2015 Toyota Rush facelift introduced in Malaysia

2015 toyota rush 1

UMW Toyota has quietly introduced the 2015 Toyota Rush facelift in Malaysia, just over a month after the updated B-segment SUV was introduced in Indonesia.

Three variants of Toyota’s small seven-seater SUV are available – the 1.5G in either five-speed manual or four-speed auto or a range-topping 1.5S which only comes in automatic. No changes to the mechanicals, so the 1.5 litre VVT-i petrol four-pot stays on as before, making 109 PS at 6,000 rpm and 141 Nm at 4,400 rpm. The 2015 model also makes the switch to electrically-assisted power steering (EPS).

Cosmetic changes include a redesigned front bumper, radiator grille and bonnet. The bumper features a two-tone effect finish and the grill gets dressed with faux carbon-fibre. Elsewhere, there’s a new integrated chrome lining highlight running across the headlamp and radiator grille.

Click to enlarge spec sheet

The rear end remains the same, with minor rework coming in the form of a restyled rear lamp featuring combination LEDs and a smoked lens. The Rush also gets new 16-inch polished alloy wheels, and the tyre size has been widened to 235/60 from 215/65.

The interior meanwhile is dressed in a dark grey colour scheme, with red stitching to be found on the seat covers. Standard features on all variants include a two-DIN CD player with MP3, USB and Bluetooth support paired with a six-speaker audio system and rear air-con vents and blower controls. Standard safety features include dual SRS airbags, ABS brakes and two pairs of ISOFIX points in the second row.

The 1.5S adds on minor upgrades over the 1.5G – LED positioning lamps in the standard-fit projector headlamps, fog lamps, chrome covers for the wing mirrors, and a leather steering wheel and gear knob.

The grey interior features three-rows of seats in a 2-3-2 configuration. The second row has a 50:50 split fold with sliding and reclining, while the third row has a 50:50 split fold. There’s a new steering wheel design from the current Avanza, a redesigned instrument cluster, new seat upholstery, and reshaped second-row headrests.

The Toyota Rush 1.5G manual is priced at RM98,000 OTR with insurance, while the 1.5G auto goes for RM100,300 OTR with insurance. The range-topping 1.5S auto will set you back RM103,300. Five exterior colour choices are available, one of which is new to the range – Grey Metallic. The other shades are Champagne Metallic, White, Black Metallic and Silver Mica Metallic.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• triplew on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:20 am

Just wondering who would buy this over hrv

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 3
    • OMG…wat a big suprise from UMW…really junk car with shit price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 1
      • Salambangi on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:11 pm

Dear Toyota Japan

It’s about time that you take over the local Toyota distributorship in Malaysia just like Honda. The archaic people helming the the local company are really out of touch with reality , local ambiance, technology and public relations . They are probably dinosaurs in a suit pretending to be modern and up to date and aptly resting on their laurels. You are truly losing your customers and I’m not surprised that Toyota brand will go extinct sooner than later.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:58 pm

Some may complain of its lack of VSC and 2 airbags. It is alright. You can go for our Altis or HRV or Mazda 3 or CX 5.

As I said, you won’t go wrong with sushi cars.

Why sushi cars so expensive? Thanks to your beloved government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 39
        • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Apr 24, 2015 at 5:36 pm

My 3 possible reaction regarding this toyota junk model:
          1. Hahahahahahahahah..
          2.JOKE…
          3.April fool is next year, UMW..

Ps: people who buy this car will see people driving HRV laughing when they stop side by side.

• All Toyota vehicles of the same model sold in Asean countries are having the same spec with minor differences in accessories.

It is not UMW’s fault. Perhaps there should be a major reshuffle of high level management of Toyota Asean HQ to address the problem.

• Sam L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:23 am

This is the mini-RAV4 okay? Just a much cheaper version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 85
      • Name me 1 similarity this car has with the 2015 RAV 4, and no the toyota badge doesn’t count.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
        • karam singh on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:04 am

No ESP/VSA … as expected,
          HRV way better
          This kind of SUV gonna need ESP/VSA more than the sedan/hatchback..
          1.5l with 109hp very2 underpower..
          considering the weight same as the HRV
          doing some math, well both cars FC about the same.6-7l/100km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
          • alldisc on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:59 am

i wonder why the FC is similar when HRV is using CVT while Rush is using dinosaur-ancient 4 speed gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
          • VHL Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:56 pm

Due to sit in heavy platform with puny 1.5L engine, even with 4-speed auto the RPM reading when travelling on highway for Rush is similar or can be higher than a 3-speed auto Wira 1.5 fuel injection.

