DRIVEN: Honda BR-V 1.5L – seven seats, family first

Is the BR-V even remotely adequate for Malaysian needs? Colleague Anthony Lim asked me this via chat while I was seated in the middle row of the Honda BR-V, heading back to KL from the media drive in Penang. His tone was skeptical, and while he drives a hatchback with very little space and plenty of horsepower, I suspect there are many regular (and less focused) punters out there wondering the same.

Personally, I had some doubts to clear up too, and a drive to the Pearl of the Orient and back did the job for this writer. Launched in early January, the seven-seat BR-V has an order book that’s bulging with close to 9,000 names so far, exceeding Honda Malaysia’s expectations and creating a two-month waiting list. So many people can’t be wrong, or can they? We find out.

The “Bold Runabout Vehicle” was first seen as a mildly disguised prototype in August 2015 at the inaugural GIIAS show, and production started in early 2016, the year that also saw the SUV-styled people carrier rolled out in Indonesia, Thailand and India. The BR-V was launched in Malaysia in January this year, and ours is locally assembled at Honda’s Melaka plant.

The BR-V shares its basic platform with the Brio hatchback and Mobilio MPV. In Indonesia, the latter is Honda’s core product that battles the Toyota Avanza and Suzuki Ertiga in the Low MPV segment, the market’s largest. One can view the BR-V as an SUV-styled version of the Mobilio, offering MPV buyers a little more design spunk and outdoorsy appeal for slightly more money.

Creating such a car makes sense. If you’ve been stranded in space, SUVs are the hottest things in the car world now, and the rise in appeal cuts across all sizes and segments, from supermini-based crossovers like the Renault Captur to high-performance giants from Porsche and Range Rover.

MPVs on the other hand, have seen a big decline in popularity in the rich world, so much so that Renault has morphed its Espace – often credited as the pioneer MPV – into a crossover. Locally, the rise of the SUV has reduced the once vibrant C-segment sedan into a largely forgotten one, till the latest Civic came along.

Take the space and functionality of a budget three-row MPV, give it SUV looks, and you’re likely to arrive at a winner then. Of course, this isn’t a new idea – and in our region, Toyota was first to it with the Avanza-based Rush – but the BR-V arrives at a time when the SUV iron is glowing red. The brand itself is on a purple patch, too, which makes the timing doubly good.

The BR-V slots under the HR-V and CR-V in Honda’s lineup. However, the cheapest and least sophisticated “SUV” in the family is the only seven-seater, and its rivals in the local arena are traditional three-row MPVs. The Toyota Avanza and Nissan Grand Livina are stalwarts here, and national brands are represented by the Perodua Alza and recently launched Proton Ertiga. The Toyota Sienta, introduced in August last year, tops the budget MPV segment at close to RM100k.

The BR-V is plenty of car for the money (RM85,800 to RM92,800). At 4,456 mm long and 1,735 mm wide, it’s 162 mm longer than the HR-V, but 37 mm narrower. The BR-V’s 2,662 mm wheelbase is 52 mm longer than the HR-V’s, and its roof is also 61 mm higher. A high ground clearance is useful for urban warfare, and the BR-V’s highest in class 201 mm is 31 mm more than the CR-V’s.

Under the clamshell bonnet is the familiar 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine that puts out 120 PS and 145 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. This SOHC engine is the one used in the Jazz and City, and like the B-segment duo, the BR-V uses the firm’s Earth Dreams CVT automatic to channel drive to the front wheels. Barring a few exceptions (1.6L Livina, 1.4L Ertiga), the 1.5L engine size is the heartland of the segment.

Honda’s efforts to beef up the BR-V for SUV duty is rather comprehensive. The entire body is underlined by black plastic cladding, including on the wheelarches, and our V spec tester adds on silver trim on the front and rear bumpers to mimic skid plates. The latter is black on the E, with a toothed design. Functional roof rails (30 kg limit) add to the adventure image.

While the Mobilio in latest facelift form follows the template set by Honda’s sedans, the BR-V gets a unique fascia that reminds this writer of the third-generation CR-V and its double grille. The look is more streamlined here though, and the grille is dominated by a large chrome piece, as with other current Hondas.

