Perodua Myvi receives five-star ASEAN NCAP cert – based on tougher 2017-2020 standards, all variants

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) officially presented Perodua with a certificate recognising the 2018 Perodua Myvi’s five-star ASEAN NCAP safety rating at the organisation’s fourth quarter 2017 test results announcement event today. The crash test was done in October this year.

“We are simultaneously proud and humbled by this recognition of our achievement. Perodua is a company that always puts people first, and the new Myvi represents our strongest effort thus far to ensure the safety of our customers and the occupants in our vehicles,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

Of note is that the new Myvi was tested and rated based on ASEAN NCAP’s latest and more stringent 2017-2020 protocol. It’s a fair bit different from the previous standards, and you can read about the latest protocol here. The Myvi scored 32.71 points out of a possible 36 for Adult Occupant Protection (AOP), representing 90.9% compliance; and 43.14 points out of a possible 49 for Child Occupant Protection (COP), representing an 88% compliance.

The five-star safety rating applies to all variants of the new Myvi, which has as standard four airbags, ABS with EBD, VSC, Emergency Stop Signal, ISOFIX child seat mounts, reverse sensors and seat belt reminders for all five seats. The 1.5L variants get six airbags, while the range-topping 1.5 Advance’s Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite includes Pre-Collision Warning, Pre-Collision Braking, Front Departure Alert and Pedal Misoperation Control functions.

“The new Myvi is the first vehicle in Malaysia to introduce such a suite of advanced safety features at this price point. In fact, it is the most affordable car with autonomous emergency braking in Malaysia. With the new Myvi, we are bringing active safety to the people,” Aminar added.

To learn more about the new Myvi, check out our written and video reviews of the B-segment hatchback, which is priced from RM44,300 to RM55,300.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X in Peppermint Green Metallic

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance in Granite Grey Metallic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Mustapha Kamal on Dec 19, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Before the new Myvi, people may consider Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS

1) good after sales and first class support
    2) Excellent RV. Use 3 years also still can sell RM38k
    3) Time tested VVTI Toyota engine worth RM80k from Vios
    4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
    5) FC one of the best in the market
    6) Warranty claim also no dispute
    7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
    8) Company not near bankruptcy. They give you high quality expensive parts to make the car.
    9) When claiming warranty Perodua company not worried they losing more money cause cash rich
    10) Got 5 stars based on 2017 Stringent Protocol. No tipu tipu
    11) This myvi has wiped out Sga, Persona and Iriz at one Go!

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 8
    • Proton is better than this Myvi. I will choose Iriz anytime over Myvi. Sales of Proton now very good.

We should all support our National car company. Give them support. Let us help Proton and keep it strong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 79
    • But basher says ASEANNCAP taboleh percaya wor.

• Tanpa nama on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Betoi tu.. claim warranty dengan perodua memang sangat mudah.. tak banyak ragam. Bagitau saja apa masalah.. semua dia tukar

• Avatar 168 on Dec 19, 2017 at 8:50 pm

MYVI and VIOS cars are using different engine specs requirements..Pls do research on different engine, than trust 100% P2 Sales Person, when SA trying to sell Myvi or Bezza cars.. Daihatsu is owned by Toyota.. Perodua is 30% owned by Daihatsu,.. Daihatsu supporting P2 by supply engine.. Seek Uncle Google or Wikipedia help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • John Baoteng on Dec 19, 2017 at 10:49 pm

As long as the engine no turbo bocor, timing chain, fuel efficient and dual vvti.

• Observer on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:46 am

Perodua MYVI is actually a TOY CAR in the making and looks like one too. Can sell because it is cheap to own and nothing outstanding. Imaging just Between RM 40K to RM 50K installment for nine donkey years. Who cannot buy it.

It is only good when ordinary Malaysian cannot afford better japanese and continental makes .

Overall, Proton looks more tougher and build stronger than this Milo Tin Mundane MYVI

If MYVI can sell 150K units annually , I would says it is really good and popular. But the scenario is only 20,000 units so far. So only 20,000 lower income Malaysian are buying but the rest higher income are not that says that MYVI is not good enough for them then …period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • jinggo on Dec 20, 2017 at 10:50 am

well said bro.. myvi ride & handling suck to the max. Iriz better & feel solid & stable crusing all the way from north to south. even when big truck overtake with high speed, we inside iriz still stable without sampan feeling like myvi

• leoRNado on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:10 pm

that one u were talking about old myvi broo. I agree with that. Try new myvi bro, with the std lowered body u will feel stable esp at cornering..

