2018 Perodua Myvi orders hit 28,000, close to 8k units delivered last year – 1.5L to 1.3L ratio is 85:15

It came very late in the year, but the third-generation Perodua Myvi made a big splash. Order books opened on November 8, 2017 ahead of a November 16 launch, and as the year closed, the number of bookings stood at 28,000. Of that, close to 8,000 units have been delivered.

The latest figures were revealed by Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh on this morning’s BFM 89.9 Breakfast Grille, where he also apologised for the longer wait for the Myvi 1.5L compared to the 1.3L.

“Because of the back orders, we’re now working overtime, we do apologise. Especially to our customers who have booked the higher variant, the 1.5L. We’re working overtime, and we hope to be able to reduce the delivery period. But having said that, we do have the 1.3L available. So customers, if you want your vehicles faster, new Myvi 1.3L is also an option. Not forgetting we have three other models,” he said.

Aminar admitted that the overwhelming response for the bigger-engined, better-equipped Myvi 1.5L has surprised Perodua, but as problems come, it’s a good one to have.

“I have to admit that perhaps in terms of our planning, at this point it is proving us wrong. We were hoping to get a 50-50 or perhaps 55-45 kind of ratio in terms of the 1.5 against the 1.3. But as it stands now, it’s almost 85-15. So it’s a problem. It’s a good problem and that’s why I apologise to our customers. Bear with us, we’re trying to fulfil those requirements,” he said.

As to why demand is so heavily skewed towards the 1.5L, the P2 chief attributes it to the Myvi’s surprising feature list, which includes six airbags and Advanced Safety Assist, a suite of driver assist features not previously found in sub-RM100k cars.

“We have done some initial surveys. It’s not conclusive, but at the end of the day, it’s about value for money. The features that we have brought in. Some of the features are available in high-end cars and we made it affordable. The 1.5 Advance comes with advanced safety features, which are available in luxury vehicles,” he added.

The impressive new Perodua Myvi made it to our annual writer’s Top Five list. Find out more about the homegrown hero in our written and video reviews.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X in Peppermint Green Metallic

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance in Granite Grey Metallic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Good job P2! For a president to apologize, regardless whatever his intentions were, is IMPRESSIVE. That said, please don’t rush too much and have quality issues afterwards. Expected quality should be the highest priority :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • sabahan on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:29 am

The Myvi relentless tsunami brought advanced tech & safer motoring to rakyat who clamour for CHANGE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Oh wai… Safety features is not luxury features, but a least is affordable under MYVI 1.5 top-spec. Not like Honda Jazz where selling now 2018, not even install VSC at base-spec, DRB Honda look only care max profit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Yusof Talha on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:32 pm

looks who owns DRB. Gomen. This is why they don’t give you VSC.

Just like UMW. For years until 2017, all their cars got no VSC. Who owns UMW? It is gomen.

• Same L00 on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Toyota/Daihatu/Perodua good or not, sales figure tell.
            No need Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok. If the cars so good, the sales must be good.
            If the sales so good, company no need sell off to China.

• yawnz on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:46 pm

/umW oso have share in P2, so?

• wesleylim on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:22 pm

Bro, Honda Jazz GK5 has been long DEAD since 2014. Hideous car with old Stone Age engine and full spec V still using stupid halogen headlights and no RS model like Japanese Jazz aka Fit models. The interior is completely ugly like hell compared to the Iriz and Myvi.
          Better buy previous generations Jazzes instead, full specs. LMFAO.

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:48 am

OMG Just over a month and orders now 28,000

Proton in 1 whole year can only sell 60,000 cars. And that also, 80% ordered by the Government.