With LED daytime running lights (which are unique to Malaysian BR-Vs) that merge with the lower chrome piece, black headlamp projectors (halogen) and “whiskers” sprouting from the fog lamp surrounds (fog lamps only on the V), it’s a bold face that’s appropriate for a faux SUV. The optional Modulo kit seen here visually extends the silver bits on the front and rear, and adds metallic trim to the sides, which I feel dilutes the original butch effect, although it’s not as disruptive as on some of Honda’s car models.

The most controversial part of the design is the stepped window line that the BR-V shares with the Mobilio; made more obvious by a character line that points to the switchover, and the positioning of the door handles. The lines that flow back are all in different angles, and the side profile appears incongruous and too busy to these eyes. The 16-inch two-tone alloys and 195/60 tyres fill out the arches nicely, though.

If Honda’s mission was to set the BR-V apart as an SUV in a class of MPVs, I think they’ve succeeded, bearing in mind size and platform limitations – this is a budget seven-seater after all. This writer finds the Sienta’s quirky JDM design endearing, but it stands no chance against the universal appeal of SUV looks.

Inside, the BR-V’s basic dash layout and three-dial instrument panel is similar to that seen in the City and Jazz, but the execution differs. A side-by-side check reveals sharper lines and angles; couple that with the return of the Civic FD’s steering wheel and you get a sportier cockpit than the two passenger cars, which is a pleasant surprise. The leather combination seats in the V spec feature a “belt” design in the centre, Civic FC-style.

It’s easy to get comfortable in the driver’s seat, although the lack of telescopic steering adjustment hints at the model’s budget origins. Save for a thick A-pillar base that makes it hard to “look into corners” in twisty sections – compounded by our tester’s optional door visors – visibility is good. The seating position is car-like, but appreciably higher than in the City/Jazz.

The instrument panel and touchscreen head unit can occasionally suffer from too much reflection during the day, and the HU looks less slick than the one in the top pre-facelift City and Jazz (smaller screen and wider bezel), but we’re nitpicking. The BR-V’s driving quarters is appealing in both design and simplicity.

On the move, the BR-V feels a lot like a City. That might not sound like saying much, but in the context of the budget three-row MPV segment, it’s decently quiet and sophisticated. BR-V large project leader (chief engineer in Honda speak) Atsushi Arisaka revealed that Malaysian-spec cars benefit from additional NVH-improving measures, and an accelerator pedal dampener is one of them.

The usual CVT rules apply. Sink your right foot gradually and you’ll be rewarded by smooth progress, stab at the pedal and it gets rather trashy. We attempted the latter, and the resulting rate at which the speedometer needle climbs is surprisingly fast, although the “pained” howl from the engine means that this should remain an occasional experiment. The BR-V does have decent acceleration in the bag when needed.

Getting up to the highway limit and keeping it there is easy, but we can confirm that the final 20% of the speedo isn’t merely for decoration – the BR-V can be coaxed to cruise at such high speeds.

However, a CVT car is tightly strung at such high revs and the gas pedal gets very sensitive as a result – the slightest prod gets you a boom, and such on-off noises aren’t the most pleasant. High speed stability is relatively good and the BR-V isn’t unduly affected by crosswinds. In any case, this is a family wagon that should be driven sensibly at all times.

Another common question these kind of cars face is “is it underpowered?” We’re not sure how the BR-V would fare with a rugby sevens team, but we had three adults per car and I’d expect the Honda to cope well with a family of five or six, including children. By the way, our V spec tester weighs 1,240 kg, which is between the Alza/Ertiga (1,160/1,185) and the 1,350 kg Sienta with two powered sliding doors. It’s 128 kg heavier than a fully-loaded City.

The BR-V surprised most in the area of dynamics. The Federal Route 1 stretch between Slim River and Bidor is the fastest section of the old trunk road from KL to Ipoh. Relatively new and with two lanes in each direction, it’s a mix of sweeping corners and mild slopes, but the road surface is patchy at the sides and lumpy throughout.

