Porsche 911 GT3 RS in Malaysia for RM1.75 million

Porsche911GT3RS_04

The all-new Porsche 911 GT3 RS is truly a racetrack-ready machine. That doesn’t mean you can’t use it as your daily drive; in all honesty, having a car like this as your daily beater would be just absolutely ridiculous, but definitely a hoot to drive. So, here it is in Malaysia, priced at a cool RM1,750,000, inclusive of a four-year warranty.

When it first came out during the 2015 Geneva International Motor Show, it basically transcended the boundary between what was expected between street-legal sports cars and the expectations of what a racecar should be like. Perhaps the most salient point about the 911 GT3 RS is its Nurburgring lap time of seven minutes and 20 seconds, which basically beat the Carrera GT lap time by a full nine seconds. Staggering stuff, really.

The GT street vehicle has never been closer to its Cup and RSR cousins, both visually and functionally. A car like this is designed to be pushed to the very edge, and its 4.0 litre flat six engine delivers 500 hp and a torque of 460 Nm. It comes with Porsche’s seven-speed dual-clutch Doppelkupplung (PDK) gearbox as standard, and blazes through the 100 km/h mark in 3.3 seconds, and to 200 km/h in 10.9 seconds.

Porsche911GT3RS_20

The gear ratios are of course tuned for proper racetrack driving, and a top speed of 310 km/h is on the cards. Its combined NEDC fuel economy is rated at 12.7 litres per 100 km. It has functions such as declutching by ‘paddle neutral’ – which is comparable to pressing the clutch with a conventional manual gearbox and a ‘Pit Speed’ button, which has been customised for pit lane cruising.

The chassis has been tuned for maximum performance with Dynamic Engine mounts and Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM). Compared to the earlier model, the all-new 911 GT3 RS is 30 mm broader at the rear and 80 mm broader at the front. With rear-axle steering, Porsche Torque Vectoring Plus with fully variable rear axle differential lock, this vehicle exhibits even greater turn-in characteristics and higher cornering speeds.

When it comes to aerodynamics, the GT3 RS embraces motorsports derived technology like no other. The front wheelarch air outlets with 12 slats provide an efficient exit for the air drawn into the wheelarches. This reduces overpressure created by the turning wheels and counters lift, akin to designs found on the RS Spyder. Working in conjunction with the aerodynamically styled front end, the result is extra downforce.

Its wider track, a 100 mm-longer wheelbase and rear-axle steering fitted, the 911 GT3 RS redefines driving once again, with increased agility and performance. At the rear, the 21-inch wheels not only improve the footprint, traction and lateral dynamics, but also provide a slight forward pitch.

The 911 GT3 RS is truly a masterpiece of intelligent lightweight design, and it is 10 kg lighter than the GT3. The lightweight magnesium roof and carbon luggage compartment lid are nice touches. The rear carbon wing with forged aluminium uprights is all about weight reduction.

A 30 cm-wide recess extends centrally over the CRFP bonnet and the magnesium roof – a stylistic reference to the recess on the luggage compartment lid of the classic 911 models with air-cooled engines, and today it identifies the two largest lightweight components of the car.

On the inside, Alcantara elements are liberally utilised, and one key new feature is the full bucket seats, which are based on the carbon bucket seats of the 918 Spyder. Other standard features are the ‘Club Sport Package’ with a bolted-on roll cage behind the front seats, preparation for a battery master switch, and separately provided six-point safety harness for the driver and fire extinguisher with mounting bracket.

More good news for potential buyers of this marvellous car, the Sport Chrono Package comes as standard, which features – in addition to its integrated timers – the Porsche Track Precision app for your smartphone.

The app can be used to have lap times automatically measured via GPS, and to log data on for many driving parameters such as vehicle speed, lateral acceleration as well as acceleration or deceleration in the driving direction. It manages this data and lets the driver share and compare it with other drivers.

The All-New Porsche 911 GT3 RS here in Malaysia

Anil Prabha

Anil Prabha has always been a petrol head. He also has a strange knack for remembering car models and their respective registration plates. Naturally aspirated engines are always better than turbocharged or supercharged ones, in his opinion. Ultimately, he believes that there is nothing better in life than just going for a drive.