• beanc on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:43 pm

HRV – 1.8l vs Rush 1.5l

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:02 pm

You think HRV is fuel saving? Think again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • OMG…Loo Loo will buy this…Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • I dun want to buy shit

• heybadigol (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:19 am

Well the HRV is FWD, whereas this Toyota is RWD, same as BMW (i’m being sarcastic here). Sadly, thats the only thing abt the Rush that is interesting.

• karam singh on Apr 25, 2015 at 5:19 am

underpowered engine 109hp with old 4speeder
        wont get u anywhere
        RWD means higher maintenance.
        BMW never succeed in SUV class FYI ..

I think I wanna try visit Toyota Showroom for this car, really2 wanna know what the salesman gonna said about this car & compared to the HRV

• JB_KIA on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:48 am

I will. But after 30k discount…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • Free also dun want bullshit toyota

• Jilbaber (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Stupid decision meh if give free you dun want…just use 1 year then sell back to sam loo and you still gain money…high RV meh..

• Nkhong on Apr 25, 2015 at 10:44 am

I will not consider at all if 30k. Probably i will consider if 40k disc.

• alldisc on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:50 am

this car was designed for Indonesia. and only Indonesia. it is a weird combination of Avanza platform & drivetrain and Terios extended body to seat 7. it is simple, ultra reliable, economical (in its own way) and made-to-suit indonesia by its passenger capacity and increased ground clearance.

Toyota has a big market as reported by this website (about 50% out of 600k units new car sold) in Indonesia so this model counts.
      The only reason UMW market this car is simple.
      1. It is made in ASEAN so it enjoys saving from import tax.
      2. having this car in UMW’s model line up will add appeal to prospect customers. Just like what Honda did with Freed. Honda knows it wont sell, but it gives appeal to would be buyers.

Rush is very popular in Indonesia, so much so that it is stolen from Malaysia just to be brought back to Indonesia and sold in black market there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Colin Wong on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:18 am

The only problem is, Malaysia is NOT Indonesia. For crying out loud, if you sell a million in Nigeria means nothing to us. Our vehicle preference is midway between Indonesia and developed countries.

10 year old design facelifted 2 times is a no, no.

Toyota will see failure in Malaysia if they continue to insult us with such offerings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • Balls on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:28 pm

Its just toyota’s deperation trying to get into the compact SUV market. cos they have seen how successful HRV is. So they cincai bring in a model to take advantage of Same Lorr or Sam Loo and make a sucker of all the die hard fans of Toyotatatatatatatataaaaaaa

• carlies on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:00 pm

This model really need to be completely facelifted.

However, this is quite a unique model in the market as B-segment SUV with 7 seaters where HRV fits 5. For those need a higher platform / chasis and also need to fits more people / kids, they can have it for that reason, why not?

I respect people’s choice. As a consumer, the more choices the better. Bombarding here as a keyboard warrior won’t change anything.

• got facelift like no facelift… waste money and time … give something better lah.. if you don’t change then wait to be changed…

• Same L0rrrr on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:26 am

Good RV, you will never be wrong getting this car. Best in its category. Come look for me. I give you additonal RM150 for your kimchis trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 81
    • magpie on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:23 am

tq, u make me hate toyota even more. i wont touch this car by a mile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • hantu on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:17 am

Tutup kedailah

• jemah on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:19 am

you know what? Haval M4 it better than this shit…Rush design look like kampung design look so cheap, unsafe etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • abg misai on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:45 am

“Best in its category”… hahaha! I will pretend u r being sarcastic. Tell me which B-segment SUV still using 4 speed auto gearbox :D

• slk3879 on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:45 pm

Peugeot 2008, and priced around 120k. I think that’s why I can hardly see one on the road!!

• LOLOL on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:18 am

Ahahahahahahaha……….scraping the bottom of the barrel…. the more you talk about this car the more silly you sound and the faster you make Toyota owners shy away from the brand.

• Same Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:35 am

Aim higher.. buy toyota better.. good RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 53
    • Your high is just other ppls rock ASS bottom.
      102HP & fabric seats….monkey standard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • moveon on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:21 am

Your comment is repeated and boring. Be more constructive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Kenny Goh on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:59 pm

Don’t be fooled by dishonest Toyota salesman, Sam Lorrr is a conman in this forum. Good RV for this car? Stop deceiving yourself and others! It’s fine to be dumb sometimes but for goodness sake, don’t aways say something that’s not true. Apart from RV, Toyota salesman has nothing to tell their customers….so sad. Anyways, as a poor Toyota salesman, it’s fine you are so concerned about the RV of the car you are buying. My advice to you Sam, if you can’t afford to buy a car, work harder and don’t talk cock. I never care much about RV of the car, i m more concerned about safety and comforbility of the car.

