Honda BR-V bookings now at the 8,500-unit mark

Car buyers are certainly welcoming the all-new Honda BR-V with open arms, as Honda Malaysia (HMSB) has revealed that the number of bookings for the seven-seat model now stand at 8,500 units as of March 2, 2017.

This piece of news, revealed during the launch of the 2017 Honda City facelift, shows an increase of 1,500 units from the 7,000 units booked as of February 16. Previously, in January, HMSB revealed that 4,000 bookings for the BR-V were made just three weeks after it was launched.

The BR-V is offered in two variants here – E and V – with the latter priced at RM85,800, while the latter is RM92,800 (both prices OTR with insurance). A 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine (120 PS/145 Nm) is employed on both variants, with drive being directed to the front wheels via an Earth Dreams CVT.

With the higher booking numbers, HMSB expects to complete all deliveries by April, and sincerely apologises to customers for the longer waiting period. Read our review of the BR-V, here.

You can get the best offers on the Honda BR-V on CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Faiz Roslan on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Meanwhile, the cheaper and bigger Exora sold just 120 units Jan and Feb 2017 combined

• xshiro on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:13 pm

exora too outdated already bro. not so exciting. proton need to facelift exora, then it will sell better.

• Kunta Brothers on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:25 pm

OMG, Exora only sold that much??? I bet that also, ordered by Gomen hospitals and Klinik Kesihatans. That is their official car.

But DRB don’t care. This is the problem with DRB owning BOTH Proton and Honda. They are making big bucks from Honda, so, they let Proton sink.

They are not motivated to boost Proton and make the Proton staff work harder cause profits from Honda sales compensate.

• oh bapak lu jawa on Mar 02, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Sejak Perang dunia 2, Jepunis jugak yang bagus.

• Silthice on Mar 03, 2017 at 8:02 am

People is waiting for the all new 8-seaters 1.5TGDi Exora.

• basherlogic on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Meanwhile basher still compare MPV and SUV, between old and new car, oh wai

• Albert on Mar 02, 2017 at 6:23 pm

UMW is busy giving discounts like P1.Honda Malaysia ,no time to even go to washroom.Busy collecting bookings for City and BRV.
      Their service centres,u must make reservations.No walk in,like UMW..can drive in without reservations.
      High time for Toyota Japan to ditch UMW.THey just dont know how to sell cars besides giving rebates.
      Well done,Honda..the dreams r becoming REALITY.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Toyota shld hv had just replaced the Avanza with Sienta and priced it at the Avanza’s pricing. Then they would already have a winner like the BRV or HRV . UMW must be envious rite now.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:35 pm

Honda is on a steamroll lately. I reckon the sudden increase on the bookings for the SUV-like Honda BR-V MPV is a big shock to Honda’s competitors. It makes the Toyota Avanza looks obsolete overnight.

• Proton must be puzzled why other people car sell like hell, and their car people avoid like hell.

• Still top 5, avoid what?

• Top in uk or us?

• limaoune on Mar 06, 2017 at 11:04 am

Don’t forget that in either US or Uk, honda is also not in the top 5. u can check the list by yourself…

• You can call it top 10 still if you want, or no 1 still in taman klebang…

• Since when p1 sold in US?
          I wonder is your brain working or not

• Why not sell in us? Coz no one want proton there. Iriz should be global. If only sell in taman klebang, how to call it global. You brain working or not?

• Lol now who asked first about US? You or me? You got brain or not? If not sold there why asked about sales number?

Really stupid 10000x

• MOHAMAD AZRUL BIN AHMAD on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Inb4 DRB has substantial equity in both…..

• KenJi on Mar 02, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Good product people will buy. Bad product, like P1, people will say goodbye.

• 145Nm to pull 7 seater, say goodbye!

• alldisc on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:21 am

But but but… how come BRV has higher horsepower and torque than its B-segment competitors???

BRV: 120hp/145nm
        Ertiga: 91hp/130nm
        Sienta: 106hp/140nm
        Avanza: 104hp/136nm
        Alza: 102hp/136nm
        Grand Livina: 104hp/150nm

Man just like you said… i can’t imagine so many other 7 seaters with lower hp and torque than BRV being sold.

• Nosushi on Mar 03, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Hypocricy, when p1 launched exora without turbo everybody bashed like crazy. Why not now?

Oh wait this is jepunis overlord car so cannot persoaled.

• alldisc on Mar 03, 2017 at 5:36 pm

First Exora different segment and second its 240kg heavier than BRV.
            In terms of power to weight ratio the non turbo Exora will fare worse than others while the turbo version also barely cuts it

• Nosushi on Mar 04, 2017 at 4:32 am

Heavy or not this means those extra 2 seats are just for showing off only

• camtakpro on Mar 02, 2017 at 3:00 pm

So Sienta lose out to BRV in booking.

• Jonn Dol on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Toyota Sienta’s design is too quirky to most people, funky can be fugly. That’s not the case with the Honda BR-V.

• debonte on Mar 02, 2017 at 3:20 pm

This vehicle is beautiful for sure. But my mind can’t get away from keep thinking this BRV design is like an outdated version of CRV.

• Ciaksai on Mar 02, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Typo in 3rd paragraph

• Ckd d s660….
    I need one… accord is just too wide sometimes

• Darth Bezza on Mar 02, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Signs of prosperity. It surprises that Malaysians are willing to spend so much for a car.

• Megane on Mar 02, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Yuhu , Raya this year naik Honda ! Honda what ? BRV – Balik Raya Vehicle ! My relatives would be all jealous !

• Kenari on Mar 03, 2017 at 9:55 am

Kita naik highest spec Toyota CHR-Come Home Raya. Jangan jeles tau

• Kena tarik kereta lepas raya, kerana tak mampu bayar installment.

• Dunno what so special about honda or toyota. Can’t even cruise the highway good, lol

• there he is on Mar 02, 2017 at 10:02 pm

60% loan reject.
    this car caters to low class earners with low credit score.

• Lim San San on Mar 02, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Good

• LKTee on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:33 am

I had made booking payment since 12-Jan and still waiting for delivery with no news. Suddenly, now they are stating that “HMSB expects to complete all deliveries by April” so what is the expected delivery time for all? Waited from before CNY till Thaipusam and now to be after Qing Ming, what a joke. Book only if you want a lifetime to wait for empty dream. If you buy now yes, maybe you can drive that for Raya or perhaps Christmas?

• TallPan on Apr 09, 2017 at 7:06 am

Sure? Most who booked in Jan got their orders in 2-4 weeks. I got my V spec in under 4 weeks, having booked in February. Are you a salesman for competitor?

• LKTee on Apr 10, 2017 at 11:17 am

No, I am not a salesman for competitor, I am just a normal customer who are not very happy. Finally got it on 17 March and that is NOT 2-4 weeks as claimed, it was 2 MONTHS long wait. Are you a Honda salesman?

• Ben Yap on Mar 03, 2017 at 10:40 am

Honda is always in the lead because of capable engineers, management, sales personnel and design team.

• lao yee on Mar 03, 2017 at 4:48 pm

That also could summarized of public study on Malaysian taste. Bad one. That probably the ugliest car ever produced by Honda

• Pak Tono on Mar 05, 2017 at 7:38 am

you are right..in Indonesia this car look like bus on the street..here they add a bit of accessories here and there..look macho abit… but for Malaysian as long as it is Honda this will be the good car..all bcoz of resale value mah!!!