Here, our tall seven-seater exhibited good body control and a stable primary ride that wasn’t too soft or bouncy, which can be the case with cars of its kind. Bump absorption is good, too. We had a chance to try sudden lane change manoeuvres in a controlled environment, and the BR-V acquitted itself very well in the “moose test”, without the intervention of VSA, which is standard across the board.

There’s reasonable feedback from the steering, which is also not too slow. One definitely has to “turn more” in an Avanza/Rush, and there’s significantly more feel here than in the Grand Livina. The most contemporary of its rivals, the Sienta, is the only one not to be outclassed by the BR-V in performance and dynamics – there’s good response from Toyota’s 1.5L CVT combo, the steering is meatier and ride is good, but Honda provides the all-important commanding driving position.

The BR-V is a good drive vis-à-vis rivals, but let’s not forget that its main mission is to move families and cargo. The 60:40 split folding second row bench has slide and recline adjustment, and there are one-motion tumble and fold levers on both sides.

Even with the second row fully pushed back, there’s sufficient knee room for third row occupants, as demonstrated by my paultan.org/BM colleague Hazril Hafiz, who is on the tall side at 180 cm. In the images above, the front seat is set in the happy camper’s driving position, and the middle row is pushed all the way back. Headroom is generous in all sections.

I sampled the middle row on the return leg to KL and appreciated the roof-mounted blower with fan speed adjustment, and room under the front seats for feet to tuck into. This writer particularly liked the BR-V’s low window sill and large windows, things that are getting out of fashion as manufacturers pursue the boxed-in “cockpit” feel. Big windows also benefit children in a family wagon, and we’re happy to report that second- and third-row occupants get a good view out.

The portholes for the third row are fairly large for this type of car, minimising the claustrophobic feel typical in the last two seats. This would not be possible if not for the stepped window line, so there’s a method to the design madness after all.

With the third row seats in place, cargo volume is 223 litres. That translates to two units of cabin size luggage plus a backpack, as stuffed in by us. Seats number six and seven split fold 50:50 – doing so and tumbling them forward expands the boot to 539 litres. However, folding both second and third rows will not yield a flat cargo area – the Sienta, with its “dive in” third row seats, leads the way here.

The BR-V is roomy and practical, five-star ASEAN NCAP rated, drives well for what it is, and is packaged in a trendy SUV body. Is it good enough for the demanding Malaysian carbuyer? Yes. If you’re looking for a budget seven-seater and can stretch to over RM90k, the Sienta and BR-V are good bets; but the latter’s size advantage, SUV looks and lower price tag will clinch it for most. Those who need more sophistication from their SUVs are already served by the HR-V and CR-V, so this is Honda muscling into new territory. What a first shot the BR-V is.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Undilah!!
    Thumbs up BRV. Thumbs down Sienta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 114
    • Albert on Mar 10, 2017 at 10:07 pm

Honda is the only car that disappoints…in 1 aspect.
      2months WAITING for BRV.
      UMW…Toyota….plenty of rebates and plenty of ready stocks…some from2016!!
      2017…the year for BLOCKBUSTER BRV sales.
      Congrats,Honda Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 24
      • wkwkwkwkw on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:04 am

BR-V anggap kereta mewah di Indonesia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • Kunta Brothers on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:19 am

This car wiped out Ertiga. Although cost a bit more than Ertiga, buyers rather spend that bit more for peace of mind, good resale value and class.

With the BRV, when you go for kenduri or wedding, you can park right infront of the gate of the house.

