Honda BR-V notches up 4,000 bookings in 3 weeks, surpasses initial monthly sales target of 800 units

Honda Malaysia’s (HMSB) first introduction of the year – the BR-V – appears to be a hit with car buyers, with the company announcing that it has notched up over 4,000 bookings for the seven-seat SUV, nearly three weeks since it was first launched here.

The figure surpasses the company’s initial month sales target of 800 units, and is equivalent to the total sales target for five months, according to HMSB. Of the two available variants – E and V – the latter is the most popular, accounting for 83% of bookings.

HMSB also notes that the BR-V attracted urban and sub-urban customers from all over Malaysia, including first time customers who have never owned a Honda vehicle before. This is primarily due to the car’s features and price tag, which starts at RM85,800 (OTR with insurance) for the E variant.

Regardless of variant, all BR-Vs in Malaysia are equipped with a 1.5 litre SOHC i-VTEC petrol engine (120 PS/145 Nm), mated to an Earth Dreams CVT. The seven-seater also features second- and third-row seats that can be configured for various functions, be it cargo- or people-carrying duties. You can find out a lot more about the BR-V in our review of it, here.

Despite the encouraging numbers, the company assured buyers that the expected delivery period for the BR-V remains at one to two months, as it has the ability to adjust its production schedule based on demand at its manufacturing plant, which currently works on two production lines.

Katsuto Hayashi, managing director and CEO of Honda Malaysia also took the time to show his appreciation for the good news, and as a goodwill gesture, embarked on a special project to personalise his very own hand-drawn BR-V card (pictured above) to be delivered to all Honda customers in conjunction with their birthdays.

You can get the best offers on the Honda BR-V on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Honda BR-V 1.5L V

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• positive man on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:01 pm

thumbs up for honda malaysia, good job for u guys, stay positive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
    • Ismet on Jan 24, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Toyota still No.1 so no poblem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 47
      • mkamet on Jan 25, 2017 at 9:56 am

toyota no need to be no.1 in malaysia laa… toyota is no.1 in the world already. bagi chance to honda to be no.1 in malaysia la pls… even in japan also honda cannot be no.1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:18 pm

At this price range it will definitely steal sale from city and hrv…but on the road it kinda looks so small…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Albert on Jan 24, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Mr.Kuru of UMW became more kurus.
      Insomnia…cos Honda is ripping Toyota sales apart.
      People r fed up of premium pricing without value for money.
      Go take a look at Honda showrooms.U have to park far and walk to see this BRV.It is a hot cake.
      Toyota salesmen now looking at their smartphones,for auto news while buyers migrated to Honda.

• Mikey on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Well done Honda/BRV. Now U can stop selling this car for 5 months since U have already hit your 5 months target. Let P1 catch up la.
    It is only fair for H to give handicap just like playing Golf ma. Can or Not ?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • P1?! Honda and P1 working like bros to take down ur toyota. They not competing each other, but against ur brand.

• Mikey on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:14 am

john, if I’m being honest here, I don’t give a F who sold how many units bcos I don’t get any benefits from this posting.

P1/P2/H/T are all cronies/related to our Gov either directly or indirectly. So how did U came 2 the conclusion that Toyo is mine ??!! Please use your god given brain if U have one.

• Beat the sales of Avanza to pulp… by focusing on what people wants instead of looking at profit, Honda is able to surpass Toyota’s sales in Malaysia and claim top spot for best non-national car seller!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Silthice on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Honda already surpassed the Toyota’s sales figure even Toyota’s figure includes hilux and Hiace. Honda might even beat Toyota in commercial vehicle sales figure if Honda brings in the Ridgeline which won the title the best pick up ⬆ truck in US last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Awesome! Looks like thers still a market for a 6 seat family mover, How’s the Eetiga doing?

• Jagan on Jan 24, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Toyota Rush > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 37
  • Silthice on Jan 24, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Bring the new Mobilio in by the end of this year with price around 70-80k and Honda can 100% certain to hold their position in second place for total car sold in 2016.

• Mobilio on Jan 24, 2017 at 7:36 pm

The 1st gen JDM Honda Mobilio is much better than the current Mobilio. IMHO.

Ex-JDM Mobilio user.

• What an ugly car. Saw a few on the road. Just my opinion tho. Dislikes welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
    • It look expensive but cheap indeed. If sell at 110k, it is damn ugly. 85k ,so nice and elegant.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jan 24, 2017 at 6:37 pm

It actually looks OK. But the interior finish was just to cheap for my liking. Still, it IS a Honda so that’s a big plus. Kudos.

• Henry on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:12 pm

It is a cheap car sold at a high price. So, what do you expect, leather bound interior?

