Theme park, hotel, other races in Sepang’s 5-year plan

Formula 1 is no longer in Sepang International Circuit’s calendar, but there are big plans for the track. Malay Mail Online reports that a theme park and hotel are among the things planned for SIC.

“We will be on a break for at least five years. With F1 out of the picture, we need to continue to add more infrastructures that could help bring in revenue,” said SIC CEO Datuk Razlan Razali, who added that SIC will start to model itself after Japan’s Suzuka Circuit and that a theme park and hotel are among the features that would be added.

“The idea was there since I first assume office in 2008 but now the prime minister has mandated it to me to work on it for the next five years. We want it to offer something for everybody. For instance, if a family comes here for MotoGP, the father can watch the races while the family can have a good time at the theme park,” he said.

Sepang is looking at bringing in Australia’s V8 Supercars or Japan’s Super GT to fill the F1 gap

With an empty slot in the calendar, SIC is looking at bringing in another event. “Three events that we are considering now are the Japan Super GT, the Australia Supercars Championship (V8 Supercars) and FIM Endurance World Championship. But we have not decided,” Razlan said. In any case, the circuit, which still hosts MotoGP, won’t be a white elephant.

The SIC chief insists that F1 is not a great loss for the country. “During the race period, F1 only brings in about 30,000 to 40,000 foreign tourists annually. That is not a big number. I am sure the numbers could be easily replaced with other events the tourism and culture ministry has in store,” he told reporters.

“We failed to break the audience record although it was the final F1 race and the ticket prices have been reduced by 82%. Initially, the grouses were about the ticket prices but when we drop the prices, the turnout was still low. I guess Malaysians are bored of F1,” he pointed out.

It was revealed that 110,604 fans were in Sepang last Sunday to watch the “F1NALE” that was won by Red Bull’s Max Verstappen. The F1 record for SIC was in 2008, when it sold 126,690 tickets. But never say never, they say. “Wait five years. Maybe you’ll get the news you want to hear. But for now, let us rest,” Razlan joked.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• hailthepurist on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:13 am

Sepang, Tropical rainforest with camping site and waterfalls like Hyde Park and Central Park in London and New York.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:14 am

Actually, F1 was very good. Tourism made BILLIONS. All 5 star hotels packed and full. All 5 star eateries also full. MAS flights were full to the BRIM. Malaysia also MADE INTERNATIONAL Headlines.

The main problem why F1 failed for SIC is very simple. SIC had to give thousands of FREE tickets ie complimentary free tickets to all the VIPs, Datuk Datuk, Tan Sri Tan Sri, Menteri Menteri and anak anak Menteri.

This is the usual practice in Malaysia. So, these are GRAND STAND tickets worth thousands each. But wajib to give all the abang abang Ministers.

Like that….of course lah SIC cannot make money.
    See Datuk Razlan Razali….you don’t need to have a CEO mind to figure your main problem. Please resign.

The day Datuk can say NO to all the VIPS and their demands for Complimentary tickets, SIC will make money.

Theme park also will fail if you give all your theme parks free to VVIP who just call you to ask for it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 34
    • No amount of paid VIPS can cover the shortfall of 60,000 live audience, bub. Pipu r just bored of Snore1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • tiadaid (Member) on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:58 pm

F1 today is a bore. I’ve been watching it for almost 2 decades now and have watched F1 races going back to the 70s, and it’s clear that F1 have gone downhill.

Heck even the sounds of F1 nowadays are boring. I was at the track for the race in 04, 06 & this year – for the first time I didn’t have to wear earplugs at the grandstand even at the start of the race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • calldisc on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:44 pm

but you were born in 1981. how come you know?

• rainburn on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:46 pm

The drivers today are especially boring. Gone are the days of the Senna’s, Prost’s and Schumacher’s. Now we have small kids with egos trying to run each other out of the circuit

• Oh yeah. I remembered those titanic battles between Schumi & with Damon Hill, and later Villeneuve. Those can keep me glued to the TV for whole races unlike todays boring show.

• Ticket prices for our F1 are damn expensive. Thousands of RM at the grandstands and when you compare with MotoGP grandstand ticket, it is only around a hundred. I paid only RM80 for Grandstand at MotoGP not that long ago. Interesting thing is that the MotoGP race had lots of Indonesians fans – the rich ones, not the labourer type.

Seriously, why you want the old F1 engine sounds? It is terribly deafening, especially at the grandstands. The new sounds are much better for your hearing health, and you can chat with your friends without screaming.

• Ticket prices for F1 globally is exp. Deswai pipu gave up and go to other races, like MotoGP

• Stefan on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:37 pm

So after 10 years of being the CEO of Sepang, only now he is going to act on his ideas back in 2008?? My dead grandma can do better than this!

• 12yrsold on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:15 am

Let’s face facts, a Japan GT race or a V8 supercars race are not in the same league as a F1 race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
    • ganni on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:24 am

thats why FIA WEC is the only event can replace F1..

• All that matter is, they can draw more crowds than F1. Bottom line is all that matters, no?

FYI, theres more actual racing and competition in Aussie V8 than F1.

• kailmai on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:44 am

Yup… you’re right.
      F1 is so boring, all the cars have 1.6 turbocharged engine and look the same.
      Unlike Japan GT, there are great cars such as GT-R, NSX, LC500, etc racing together!

• Rightwinger on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Not to mention it’s much more relevant to the average people, seeing their dream cars battling it out. It’s Gran Turismo in real life…

• Having jepunis cars racing sure more exciting than the local cars here

• I rather see proper jepunis racing cars competing than seeing riced up ahbengs jepunis trying to fly to the moon with their uber-huge GT wing.

