UiTM wins Perodua Eco Challenge 2017, ‘Techno-Seat’ storage idea will be considered for production

Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) is the overall champion of the Perodua Eco Challenge 2017, beating nine other institutes of higher learning with its ‘Techno-Seat’ storage idea. The invention also won first prize in the Parts Development and Product Marketing sub-categories.

The UiTM team took home RM37,000 for their efforts – RM20,000 for the overall win, RM10,000 for topping the Parts Development sub-contest and RM7,000 for the Product Marketing category. Universiti Teknologi Petronas came in second overall, ahead of Politeknik Ungku Omar in third.

A total of 21 institutions were invited to participate in PEC 2017 in November last year, and from there, 10 were chosen. They are serial winners Politeknik Ungku Omar, Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), Universiti Malaya (UM), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Universiti Teknikal Malaysia Melaka (UTEM), Universiti Malaysia Sarawak (UNIMAS) and Universiti Malaysia Pahang (UMP).

Those familiar with the Perodua Eco Challenge (PEC) would have noticed that this year’s contest has shifted away from its original direction. Instead of fuel efficiency racing or building a car, PEC 2017 is about creating a prototype component or accessory. Students were required to produce a car part that fulfils the element of ECO – Environment, Creativity and Originality. The ideas must also incorporate a “Unique Malaysia” element in the design.

Since the start of the year, the 10 institutions have been working closely with Perodua’s R&D team, mentors and vendors. Mentors from P2 coached the students and exposed them to real-world industry practices such as project planning, scheduling, mass production costing, market trends, important design factors and more.

The ten teams were evaluated based on the depth of their initial project proposal, overall project progress, their final presentation and of course, their working prototype part. A sketch design competition held in January also contributed to the final score. The judging panel was led by Perodua executive chief engineer Albert Ngu.

UiTM’s ‘Techno-Seat’ features a hidden storage compartment built into the back of the front passenger seat, with a hinged latch. The hidden compartment features LED illumination upon opening, a USB charging port and a storage pocket. It can swallow a paperback plus two small mineral water bottles and other small items, and fits flush with the seat back when closed.

The team tested the component on bumpy roads and claims that their prototype survived without spilling open. The in-seat organiser idea came about after the team observed student cars with stuff scattered all around the cabin.

Perodua has been coming up with some unique to Malaysia features in its cars of late. The Axia answered smash and grab security issues with an anti-snatch bag hook between the front seats, while the just-launched Myvi features an in-seat USB charger with pouch, memory settings for the air con and an integrated Touch n Go reader. This neat in-seat storage idea might just be the next localised feature.

“This is indeed a testament to the ingenuity of the local students, as they have managed with a budget of under RM15,000, to produce something quite interesting in terms of function and design,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, who added that the design will be considered for study with a local vendor to be included in Perodua’s future models.

“We hope to see this design implemented either in our current model line-up through running changes or new models in the years to come,” he said.

There were many other interesting creations from the student teams, including a rival in-seat storage idea (seat base flips up to reveal compartment), a solar windshield shade, adaptive high beam, vehicle cooling systems and a phone holder with wireless charging. Flip through the pictures we took from the PEC 2017 “roadshow” cum final presentation and awards presentation yesterday to be fascinated.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• See? No need to take billions from the rakyat for ‘R&D’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 0
    • Agreed. Good job for P2. Good to see this kind coming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • I’m proud to be an UiTM Alumni. P1 should hire more pipu like them

• aiyarkk on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:42 pm

P2 engineers tido goyang kaki makan gaji buta then copy students’ works. Malu betul.

• Ex-VGM staff on Dec 03, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Underneath seat storage is nothing new. Check out Renault Scenic launched 20 years ago. It has 63 cubby holes or storage compartments.

• Ur Ex-Staff on Dec 04, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Why go so far for renault? Perodua kancil 20 years ago also uave underneath seat storage remember? Usually ladies use to put their spare shoes in.

• suomynona on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:53 am

Sure, if this is Proton means ‘wasting money on programmes like this, plus stealing students’ idea’. Smh

• John Gagap on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:57 am

This is why Perodua does very well. The Japanese brains make use of Institutions and Universities to make their products better. They help Perodua and at the same time, Perodua help the students to become cleverer

They don’t waste money on in house staff who just goyang kaki.

