Perodua seriously considering compact SUV – Aminar

Perodua is ‘seriously considering’ the introduction of a compact SUV. This was revealed by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh at the presentation of the company’s first half of 2017 results in Kuala Lumpur today.

“SUVs seem to be the flavour of the day,” Aminar said, adding that “it is not out of our range and we’re studying the feasibility of introducing such a model.” The P2 chief also added that the company is now putting more resources into product planning as well as understanding consumers’ tastes.

However, he did not reveal any timeline or further details, in typical Perodua fashion. Whatever model that will be introduced in the future will follow the company’s positioning though, which is “compact” and “affordable”. Previous SUV efforts from Perodua were the popular Kembara and the CBU imported from Japan Nautica.

The SUV boom is a global one, cutting across segments and price points. Carmakers that were early to latch on to the trend have reaped the benefits (Nissan with the Qashqai in Europe and Honda with the HR-V in Malaysia), and the others are churning out SUVs of all sizes to not miss out on the boat.

Will Perodua’s upcoming SUV, if the study materialises, be based on a JDM kei-car such as the Daihatsu Cast Activa (and the old Kembara), or a proper compact crossover such in the mould of the Daihatsu FX Concept that was showcased at the 2015 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show? Our bet is on the latter.

Excited about a B-segment “SUV rakyat” at Perodua price points? Proton, now with Chinese carmaker Geely onboard, is also prepping an SUV, but the tiger-badged, Boyue-based SUV will be larger and more expensive than whatever P2 has in mind.

GALLERY: Daihatsu FX Concept at GIIAS 2015

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Isnt Nautica a compact SUV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Hello Perodua, before you come out with SUV, why don’t you make your existing cars safe? Your Alza, Myvi, Bezza and Axia all have no VSC and only 2 airbags.

There are few million Peroduas on the road without VSC. Malaysian Government already said, if all cars had VSC, we can reduce deaths and accidents by 45%

Aminar, can you please give VSC in all your cars?

Passo and Sirion aka Myvi had VSC 10 years ago in Japan.

But in Malaysia, our lives are not important. Why UMW/Perodua takes out the VSC?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 120 Thumb down 8
      • Someone on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:03 pm

SUV market tak laku in MY ?

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jul 14, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Habislaa Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • Habislah rear axle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • The same way Bezza wiped the floor with the pondana, ugly AF persona and only 4–star saga, the new P2 Crossover will make the Geely Malaysia Boyue run and hide in a distant corner of the borneo jungle never to be seen in a malaysian city or town.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • Yes. Wipe the floor with the rear bumper once loose the rear axles, eh?

• Mark from Predator XR on Jul 15, 2017 at 12:22 am

Bezza got VSC weiii

• …apparently, live is cheap on Malaysian roads, so there is no need for VSC in P2 cars. Rakyat wanta it cheap, as P2 thinks.

• kucing on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:35 pm

its “concept” car. dont excited yet

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:59 pm

No need SUV. We want safer Myvis and Axias.

1) Why our Myvi has no VSC and the Japan Myvi (Toyota Passo / Daihatsu Sirion) got VSC?

2) Why Toyota and Daihatsu of Japan think Malaysian lives are inferior and not important and how come they can allow UMW to take out the VSC to save money and untung more?

3) Our Government has made known VSC is very important. But Perodua does not seem to be bothered about the safety and lives of Malaysians.

5) Paul Tan also has shown that VSC is important. All UMW and Perodua engineers and even the CEO has read this article. Don’t you think after reading the article and seeing the videos that our Myvi, Alza, Bezza and Axia need VSC? Article was 5 years ago.

6) Basic Axia model does not even have ABS. This is the biggest seller in the Axia range and appeals to fresh graduates. Tens of thousands of basic Axia are sold each year without ABS and Axia to fresh graduates. Isn’t this dangerous?

https://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
      • Mig29ria on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:51 pm

I believe with those accessories there will be different tax structure and automatically price will beyond expectation. May be somebody can confirm this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • John Fake News Poster on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:13 pm

ESC is not accessory. It is basic safety of car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
          • Anything But P1 on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:14 pm

brand new Perodua 4WD in 2018. Bezza took only 1year from konsep…

• Biza dun need road test. All customers r test drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • You have been yapping about VSC since your game changer car launched. What happened now? Company pun kena jual kat China.

Your superdupa premium Perdana also no VSC ma.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • My england is bad on Jul 15, 2017 at 7:26 am

Amoi bodo. Kejap ask about company kejap ask about car.

