New Perodua Myvi’s integrated Touch n Go reader – retires the Smart Tag and 9V batteries for good

The new 2018 Perodua Myvi comes with a very impressive set of features. Things like LED headlamps, keyless entry and push start, a minimum of four airbags (six on 1.5L variants) and VSC have taken centre stage, and rightly so, especially as they are standard from the RM44,300 manual Standard G.

The biggest surprise though is the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite of active safety systems on the range-topping 1.5 Advance. Autonomous emergency braking in a car below RM100k is unprecedented, never mind that the the Myvi’s Pre-Collision Braking is a low speed system that works below 30 km/h.

The just-unveiled Toyota Rush and Daihatsu Terios twins in Indonesia also feature LED headlamps, a sign that Toyota/Daihatsu is using the bright white lights as a wow feature in this region. ASA is an existing Daihatsu tech taken off the shelf. However, there are some features in the Myvi that are truly unique to the car, included specifically for the Malaysian motorist.

These include the anti-snatch bag hook in between the front seats (which made its debut in the Axia), two memory settings for the (now digital) air con that works just like seat memory, and this – an integrated Touch n Go card reader. This toll card reader is available on 1.5L variants and retires the Myvi driver’s Smart Tag for good.

Think of it as a Smart Tag that’s built into the car. One just needs to slot in the TnG card into the device, which is hidden in the cubby to the lower right of the steering wheel (the lid has magnetic closing, a nice touch). Like a physical Smart Tag, there’s a screen to show card balance, but the Myvi’s integrated unit adds a top-up reminder sound when card balance falls below RM10.

That’s useful, as insufficient balance is one of the common hold ups on Smart Tag lanes. Since the device draws power from the car, you no longer need to periodically hunt for those odd 9V batteries – Smart Tag dying on you with an angry queue behind is also no longer a worry.

From L-R: Haval’s sensor is behind the rear view mirror; UMW Toyota offers a similar system as an option

The transmitter is nicely integrated at the base of the windscreen, sitting flush with the dashboard surface on the driver’s side. Usual window tint rules apply – make sure your window tint (the 1.5 Advance comes with security window tint film) is compatible. Alternatively, just remind the installer to leave a “hole” for the transmitter. It’s not RFID-ready, although existing Smart Tag tech should be still in place for the next few years.

Seen this before? It’s not a new technology. The Haval H1 (previously known as the Great Wall M4 and Haval M4) has a similar system with the transmitter fitted to the back of the rear view mirror. UMW Toyota Motor offers a TnG reader as an optional accessory, too. However, both Haval and Toyota’s devices are more aftermarket in style and the Myvi’s system is more elegant, having been part of the car’s design from scratch.

To learn more about the new Myvi, read our comprehensive launch report and first impressions test drive report, and don’t forget to view our video review, which includes a demo of ASA’s features.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X in Peppermint Green Metallic

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance in Granite Grey Metallic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Zahmin on Nov 27, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Amazing, the new Perodua has everything! Wow, so impressive. So many safety features plus so many things that make life easier.

No wonder why so many people are cancelling their orders for Proton and booking the Myvi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 26
    • jinggo on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:24 pm

but the ride & handling still like sampan. Balik kampung trip sakit pinggang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 42
      • Operation Manager on Nov 27, 2017 at 10:09 pm

Singapore 20 yrs ago everycar mandatory pre-install RFID reader connected to car power supply. But SmartTag company is worst vut allow to monopoly, if SmartTag company in aeroplanes business, we will seeing aeroplanes failure drop from the sky everyday just like SmartTag detector fail to function at toll plaza several times everyday.

• Luckily the back passenger seat not tegak gila like bezza n axia. P2 cld hv easily included DRL and better audio system

• John Gagap on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Before the new Myvi, people bought Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS so many new gadgets and devices. Even so many safety features only seen in RM100k car.

The list goes on and on to buy a Perodua…..

1) good after sales
    2) Excellent RV
    3) time tested VVTI Toyota engine
    4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
    5) FC one of the best in the market
    6) Warranty claim also no dispute
    7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
    8) Intergrated Touch and Go Reader
    9) Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite
    10) Advance. Autonomous emergency braking
    11) ETC ETC ETC ETC

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
    • jinggo on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:42 pm

but why the ride & handling still like sampan? long distance journey not as comfort as Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 23
    • You goy problem with proton on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Seeing the same copy and paste posts from you over and over. Tired lah pakcik warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
      • John gagap keyboard warrior Kunta on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:10 am

The new myvi will sell very well with all good features that provided

• Rightwinger on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Iriz was launched in 2014. The goal post have shifted somewhat since then. It’s not like both models were launched at concurrently….
      So the new Myvi has more toys, good for them and consumers.
      And I can bet the next contender from P1 would match or better this Myvi just as well.
      And at the end of the day, both are made in Malaysia, by Malaysians, for Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:10 pm

window tint will be issue….a good window tint….sure will render this smarttag thing useless….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • nik amran on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:33 pm

No issue.
      Just cut a hole at tint area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
    • Lord Suave on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:18 pm

I sir, dream of the world where one day, just one day where you will have one (not many, just one) positive thing to say about something!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • tokmoh. on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Haval and Vios need 9V meh? Why would it matter it looks aftermarket-ish, so long it adds convenience?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • lilytan on Nov 27, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Smarttag is an old overpriced piece of tech. Even the older singapore ERP is better than that. Time to switch to RFID.