With Ertiga, when you go for wedding or kenduri, you got to park far far away from the wedding house and walk. Shy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 61
          • Kunta Brothers on Mar 11, 2017 at 2:08 pm

While the car looks good, I think it should have been offered with at least a 1.8 litre engine. I still think that the VW Tiguan would be a better choice. For a vehicle of this size you need good amounts of torque which can only be produced from a turbocharged car. But of course the Tiguan costs much more than this. Anyway, good job Honda. Hope your bigger brother CRV will be offered with turbo one day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
          • Kelab talkok kunta on Mar 11, 2017 at 3:08 pm

2 months waiting list is consider long these days

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
          • Rahim Razali on Mar 12, 2017 at 5:09 pm

This car is way overpriced. Malaysians are still waiting for the 30% car price reduction promise made to us 4 years ago. Basic promise also don’t know how to keep, how want to keep bigger promise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
        • liganiq on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:53 am

this car should won the 2017 world car of the year award… or at least nominated. why there is no honda nominated for 2017 world car of the year? why there are 2 stupid toyota nominated but not even 1 honda? dammnnn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
          • Hot hatch on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:56 am

2017 Euro car of the year is Peugeot 3008, BRV can only be third world country car of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • Korean Fan on Dec 28, 2017 at 12:49 pm

You should just come out of your tempurung. In other parts of the world, this car is literally unheard because they have better choices at cheaper price. You take some cheap B segment car and blow it up as MPV and you expect the world to make it the best car of the year? Come on la.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:56 am

Agree…for 3rd world country…befitting its image as a low cost car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
        • Yeast Lump on Mar 11, 2017 at 11:11 am

Bcoz it wasn’t used as a taxi.

• Proton is used as taxi. Ur point?

• BRV 85k but Ertiga 185k on Mar 11, 2017 at 2:37 pm

Many people don’t know, Ertiga cost more in the long run cause you must include hospital bills also.

The car got no VSC. So, high chance of accident. According to Malaysian Gomen, having VSC can prevent 45% of deaths or accidents in a given year.

So, there is close to 50:50 chance accident will happen in Ertiga. You must include hospital bills in the final cost.

Ertiga RM185k vs BRV RM85k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
        • Anything Greedy Honda on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:52 pm

RM95k only with 2 airbags? SOHC? Rear drum brakes?

The true rival for the Toyota Sienta is the B-segment Honda Freed, and NOT the BRV!

This car is based on a Honda Brio hatchback and Brio Amaze sedan, which is an A segment low cost car that competes with Proton Saga, Perodua Axia and Bezza, Hyundai i10, Kia Picanto.

And now we are being fooled thinking it is a B segment MPV. It is not based on the Jazz, City platform. It should be less than RM70k!

Greedy Honda Malaysia wants a fast profit. At this rate, I rather have the Toyota Sienta, as it is a proper B segment car.

Don’t get blinded with the Honda badge. This is the old Honda Mobilio, facelifted with 1.5 and a new fancy posh name, BRV.

If you are not in the rush to but a new car, wait for 2018 for new Alza. By then, all new cars will be required to have VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 15
          • Same as Alza, based on Myvi/Passo. Which is also a A segment in other Country.

And Fyi, Brio is based from Jazz’s platform.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Facto on Mar 11, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Semua kereta luar negara dianggap kereta mewah di Malaysia kerana Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
          • plotek on Mar 12, 2017 at 1:40 pm

You cannot get much cheaper in Thai and that’s without p1 plotektion

• karam singh on Mar 11, 2017 at 2:10 am

LOL later discount alot yeah
        here some power figure (lower better power to weight)
        Alza 11kg/hp 8.45kg/Nm
        Sienta 12.61kg/hp 9.64kg/Nm
        Avanza 11kg/hp 8.5kg/Nm
        Livina (1.6) 12kg/hp 8.2kg/Nm
        BRV 10.3kg/hp 8.55kg/Nm (1st)
        Ertiga 13kg/hp 9.1kg/Nm

the Sienta & Ertiga score lowest , the most underpower MPV based on the power:weight

The best small MPV people carrier full pack = BRV

Best safety (BRV vs Sienta) 5star NCAP
        about the same, Sienta got 1 more airbag for driver’s knee.
        Technical spec safety –
        BRV lower,wider,longer better than Sienta
        Sienta 100kg heavier & higher prone more to lose control as higher centre of gravity & inertia.
        Expect BRV better braking despite drum brake in the rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
        • clearly you missed this and i like to quote from the article

“The most contemporary of its rivals, the Sienta, is the only one not to be outclassed by the BR-V in performance and dynamics – there’s good response from Toyota’s 1.5L CVT combo, the steering is meatier and ride is good, but Honda provides the all-important commanding driving position”

Toyota maybe heavier but its performance is rated better.

same goes to dynamics.

