Perodua looking forward to a strong fourth quarter, on track to hit 2017 sales target of 202,000 units

Perodua recorded sales of 151,600 units for the first nine months of the year, up 0.5% from the same period last year. The company is looking forward to a boost in the final quarter of the year, and is therefore on track to hit its 2017 sales target of 202,000 units. “Cautiously optimistic” is the official line.

Like most brands, Perodua’s sales moderated in Q3 2017, and the total of 51,900 units is 3% lower year-on-year. However, last year’s Q3 numbers were boosted by the launch of the Perodua Bezza in July 2016.

“Since the national 2018 budget is just around the corner, there seems to be a wait and see attitude this month resulting in comparatively slow sales,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said last week. “The fourth quarter is expected to be challenging but we believe that we can sustain our sales momentum and are cautiously optimistic in meeting our earlier set target of 202,000 units by the end of 2017,” he added.

At 48,700 units, the Axia is P2’s best performer so far, followed by the evergreen Myvi at 42,000 units. The Bezza did 39,800 units while the Alza found 21,400 homes from January to September. Perodua says that its four models top their respective segments, which are the A-segment hatchback, B-segment hatchback, A-segment sedan and MPV classes.

“We wish to thank all Malaysians for their trust in our brand and we will continue to improve ourselves; both in our products and services to serve you better,” Aminar said. In 2016, Perodua sold 207,100 vehicles and recorded its highest ever market share of 35.7%.

After sales has been an increasingly strong revenue stream for P2 of late, and service intake numbers went up 4.6% year-on-year to 1.58 million vehicles for the first nine months of the year. This is a big jump from the 1.2% y-o-y increase recorded in H1 2017.

For the market leader, the same challenges remain, chief of which is the approval rate for hire purchase loans. Aminar told the media on the sidelines of the 2017 Tokyo Motor Show that 85% to 90% of Perodua’s customers take loans, and while bookings are strong, the conversion rate (from bookings to sales) remains low at 48%.

While the carmaker fully understands the responsible lending policy by the central bank and Malaysian banks, it wishes for more flexibility from lenders. Perodua has already been instructing sales personnel to not just collect as many bookings as possible, but to do some filtering of customers, in terms of their financial profile and capability. Higher quality submissions should improve loan approval ratings from the banks.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• lilytan on Oct 30, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Perodua is doing its job well. But to be honest, nobody is gonna buy perodua if they have higher income (and better choice). Obviously many msian can only afford perodua. We can safely say that msia will only becomes a high income, developed country if perodua is no longer the market leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 18
    • Only kancil on Oct 30, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Hahaha , if like that you buy Audi or Vw , after 3 years sure termenung because of drop value & high maintanane if buy perodua you can have good sleep for 9 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
      • tiadaid (Member) on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:21 pm

People who can afford Audi or VW don’t moan about RV. They just sell & move on to the next car.

It’s people who can’t afford that cares so much about RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • lilytan on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:25 pm

U will only termenung if u dont have the money. Rich ppl buy conti cars doesnt care about RV and maintenance cost. If they do they probably hv less money and bought japanese instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
        • Who said rich ppl buy conti car doesn’t care about RV & maintenance cost , oh men , it’s like nightmare when my porsche GT3 goes to workshop & when renew insurance roadtax every year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
          • Erm.. on Oct 31, 2017 at 8:37 am

If you’re complaining about the cost that means you’re not rich. You just bought beyond your affordability and are now feeling the pinch of the additional costs that goes with it.

• Read between the lines please on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:34 pm

That is what lilytan trying to say: only by having high income, we can afford to own and maintain cars that are better than perodua. The fact is people buy perodua because it is the cheapest, not because they want to or aspire to. And people who need to take 9 years loan just to own a perodua are not in a stable economic situation to start with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • 12yrsold on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 137
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 134
      • 12yrsold on Oct 31, 2017 at 9:11 am

Ha ha ha. I’m so happy to be rated – “Hidden due to low comment rating”. Must have butt hurt many.

