New 2018 Daihatsu Terios makes debut in Indonesia

One’s out, here’s the other. We’re of course referring to the just-unveiled Toyota Rush and its sister car you see here – the Daihatsu Terios. The twins replace a duo that has been around for over a decade. They will take on SUV-flavoured MPVs such as the Honda BR-V and Mitsubishi Xpander.

As with many Toyota models in Indonesia, there’s a Daihatsu twin offering the same car with slightly altered styling and a lower price tag. What many don’t realise is that Daihatsu – now wholly-owned by Toyota – takes the lead in many of these projects and manufactures the cars for both brands. That’s the case with the new Rush-Terios, although only the Toyota-badged car will be exported to other emerging markets.

The new Terios is underpinned by an overhauled platform, which means that it retains the front engine, rear-wheel drive layout. Handling stability and ride comfort, NVH levels and fuel efficiency have all been improved, Daihatsu says.

Like the Rush, the Terios gets a new engine – the 2NR-VE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i unit makes 104 PS at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. It’s around 25% more efficient than the previous mill. Gearbox options are a five-speed manual and four-speed automatic. The 2NR has been in the Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia since 2015, and is the same engine we get in the new Perodua Myvi.

Like the Rush, the seven-seater Terios is 4,435 mm long and 1,695 mm wide, which is 18 mm shorter and 40 mm narrower than the Honda, although its 2,685 mm wheelbase is 23 mm longer than the BR-V’s. Ground clearance is a high 220 mm, which is a valuable feature in Indonesia (BR-V 201 mm).

Daihatsu says that cabin length is up by 170 mm, which increases tandem distance by 45 mm (distance between first and second rows) and and cargo area length by 150 mm. The expanded luggage space is large enough for four of the gallon bottles that are widely used in Indonesia.

The new Rush-Terios ditches the boxy faux 4×4 look of old (no more spare wheel on the tailgate too) for a MPV-SUV style with hints of the Toyota Fortuner in the design.

While the Rush uses dark chrome for the front grille for a sportier face, the Terios comes with chrome horizontal slats, matched with chrome foglamp housings. Like the Rush, the headlamps are LED units. It’s the same at the back, but with the addition of black trim bridging the long wraparound tail lamps.

Such a big improvement in design and features. Would you like to see this Terios in Malaysia as a new Perodua Kembara? Or would you prefer a more compact, but more sophisticated car-based SUV from Perodua (think HR-V instead of BR-V)? The latter would be nice. Perodua said earlier this year that it is “seriously considering” a compact SUV, so keep your fingers crossed.

GALLERY: 2018 Toyota Rush

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Jamal Nasser on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Perodua should rebadge this car. Then next year, for sure Perodua sell 300,000 cars as opposed to 200,000 this year.

This will be the ULTIMATE car. Everybody will buy this.

After all, it is Daihatsu/Toyota technology. Time tested and proven. Quality and reliability ada.

I will be too scared to buy any China car.

Let us hope Perodua bring this car into Malaysia

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 7
    • Jamal Nasser on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Proton is wasting precious time launching the Boyue. Waiting till year end of 2018.

Meanwhile, so many candidates like this car, the Rush and many others are appearing.

Time is of essence. Time is vital.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
      • If u dun do this right, time that will concern is endtime very soon. Has they done actual road test for new Mivi?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 62
      • Mitsu lancer cannot save them.
        Honda cannot save them.
        What jack a chinese brand can do to save them?

And dont bring in Volvo into discussion, it ranked one of the worst quality in latest survey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Perodua shouldn’t bring this car into Malaysia. Body on frame cars is a step back. I know flooding become more of an issue in this country, but I think Perodua should leave this vehicle to Toyota.

That being said, I wonder where this car going to slot in. Toyota already has so many MPV/SUV. Avanza, Rush, Sienta, C-HR and Innova. So maybe Toyota carriers the C-HR and Perodua carries this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • I disagree. P2 needs a replacement for the Alza, not a new additional compact SUV model that seats only 5 people and takes up valuable factory, showroom and storeyard space. If I were UMWT and P2 going up against Honda Malaysia, I would let P2 rebadge this new Rush/Terios as the new Alza to battle the ugly Honda BR-V which is in exactly the same class of vehicle, while UMWT Toyota would introduce the C-HR to fight the yet-to-be facelifted Honda HR-V which again, is in the same class of car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • Cendol on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:28 am

Proton Ertiga oredy cornered that segment. sad but true P2.

• An Ertiga owner is basically saying he/she is 100% unattractive and has basically given up on life.

• 12yrsold on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:59 am

U mean Ertiga left in the CORNER !!?

• whatsogreat on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Ertiga is not a beauty but abanja innova and terios are definitely in ugly segment

• Don’t think this is body on frame car. innova and fortunner are.

• PetrolHead on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:32 pm

Perodua has rebadged the Terios previously – it was called Nautica here.

Unfortunately, the price was wrong – above RM 90K because it was a CBU. For Perodua to make a success of this model, it has to be produced locally. They need to be pretty sure of the potential sales volumes before they do that.

• first rebadged Terios was selling very well in Malaysia. it was known as Kembara.

• Don’t forget it is 4WD. Compared to kembara and Toyota Rush in Malaysia it does not comes with 4WD.

• Fabio on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:20 pm

(Like) Daihatsu Terios.
    (Dislike) Proton Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 65
    • Jamal Nasser on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:31 pm

This is like asking whether you like Daikin aircon or Akira aircon.