• I don’t think track nerds would be too interested in this since its a PDK only. Well unless their main goal is just to go faster.

• Ridiculous price on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:12 pm

In the US, it costs $175k. Here it costs RM 1.75m. After conversion which is around RM 744k, so the tax costs RM 1 million?!

• Official Car for UMNO on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:39 pm

Minister’s son will be driving this car free. Remember Nedim? He was caught with a brand new Porsche Cayenne fully bought and maintained for Nedim by timber tycoon seeking contracts from Minister daddy Nazri

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • wowowow on Sep 04, 2015 at 6:19 pm

k

• Tengku Djan on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:23 pm

What’s so special about this car? My Iriz R3 also a race car

• symusty on Sep 05, 2015 at 1:58 pm

Porsche’s PDK is well known among enthusiasts as one of the only dual-clutch transmissions that is actually better than manual gearboxes.

• In case you haven’t noticed or read about PDK, dual clutch transmission shifts gear faster than a manual stick.

• US$130k for a GT3 on Sep 04, 2015 at 4:20 pm

this car cost US$130k. Porsche Malaysia will get this car for about US%90k. That is about RM360k at exchange rate 4.0

Tax and excise duty maximum is 130%.

Clearly Porsche Malaysia making buta buta profit over RM800k.

this what happens when our leaders and politicians are so corrupt, that they got no time to protect the rakyat from companies cheating them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Ridiculous price on Sep 04, 2015 at 5:19 pm

But this is the GT3 RS which costs $175k, after conversion is RM744k, so actually Porsche Malaysia is making more than RM 1 million profit.

• Sure or not? on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:21 pm

No need to count in tax to protect Proton?

• areyousorenot on Sep 05, 2015 at 1:30 am

No need to count in tax to supply electricity, internet backbone so you can type something here?

• Genius on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:41 am

What does electricity and internet got to do with the selling price of Porsche?

• newbiem on Sep 05, 2015 at 4:48 pm

Think hard kid. You cannot call yourself a genius if you cannot think properly

• Genius on Sep 05, 2015 at 6:23 pm

I am not the Genius, you are

• berombon on Sep 04, 2015 at 7:56 pm

I say man..as if you can afford the car anyway..making comments as if you are just short by a few hundred thousand to pay for the car..politicians corrupt or not is not the issue here..

Please lah..make sensible comments..so sick of people like you on board.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • elson on Sep 04, 2015 at 4:26 pm

ok, i want that paper car .

• Allroadquattro on Sep 04, 2015 at 4:32 pm

RM 1.75M is peanut for some people.
    Munich Automobiles SG pls bring the Ruf RGT-8!
    (FYI I own a house in SG)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Apartment on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Apartment?

• billionaire on Sep 05, 2015 at 1:37 am

One house in sinjapork is not enough to brag about here peasant!!!!

• bunglo on Sep 05, 2015 at 11:33 am

What if it’s a bunglo?

• Allroadquattro on Sep 05, 2015 at 7:44 pm

calm the f@$* down. you totally missed my point.
        I’m not bragging about owning a house in Singapore.
        I’m talking about Ruf (threy’re car manufacturer, not tuner) RGT-8. it’s a 911 with V8 engine (550bhp) & comes with manual tranny!
        and there’s no Ruf in malaysia. (there’s a Ruf dealership in Thailand too. in the SG showroom there’s limited edition CTR-3 clubsport on display)

• timer on Sep 06, 2015 at 10:27 am

You are too late, next time dun brag for the thing you dun even have.

• wow vs AMG GT S

• tinmilo on Sep 04, 2015 at 10:32 pm

If you actually are buying this car for race track only, then you can opt not to pay duty as you won’t need to register the car in jpj..
    Just toll it to the track for a day workout

• SAM VHL Loo on Sep 05, 2015 at 12:26 pm

IMO, if i want an automatic race car, i rather go for Mercedes AMG GTS. 911 GT3 still best enjoyed with manual version.

• UMW Mampus on Sep 05, 2015 at 5:54 pm

Drool.. the girls

• Tall German dude drives around my condo like a douche.