• Mutusami on Jul 14, 2017 at 7:34 pm

Deyy ignorant yb..Are you really sure std axia doesn’t has abs?? Likee really? Please update your statement..& your brain as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
    • You think like Proton meh? We still see that sporty lotus mpv even after 10 years and nothing materialise.

• thepolygonal on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Yes we need that scissor door.

• Anonymous on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:36 pm

P2 does not need an SUV in its stable… it only needs a crossover (if they really want one)… just look at the sales of Honda BRV… it would be great for small families and businesses too.

A small crossover that can be turned into a utility vehicle would be a great product… it would fill the gap left by the rusa. More n more people are doing small businesses and need the right kind of transport that doubles up as a workhorse yet can fit the small family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Sell it below RM60k wig the 1.5L DVVT engine, I’ll surely buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • U need to buy spare rear axles with the car, if u serious want it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • John Fake News Poster on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Perodua has good Japan Toyota quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 21
        • Latiff on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Pls buy Proton Bayu, Pls don’t buy P2.
          Proton nid to repay bailout $$$…Tolong2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • Yes. Pls buy Bayu if u want rear axle to kekal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Dexstex on Sep 17, 2019 at 8:53 pm

p2 have daihatsu,not toyota parts,ok?

• John other half on Jul 15, 2017 at 11:17 pm

But u can open your power window to touch n go..no need to open the door becoz power window cap ayam.

• johndo on Oct 06, 2017 at 3:38 pm

tak habis2 rear axle ko. takde point lain ke?

• Ulkamikup on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:43 pm

If 1.5 litre with 105ps 148Nm engine + 4AT forget about it. Could be a bigger sampan. Big no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • JessieCCY on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Sigh, I waited and wanted the replacement for KENARI.
    If the MOVE or WAKE can come in Malaysia i would buy it.

• Why wait sanmor?? Bring the SX, get the principal’s approval & rebadge it. Mesians are waiting for affordable suv, cheaper than br-v.

• Yes just bring in the FX. don’t need any study.just price right proper safety features and make sure the back seat don’t break people’s backs like the axia n bezza

• P2 Mktg: “Break back seats is a feature not a problem. Its user that problem.”

• kzm (Member) on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:58 pm

GWM Haval M4 (H1) is cheaper than BRV wat.. the price from RM60k+

• Dexstex on Sep 17, 2019 at 8:54 pm

brv how many ah? (i want rm not rupiah,ok?)

• Archangel on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Introduction of new SUV in Malaysia are most welcomed. However, if P2 is ‘seriously considering’ bringing compact SUV here then P2 should also ‘seriously considering’ upgrade their current model line up with more safety features.

• FIST (Member) on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

So return of the Kembara?

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:06 pm

Datuk Aminar, quickly decide & launch Perodua first SUV. Surely will be Perodua new best seller.

The Alza is due for a replacement & a SUV would be a logical choice, going by the current popularity of this segment.

The rakyat trusts Perodua, your sales numbers shows it. #1 in total vehicle sales #1 in passenger car sales, year after year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
    • pok nik on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Jimat minyak, servis murah, tak payah pening, tak payah pikir, spare part banyak, enjin reliable, RV ada, awek suka, beli je Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
  • hyundai89 on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Bring back P2 NottyCar !

• p2P2P2p2peatwopeetoo on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Just jack up the myvi and add those black SUV tire skirting thing and call it myvi active edition. You know you want to do it perodua ;) Now, onward to 2 million sales.

• Nancy Liu3.3 on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:21 pm

No manner what P2 do. Basher will shoot.

• otaliya on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:23 pm

say no to RM100k suv

• arowana on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:26 pm

it’s better they skip the petrol engine version to the all electrical SUV to catch up the current global trend… or at least a hybrid one

• Dexstex on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:00 pm

Oi,you go to petrol station found electric charging system ke?? Stupid…

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:32 pm

A new Alza please with all safety technology possible on all variants with low CO2 emissions

• But they cant even get the rear axles put in right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • what i’d like to see for next alza (based on brother’s alza):
      – rear aircon blower
      – better clutch + gearbox combo. engine seem good enough. so far is quite reliable.
      – maybe can increase ride height a bit. maybe use bigger tyres or raise the suspension a bit. alza very low when full with passenger and cargo. difficult when big speed bump or the ramps at shopping malls.
      – happens rarely but sometimes got sound from dashboard, and then sometimes not at all. dont know what.
      – some kind of stability control as an option.

*lots of people complain about VSC/stability controls, but i’ve been driving a car without both VSC and ABS, and have never once locked the wheels when driven at normal speed limits, even in the rain. how fast and reckless do you guys drive anyway? :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Powershot on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Try telling that to most perodua car drivers

• ESC is like life insurance. U dun plan to use it, but u be glad its there when u need it.

