170 Nm – just 4 hp and 4 Nm shy of the 1.8-litre SOHC i-VTEC unit in the Civic FC. In comparison, the petrol-only models use a 1.5 litre i-VTEC SOHC motor with 120 PS and 145 Nm, paired to a CVT gearbox.

We’ve gone to lengths detailing the intricacies of the new hybrid powertrain, so be sure to give that a read if your heart is set on tech. Again, the hybrid battery is covered by an eight-year/unlimited mileage warranty, and will cost RM5,513 to replace should the need arise – replacement rate in Japan, however, is a low 0.103% from over 250k units sold.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Love this hybrid city…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Thank our gomen for the tax breaks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
      • Thank our gomen. Rich abangs saved RM255k buying 740Le, the POOR subsidizing the rich agains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • Periasamy on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:18 pm

What a big joke. A small B class sedan costing RM100k. We must see the root of the problem and see why a small B class sedan can cost RM100k

Proton caused all car prices to go up in Malaysia by 7 fold the past 30 years – from 1987 to 2017.

In the 1987, a good brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla was RM20k. Mind you that was CBU.

Everybody could afford a car then. in 1987, a brand new Mercedes 200 was RM57k and a brand new Volvo 244GLE (A) was RM39k (both CBU pure German made and Swedish made)

Today, 30 years later, in Malaysia, the CKD Malaysian made UMW Toyota Corolla is RM139k. That is 7 fold increase.

The brand new Malaysian made Mercedes E200 (though CKD) is now RM380k (6 fold increase from 1987 to 2017)

But you check global prices of Toyota from 1987 to 2017, the Toyota Corolla has hardly DOUBLED in price.

You check the global prices of Mercedes 200/ E200 from 1987 to 2017, the Mercedes also hardly doubled in Price.

So how can cars go 7 fold in price Malaysia from 1987 to 2017? The answer is PROTON. Everything was done to PROTEK Proton.

Malaysians have suffered enough with high car prices and high car loans. Please have MERCY on us. Rm100k for a small B class sedan is a real joke.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 17
          • Jamarik on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:35 pm

Copy paste ke?….if proton gone so is perodua laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
          • gti owner on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:54 pm

This is the reason that Proton/Perodua will never in my buying list no matter how improve there are…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • It becoz of P1 that jepunis now gips better spec (except for toyota. They expect u to pay for that), and for VW not to con us that their cars r at Mesidis/Beemer level and therefore priced as such.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • gti owner on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:04 pm

My friend, the so call “better” spec in Msia is a standard spec outside this country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • So? If it werent for P1, u will still be getting dinosar 1NZFE + 4AT and no ESC with puny 2 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
          • john peria on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:16 pm

john, jangan syok sendiri that ur P1 got such pengaruh besar to jepunis lah. Mind u that not all ur Saga variants are equip with ESC, some even missing ABS

If it weren’t for P1, we would have safer cars for cheaper price. P1 and their crony vendors have been conning us a long time. So stop spreading ur nonsense P1 safe car propaganda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
          • Yeah, u keep telling urself that. History tells a diff reality. After P1 did a paradigm shift in focusing on safety, Honda too came along. And now look whos the latecomers? Yes, ur P2 & toyota were last.

So yes, P1 had THAT much influence in MY automotive and also safety advocates such as moi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
          • john peria on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:37 am

Aiyoyo, still syok sendiri? How come Saga still not equip with ESC all round if u say they prioritise safety, huh?

• john peria on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Summore Exora facelift, P1 removed side airbags. now no longer available, safety advocate konon. john Pigi lah!

• Exora is almost EOL why bother to have this and that?

• ncpau on Sep 08, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Go to Thai, Indon and even Aussie some got better spec some got same spec.

It is not that easy to say bolehland highest spec is standard in other countries

• Deswai we tax the rich for the non-hybrid versions thats not CKD here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • loler on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:47 pm

GTI Owner??????
          More like used old Vios owner

LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rr on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Buy Sushi super happy lorr

• Question for UMW on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:35 pm

How can UMW Toyota claim their Camry Hybrid cost RM250k if got no tax break?

Cause the CBU Camry Hybrid in Australia cost about AUD29k. That is about RM100k Malaysian ringgit

Also, when UMW CKD the Camry, it would be cheaper….around RM70k. Cause CKD is far cheaper than CBU.

So, how can price be RM250k??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
        • It’s all marketing strategy from them. To pin in customer mind that they give a certain amount of price reduction because of tax break, while the price should be lower. Where is the logic when XC90 S400h can give kaw2 reduction for their CKD hybrid. Camry Hybrid and this City Hybrid is much luxury? By placing the City Hybrid price below the V spec shows that they playing with the price.

• nemesis on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:29 pm

At that price range, hyundai ioniq would be a better choice. at only 10k more, you get one of the best hybrid currently available in the market. Something that is comparable with prius at a fraction of price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Back in 2000, waja & hyundai elantra were same level. But now pipu see proton..

• lotusftw on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Elantra still cannot beat superb preve handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
          • Elantra oso has lousier RV than even old waja, cuz basher says RV > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • ProtonTheWay2Go on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:44 pm

The main problem with the hybrid car is, no one dare to snub your offer when you want to let go. I saw plenty of Insights and Priuses stagnant on the garage for years and covering up by dust as potential buyers shy away from the maintenance time bomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • apamau on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Wasted RM1.8Bil in R&D, still nil hybrid car in production? Proton oh proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • Kenny on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Only foreign carmakers took advantage from hybrid tax breaks.

