Audi R8 V10 Spyder previewed – M’sian launch soon?

The Audi R8 V10 Spyder made a surprise appearance last weekend at the Mines Resort and Golf Club, in conjunction with Audi Malaysia’s quattro cup (golfing event) and Drive Weekend event. The display unit was of the regular V10 variant (not the V10 plus) and was brought in from Audi Sport Singapore.

Presently, Audi’s rival to the Mercedes-AMG GT has yet to go on sale in Malaysia, although it has been teased before nearly two years ago. To recap, the R8 can only be had with a naturally-aspirated V10 – there won’t be a force-fed downsized mill – and in two states of tune: 540 hp/540 Nm for the standard V10 and 610 hp/560 Nm for the hotter V10 plus.

Both variants get paired with the same seven-speed S tronic dual-clutch transmission, enabling a century sprint time of 3.5 seconds for the V10 (3.6 seconds for the Spyder) and 3.2 seconds for the V10 plus (3.3 seconds for the Spyder). Standard here is the company’s signature quattro all-wheel drive system, with 85% of the power typically sent to the rear wheels. This ratio varies depending on traction, though.

The first-generation Audi R8 5.2 TFSI quattro was sold for RM1,245,900 (OTR before insurance), which makes for a decent ballpark figure for its successor. For the money, which super coupe would you pick, and why? Let us know in the comments section below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Andrew Choo on Nov 06, 2017 at 10:33 am

Why launch Spyder in Malaysia? Everyday super hot, if not hot it is rain, then the air also so dirty and filthy with fumers from our Euro 2 petrol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Anon anon on Nov 07, 2017 at 1:10 am

If you buy spider everybody know , who drive the car , your jiran also will shock , you can afford a million supercar , sure you will glamour

• Charlie Beckingham on Nov 06, 2017 at 11:00 am

Shut up & take my money now! I want mine in ketupat green!!

• Thyvagger on Mar 31, 2018 at 7:51 pm

The best decision………. when its gonna lunch…??? I cant wait…!!!