• GreatIdea on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Yeah can take idea from rakyat n save bajet. Hopefully this idea will be considered in next myvi SE. And but…hopefully the front seat not become too thin n no cushion feel wif storage just under the seat cushion. Hehe. Stay comfort.
      And plz bring back cup holder under frobt side aircond. Really need that. Both side plzzz. Lolz.

• 12yrsold on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:07 am

Gud job UiTM. It shows M’sian have talents if given the chance to shine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 7
    • John Gagap on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:58 am

Good job Perodua. You know how to save money. You get the best work done by intelligent students.

I am sure also, Perodua will employ these top quality and caliber students for their plant.

Unlike other car companies, just goyang kaki

• aiyarkk on Nov 30, 2017 at 10:44 pm

Save money? Don’t their workers have brains to think ? It’s a BIG waste hiring such pipu

• xoxox on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:36 am

if i’m remember correctly, there is car with sliding drawer beneath the car seat…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:46 am

Proton Saga Megavalve 1.5I from 1989, under driver seat.

• FireAce on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Kancil 850cc, year 2000. Under driver seat. Dangerous design. Emergency brakes and the drawer slide right out into the pedals area.

Wonder how these extras affecting the passengers safety when there is a crash. P2 please do tests before implement.

• Myvidriver on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:44 pm

My first gen Myvi has it

• Peugeot 308, front passenger

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 30, 2017 at 3:43 pm

The flip up front seat base with storage under it has already been done though.

2011 to 2014 Dodge Journey along with several others.

• Graduan bijak on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:43 am

Tahniah UiTM! Peneraju bangsa dan negara!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
    • John Gagap on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:00 pm

I am sure previous students also have given ideas like the built in touch and go reader in the new Myvi.

This is where we need young blood with good ideas and not deadwood logs

• Ex-VGM staff on Dec 03, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Before myvi 3rd generation was launched, Toyota had integrated smart tag as optional for vios and several other Toyota models. Also can be retro-fit instead of factory fitted.

• From the story , only the idea for storage compartment behind the passenger seat is interesting. However, it is more practical only in D segment cars. Small A and B segment Perodua cars cannot afford a much thicker seat which will definitely reduce rear occupant legroom. Others like wireless phone charger, adaptive high beam, solar windshield shade, underseat storage all these are not original ideas especially adaptive beam.

I would say, as a consumer why not have something like this:

1. Face / retina recognition- If driver look away from the windscreen for 3 seconds , focus alarm will beep, asking the driver to concentrate on the road, not the phone. That is truly M’sian problem and root cause of many traffic accidents.

2. Mounting Solar panel in the car should be done long long time already since this country is absurdly hot and receive so much sunlight. However, rather than power a sunshade, why not power few fans to exhaust hot air out from the cabin .Slim fans can be built into upper areas of A , B and C pillars of the car since convection theory dictates hot air rises up.

3. Like technology for transition lens used in spectacles. Use photochromic lenses which are optical lenses that darken on exposure to enough sunlight. Then we consumers don’t have to tint the car anymore. Dark tint have insufficient visibility at night. Using this kind of photochromic lenses will eliminate this issue. Best of both worlds , sunlight glare reduced under the hot sun, good visibility at night.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
    • 1. So what if the driver is driving at night? How will the recognition work? even handphones have this issue.

2. Solar panel? Are you serious? The amount of power generated by such a small panel is barely sufficient for the cost vs heat reduction benefits.

3. Again, this is cost issue. Such glass is expensive.

• Avicenna on Dec 04, 2017 at 8:28 pm

Dude, the solar panel isn’t for cooling. It’s only for suction fan operation to draw hot air out of cabin. I think the University PETRONAS product is the best and most practical. But, they’re bunch of brilliant engineers and I saw their presentation a bit lacking on business side. Their fans on A pillars and C pillars are so well integrated into the car and look like small speakers. Even paultan photographer also miss out on taking pictures of these fans.