Sienta can get a fully flat floor, BRV cant.

Sienta can park in tight space with rear sliding doors, BRV cant.

the only point where BRV wins is the higher seating position. that means it has a higher point of gravity (proven with higher ground clearance)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
        • Sienta comes with seven-speed sequential manual mode. Although heavier, this provides better experience when climbing hill.

• liganiq on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:54 am

this car should won the 2017 world car of the year award… or at least nominated. why there is no honda nominated for 2017 world car of the year? why there are 2 stupid toyota nominated but not even 1 honda? dammnnn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • oscar on Mar 11, 2017 at 11:05 pm

If Proton is on par with BMW & Volvo, how can it not be nominated? We should bribe the judges or give them RM1.5B so that Proton is nominated as world car of the year and make Malaysia proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
        • Korean Fan on Mar 12, 2017 at 4:52 am

Because you are katak bawah tempurung who don’t know that in the other part of the world, this is just one cheap car that no one buy.

• booo BRV on Mar 12, 2017 at 12:17 pm

Because BRV is not available everywhere in the world!!!! It’s for poorfags like you in 3rd world country SEA region only.

• brv-hodoh on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:11 am

sehodoh-hodoh brv, hodoh lagi sienta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 32
      • Mirage on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:33 am

Look into the mirror lah

Org macam kau patut cukurlah ada BRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
        • brv-hodoh on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:49 am

brv hodoh, not my taste.

mesti org macam kau hari-hari bercukur ada sienta hodoh kat rumah. nak jual balik pun nobody wants because so super duper ugly, even look at it want to puke.

haha toyoboys butthurt~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Mar 11, 2017 at 9:54 am

Honda…cars for the masses…

• Nonsense on Mar 12, 2017 at 10:04 am

I’m sorry. This looks like a poor man’s family mover car. U get u what u pay. But some people are so defensive about it despite its poor specs etc. It’s not hard to understand. Takkan u condemn ur own choice kan. I hope they will have no regrets in future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Johon on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Bro, different people has different taste la. Sienta is no way a rival to BRV. Different class, only same price segment (sliding door mpv vs crossover?). People buy BRV because of its superb handling and sporty look. People who buy sienta because of its comfort and ‘luxury’ look. Both are practical. So no win no loose. By the way i’m a BRV owner yet i don’t criticize people who opt for sienta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • WT Fuchhh on Mar 10, 2017 at 9:08 pm

Death bell for Avanza,Siente and Innova, all in one shot. Only wish for the BRV is to come with arm rest for the front row.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • Armrest is an easy aftermarket add-on. I would prefer more airbags, at least on the top spec since this is a family car after all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Stranger on Mar 13, 2017 at 8:52 am

So you’re saying Sienta and Innova better since they have armrest?

• An Odyssey is better? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 17
    • Mikey on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Of course an Odyssey is better. It also cost more beside its more comfortable, better quality materials used, much more spacious & cost more to maintain.

The BRV is marketed as an affordable B-segment 7-seaters as alternatives to Alza, Avenza, ER-3 & Sienta. U already know that Right !? Why compare a Durian with Rambutan ??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • What i mean is better in carrying 7 people, if that’s your main purpose. Both serve the same function, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • May I ask why no mention about the fuel consumption under realistic driving condition. Manufacturers can claim anything but it is you guys who provide us such real-life information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Danny Tan (Member) on Mar 10, 2017 at 11:18 pm

There’s no time and room for a real world FC test in a media test drive event. For that, we’ll have to spend an extended period with the car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • family … first, with 2 airbags….