• I wonder why Toyota chose to facelift this unpopular model. Time for a complete new compact SUV, not just facelift.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • driver on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:41 am

overpriced as always

no upgrade in safety spec?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Josh Ling on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:53 am

….and yet another round of price increase! wow, now the 1.5G Auto and S variants have been priced at over 100k already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • ProtonGSC on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:03 am

Add another Stupidity on UMW marketing and management decision.

Rush cost rm100k? Omg making fool of themself… If RAV4 cost that price still consider expensive and UMW Rush are totally ridiculous !!!

Honda Hrv are the truly winner in this segment !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:16 pm

Honda sales in this country already lead Toyota by a mile today and the gap is still widening.

• Balls on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:09 am

Aiyo…. Interior looks so dated and the specs is so bare. Like an after thought. And at that price point…. HRV beats it hand down and eyes closed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Dont know which fellow will buy this over HRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • LOLOL on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:21 am

Same Lor and JoeJambu are great fans! Ahahahaha… they will buy all the stocks and make it the No selling car in Malaysia. And when they resell it out they will make millions from the great RV. Watch out guys! Potential Millionaires in the making. Ahahahahahaa

• xkisah on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:16 am

out ok,intrior ugly cheap..not fair with its price

• Kenny on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:18 am

OMG. tall vios milo tin with no VSC and 2 airbags? Why eh? our life not important?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • milking rakyat money on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:19 am

I thought only small company like p1 has long car life cycle. But Toyota??????????

• theanswer on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:19 am

to be honest, asean toyota. if u read more, internationally toyota did offer some good models with advance engine. but not for us in asean country.
      we get cheap toyota with low safety spec bcause most of asean think that models like vios, avanza, rush or innova is a luxury car.

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:22 pm

Yes, divide and conquer strategy, many Malaysians do not realise they bought more inferior Toyota cars as compared to U.S. or Europe here and also have to pay much more for it.

• alibaba on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:22 am

i m a fan of manual ,

but 1.5 rather get an hrv with 1.8 140hp with cvt ……

• kim jong un on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:23 am

Who could ever justify 103k for this ugly ass car? Especially when its pit against the hrv.. hell even the asx (115k) is in a better proposition that this shit.. go home toyota! you’re drunk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • azrai on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:26 am

How about Perodua’s Nautica debadged version?

• bukapintubayartol on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:28 am

I think this car is a bit expensive, considering the HRV (midspec) is just 5k more

• UMW toyota are you sleeping? Luckily u launched it secretly. Why would u still launch a stone-age car with 4AT, 2 reverse sensor, 2 airbag and manual a/c?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Nice design but half of that price i will buy naval m4 chinese automaker who rebadge the same car. But naval is smaller.

• Arrif on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:21 am

I think its call M4 by Great Wall Motor.. Its use the same engine as vios

• THANES on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:47 am

total waste as 100k car dat too mpv only have basic safety equipment and small engine outdated car for 2015

• normal_user on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:48 am

People already ‘rushed’ to buy HRV. So the Rush its quite irrelevant now, especially with the old ladder frame chassis, subpar interior plastics, VSC-less safety, and truck like ride & handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • Albert on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:48 am

At 100K, it is too expensive for a 1.5 litre vehicle.
    Look at Honda HRV, isnt this a better looking and more powerful choice?
    UMW,dont bring in facelifts and up the pricing.Consumers are very smart now.Might as well get pre owned cars with 2 litre engines,costing around 80-100K.Or wait 4-5 months for HRV, if you want new cars or used 2012 Accord,Camry or Teana or Kimci Sonata 2009 NF models(2 units at less than 100 k )
    What is the point of an average looking and underperforming(underpowered)SUV and paying thro your nose for 100k?
    If you take a 7 year loan of 90k,each month you have to fork out rm 1300.With this stupid GST(gastronomical stupid tax) on daily necessities,consumers better think twice than fall into trap of this PNB hungry distributor,who place profits above morals.Shambolic UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • VHL Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:52 pm

A Perodua Nautica which is fully imported from Japan cost a shade below RM90k even with higher import duties (30% import duties together with another 65% excise duty). This one, from Indonesia (no import duties applied although 65% excise duty still applied) already costs over RM100k. Don’t know how much their profit margin, but i bet this junkie ‘Rush’ have easily 2 – 3 times more profit margin than Perodua Nautica.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:49 am

what a joke…but hey…u can get a manual with it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • OMG…Who will buy this? With that price, choose HRV better lah….This junk going to RUSH back holland…hahahha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Balls on Apr 24, 2015 at 2:35 pm

Think there are overstocks in Indonesia. So junk it to UMW to sell. Lol

• batman on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:55 am

This model is like 20 years old already, haiyaa

• AndMay on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:56 am

$100k car without ESP. Ridiculous.