• Stefan on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:40 pm

Been to both F1 and SuperGT, and IMO SuperGT is way more fun, cars that I can relate to, open pitwalks for all, and the unique Circuit Safari!

• Thats the thing! When race organisers willing to work hand to hand with track organisers, SIC can do wonders. Problem is, F1 was too stuck up their high horses to see the discontent all around them.

• ganni on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:21 am

first, they need to bring the other prestige race event like FIA WEC to Malaysia..i would say many people will interested since there are many categories you can watch in the race.

second, DTM and Super GT are having plans to merge, hopefully by 2019. It’s a good move to bring back the Super GT and hopefully we can see DTM to race in Sepang in future.

to have the concept of theme park, hotel and mall near the circuit is a good idea, and Abu Dhabi and other circuit are having the same concept as well. But please, i hope the price is not only for the rich ppl. They should think for the middle class enthusiast too..

• arowana on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:24 am

LOL Super GT seriously? With all the sexy girls in extremely revealing of boobs???

I thought coz of this reason Malaysia has cancelled the previous seasons of Super GT.. instead now Super GT has switched to THAILAND for the SEA region for the race..

Thanks to those inconsiderate narrow minded political parties barking like mad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • keyword in article, But for now, let us rest. LOL

• lilytan on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:15 am

What is the point? With no F1 race, who is going to go to this hotel and theme park? With no F1 who is going to fork out the cash? Another money scam n white elephant in the making? Should have think about that 10 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • drMpower on Oct 05, 2017 at 11:17 am

great. razlan likes to model everything to successfull ones like Suzuka, etc. but then suzuka is there successful because of so many reasons, like great efficiency, or cleanliness or … not free grandstand, pit entry tickets

u know stuffs like that, if charged in full, it will bring like 100k easy

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Why not Formula E? With manufacturers flocking into Formula E, it could just be the race series to replace F1.

• ganni on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:59 pm

i guess it has been held in Putrajaya previously..i would say to have it in sepang circuit is not suitable since the roaring of the engine tada ummpphh…unless if they do something on the engine sound..

• John X on Oct 05, 2017 at 1:12 pm

How can we have a head of a track when this guy has no passion for motorsports. He clearly does not know what he is talking about. He has made very foolish statements in the weeks leading up to F1, and beyond. I swear, I do not know how someone with low knowledge on motorsports holds a high position. Unless obviously someone is feeding him to be a troll.
    I can guarantee, no other 4 wheeled event will bring in as many fans as F1. And only MotoGP, and maybe SBK event will bring in a crowd larger than that.

• tokmoh. on Oct 06, 2017 at 12:30 am

Bernie : it’s hard to make someone look stupid. If they are, they are.

• no NATO on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:11 pm

I am positive this is more No Action Talk Only. Razlan only talks and no action.

Hard for me to believe that Razlan wants SuperGT back? He said even told his management, SUPERGT is NOT PROFITABLE!!

Theme park for fathers to see race? Excuse me? Has he been to any racing events even F1 outside of Malaysia?

They have events and schools explaining about technology of cars and others not bringing Upin and Ipin to a race. They have booths for all, family, kids, woman!!!

It does not make sense, who wants to go to a Theme Park far away? And will the hotel be profitable even after the race is over? If the hotel gives like promo for travelers it would be a good idea.

It used to have like that before Razlan compare to now which Razlan messed it all up.

Well, we will see if he really want to put an effort but it is hard for us to believe after all the lame statements he made.

• Rizal on Oct 05, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Get WTCC and Japan Super GT into calendar together with Asia Touring Car Championship.

People will keen to visit SIC seeing Race Cars based on Normal Road Cars racing each other in near level competition. That’s provide with reasonable ticket price and an option for pit walkabout.

When we had the JGTC racing in previously, the turnout of crowds increases every year. Fans from Singapore and Thailand will come all the ways to cheer for their teams. One can see most Japanese expats will also converge to the SIC during those 3 days.

Now, the track too focus on F1, MotoGP, occasional MSS. SIC should stress on their promotion and marketing dept. When we are having Endurance Race, not many Malaysian aware of the event. General public only knew a week after the race through NST CBT. Those marketing guys should be asked to leave or resigned for not doing their job.

True indeed F1 has turn into boring sport. I prefer the refuelling pit stop, V10 engine and the 1 hour qualifying windows of 12 laps which every team allowed till the end.

• Japan GT > F1

is like

Jepunis > P1

• i told you on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:48 pm

He has the worst marketing team. Believe me!

Many complained on the marketing since before and he didn’t even care!!

later blame the fans, it is the fans who knows about this!!

Even the last F1 finale was not as happening or not many people knows!!

Yes, he should fire the marketing team!!! But he himself is not a racing fan so why bother? Just remove Razlan!!

• Rizal on Oct 05, 2017 at 8:17 pm

When We had the 1st F1, you will see the TV promotional during the prime time from Petronas and SIC- Jean Alesi “Jumpa Saya di F1 Sepang” and BMW Sauber with the Grand Son talking to the Grand father in germans and one in Malay. With Mclaren Hakinen and Coulthard having espresso while racing. You need to have that to bring the awareness among others

• Stefan on Oct 05, 2017 at 6:17 pm

A big event celebrating anything automotive related can be held every quarter. It could be something such as an Annual Sepang Classic Car Week, Asian Supercars Meet, Classic Motorcycles Gathering, Historic Grand Prix Weekend, etc etc. And probably something similar to Monterey, Goodwood. But it takes someone who is passionate in automotive to organize this.

• Matjava on Oct 06, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Expand ERL track to SIC so we dont pay high parking fee.