• The Avanza sold like hot cakes even though it was only equipped with a 1.3. Granted it was much cheaper but then again that car is proof on wheels that Malaysians want and need a car that’s cheap to tax, cheap to run, reliable and can haul 6 people comfortably. The BR-V does seem a little steep when it comes to pricing but for an entry into owning a japanese car that can seat 6/7 that costs less than a 100K is something that’s really hard to ignore. No surprises that we’ll see the BR-V all over Malaysian roads – granted not to the likes of MyVi’s and Hiluxes but similar to the number of Honda City’s we see on the road here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • You guys need to get new writers. Everytime I read a Driven article, the actual portion dedicated to how the car drives is limited to 1 small paragraph which doesn’t say much and the rest are all fillers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • intermilan on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:21 am

This is without doubt, not a SUV. An MPV that try very hard to disguise itself as a SUV. A fake SUV.

But buyers are clearly more than willing to fools themselves on this one. 9000 of them and counting.

The latest SUV trend that started in Europe is actually a trend for compact SUV ala Renault Captur, not so for big SUV as this sort of SUV has been around and been trending much earlier. But since every manufacturers are rushing to offer SUV is almost all sizes /segments, the trend is expanding and beginning to degrade demands for MPV, sedan and even hatchback.

Closer to home, it seems like this latest compact SUV trend is been ‘hijacked’ by third world countries to fit into their mobility requirements (which is people carrier).

Therefore, the BR-V arrives at a opportune time for Honda in Malaysia. They are on their biggest roll in Malaysia. And now they have an affordable people carrier disguising as a SUV to boot.

Seems like a lot of people who were once Toyota buyers, are now switching camps to Honda.

This is inevitable given how uncool anything Toyota nowadays. For now, Honda is the new Toyota.

No matter the ugly truth, this will sell well, but the following must be said…. the front end does look like SUV, side profile begin to reveal the truth and the rear end is simply awful.

There are other cheaper alternatives (e.g. Ertiga) but right now.. SUV > ALL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
    • Rentasuv on Mar 11, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Suv means sport utility vehicle, it doesnt matter if its small or can fit a large number of people, u can fit a bicycle inside or on top of it..u can put a surfer board on top, a bmx, roadbike, and thr ground clearence iis good anyone will call it suv, big or small , expensive or not, if you can bring your sport stuff with it and looks like a offroad capable.

• wyanne alexandar radiant on Mar 15, 2017 at 9:39 pm

Suv origanate fr 4by4 vehicle wt full body.then came crossover wt 4wd capability that sit on stationwagon body made popular by volvo & subaru alike but does’t have the chasis strengh as suv or pickup truck.nowdays defination of suv is wrong cause wtout 4×4 wheel drive n d strengh chasis of a pickup truck ones can’t call it suv nor mpv.maybe suv or mpv non grata…mostly wise.

• ex-VGM staff on Mar 11, 2017 at 3:07 pm

if it is an MPV, and attempt to be an SUV – this is when it becomes a crossover. something in between the 2 models. first created by Volvo XC70 Crosscountry in the early millenium.

• Ertiga on Mar 11, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Why Proton have more affordable cars people don’t buy? All are fools

Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • Hadif on Nov 05, 2018 at 10:44 pm

Was thinking the same thing. Maybe it’s because the BRV has more features than Proton?

• Prabanathan Loo on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:48 am

Although i not really favour Honda (but honestly we have a City – previous one gen with VSA in household and their after sales service is quite okay – in Sg Long branch based from our experience although waiting time for service is longer esp. on weekends since many new carbuyers go for Honda already as opposed with Toyotaik), there is reason why their car was selling well in Malaysia, even beating Toyotaik by huge margin. Because they (Honda) can provide what carbuyers want and ability to give more features for same selling price (with recent City facelift, now comes with side airbags and reinstatement of paddle shift for mid-spec E grade although what i want for next gen is inclusion of proper temp. gauge, like Civic FC). With the first reason, the effect is it put a huge dent into Toyotaik sales until they got no choice but to put stability control in Vios and 7 airbags in Altis and Camry 2.0.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Protaik on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:41 pm

Ertiga don’t even have VSC. Proton don’t even care of your family

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • ron97 on Mar 12, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Exora have, more powerful, more space only FC a bit more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • Aikon on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:42 pm

It is not Proton… It is the donor company that does not allow the fitment of ESC. And you don’t even care to read.