• zamer on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:14 pm

seems like you have a good creative ideas.
      Why dont you voice up to correct channel rather than here?

i believe if you’re creative at ideas, then you are creative enough to find way to tell them.

• Aleppo on Nov 30, 2017 at 3:51 pm

I like your third idea but I think its not feasible because of the cost. As someone whose use spectacle and use transition lens, its quite expensive for its small size. We talk about big windshield and other window that combined size is more than 20 times the size of the pair of glass. It may possible for premium cars but for Proton and Perodua? Just my two cents

• alldisc on Dec 03, 2017 at 7:30 pm

When you do mass production, the high cost will be lowered by a significant margin.

• Kisha on Dec 01, 2017 at 2:41 am

Universiti Petronas actually prototype your 2nd idea for this challenge. They use solar panel mounted at windshield to power some fans at A & C pillar when the interior become hot during parking.

• Jimmy Dean on Dec 01, 2017 at 11:46 am

Mounting Solar panel in the car should be done long long time already since this country is absurdly hot and receive so much sunlight. However, rather than power a sunshade, why not power few fans to exhaust hot air out from the cabin .Slim fans can be built into upper areas of A , B and C pillars of the car since convection theory dictates hot air rises up.

With reference to the above, that’s what 2nd place winner did. In addition to the shade they installed 4 suction fans in 2 A pillars and 2 C pillars with air ductings taking hit air out if the cabin. Additionally, there’s a controller that sense cabin temperature and only turn the fans on between certain temperature threshold. There’s even lithium polymer battery pack installed and charged from the solar panel. The system is completely independent from the existing 12V system of the car. Too bad, majority of the judges are from non technical background.

• Neutral on Nov 30, 2017 at 11:45 am

While the efforts are commended, do we really need so much storage space in our car i.e. at the bottom or at the back of our seats?

• CannotBrain on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I would’ve picked the 20W solar charger. Can prolong batteries leading to fewer sealed LEAD acid batteries being dumped into the environment. Also can stretch battery lifetime of parked under the sun like most of us do. Cost savings for consumer and fewer battery change over the lifetime of the car. This also no maintainenance like clean birdshit since inside the car. If tinted just cut opening. Why didn’t they win….

• TehTarikSuam on Dec 05, 2017 at 5:17 pm

I think they didn’t win because UiTM hired best people to do report and presentation. And best people to do actual work on prototyping. The UTP team has smallest number of team members and while they’re good at multitasking, it shows in lower quality finishing and less interesting presentation. Engineering wise, they’re the top of the crop.

• Azhar on Dec 09, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Unfortunately if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys… That’s just the reality. In the past, we knew some of these “winners” paid outsiders to get work done instead of letting their students do the work and learn. Few winning teams even sent their engines to Thailand for modifications and tuning. Winning at all cost, but ended up losing opportunities to give hands on experience to the young future engineers. It’s all water under the bridge now. Hopefully the new format can bring us genuine and original innovations from our future engineers.

• C.P. MOHAN on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Do not want to sound negative as I believe such contest should be encouraged but if the booth, glove compartment, other storage spaces in your vehicle and foldable seats are still insufficient than the extra seating-storage space here encourages unorganised or worst hoarding behaviour

• Bernard on Nov 30, 2017 at 12:35 pm

They should invent a flying car next time or something ground breaking….

• PERODUA should consider add on TPMS tyre pressure monitor system, 360 cemeras, blind spot monitor on their future models.

• anonymous on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:23 pm

we need comfort cabin.
    this will only create interior rattling noise.

• Hello Perodua on Nov 30, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Compartment under seat.. duh, this already available in Serena S-Hybrid. UiTM copy cat..LOL

• old horse on Nov 30, 2017 at 2:06 pm

please go file for pattern rights, especially in USA>.!

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 30, 2017 at 2:47 pm

a simpler idea. why not create a sensor that triggers the ECU to lower engine power when seat belt is not worn or worn correctly (the length of seatbelt pulled out too short and no pressure).

can we suggest engine cut off to 2,500rpm? seems harsh but important to public safety when on the road.

• shiftSpank on Dec 01, 2017 at 5:03 pm

Credit where credit is due, I like that we can innovate like this locally. Kudos the the winning team.