• Try doing moose test on Mivi and u will know it sux to max.

• leoRNado on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:06 pm

Dear Observer,

Do your study properly. If you are saying that people buy Perodua coz selling cheap than u r TOTALLY wrong. U can compare the Iriz 1.6L Premium vs 1.5 Myvi Adv. Both are selling at RM56k. If u compare by cc, definitely Perodua is expensive compared to Proton.

U also can do price comparison between Saga n Bezza. Both starting price at RM35k but Saga offer 1.3 while Perodua 1.0.

• shogun on Dec 20, 2017 at 5:37 am

Yeah last time before my MyVi reach 100k KM, my service advisor do thorough check and offer to replace any parts that seems not in good condition, under their warranty. for FOC. I never asked!

• Let’s wait for real life confirmation before deciding. With so many on the road it won’t be a long wait.

• Mustapha Kamal on Dec 19, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Thank you MIROS for telling us this. This further strengthens our view that Perodua Myvi is the No 1 choice to choose from.

We Malaysians now don’t have to crack our head which car to buy. This is still the best car to buy for RM50k.

We want peace of mind and good customer service plus good resale value for our car. And Perodua gives us all this.

Congratulations too to Perodua for scoring 5 star based on the latest stringent assessment. We are proud of you PErodua!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • normal_user on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Syukurrr Malaysia aman, MYVI lagi selamat. BEST!

• Graduan Bijak on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Tak payah fikir, tak nak pening kepala…Beli jer Perodua!

• Perodua is a middleman company reponsible for securing lower tax as far as daihatsu is concerned. They can just as well selling direct to market on their own.

• tokmoh. on Dec 19, 2017 at 6:13 pm

No more tin milo, well done.

• John Gagal on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Yes big tahniah for the next 1 million Myvis in advance.

Perodua please buy the half-empty car factory in Shah Alam to meet the next big demand, okay!

• Mr Universe on Dec 20, 2017 at 8:09 am

Perodua & Toyota to buy the all-empty car factory in Tanjung Malim to meet world demand!

• Xperian on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Engine fuel efficiency perodua are better than proton, perodua are not as good that u think and proton are not as bad as u think. Im a proton owner after test drive the both.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Betol Tak? on Dec 19, 2017 at 10:31 pm

Perodua never beg RM1 billion from govt annually and they never blame rakyat if low sales.

• normal_user on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:46 pm

I wonder how can the 1.3 version scored 5 stars without curtain air bags?
    Isn’t the ASEAN NCAP supposed to mirror or at least follow the standards of EURO NCAP.

• 12yrsold on Dec 20, 2017 at 8:21 am

EURO is always perceived to have a higher standard. That is why cars from Europeans particularly German & Sweden are considered safer.

• john too on Dec 20, 2017 at 9:47 am

if follow EURO standard, there wont be a lower ASEAN standard in the first place..life is cheaper over here..

• Titiwangsa on Dec 20, 2017 at 3:02 pm

That’s why the driver side window and front passenger side window are wind down for frontal crash test so those dummies heads won’t knocked into the Windows pane. It’s call a loophole for cars without side windows curtain.

• Ben Yap on Dec 20, 2017 at 9:09 am

the lowest brand I will go is a Japanese brand. I will not consider malaysian car or korean cars no matter how many features or safety stars it has because it must reflect my status.

next up will be continental cars already. everyone needs a progress in life right? cannot keep using local or korean cars else people will think our lives has been stagnant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • This Toyota Myvi is much stronger and safer than Suprima S and Iriz. Even with HPF Proton cars are still not as safe and weaker than the stronger and safer Myvi. Kudos to Perodua for making more safer cars for Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Nein. Suprima S still has ANNCAP 5 bintang. Mivi only jaguh kampung 5 bintang.

• Belasahaje on Dec 26, 2017 at 11:44 am

Padan kena kencing jer la dgn gear box kuno tu…