• Y U Fuk on Jan 24, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Good to see that the BR -V bookings are healthy. But is it canabalising at the expense of the HR -V bookings ? First, let’s get the categories in order:
    The BR -V is NOT an SUV, it should be classed as an MPV. Secondly, although a good people carrier, it is not of the same elk (in terms of quality, ergonomics & feel) as the HR-V or CR-V which are SUV’s. The BR-V should really serve well with UBER or GRAB, it’s positioned well for that market. I wonder if the WR-V will come to town ?!

• Which class the car belongs to is not determined solely by the He Say, it is the consumer to decide. This is the clever part of honda, product is arbitary, those who look for suv or mpv also place a booking on this brv. I like to call it suv,so what, I am the one place the order. Honda laughing: call whatever you like, place your booking.

• Lobangman on Jan 24, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Ya, thats why they call it crossover. Mpv kahwin with suv. Honda saw the potential.

• Amran on Jan 24, 2017 at 9:35 pm

But proton says, there is no market for suv in malaysia

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:30 pm

YUF tak paham apa tu crossover. His mind can’t think outside the artificial rigid boxes his mind has built.

• Y U Fuk on Jan 24, 2017 at 9:34 pm

Please get the facts right about classifying vehicles. It’s not about how you want to see things to suit yourself. By doing this, car companies are muddying the waters and you are fooling yourself. The BR-V is not even a cross over, it an MPV like it or not. It’s like saying the Datsun 120Y was in the same category of a Datsun 200. Tongue in cheek !

• Lobangman on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Yes, global car companies are muddying the waters… happily. Its a sign of the times

• Medic on Jan 25, 2017 at 9:19 am

Doesnt matter what they call it, as long as it sells. The idea is to give as many product as possible n let customer make the choice. Choose either one, honda still making money at the end.

• timothytim on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Toyota, Nissan and Mazda should just move to different ASEAN countries in the near future especially from Malaysia’s HONDA dominated market and ehem Pukidua shitboxes from Deathatsu.
    Honda is the Malaysian driver’s benchmark for vehicles on the road while in Japan its only and forever just an ordinary vehicle people drive all over the country until it breaks down or gets recalled. Its that simple.
    Conclusion, Malaysians are too blind AF to buy Hondas in general and not trying out its rivals like the rest of the world such as USA, UK, Australia, New Zealand, Japan and China.
    Pity the Korean brand Hyundai and KIA which are constantly being laughed at only here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 13
    • JaniceJay on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:29 pm

Dont worry bro, as a female driver who owns a Mazda 2 and CX-3 currently with my younger brother, Hondas are purely outdated and Hideous looking cars overall.
      For Example,The FK2 type R is among the slowest and weakest hot hatches compared to its rivals from around the globe.
      Hondas are shitboxes like some of the comments here.
      They are terrible AF in Super GT( Garbage NSX) and F1 too compared to other Japanese and European rivals.
      Hondas are truly ‘Jaguh Kampung’ cars only in Malaysia the same as Pukidua.
      Stupid AFs.

• Jeremy LIM on Jan 26, 2017 at 1:59 am

Performance Output for NSX is also poor 573 bhp (427 kW; 581 PS). The 2015 NSX accelerates from 0 to 100 km/h (62 mph) in 2.9 seconds, and has a top speed of 307 km/h (191 mph). Useless compared to the 2017 Ford GT with 647HP and 216 MPH top speed.
        Mind as well just drive the NSX into a wall or sell the car and donate the money to charity better.
        Hondas are seriously OUTDATED and OVERRATED cars!
        Feel like idiots to own a Honda especially in Malaysia.

• JamesChan on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Interesting statements, bro. I agree with you entirely.
      I respect you sir for standing up against Honda Biased Malaysian Drivers. Too many Honda City and the Ugly, Outdated HR-Vs on our roads. I sincerely hate them both.

Irritating cars to see everywhere on Malaysian highways and parking lots. They are too biased towards Hondas as if Nissans, Mazdas, Subarus, Mitsubishis, Hyundais dont exist. Blind AF as you stated. LOL:)

• HondaAhBeng on Jan 24, 2017 at 10:17 pm

When it comes to cars, just stick the Big A** H badge on any car in Malaysia, it will always sell no matter what.
    Hell bros, even old and outdated K20A halfcut engines also have waiting list at kedai Ah Beng at Sunway!
    Old scraps with H logos on them still have value.
    This shows how typical Malaysian people are overly obsessed with Honda branded cars only. Blind AF fools.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 11
    • Based on that comparison, then “old & outdated” 4A-GEs, 2JZ-GTEs, RB26s, etc shud long have been a block of metal now, right?