• Ben Yap on Oct 30, 2017 at 3:16 pm

plonk in a turbo charger into the alza or bezza and there you go, market leader for many years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Are you sure putting a turbo engine in a family mover like Alza that doesn’t have ESC a smart move? Sure, the sales would probably increase but so would the numbers of road accident due to ‘hilang kawalan.’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Oct 30, 2017 at 3:23 pm

When is the new Myvi launching now already 30/10/2017

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • but the quality far worst than 2012 myvi lagi best compared to new 1.5 myvi. they should maintain the material and quality of the car! pity those buyer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • Ethan on Oct 30, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 144
    • Sad but true... on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:46 pm

I think the more pressing question should be when Perodua is going to include ABS as standard on all its cars? Because as of 2017 almost 2018, lower spec Axia, Alza and Myvi don’t even have ABS let alone ESC. You would think being the most popular would make Perodua more concerned about the safety of its customers, but the fact is profit margin is more important to Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Inspira on Oct 30, 2017 at 7:39 pm

Sabar.. Dah nak sampai

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 30, 2017 at 4:23 pm

I think the sales sheet says it clearly – national car makers now no longer holds the market since they only command a 48% marketshare compared to foreign makes’ 52%. Malaysians now are going foreign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 24
  • Yamaha on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:00 pm

Buy Proton and Honda better, don’t Buy Perodua cause Perodua doesn’t have any safety features, Perodua also having rear axle problem and Perodua also doesn’t have EV Vehicles where Honda and Proton have safety features, Honda and Proton doesn’t have any rear axle problem and also Honda and Proton have EV vehicles. Lastly Hopefully Perodua sales will keep on dropping and also hopefully that Toyota and Proton saleswill increase

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 22
    • abang suhardy on Oct 30, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 127
    • totally agree. this is not about affordability but the safety matter for all malaysian. in peroduo case it disregard the safety. of course it has airbag esc etc but the chasis n quality material is basically replica from dahaisu. this car when drive in japan no issue due to their excellent road condition n highway. here malaysia jkr didnt do their work. definitely cannot tahan the stress. somemore enforcement here is not strict always i saw car overloaded with more than 5 peoples. in contrast, proton has better steel call hot press foaming (hpf) even better than honda n toyota. that’s why u can see during accident peroduo car passenger always become poor victim, like sardin tuna. so for the sack of people, peroduo should shut done operation, let proton n geely help to create better car for the country and geely has the technology from volvo safety technology n autonomous driving. ditch the peroduo n japanese car from the roads.

• What so good about proton? if proton is so good as you boasted, they will be selling 200,000 units per year and not that miserable 60K+ even losing to Honda. Once a national pride became a national shame. Reliability is shameful. don’t you know proton has reduced sheet metal thickness to reduce costs? And sourcing is from the cheapest, so don’t talk about whatever tensile strength etc.

• Kamaruddin on Oct 30, 2017 at 11:14 pm

luckily Geely China is our saving pride, haval 5star. Boyue can go better…

• Now everyone is saying Geely is our great saviour, but better wait and see if they can really improve things or just hype only.

• Hisham on Oct 31, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Perodua has been and still is a great enabler mobilitywise in this country. As for road network, we do have a good one compare to our neighbours. In fact our car have great values due to our good road network be them cheaper peroduas or more upmarket models. As car goes they are basics, yes, but compare to many peroduas sure are reliable.

• johndo on Nov 10, 2017 at 3:41 pm

New myvi is up now. can you still say perodua doesn’t have safety features?

• While I am waiting for the year end promotion, anyone has any idea is P2 going to launch any new model by this year?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
    • willy on Oct 31, 2017 at 11:48 pm

i assure u the new facelift coming anytime soon. and i lost my count, it suppose to be over 15+ facelift for the same generation myvi. U could say that there’s no next generation for myvi in our country. its always facelift all the way with no minimum safety features, some minor changes on the outlook(thats what important and demand to most not smart buyer). thus, its affordable to most Malaysian.

• richard ajejau on Oct 30, 2017 at 9:30 pm

1st thing come the mind of most msians is the reliability. they quickly think about a perodua car. anything else such as safety, the quality of the chassis, comfort are not important. thats why proton cannot do anything. The current proton models are very good for me but their image has already tarnished. msians dont like to study. ancap or not they dont care.

• Where is the new Alza and new Myvi? Both these models getting old oredi… Perodua has a new factory in Sendayan that is capable of building a brand new 1.5L “NR” engine (similar to the 1.3L found in the Bezza), but does not have any model to put it in.

• sam123 on Oct 31, 2017 at 10:17 am

Perodua bila introduce new product?

• ayoyo on Oct 31, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Frankly, so far only MYVI is good looking model, the rest actually looks ok ok only. but why outnumbered proton? both same malaysia made. RIGHT PRICE and QUALITY PRODUCT that win all. PROTON close shop lah~

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 03, 2017 at 9:55 pm

As a Bezza owner, this is the most headache car amongst all my other cars. Shocking to note that I cannot find spare part at most shops around Selangor. Have to go back to main Perodua SC as most spare part shop said car still new. Secondly, the car is unstable from 90kmh onwards. Bring it up in forum & get ridiculed as thought owner is at fault. Others will tell you to live with it or go modify it.