GALLERY: 2015 Toyota Rush facelift in close detail

2015_Toyota_Rush_facelift_ 001

As the 2015 Toyota Rush facelift garnered surprisingly broad interest among our readers (both positive and negative) since its local introduction last Friday, we had our resident photographer Sherman Sim rush over to a showroom to get live pictures of the updated SUV. So here it is in detail, the latest Toyota Rush.

Seen here in top-spec 1.5S form, the 2015 Rush gets a redesigned front bumper, radiator grille and bonnet. The bumper features a two-tone finish and the grille gets dressed with faux carbon-fibre. The headlights (with LED positioning lamps here on the 1.5S) also feature a chrome strip running through the front grille.

The rear end remains largely the same, with minor rework coming in the form of a restyled rear lamp featuring combination LEDs and a smoked lens. The Rush also gets new 16-inch polished alloy wheels, and the tyre size has been widened to 235/60 from 215/65.

Meanwhile, the interior is dressed in a dark grey colour scheme, with red stitching on the seat covers. This 1.5S adds on a leather-wrapped steering wheel and gear knob. Rear air-con vents with blower controls come standard, as are dual SRS airbags, ABS brakes and two pairs of ISOFIX points in the second row.

As before, the interior features three-rows of seats in a 2-3-2 configuration. The second row has a 50:50 split-fold with sliding and reclining capabilities, while the third row has a 50:50 split-fold. We’ve made sure to have detailed photos of all the configurations below.

The mechanicals stay as before, so the 1.5 litre VVT-i petrol four-pot remains, making 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm at 4,400 rpm. The 2015 model also makes the switch to electrically-assisted power steering (EPS), in place of the outgoing model’s hydraulic system.

This range-topping 1.5S auto will set you back RM103,300 (on-the-road with insurance), while the 1.5G manual and auto are priced at RM98,000 and RM100,300 respectively. Five colour choices are available: Grey Metallic (new, shown here), Champagne Metallic, White, Black Metallic and Silver Mica Metallic.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• HRV win in every aspects except 7seater and rear aircond vent

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 2
    • superboy on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:06 pm

Me agree.
      i find aaby reason alter this rather then HRV. only remain reason probably is robustness

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • George Abdul on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:21 pm

No matter how it look, the car still ride like a Avanza.

What’s the purpose to own a car that only look like a 4WD but truly still a low budget Avanza vehicle. And cost 100k???

UMW truly a scum company…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 1
        • karam singh on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:42 am

And…. that guy said this car good for its robustness,
          if its reliable,maybe… can be the reason
          Robustness? nope..
          Honda HRV better in term of safety,
          which one comes first ?
          safety or reliability ?

• jemah on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:52 pm

i rather buy hyundai elantra,kia cerato, honda hrv, mazda 3, preve/suprima+axia,chevy cruze or haval m4+saga instead this shit

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 3
        • Captain Obvious on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:38 pm

Good thing is that… you can buy this car from your local museum.

• karam singh on Apr 28, 2015 at 3:44 am

well this car can get an award …
          top 10 worst car ever produced
          hahaha

• LOLOL on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:52 am

OMG….. 100K for this piece of bull poo… why does UMW even bother when everyone knows that this will suck at selling. Its like selling friend chicken and just frying it with no salt, spices and flavor. Just plain chicken …fried. This cannot be even considered plain vanilla.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
  • dr.terror on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:53 am

#prayfortoyota

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • car-fans on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:56 am

Hmmm… Should be in Muzium liao … Still trying to push old tech engine (15 Years Old – 4 Speeds) … Better get HR-V with such price or Ford EcoSpot Trend etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Same Lorr on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:58 am

Buy toyota better! Good RV! Avoid Proton, Kia & Hyundai! Bad RV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 81
    • superboy on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:08 pm

Did your mom know u doing this all the time?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
      • Useless on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:41 pm

I’ll bet that he is being educated by his dad since he was born, and I would bet that his dad is a toyota salesman. He will never get bored, as he deserves the attention.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Sot liao? on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:32 pm

It’s funny Rv guy says this because I see the oto advertising just above the comment section. New rush 2015 92k, 2013 rush is 59k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo Sux on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:23 am

59k is asking price only. Trade in price is much lower at around 48k

• Sam Loo Sux on Apr 29, 2015 at 1:25 am

59k is asking price only. Trade in price is much lower at around 48k. Only toyoT salesman bullshit you about RV

• VHL Lorr on May 01, 2015 at 4:51 pm

RM48k trade-in for Rush, that used car dealer must be don’t know how to run business, this jamban junk Toyota Rush for me, worth only RM4k for 2013 and RM8,484 only (to be exact) for 2014 model (being a scrap metal plus spare parts price since it’s a junk car anyway)

• eichang on Apr 27, 2015 at 11:59 am

hodoh gile dashboard………..mcm cheap china car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Your Father on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:00 pm

Who the efff still uses 4 speed auto these days, no selection of mode on Aircond, and this 10 year old platform. Congrats UMW, we’ll see how Sam Lor sells this and what commission he gets!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • VHL Lorr on May 01, 2015 at 5:01 pm

somemore, best in class 4-speed auto. RPM reading at 110 km/h are higher than 3-speed auto Proton Wira (nearly 4k rpm for Rush vs 3.6k rpm for Wira 1.5 MPI in top gear).

For those Wira 1.5 automatic owners, don’t feel despair so much, although it’s an old Proton (not the best car), your car were still better than this jamban junk Toyota Rush, but need to control your throttle properly so that FC can be cut down to moderate level (definitely far more better than Rush).

