Porsche 911 GT3 launched in Malaysia – from RM1.7m

Sime Darby Auto Performance (SDAP) has launched the new Porsche 911 GT3 in Malaysia. Unveiled in March this year, we are the first market in ASEAN to get Zuffenhausen’s track-bred sports car, which has moved to the facelifted 991 body.

First, we’ll answer the big question – the new 911 GT3 is available here with a seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission, but “proponents of pure unadulterated driving” (I see some nodding away while making an Obama “not bad” face now) can order a six-speed manual from SDAP. Stick shift fans, have you been addressed in such a way before?

Besides the reappearance of the manual gearbox (the previous one was PDK-only), there’s also a new engine. Replacing the 3.8 litre unit is a naturally aspirated 4.0 litre flat-six developing 500 hp at 8,250 rpm and 460 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm.

The motor is “virtually unchanged” from that one in the 911 GT3 Cup race car (both are manufactured on the same production line), and will be familiar to owners of the GT3 RS and limited run 911 R. However, revised engine internals allow the GT3’s motor to rev higher than the other two cars – up to 9,000 rpm.

With the PDK gearbox, the 911 GT3 weighs 1,430 kg, and goes from zero to 100 km/h in just 3.4 seconds – a tenth faster than the previous car – before hitting a top speed of 318 km/h. Choose the manual gearbox and you’ll save some weight (17 kg to be exact) but no human can shift as fast, so 0-100 km/h takes half a second longer at 3.9 seconds.

The chassis has also been reworked for even better driving dynamics – it sits 25 mm lower than the standard Carrera S, and as before there’s active rear steering, dynamic engine mounts and a locking rear differential.

As with every other facelifted 991, the GT3 receives a number of exterior revisions, including redesigned headlights with four-point LED daytime running lights, integrated door handle recesses and new tail lights. The GT3-specific front fascia has also been reworked for a more angular look – as has the rear diffuser – while vents have also been added on the rear engine cover. There’s a new carbon fibre rear wing, too. All 911s look the same? Not the GT3 for sure.

“The new 911 GT3 wears an aggressive rear wing, a giant air intake and also big wheels sheltered by widened fenders. There’s no mistaking the 911 GT3 delivers motorsport-like performance. The new 911 GT3 not only provides impressive performance on the racetrack, but it also offers the best driving dynamics for your everyday driving,” said SDAP CEO Arnt Bayer.

Inside, the GT3 has been given a smaller 918 Spyder-style three-spoke steering wheel (360 mm diameter), as well as a new Porsche Communication Management (PCM) infotainment system and the Connect Plus Module with Apple CarPlay connectivity.

The Porsche Track Precision App, which allow drivers to record and analyse driving data on their smartphones, is also bundled in as standard equipment.

As standard, the car comes with two Sport Seats Plus with enhanced side bolsters for increased lateral support and manual fore/aft adjustment (race car, remember). The seat pans in the rear are covered. Buyers can also specify Adaptive Sport Seats Plus with 18-way electric adjustment, a powered steering column and a memory function. On the opposite end of the scale, one can tick fixed carbon fibre full bucket seats.

The new Porsche 911 GT3 is yours from RM1.7 million, duty inclusive, but without registration fee, road tax and insurance. Pricey, but the GT3 is lovely, as we found out driving the previous version.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 01, 2017 at 1:15 pm

get the manual and you have an appreciating asset

• If you bought the right one... on Nov 01, 2017 at 5:31 pm

So far, the only recent Porsche models that appreciate with age are the Cayman GT4, GT3 RS 4.0 and of course the 911 R.

• sabahan on Nov 01, 2017 at 5:32 pm

2/3 of that price for gomen taxes & excise duties

• gti owner on Nov 01, 2017 at 2:08 pm

With 1/3 of that price, I can bring back a 2016/17 Nissan GTR and the remaining to purchase a semi D / corner lot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • kereta_lembu on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Clearly the car is not for you…or me BUT I understand what you’re trying to imply. For those that can afford this beauty, good on ya!

• gti owner on Nov 01, 2017 at 7:34 pm

@kereta lembu, not 100% agree, I’m working at UAE now, the price is around aed 540k (RM620k), that what I trying imply, :)

• Rajan on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Why so expensive???

• Manual on Nov 01, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Fuh, manual option ticked please!

• 12yrsold on Nov 01, 2017 at 3:22 pm

There U have it. Even the writer who pen this article said it takes half a sec longer to 100 kph in a Manuel car.

Most if not all professional drivers said & attest that a double clutch/PDK/DSG have better acceleration.

In case anyone who have not done racing, the half a sec is equivalent to 2/3 body length.

If anyone insists of getting a manual, please go ahead. Hey, it’s your hard earn $$$ & no one can tell U what U should buy.

• Give it a break, kid on Nov 01, 2017 at 5:00 pm

What is your point really? Everyone knows dual clutch is faster than human shifting. Tell us something we don’t know. Are you so suck at driving stick that you need to console yourself with all these ‘oh, automatic is so much faster, so much easier’?

• The best 911 in recent years is the 911 R, which is manual only. Do you know why Porsche offers manual now, after skipping it for the previous GT3? Because there’s still demand for it from people who cares more about driving enjoyment than a few miliseconds faster acceleration.

• tho, MT is purely for fun. lol. imo you can get bunches of another DSG DCT or PDK or anything they wanna name it out there but a good MT is always rewarding. One who apppreciated driving involvement should have considered it, although majority of them will go for PDK, which is no doubt fast and life lasting clutch plates.

• hazamiey on Nov 01, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Last time was only RM1.23 mil…

• As a stick shift fanboy, people have called me ‘gila batang’ fella. not that fancy name used in this article :(

• Why-H on Nov 02, 2017 at 3:49 pm

No doubt PDK is among the best of the best in the market. If I have the chance to get one so, I would sacrifies the acceleration time but picking the MT as long as they are not discontinuing them. Unlike the other company, at least Porsche is one of the automobile giant who does reserve a place for MT in their line-up, even though there is less need. Appreciated for the effort.

• i just recall most of the cars on road are AT some of the driver dont know how to shift the stick anymore….