• Abang Honda Pro on Jan 25, 2017 at 2:11 pm

All of the old engines are long dead and gone already bro.
        Now must look forward towards the future of VTEC Turbo engines, no more dead and outdated sissy and weak VTEC screams from the past.

• Honda4Eva on Jan 25, 2017 at 9:23 am

Because HONDA is very reliable la bro.. my city 2009 with mileage almost 200k km still strong and interior feels new. Come on la bro..

• Abang Honda Pro on Jan 25, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Reliable or not nobody cares, Once your car is old, its OLD and ultimately its completely outdated now bro.
        Sell it off before it breaks down.
        Dont have to think of Honda only like the other Malaysians. Switch to other brands like Nissan Mazda or even Mitsubishi and Subaru.
        Their vehicles are wayy better than Honda. Go and try them out to judge. No offence ya. Dont be angry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • looks good to me.. but why honda so stingy..
    Maybe have to wait for face lift to get a full spec BRV

• azrai on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:40 am

This is the result when you bring poor man’s CRV into the mass market. They can now afford a’ SUV’ Honda. is till think it will cannibalized some of City’s and Jazz sales for sure.

• Lobangman on Jan 25, 2017 at 1:46 pm

I think honda is not worried about cannibalizing its other products hence the launch. Based on above report, they gain from those 1st time customers new to honda, who may have gone to the other competitors

• Car Master on Jan 25, 2017 at 8:56 am

Malaysians favourite question before buying any vehicle is ‘Got high resale value ah?’ and Honda has correctly named their models ie. CRV (Competitive Resale Value), HRV (High Resale Value) & BRV (Best Resale Value).

And P1 has the best of the best acronym among all ie. NRV ………………!

• ShitbirdCarMaster on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:22 pm

In reality, Hideous Rubbish Vehicle=HRV
      Carry Rubbish Vehicle=CRV
      Both are Pukima shitbox SUVS compared to Subaru XV, Mazda CX-3, CX-5 and Nissan X-Trail.

• youngun on Jan 25, 2017 at 9:15 am

Tested the car:
    – Generally OK, power also OK.
    – found that the interior doesn’t have the “luxury feel”.
    – Dashboard not so excited, front/second roll no armrest.
    – the body width (1735mm) and the rim diameter (16″) also make it look kind of “small” when compare to the real SUV.

Otherwise this is a perfect budget SUV/MPV crossover to me.

• thepolygonal on Jan 25, 2017 at 9:33 am

Congratz to Honda for taking the risk and bringing in something which was a failure for certain err.. Rush… How come people buy this rather than Rush? It’s basically the same category… why? Go figure it out Toyota. Rush was never marketed correctly.

• Ben Yap on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:34 am

it sells well because it is a honda.

• Susukotak on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:48 pm

no.. its the package

• Jeremy LIM on Jan 26, 2017 at 2:04 am

Old, extremely outdated 2009 SOHC engine under the hood but ‘Its a Honda MA’, the best choice by Malaysians. PUI!
        Only in Malaysia, Bodoh AFs.
        In Japan, “Its only a Honda, nobody gives a S*** about it, so what?”, according to the normal Japanese car enthusiasts.LOL

• azhar on Jan 25, 2017 at 10:48 am

is sienta that bad??…i tot sienta looks quality..auto sliding door is a big plus..JDM model some more!

• Diesel Power!! on Jan 25, 2017 at 11:46 am

Sienta not bad, but pricing problem. If sienta selling price same as brv, surely it will gain more sales. Consumer only think which product give them the best offer per price, whether suv, mpv, c/b/a segment…wont give it a d*mn! H is very good in meeting wat the ppl want!

• sabahan on Jan 25, 2017 at 2:04 pm

after sales service gonna become like Toyota very soon.

U can’t wait then u go other place la

• Early adopters didn't learn form HRV on Jan 25, 2017 at 5:45 pm

Didn’t they learn from early HRV buyers about reliability? First a few batches are rushed n less tested n prone to reliability issues. Wait for solutions for oe common issues are available, worth the wait.
    Still no good alternative or competitors for this model.

• Bernard on Jan 25, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Earth Dreams CVT? Ha ha ha ha ha ha

• xem6861 on Jan 26, 2017 at 12:02 am

Dun like its high dashboard compare with HRV

• passion on Jan 26, 2017 at 10:52 am

i see so many subaru xv on the road these days. wow. looks like SUV and Mpv is the way to go at the moment.

• Honda Fan on Feb 12, 2017 at 10:43 pm

High specs version cost RM92k++, this is the same price as Grand Livina 1.8l after discount. Having driven both the cars, I really can’t find any reason that BR-V is better over the NGL. Power, smoothness, comfort, NVH all goes to NGL. I can maybe say fuel consumption and overall space favor the BR-V.