• Ollie on Mar 11, 2017 at 12:30 pm

I have a electric shaver more interesting than this car. You have to have very very very little interest and respect in modern engineering to go near this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Paultan Fan on Mar 11, 2017 at 1:51 pm

Can you guys make a video version in youtube. It will more interesting to watch as we have a movie to go alonng with it. I know you guys have the capacity as you have make one reviewed video on iriz.

• brian on Mar 11, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Yeah, so far only Innova comes with 7 airbags. The numbers of airbags will probably be the next competing feature among MPVs in Malaysia. Buyers should not continue to accept only 2 airbags for 6/7 peoples mover!

• KenJi on Mar 11, 2017 at 4:48 pm

I think by now p1 should know what to do with their boxy exora. Msian prefer suv and at the same time they want mpv… up to p1 to think about this seriously

• Henry on Mar 11, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Not to mention the poor sales Suprima. Just jack up the suspension and these two cars become a SUV/Crossover.

• tok adi on Mar 12, 2017 at 11:11 am

the current exora bold is more than enough…only users are now in trauma caused by lot of part defects and problem during the usage…instead it is one of the most practical and versatile mover produced by proton

• beatsy on Mar 12, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Recall done in SC: just 2 defects : oil cooler hose, radiator hose connector. That’s all.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Mar 14, 2017 at 8:58 am

I have to agree with you about this, tok adi (from Tanah Kubur ke?lol). It’s a very comfortable MPV. My brother owns one. I only realised how comfortable it is after I’ve driven, sat at the front pasenger seat or at the second row of my office’ Exora Bold week in an week out in the past two months for out road tours. Power is impressive, and IMHO, the FC is acceptable for a large MPV. Some defects (radiator area) are evident when I visited my brother, he hand to tinker with it twice (called a mechanic once). If Proton could improvise this model (improve QC, add more bells and whistles..audio display with Android Auto/ Apple Carplay capabilities..etc..6 airbags..more frugal engine)…it will be a value for money purchase even if the price is gonna be increased by RM1k-2k.

• ilham on Mar 11, 2017 at 10:15 pm

A lot of people here moan about wanting 6-7 airbags, but how many of them actually tell their kids to wear their seatbelt or use a carseat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
  • Buruk kereta BRV ni. Drive pun rasa berat. Drive BRV feel like riding a slow motion obes buffalo. Drive Civic feel like riding thunder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Sir Zaini on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:41 pm

It’s a family car. Do you seriously consider driving like thunder when all the people in the vehicle are your loved ones. It’s spacious enough, safe enough and affordable enough and can get the whole gang moving from A to B.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • when it comes to cabin space, honda is the best, we all know civic is spacious than bmw 3 series

• city spacious too on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:51 am

yah..dont you know city very spacious too, some say like camry.

• Bernard on Mar 12, 2017 at 3:05 pm

What a piece of crap…and at 90k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • Honda Fan on Mar 13, 2017 at 8:22 am

Peoples are buying this as it is the most affordable SUV with good interior space and a 7 seaters. So the practicality part is good. That’s about the good things of this car. All other areas can be ignored as it is not powerful, bad NVH, less comfort etc.

• Mohammad Hafiz Abdul Rahim on Mar 13, 2017 at 8:41 am

fuel consumption camparison?

• Susukotak on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:14 pm

unofficial fc test.. loaded with 1 young family to holiday trip same as Honda City (no cvt)

• personacity on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:09 pm

Boooo my new persona kicks city axia into drain
        much more frugal

• @personacity ooh that’s nice! so proton has improved the engine after all these years.

I currently own a 2015 Honda City and a 2009 Persona. Calculated using the tachometer/full tank method, even now the City consistently gets approx 16 km/liter while while the Persona got 12 km/liter even when it was brand new.

Both cars are now at 160,000+ km so that roughly translates to an extra RM6000 paid to the Persona for fuel. I’ve also had to repair the IAFM twice for RM200+ every 3 years. The Persona also comes with bigger wheels which makes handling superb but costs a lot more to replace every 1 or 2 years.