Perodua, if they maintain like this, will be 60,000 cars in 2 months to 3 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
  • So whats this nonsense about MY going bankrupt, economy going to fail, pipu have no money? Seems like reality is fake news. Everything is fake. Ini mesti salah reality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 37
    • IGP mom on Jan 03, 2018 at 3:47 pm

To put you into perspective, Malaysia population is 30,000,000 rounded up. And now 28,000 ordered. Are you using 0.09% to represent the whole population? And this is just Myvi, not a richman car, but an affordable one. It’s hardly suggestive that the nation is doing great unless the top sellers are BMW, Benz, etc.

• John Baoteng on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:23 am

A big thank you to the Proton mocking ads that causing Myvi sales shoots to the roof instead of Saga/Persona/Iriz/Suprima sales. Sad joke indeed lol.

• Hopefully they don’t start to increase $$ after tat

• Proton oh Proton on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:34 am

When is new Alza coming P2??? We are waiting.

• To put numbers into perspective, Honda, Malaysia’s 2nd most popular brand, sells about give or take 10k units of their cars per month, be it City, Civic, CRV, Accord, anything within their 8 car model range. Perodua have manage to deliver 80% of that amount with just one model, the Myvi. If you’re going by the even more impressive booking number, the less popular of the two engine range, the 1.3l, sell almost as many Protons in November 2017, and thats only 15% of all Myvis booked. Numbers speaks for themselves and I believe, Although Peroduas always sells, is just that now you can be comforted by the thought that thousands of Malaysian have a car, not just purchased because they lack the financial means, but purchased because its a remarkable product for the masses.

• timlee on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:33 pm

2nd most popular brand regardless, Honda’s aftersales and overall vehicle built quality nowadays are horrendous.
      Big H stands for Horrible.
      Check out Honda Malaysia’s Facebook page. Its Loaded with negative reviews.
      Our hard earned cash only pays for the brand and sadly not their quality compared to Perodua. Very unfortunate:(

• For previous models you can argue that Malaysians are just blinded by the perodua badge, or the “perodua bring a toyota/daihatsu” claim which contributed to the high sales despite offering subpar specs. But the new myvi really tick all boxes from safety to reliability to price. It’s really a good car that’s hard to find faults with unless you nitpick in particular areas, or if you’re a blinded fanboy/hater

• Previously, it was a dependable brand with a dependable powertrain, It satisfy the needs but doesn’t give into the necessities. A Myvi is always going to sell on its laurels in a way a Picanto or a Iriz is not, Perodua has done a great job with reputation thus far and amazingly hasn’t rested on their laurels which is something quite unexpected from a big name manufacturer.

• Increase production rate and capacity but please don’t sacrifice quality. For any potential buyers, it’s best to wait until production stabilise as most common issues occurs during early production rush batches

• timlee on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Honda Jazz GK5 owners suddenly felt like losers and fools as of today. The Latest Myvi has killed off the Jazz at last. Rest in Pieces Jazz GK5 2014-2017.
    Even the Mazda 2 and famously hated by Malaysians little Picanto is better than the lousy Jazz facelift. LOL.

• teckchong on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:46 pm

Absolutely correct bro.
      I just sold my 2014 Jazz recently after settling my bank loan. Poor built quality inside out, noisy and the undercarriage fell off onto the highway few times already. Claimed warranty twice for my dashboard parts, etc.
      Replaced the windscreen twice. Headlights fogged up and suspension leaked in 2016.
      It was a headache owning this Jazz GK5 model. Maintaining it was not cheap compared to my wife’s Almera and daughter’s Iriz.
      Currently, no serious issues at all with the Nissan Almera and Proton Iriz. Disgrace to Honda Malaysia’s cars.

• samanthachai on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:55 pm

Hi there, yup I myself purchased a brand new Picanto a few months ago. So far its a Wayyy better car than the outdated and hideous Jazz GK5 in terms of built quality, design and fuel economy.
        Must test drive before judging. Buying a branded Jap brand especially HONDA does not guarantee its a great car to own and drive on a daily basis.
        Their marketing team are top notch but quality sux big time.

