GIIAS 2016: Daihatsu Cast Activa, kei-car for the active

Daihatsu_Cast_Activa-2

The Daihatsu Cast is one of the more interesting minicars sold in Japan now, along with the Suzuki Hustler. Both feature round eyes and a cute face, but while the Hustler sports a mini-4×4 look, the newer Cast comes in three flavours – Style, Activa and Sport.

The Cast Style is the “standard” version of the kei-car, while the Sport is self-explanatory. We featured the Sport during our visit to last year’s Tokyo motor show, and here’s the Activa variant, the SUV of the 660 cc 2WD/4WD range.

Originally a blue car, this Cast Activa has been given an external green paint job to emphasise the “adventure” SUV image, ditto the roof rack and off-road tyres. The Activa’s “sump guard” and SUV-inspired “body moulding” may not be functional, but the car does have a 30 mm higher ground clearance (180 mm) compared to its Cast sisters.

Daihatsu_Cast_Activa-14

Daihatsu has a habit of parading JDM minicars at Indonesian motor shows (Move Custom, Mira Cocoa, Wake were at last year’s GIIAS), and it’s easy to see why – with their miniature size and wacky styling, the kei-cars as as good as concept cars in drawing interest in these parts. I want one, too.

This year, the Cast Activa is joined at GIIAS 2016 by Tokyo 2015 concepts such as the Hinata and Tempo “food truck”, as well as the Copen Cero. The round light Cero is the latest of the tiny roadster’s “dresses”, possibly brought to Indonesia to gauge interest. The Copen is officially available in Indonesia (MT and AT) in default Robe styling.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• krs189 on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:25 am

Anything that Daihatsu came out with, sure ugly looking.

This is why Suzuki always ‘tapau’ them wherever they compete, Daihatsu only harap brand Toyota to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • camtakpro on Aug 16, 2016 at 11:40 am

Seems like Suzuki is the one tahpau-ed and begged Proton to rebadge.

• krs189 on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:29 pm

based on your stupid logic, Daihasu tahpau-d and begged Perodua to rebadge?

• Lee Kum Kee on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:57 pm

wow. this is what we get when keyboard morons try to make a conversation.

• What to do when bashers alredi wallowing in mud then issue challenge to pipu like krs to come join them.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 16, 2016 at 1:33 pm

Both Suzuki and Daihatsu are pariah companies. Better buy the Bezza or Persona, more value for your money!

• WOI! Topkek betui! I havent approve ur confirmation to join us, u jangan pandai pandai curi my komisen!
            I let u know, only me and my gud fren are authorised to offer Road to Nirvana package for Biza buyers.

Mintak maaf 1000 kali then I will consider let u transfer to my glorious P2.

• Kunta Kinte on Aug 16, 2016 at 4:37 pm

sorry I cannot join you. I am hardworking. If I join you I must sleep and be lazy. I cannot do that. Sorry John. Mintak ampun!

• So jangan pandai pandai datang sini juai Biza! Ini kawasan aku! Otherwise I will show u the Nirvana!

• Diehatsu/P2 is eye cancer. Avoid looking it at all cost

• Looks like the children ride in fun fair.

• Smart Germans Buy Skoda on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:04 pm

1000x million times better than Proton Iriz Active.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Heaven on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:15 pm

Kelisa on steroids!

• quick on Aug 16, 2016 at 12:53 pm

perodua need to rebadge this

• Das Auto on Aug 18, 2016 at 9:41 am

Kei cars basically have the same interior across all Jepunis marque. Only outer skin is different. Don’t know 660cc is still suitable for My. Jepunis drives slow. If its 1Kcc also make it look small compare to Axia. Cast and Lapin do look nice and good as “kereta pasar”.