• Singapore has been using erp since more than 20 years ago n here v r still using dinosaur technology

• RF ID Question on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Can this new Smart Tag in the MyVi works with the next RF ID Implementation?

• …until hiways switch over to Smarttag RFID.

• You beat me to it.

What you have said is exactly what hit me the moment I read this article.

• They have been talking about RFID for the last 10 years and you still using your smart tag until now.

• Ben Yap on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:10 pm

break-in to any 2018 Myvi and you stand a higher chance to get a free TNG card loaded with money.

i can foresee that the new Myvi will have higher chances of break-ins compare to other cars.

so don’t be too proud of this useless feature. Honda never put in this kind of feature that attract thieves because every feature that is added is well thought of.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
    • tokmoh. on Nov 27, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Honda SA dah start TRIGGERED.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • do you really think only myvi 2018 has TNG? i bet most, literally 95% if not 99% car owners left their TNG in the car. dun believe me? u go whack any car you can find and check if they have TNG in it? work you brain abit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Jellonya dia. Mata dah merah dah. nangis lah

• Remmy on Nov 28, 2017 at 7:13 am

Ridiculous comment bro. Other car got no smat tag/tng in the car? Come on

• Ruslan Bahari on Nov 27, 2017 at 4:50 pm

I think in the local context it is a neat feature to have. However, perhaps the location of the T&G card slot could have been better; one can hardly see the card balance when seated in the driver’s seat.

Perhaps for the facelift they can place the balance screen on the dash itself, while keeping the card slot where it is now.

• LED Light? on Nov 27, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Is LED + reflector a good combination? If it is then how will this new Myvi not blind you as much as those old Myvis that have changed their headlamps to HID/LED ones so that they shine as bright as the sun at night. Lol.

(I do appreciate the move of Perodua to use LED lamps as standard, but I’m genuinely curious how they implement it so that it’ll not blind others.)

• Implementation, Most of the latest LED lights are having individual LED mounted on the roof of the housing and bounce down to a curved reflector which spreads the light around. This can be seen from the latest Honda Civic/CRV LED lights as well as the new Myvi’s unit. Audi also uses similar projection method for its matrix LED lighting where each individual LED diods out of dozes can be switch on or off to reflect on certain portion of the light parh. Mercedes and Toyota uses projector base LED for their cars as well as Honda with the HRV and Odyssey.

This differs conpared to aftermarket LED housing where the LEDs takes the place of the conventional bulbs and than spreading it in a similar fashion as a normal halogen bulb sometimes to the reflectors that creates the highlights which is why you get that strong glare from aftermarket LED. I have to admit im guilty to this as my Honda City(3rd gen) is refitted with an aftermarket LED type due Past events.

• LED Light? on Nov 28, 2017 at 3:41 pm

Got it now. Thanks for explaining!

• Fadli on Nov 30, 2017 at 9:54 am

Actually, the design is first introduced by a different industry altogether, it came from emergency lights manufacturer, Federal Signal Corporation, from US. They introduce the concept to bounce led lights from reflectors which they named “Solaris Reflector” technology, been around for ages. way before LED been used on Audis.

• Dont Like Tool on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:35 pm

better not to have toll and Touch n Go, this is just a gimmick that makes you excited to pay more ?….if can, hopefully, doesnt exist at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Sally Oak on Nov 27, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Very good development from P2. Producing things that ease its consumer.

• Karma binti Kamelia on Nov 27, 2017 at 8:03 pm

If I wanna break-in to this MYVI car, I wont be looking for el-cheapo TnG card la. Waste time.

Instead, I would curi the installed ICE and components.

• U will regret guaranteed….the system is LOUSY!!!!!…. VERY LOW END…

• Yes to P2 on Nov 27, 2017 at 9:27 pm

This is what a local car suits to a local condition and usage should be. Congrats to Perodua for comming up with a safer and intelligent car.

• Izhar on Nov 27, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Thanks perodua becoz not putting rear fog light. If they put it i believe many idiots will light it every night

• polla on Nov 28, 2017 at 8:14 am

“anti-snatch bag hook” <- this is a big insult

• karpal sinking on Nov 28, 2017 at 9:58 am

aiyooo..

Malaysians like to complain so much..

Perodua has built-in smart-tag system
    malaysian : singapore has FDIR already 20 years ago laaa

5 years later

Perodua has built-in rfid in their car
    malaysian : complain about something else

this is a nice feature. full stop. stop asking for Frid system in the car because so few highways in malaysia is currently using it.