• Stranger on Mar 13, 2017 at 9:15 am

https://paultan.org/2017/03/10/driven-honda-br-v-1-5l-seven-seats-family-first/honda-br-v-malaysia-drive-4/
    Look at his leg, can’t even bend right. Still with fake smile. Sit like squatting. Bet even teenagers can’t fit, far from comfortable.

• On the third row, so far Sienta did the best job.

• thepolygonal on Mar 13, 2017 at 2:41 pm

It’s a 5+2. Yes, Sienta got better space for third row for the sub Rm100k price. If you use the third row regularly, you need to ask yourself if this is the right car?

• farghmee on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:17 am

can the 3rd seat be taken out?

• Dun think so, when it’s folded you cannot get flat floor, this is part when MPV wins

• Leonardo on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:29 am

I test drove the BRV, Jazz, City yesterday at section 15 showroom, Shah Alam.
    Summary;
    1. BRV pick up is ‘leisurely/slow/sedated’ compared to Jazz and City, even though they all have the SAME engines.
    2. The claimed 201mm ground clearance looks lower than actual. (I have a Perodua Nautica/Daihatsu Terios for comparison).
    3. No overdrive button for quick overtaking or uphill climb.
    4. Only one power socket at the front. Come on Honda. this is a Family car and everyone now got a phone or tablet. (Honda City got 3 power sockets)
    5. Only 2 airbags. Same like Saga and Axia.
    6. Noticeable body roll at corners.
    7. Fair amount of space for 7 people. 3rd row is recommended for children or ‘small adults’ – 1.65m or less.
    8. Spare tyre is stored underneath the rear floor. Could be a hassle to take out and put in.
    9. Baggage space is extremely limited when all 3 rows are used. Honda should offer original Roof Box as an option.
    10. Good distribution of air cond to all 3 rows.
    11. Reverse camera should be standard to both variants because you can see small children at the back of the vehicle if you reverse out of your house or parking lot. MUST HAVE.
    12. Not enough storage spaces for ‘ miscellaneous things’ for a family car.
    13. 3rd row seats does not fold flat, thus poor luggage space optimization.
    14. Waiting list is now 2-3 months.

• Ollie on Mar 15, 2017 at 4:34 pm

good. now we know its crap. same engine but much heavier car, so thats pretty obvious. How can a car this size run a 1.5?? Cray cray

• The review did mention that the car performed satisfactorily at highway speeds. At 36 years old, I rarely go above 110 km/h on PLUS highway when I’m alone and never if my precious wife & kids are in the car.

I always keep in mind that you might be the most careful and skilled driver in the world (which I’m not) but there’s nothing you can do if an idiot driver makes a mistake and hits your car.

• Xploded on Nov 08, 2017 at 3:07 pm

So what does the careful driver have to do with a 1.5 engine? ==

• passion on Mar 13, 2017 at 12:28 pm

sat inside and closed the door. the whole car shook! nuff said.

• nosushi on Mar 13, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Jepunis cars dun have quality nowadays, even p1 is much much solid and better

• Zleon on Mar 13, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Many things to like such as roof rail, Honda interior and exterior, 16″ wheel, affordable pricing, high ground clearance and large room space would appeal to any die-hard Honda fan. But its “uncle” interior especially the rear, poor exterior design cohesion, excessive amount of glass windows to panel ratio resembling aged Hyundai Matrix and third world car (sold in Indonesia, India and Thailand) are some negatives.

• P Zero on Mar 15, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Stupid P1 fanboys still think their cars are BMW and pandang rendah to BRV. Now, P1 is being sold out to foreigners. Where is your ‘National Pride’ and ada muka tak you all?

• youngun on Mar 15, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Just wondering whether the side mirror is retractable?

• Hemawathy on May 17, 2019 at 10:20 pm

I’m interested buy Honda BR-V..

• Disappointed buying BRV. Car noisy when driving. Was told by Honda company that this is the characteristic of BRV which is unacceptable. From writeup it mentioned decently quiet which is NOT. Don’t be mislead.