• Belilah Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
      • Uwkwkw on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Proton hybrid? Hahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
        • Iriz EV at Rm80k, mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
          • civicx on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:36 pm

Max Rm40k. Gomen prihatin gip tax breaks.

• P1 alredi have all the tax breaks it can get. Problem is, EV tech is not CHEAP. If u wanna be cheapskate, go buy Saga3 instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
          • carrider 101 on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:57 pm

At least Honda and Proton have EV Vehicles. Not like Perodua. Perodua doesn’t have any EV Vehicles. Not only that, Perodua doesn’t have safety features, Perodua only scores 4 stars EURO NCAP safety rating and Perodua also gives rear axle problem where Proton and Honda have safety features and Proton and Honda scores 5 stars EURO NCAP safety rating and Proton and Honda doesn’t give any problem of rear axle. I recommended you to buy Proton and Honda. Don’t buy Perodua

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 4
  • Eternalgl0ry on Sep 07, 2017 at 1:48 pm

But in malaysia hybrid honda models are considered mid tier instead the top trim like Japan and other countries

• Its to make hybrid more affordable for the masses

• 12yrsold on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:47 am

100k is not affordable. Where is the Iriz EV that cost 80k that U claim is available??!

• lilytan on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Almost 200 for the tyre repair kit is insane. Its just temporary fix and u can get a whole new tyre for that kind of price. Totally makes this car undesirable.

• Spoilt on Sep 07, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Did Matthew jumped ship from autobuzz or you guys share resources?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:05 pm

yes, but whats the point of getting a mid spec car at a higher price?

• jason on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:19 pm

The 8-year hybrid battery warranty is just sales gimmick. I took delivery of my 2012 CBU jazz hybrid from a reputable Honda 3S in Old Klang Road. After 5 yrs of usage the IMA battery starts to drain very quickly and recharges very quickly as well, sure sign of an aging battery issue. Sure it comes with an 8 year warranty, but when you complain and send in to the service centre they take half a day to run tests, and then return you your car and claim that tests showed that everything’s normal and no resolution is needed. Service centre also patronised me to go back if there’s any fault… I bet when the 8 year warranty is up they’ll say the battery will need replacing at owner’s expense. The CBU Jazz Hybrid is a nice car, but please be aware of this “warranty trickery” experience before you sign the dotted line. Disappointed by Honda Malaysia which is supposedly a reputable brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Eddie on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:43 pm

All hybrid cars are like that lah. It is a well documented thing well before Jazz Hybrid was made available to Malaysian public. All batteries have lifespan and more cycles you go through, the battery capacity lessens from 100% to 50%.

If you didn’t saw it coming, then it’s your fault for failing to do enough research. Even the top of the line Tesla Model S suffers from battery lifespan. Even your smartphone after 2-3 years also have battery cycling problems.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • This gimmick is not new. Its used all over the place. I once took my samsung phone for warranty because the battery was draining too fast. They insist its ok and nothing wrong. After one month, my 1 year warranty ended and they told me battery spoiled when i send in to complain again. I heard cases for car about other parts too. PersonalIy I had bought two new cars and complained about some issues even within months but they insist its normal and never fix till warranty expired. Well… warranty is BS.

• What happens if you have a tyre puncture? There’s no spare tyre included

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Sep 07, 2017 at 3:46 pm

There’s a temporary tyre repair kit – Watch the second video above.

• Some pipu here just skip reading/watching the article sand go straight for the comment. Sad pipu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Guess city hybrid sales is so low that articles like this needs to point out the bargain we get from buying a hybrid. Above 100k? Is it 101k or 105k or 120k or what? 100k vs 90k, so we are getting a bargain of 10k? What joke is Honda pulling here? Come on Honda, you can do better than this.

• Honda pusing pusing maya on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:36 pm

Thts why u should trust Toyota…they dont BS…good rv low maintenace good handling etc etc…its a no brainer dude…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • VTEC vs Hybrid on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Let’s pool and see:
    Like = Hybrid
    Dislike = VTEC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • wanna know on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:47 pm

Why Honda don’t dare to share this city’s price without hybrid incentive? They did not share all hybrid incentive to all customer.

• xoxox on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:49 am

It’s not hybrid incentive, it’s CKD + Eco Car Incentives…

• Gaviny on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Something doesn’t add up, a luxury hybrid is x2 the price without tax breaks xc90, s400h , 7 series . 400 k become close to 800-900k . But this small segment only 25 k difference ?

• Gundam on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:20 pm

HAHAHAHA. Matt is with PT now.

BOO AutoBUST for not able to hold on to your top talent.

• Lai Lai Chi on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:42 pm

Hybrid are time bomb vehicles……So, beware. Save money on petrol, better emission?…..but will also makes your wallet kempis in due time…..

• Anyone remember the time when the original Honda Jazz cost RM 110k brand new??

• Dual clutch (dry type),same old problem with VW’s DSG?huhuhu..

• passion on Sep 08, 2017 at 3:14 pm

YOKO AD08R works best in the dry but not clutches.