Which one would you fix for your house?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • nobita on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:35 pm

which one is Daikin aircon ?

• Daikin sux. When compressor kongs, need to replace whole aircon unit. Better get Akira, at least its cheap to replace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Meaningless comment

• using 1.5dual vvti engine? same as in myvi? seriously? then, there is no problem for perodua bring this new kembara / nautica on road!

• Price is main factor (price it as old kembara price range, sure ok. Maybe perodua can offer 5 seater or 7 seater opition. Some small family doesn’t need 7 seater, since they got more than 1 cars. They may just want a suv looks car…..

• Onanodus on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:58 pm

But the BR-V is a mini-SUV.. it’s the Mobilio that’s a mini-MPV.

• falldisc on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:31 am

BRV is not a SUV, tyres too small. ground clearance so-so. BRV is actually a crossover (cross between MPV and SUV)

• ayman jengka on Nov 23, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Boyue 1.8T 200hp. A class above

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Daihatsu Terios ==> Perodua Alza ??

• Kembara MK.2

• perodua should seriously consider rebadging this car to fill in 2 void in the market

1) kembara replacement
    2) Alza replacement

can kill 2 birds with 1 stone , plus its already using the same powertrain as the myvi

• Just to point out the Kembara was a proper 4WD.

• I would say that this can be a replacement model for the Kembara. For the ARM (Alza Replacement Model), wait next year, because the All New Avanza/Xenia will be out next year.

• Yup, offer 5 or 7 seater options… price and safety spec is main factor…. pls dont price it like last nautica big failure for Perodua!!!

• LikeyLikey on Nov 23, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Yup ! I really hope Perodua can produce something like the HRV and use the Kembara nameplate

• Would you celebrate the unlikely event that P2 gets to rebadge the C-HR and call it the new Kembara?

Like you, I am very eager to see the return of the legendary Kembara nameplate.

• Chris on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:55 pm

I like, i like…. bring it to Malaysia although, its slightly smaller than BRV which i think its ugly. 4 gears also a bit out but i don’t care since the engine is reliable….. PROVEN….

• Low2215 on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Uh huh ? so an Avanza thats looks like a SUV ? I dont understand man

• MyDear on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:48 pm

the tail lamps and bonnet remind me of Honda Mobilio la~

• Bernard on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:56 pm

Imagine people getting excited with this and the new myvi…sad state of affairs…

In North America, people get excited only if it’s something really nice like a New Porsche gt3 or Merc etc

• Agree! Haha..

• But myvi owner can claim even porsche or merc dun have features like them

Porsche dun have 8+1 seat arrangement
        Merc dun have it too

Haha!

• Mivi owners too claim to be 1st in world to have teh tarik hook, but then everyone else is laffing at then instead.

• Not as many as those laughing at having half the syarikat gagal being sold to new tongsan masters. Go help them clear the slow moving stock lah, come back here when your master sells enough to break-even.

• I alredi struggling to clear old P2 stocks, nobody wants to buy. So why need to help P1 as well?

• RON97 on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:31 am

True, bro.
      All comments come from B40 & M40 people.
      Sad that we are approaching 2018, and people exited about 104hp 4 speedo. Comedy LoL.
      When you drive P2 & P1, you are poor. Fact.

• I’m one of the M40 people. If a new Merc was sold for under RM100k we would be just as excited as you rich people. Now go off and spend your daddy’s money.

• 12yrsold on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:05 am

You are Right. GDP for US is US18.57 Trillion. Malaysia GDP US296.36 billion.

• Err. Nobody got excited. Deswai I din bother coomenting on new Mivi. The only ones got high is their SAs using multiple nicks to create a perception of excitement, but truth is, nobody bothered.

• Haznawi Tanom on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:10 pm

I wanna engine more than 1.5cc to suit the bigger body..i don’t mine to pay more for bigger cc/Hp/torq..

• Ahwie on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:16 pm

I wanna engine more than 1.5cc to suit the bigger body..i don’t mine to pay more for bigger cc/Hp/torq..

• mejoh on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:54 am

alza replacemnt will be out on 2018. just wait n p2 also considering produce suv like later

• Need Power on Every Wheel on Nov 24, 2017 at 3:24 am

Like the looks very much…but what?!…Terios / Rush no more an AWD?!…although may not need it in real life but so sad, feel like missing the DNA.

• powerbank on Nov 24, 2017 at 6:40 am

Perodua is much better than Volvo

• If badged with P2 logo, cheap price.
    If badged with Toy logo, expensive price.
    The power of branding.

• I wanna engine more than 1.5cc to suit the bigger body..i don’t mine to pay more for bigger cc/Hp/torq..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • I agree. 1.5cc is smaller than some RC engine. U need a lil bit bigger to push.

• Is the engine is mounted longitudinally? Since it is RWD?
    Can d platform accomodate an AWD arrangement?

• Crappy.Outalingam on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:41 pm

OK peeps – keep this simple: DISCONTINUE the ALZA for GOOD – and instead cull upon the new Terios/Rush as the sole mini Compact SUV to fight head on with the BR-V of Honda and maybe Mitsubishi XPander

• Kanabis on Dec 17, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Komen acah2 bagus..Nak beli tak nak sudah..Buat penilaian sesuai dengan kelas SUV bukan Myvi..