• wesleylim on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:18 pm

Who the heck buys a Hideous Jazz GK5 nowadays?
          Customers who love Hondas to death or people who never read automotive news online like this wonderful blog? Even my old pre facelift Ford Fiesta has no problems either than the usual wear and tear.
          Very ignorant Malaysians. Sad.

• Samantha Lok on Jan 02, 2018 at 10:32 pm

I purchased a Volkswagen Polo, it’s wayyy better than a low quality Korean which looks bad and performs even worse.

• klguy on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:41 pm

should hav a 1.3 with full safety spec like the 1.5…but in malaysia, safety is always for those who can have the notch….perodua marketing ppl need to think out of the box and be the market changer….

• Other than ASA and curtain airbags, the 1.3 gets all the safety features available in 1.5. Proton only offers 2 airbags for their iriz base model

• Time for a myvi sedan or aeroback

• Avatar 168 on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:43 pm

Another proud product from Malaysia, vs P1.. Always highlight weaknesses of P1, but didn’t highlight P2.

• Meanwhile, unsold stocks for the Iriz, Preve and Suprima S are pilling up heaps and collecting dust at the junk yard

• teckchong on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:49 pm

Jazz Gk5 facelift models too. LMFAO. Horrible car. Was great during testdrive but seriously terrible car to own on a daily basis compared to my Almera. Pengsan bro.

• Kim S TAY on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:19 pm

Well done, great review and commentary. Elaborate and not boring.

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:46 pm

I’m fed up with Myvi this Myvi that. My Jalan in Shah Alam have 60 houses. Nearly most houses have a P2 as their preferred choice.

Just less than 2 months, there are already 5 New Myvi in our/my Jalan. My opposite house which is rented to singles ladies alone have 4 Myvis(old/new). Why they didn’t buy an Iriz ?? Maybe I will ask them the next time.

• Singleguy on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:22 pm

my kolej at Shah Alam Sec 7, 20myvi:1iriz

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Your kolej students are Smart students:P

• pening pening P2 on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:53 pm

But then pening kepala why cannot get 20.1km/l? It is just like Iriz FC with textbook based ANCAP result and sampan handling

• You can buy toto of your car num plate if iriz achieve same fc as myvi

• Yourself Myvi myvi… My family home in Bukit Baru,Melaka Left, Right, opposite and every corner of the Taman are all littered with the stupid HR-V and Honda City cars.
      Even my wife and younger siblings all dislike both of them very much. SOOOO common and ugly like hell, as of today we each have 2 Nissan Slyphys, 1 Mazda 2, 1 Mitsubishi ASX and 2 CX-3 models and 1 CX-5.
      No power of Nightmares. LOL.

• Raja Celup on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:09 pm

Well done Perodua!

Told ya now you need to buy that half empty Shah Alam car factory to meet the big demand!

• Ben Yap on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:25 pm

still underpowered compared to some cars with same engine capacity… i.e 172hp, 220Nm torque.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Haroldysc on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:08 pm

This car built is not for superior performance. Is about fuel economy and pocket friendly. Wanna performance, 500 Nm torque and above and you will notice the diff.

• Not Toyota Fan on Jan 02, 2018 at 3:50 pm

Syabas Perodua & Datuk Aminar.

Perodua is truly Malaysia people’s car.

Now please launch the 7 seater SUV. In one stroke you can phase out Alza & launch the SUV segment.

• This car is not bad is because they hiring advance engineering from Japan they copy toyota engine and fuel comsumption wondering how Perodua gen 4 or 5 looks like …

• kanazai2001 on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:53 pm

Enough of statistic…
    So… When will 1.5L MT debut?

#2018MYVI1.5MT

• Myvi spes has improved alot. Next facelift hopefully they put in a 7 speed GB, 1.5 turbo dual vvti engine with minimum 180hp 260nm. 0-100kmh under 7 seconds for 55k. One month can easily sell 30k units… perodua…u can do even better!

• Who want to use manual transmission in bad traffic jammed this day?