• toyocrazy on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:06 pm

i am speechless. ToyoTakAdaOtak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • roxas on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:16 pm

uncle will still buy, bcoz HRV too flashy. scare ppl scratch it.

• sepul on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:23 pm

I still think the Perodua Nautica version looked much better.

Rush-ed product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Roger Tan on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:31 pm

Unfortunately the market has moved on – the Rush struggled since launch to find relevance in our market due to pricing

• Wokkk on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:36 pm

Dafakkk..interior like myvi,1.5L still cost 100k? HRV wins hands down! #onlycrazyunclewillbuy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • launcher on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:37 pm

1.5cc fc ? emmmmmp

• Golf_Shop_Travel on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:37 pm

Honda, apa lagi go and build a seven seater version of your HR-V.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Ouch, eyesore!

• azhar on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:39 pm

the HU is not even a touchscreen!..haha

• Doctor on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:50 pm

Just stop for a while and imagine….. Toyota is selling a 100K car without foot or windscreen aircond. the most stupid basic aircond nob I have seen. seriously guys, viva has 4 choices in its ventilation.
    Better let my kids sit on the HRV boot than this stupid 7 seater without ESP, TC or 6 airbags nevertheless the engine pickup is horrible. 1.5cc on a 7 seater hahahahahah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • alldisc on Apr 27, 2015 at 12:50 pm

this background seems all too familiar.

Toyota Subang Jaya rooftop parking?

• Bernard on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:23 pm

Wasn’t this discontinued?

The only good thing is that there is a manual option.

However, at 100k………ridiculous!!

It should be sold below 60k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:34 pm

Yes, your opinion come true in other countries like Indon, where Rush 1.5G sold for around RM 57500 and 1.5 TRD (instead of 1.5S) around RM 62750. Those cars also have internet connection as standard and VSC option.

• my kembara still look better than this even though it’s already 11 years old

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:27 pm

Even worse than Indon specs.
    Indon people themselves said this car is a piece of junk, then UMW cut down the features again. So it worse than junk? :(
    FYI, Indon spec has better features – touch screen HU with internet connection as standard, and VSC optional. They also got TRD Sportivo body kit.

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 1:36 pm

There always people gonna buy this thing no matter how shitty it is. That’s what good being entrusted in reliability and durability brand* in the very beginning.

• Has anyone test drive HRV? Do you all can tolerate the noise form tyre and engine?

• Nathan Ferdinand on Apr 27, 2015 at 7:31 pm

I have a HRV; for me those noises are the common problem of Honda cars these days. My solution is to change the tires and rims to aftermarket RFT tires and switch to other aftermarket rims that have low noise.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:06 pm

100 grand for a 10 year old rebadged Daihatsu.

……

Why would someone get this over the new HRV (or any of the other car based compact MPVs)? Its not like the rear seats on the Rush are usable……

• Still no ESC, Traction Control and 6 air-bags as option with an outdated design, engine and a 4-speed auto? Seriously, UMW are you living in the stone age?

• tokmoh. on Apr 27, 2015 at 2:36 pm

lel, last time Nautica sold RM90k, tak laku, even Rush was cheaper.

Now Rush RM98k, topkek. Sapa beli ni bijak macam Maslan. CGPA 3.85, tapi…

• ck_devil on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:15 pm

1995 year design to sell in year 2015? Heritage day?

• applegreen on Apr 27, 2015 at 3:23 pm

toyota should rotate upside down the number nine from the selling price. rm98k to rm68k.

• seancorr (Member) on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Wow, for that kind of price its no wonder UMW quietly launch this model in Bolehland…total opposite for when the HRV was launched haha.

• No ESP for this price. Hmmmm.

Anyway, buyer’s beware, langar confirm mati.
    mati tak pe, putus kaki and tangan, lepas tu kena buang kerja lepas tu mengemis mintak bantuan kerajaan pasal tak boleh lagi kerja.

Get a 5star safety car …

• Snobs on Apr 27, 2015 at 4:52 pm

The positive interests for the Rush are from Sam Loo, Same Lorr and various other incarnations. What’s that term Sam Loo loves to refer to Proton owners again? Oh yeah, syok sendiri. Only Sam Loo is syok sendiri thinking this car is good.

• aBetter TYT on Apr 27, 2015 at 8:44 pm

Toyota did produce a lot of good quality car but unfortunately not in Bolehland.
    For 100k,I will go for recond wish.. even x spec still much better than this..

• aBetter TYT, you mean, the Japs forgot to bring their brain to M’sia in year 2015?

Come on la. We know its UMW that is gready and don’t care about their customer’s safety.

ANyway i can’t stop laughing when you can say the X camry aka moving coffin is better.

Buy Korean la. They don’t cheat on safety at least.

• Firdaus on Apr 28, 2015 at 10:16 am

THIS IS A JOKE!

• Sam Telorr sound better. Even for telur safety came first if not it can break and life time total loss and suffering.

• Toyota is celebrating april fool for the whole month of april.

• herol on May 05, 2015 at 8:45 am

i almost buy this pile of junk…i heard from my previous toyota agent that rush will come out with a new car n i thought it will be better than the previous rush…when the car appeared in the toyota website…i immediately called my agent and canceled the booking coz the car is not worth my money…the price for the S model is above 100k but nothing worth 100k about the car…no touch screen like hrv…no 6 airbags like hrv and exora…just outside make up…better spend my money on other car than rush…toyota wake up la…and look around you guys…there’re no more car worth above 100k still using 2 din as an entertainment centre…even you can get a touch screen on axia that worth less then 100k…

• Parveen Rana on Sep 10, 2015 at 11:35 pm

Comander seat & outomatic variant be lounch