• No proton no basher on Jul 15, 2017 at 8:24 am

Manually shift gear driver dont require computer assist drive???
        hence no need traction control , anti lock braking system and electronic brake distribution ???
        This 2017 !
        Not 1980

• Dexstex on Sep 17, 2019 at 9:04 pm

If you want the alza has lower CO2 emissions,then the alza could be underpowered too heavily as it should change the engine.If you use Alza loaded 60%-75% and climb Genting Highlands (original 1.5 engine),you should shift in 3 or 2 to climb… if 1.0 or 1.3 leh… you think lah…

• Bernard on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Quickly rebadge and sell below RM50k…

• Pak Ali on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Quickly rebadge and sale below 25k. Sure everybody want one

• Please be cheap if not people would rather buy HRV instead later

• Socai (ori) on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:48 pm

U mean NOW ONLY they realized tat SUV market is HOT?? Wat kinda of CEO is tis??

• Dexstex on Sep 17, 2019 at 8:58 pm

And then,the CEO realised that 1.5 DVVT engine was too small for a SUV (minimium 1.8 ahh,i tell you ah)

• Henry Tai on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Bring in D.MOVE OR WAKE!

• Perodua Kerja dia Pengciplak on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:19 pm

Actually the headline should read..
    “Perodua seriously considering REBADGING another Daihatsu SUV”.

• Don’t consider anything first….

Just consider putting ESP in your cars as standard

• Don’t bother if it’s gonna be a weak powertrain. Kembara and Nautica were seriously underpowered fully loaded.

• sabahan on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:57 pm

Now then you SERIOUSLY consider? too slow….
    consideration should have made since the day you stop selling kembara!

• laughing on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:04 pm

hahahha…proton nak keluar suv…perodua consider keluar suv….

• Obviously the next Alza should be a 7-seater crossover ala Honda B-RV with better styling (say no to crooked window lines)

• i never really understood the purpose of these 2WD SUVs..

– if need more than 5 seats or need a lot of cargo space, can get MPV.
    – if no need more than 5 seats, can just get a car with proper handling (since most MPVs and SUVs claim to have car-like ride and handling, might as well just get a car).

the only advantage of an SUV that i can see is having 4WD for added traction (onroad/offroad).

SUVs without 4WD, like HRV or Sportage 2WD as example, which is only front wheel drive, is just basically a tall hatchback no more capable than a regular car.

have i been missing something?

• tee88 on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:51 pm

is good to have tall car like suv as malaysia road too bumby and not even , sometimes flood too

• i didn’t think of the floods.. that’s a good point.

but the SUV must be really tall lah to be advantageous. maybe as tall as a Mitsubishi Pajero Sport instead of the tiny HRV.

• I agree. If an SUV/crossover doesn’t come with 4WD or even AWD, then what is the point? Only Subaru gets this right with their vehicles where its either AWD or get a BRZ.

• Economy 101 on Jul 15, 2017 at 7:41 am

You cannot simply ask pipu what they want, they create the demand and you have to follow

• Anonymous on Jul 15, 2017 at 10:25 am

That is why there’s the crossover category… most would fit that category… much like the Nissan X-Gear, Suzuki S-Cross, Peugeot 3008 n a few others.

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:23 pm

See you on 3 years Perodua SUV

• Not planning for an SUV is planning to fail. Perodua has to somehow find a way to make this SUV work, by hook or by crook. If Proton is planning on an SUV the size of a CRV, then Perodua must plan for an SUV the size of the HRV/CX3. As I understand it, the Daihatsu-Perodua Engine Manufacturing plant in Sendayan Techvalley in Negeri Sembilan is already building the 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i four-cylinder engine that can be found in the current Toyota Vios and Avanza. It shouldn’t take too much tweaking for it to serve in a small SUV. Speaking of which, this engine (and the CVT gearbox) would not be too out of place in the ALza. Anyone know what is Perodua’s plans for Alza Replacement?

• sam12345 on Jul 15, 2017 at 9:15 am

Please bring Scion xB / Toyota bB into your model range!!!

• horrayooi on Jul 15, 2017 at 9:36 am

Specifications should include 5/6 speed conventional auto or 7 speed cvt with paddleshifters. Don’t omit the temperature gauge. All the necessary safety features, you will have a winner.

• Golfer on Jul 16, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Rebase the Toyota CHR instead please!

• Michelin on Jul 18, 2017 at 1:31 pm

Nak jugak?! Hmmm, sigh!

• Maybe not FX but FT???