• Mongolian on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:58 am

Seriously?? Facelifted to the past?

• Peter on Apr 24, 2015 at 8:58 am

good? this or HRV? =)

• Toyotabodoh on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:06 am

Whoever buy this must have no brains. This is such a ripped off

• Jong1 on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:11 am

If only HRV is a 7-seater SUV…..

• tokmoh. on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:36 am

UMW bodo macam Maslan.

Baik aku beli Jimny, RM81k manual, itu baru 4WD. Ini Rush tahi.

• azhar on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:49 am

1.5 for 100k or 1.8 HRV for 100k?..no brainer

• drove my uncle’s car once( G spec), high fuel consumption and underpower, and bumpy ride as well. but the aircond is nice

• Merzlover on Apr 24, 2015 at 9:52 am

Bigger version of Axia…rear lamp is using axia lamp?

• domainicus on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:02 am

Again just remember it is Avanza chassis masquerading as HRV clone.

• With recently launched HRV and upcoming CX 3, I cant see how this junk gonna sell.

• Worse than flogging a dead horse. Like, flogging a fossilized triceratops or something.

• Steady on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:25 am

UMW Perodua still No.1

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:28 pm

Perodua is not 100% owned by UMW. Agreed that P2 is No. 1 in small ultra cheap cars.

• ahlee bin ahtan on Apr 24, 2015 at 10:50 am

UMW Untung Manyak Wang maaa dinosaurs with 2 airbags stilll

• Dr Dogter Heart-beat on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:32 am

this car handles better than hrv & cx3, targeted those who need a mini suv and a passion to drive hard. Moving forward >>>>>

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • applegreen on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:59 am

How to ‘Rush’ with a SUV 1.5litre engine? too slow man!

• VHL Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:02 pm

No need to ‘rush’ one lar with this jamban junk ‘Rush’, only if customers are smart enuogh, most (if not all) of the jamban junk UMW Toyota cars can rush to rot or to junkyards.

• bax79 on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:19 pm

Alamak! i already forgotton got this model exist in Malaysia until i saw this news again….

• Zoom Zoom on Apr 24, 2015 at 12:21 pm

I wont buy even with 20k discount. haha…

• if u need small suv or crossover around 100k , only three smart choice.

-HRV, ASX or XV

For 1.5L, ecosport or pug 2008. Same power but more specs and fresh design.

• VHL Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:16 pm

But, all these low RV one lar, easily kaput one, maintenance and spare parts somemore expensive. Our car (jamban junks) still the best choice and sure you’ll regret if you choose other than ‘T’ according to their ‘blardy liar’ Toyota salesman.

• HRV fanboy on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:43 pm

Who say low RV?
        H = High
        R = Resale
        V = Value

• VHL Lorr on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:58 pm

Of course not us, i did mention before, it’s Toyota salesman that say like that (most of them only know to use RV as their selling point, no other ‘modal’ to sell their jamban junk cars)

• Umw really think tis shit spec car cansell with tat bullshit price tag. Close shop la umw..

• sabahan on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:18 pm

landfill it

• Jimmy on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:24 pm

1. What was the old price?
    2. What is the new price?
    3. What is EBD ?
    4. Is Camry’s gearshaft as thin as a chopstick?
    5. Is car business in Malaysia getting healthier and healthier?

• Crasher7 on Apr 24, 2015 at 1:30 pm

UMW, sigh…

• tamura on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:42 pm

facelifted? Still look like my kembara

• noreasonwhy on Apr 24, 2015 at 3:45 pm

strike back? just scrap this line completely, pls

• Rusher on Apr 24, 2015 at 7:49 pm

Is this real ?

• karipap basah on Apr 24, 2015 at 11:22 pm

Toyota’s definition of facelift is either

Paste “TRD” sticker
    or

Paste “Sportivo” sticker.

on their car.

• Renegade on Apr 26, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Its interesting that the same people come and bash UMW and Toyota over and over again. Seems like the PR machine for Honda is working overtime again .. lol