DRIVEN: 2018 Perodua Myvi – full road-test review

To say that the Perodua Myvi has been a success story would be understating it. Following its arrival on the scene in May 2005, the five-door B-segment hatch quickly became the best-selling car in the country, a position it held for nine consecutive years before the Axia took over the mantle in 2015.

The default vehicle choice for many Malaysians has gone through two incarnations (the second-gen D54T debuted in June 2011) and a production run of more than a million units (1.024 million, over the first two generations). Now, the baton has been passed to the third-gen D20N 2018 Perodua Myvi, which made its debut last month. In just under a month, orders have surpassed the 20,000 mark, so we can expect this one to continue where the previous two left off.

We’ve already covered the car in great detail at point of launch and via a first impressions drive report, and also via various galleries and walk-around videos, but there are still observations to be had – we took a range-topping Myvi 1.5 Advance, with all the bells and whistles as well as active safety and a more affordable Myvi 1.3 Premium X out last month to evaluate them in more comprehensive fashion.

The full road test revealed quite a bit about the new car, from its good/bad points and how it compares to the old one in performance to revealing real-world fuel consumption and NVH figures. It also answers the question of which variant should you go for if you’re looking at one, so without further ado, on to the entire low-down on the new Myvi.

First, a recap of the prices. The new Myvi range starts with the 1.3 Standard G, which goes for RM44,300 for the five-speed manual and RM46,300 for the four-speed auto. The 1.3 Premium X automatic adds mostly aesthetic items, and takes the price up to RM48,300.

The 1.5 litre model range is available only with an auto transmission. There’s no more SE, at least not yet. Taking its place is a 1.5 High, which goes for RM51,800. At the top is the 1.5 Advance, priced at RM55,300.

Compared to the old Myvi, the 1.3 models have had a slight price increase of around RM3k, but you do get a lot more equipment. The 1.5 models, meanwhile, are almost exactly the same as the old models. In fact, the new 2018 Myvi 1.5 Advance, with all its new features, is actually almost RM1k cheaper than the old 1.5 Advance.

Actually, from a price point of view, Myvi prices really haven’t changed much since the original version made its debut. The first-gen Myvi started from RM41k, and that was for a 1.0 litre three-cylinder version, while the then range-topping 1.3 litre version (with two airbags and ABS) cost RM51k. Twelve years later, it’s still in the same price range, but the car itself has progressed significantly.

In terms of competition, Perodua’s own smaller Axia hatchback is still more affordable, with the 1.0 Advance version being cheaper than the base Myvi 1.3 at RM41k. The Bezza sedan is slightly closer, with the 1.3 Advance model priced at RM49k.

As for other brands, the Proton Iriz is almost identical in price, from RM42k to RM57k. And what about the Honda Jazz? Well, the cheapest Jazz variant goes for RM72k, which is a RM17k premium over the range-topping Myvi. Move on to the top-spec Jazz and the difference is RM30k more for the Honda.

Next, let’s take a look at the platform. Prior to the launch, a lot of rumours said that the car is based on the Toyota Corolla iM. That’s not true. It’s actually built on a revised version of the old Myvi platform, but with 70% new parts. The wheelbase is 60 mm longer than before at 2.5 metres, but this is still very much a B-segment hatch, not a C-segment unit like the Corolla.

At 3.9 metres long, it’s 205 mm longer than the old car, and it’s also wider by 70 mm and lower by 30 mm than before (full dimensions and how it compares to the competition, here), and these completely change the proportions of the car – it’s no longer a tall, bubble-shaped JDM car but a sleek-looking, contemporary hatchback.

Perodua says the exterior styling is all done locally, essentially designed by Malaysians. While some parts look familiar, it’s still a good looking car. Unlike the old Myvi, where the 1.3 and 1.5 litre models had different faces, a common design features here – the bigger engine version just adds on a front body kit and side skirts to make it look more sporty.

The new Myvi’s front end is a lot lower and sharper than before, and the headlamps are now LED reflector units, standard across the board. This technology offers brighter light, uses less power, and should last longer than halogen bulbs. There’s still no LED DRLs though. It’s fitted with aeroblade type wipers, a first for Perodua, together with an acoustic windscreen for improved noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) aspects.

At the back, the Myvi’s usual vertical taillamps are now two piece horizontal units – LEDs feature, though the signal and reverse lights are still bulbs and there’s no rear foglamp. The 1.5 litre models add on a bigger rear spoiler, and the 1.5 Advance gets a reverse camera, neatly integrated into the grab handle.

In terms of wheels, 1.3 litre models are dressed with 14-inch wheels as standard, which is upgraded to 15-inch dual tone alloys on the 1.5 litre models. Despite the increase in size, weight has been kept in check. The 1.3 litre model is still under a tonne, and the top 1.5 Advance tips the scales at 1,015 kg, which is just 35 kg more than the old one.

It’s also safer – the new Myvi has received a full five-star crash safety rating by ASEAN NCAP, improving on the old car’s four stars. In fact, for the frontal impact test, the Myvi scored higher marks than the latest Honda CR-V. From a construction perspective, Perodua says the new car uses 2.5 times more high-tensile steel than before, with additional bracing and reinforcements in strategic areas.

Next, the powertrain. While the engine sizes are similar, the mills on call here are brand new Dual VVT-i engines. The 1NR-VE 1.3 litre engine is the same as in the Bezza, with 94 hp and 121 Nm of torque. For those counting, that’s four hp and four Nm more than the old Myvi 1.3, and peak torque is delivered at lower rpm, 4,000 instead of 4,400 on the previous outing.

The 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine is new to Perodua, but the 2NR-VE has been seen before – it’s the same engine that’s used in the Vios (though the Toyota’s 2NR-FE unit is rated with higher outputs), assembled at the Perodua factory in Negeri Sembilan. Claimed output numbers are exactly the same as the old engine at 102 hp and 136 Nm, though peak torque comes in at lower revs.

Elsewhere, the suspension layout is familiar, with MacPherson struts up front and torsion beams at the back. Likewise the configuration of the brakes – ventilated discs up front and drums at the rear. Transmissions have also been retained.

As for colours, all variants get the choice of the usual Perodua colours – white, silver, red and purple. On top of that, there are two new colours. Peppermint Green that’s exclusive for 1.3 litre models, and Granite Grey for 1.5 litre variants.

The interior has been changed completely. Gone is the usual symmetrical dashboard, replaced by this driver-focused design, with the centre console angled slightly towards the driver. It’s much more traditional looking compared to that on the older car.

The gear lever is placed on the floor, instead of on the lower dash. While I do think this looks better, you do lose out in terms of practicality, because you no longer get the cupholders and large cubby bin like before. There’s actually only one compartment here for your keys and phone, which may not be enough for some people. You also lose out on the clever fold-out cup holder of the old car.

Another big change is with the meter panel design. The large half moon design seen previously has been replaced by a conventional two dial design. This does look a lot more mature and classy, but in terms of absolute legibility, the old one was slightly better. The speedometer dial is a little on the small side, and the needle is abnormally thick, almost covering the numbers as it goes over them.

Materials-wise, the quality is a clear step up from the old Myvi. You won’t find any soft touch materials in this price range, of course, but what you do get is very decent textured plastics all around. There are premium touches like the chrome trim around the air-con vents and piano black in the centre.

Elsewhere, the leather used on the steering wheel and seats feel far better than in the old car, and fortunately, Perodua has stopped using tacky splashes of red and “carbon-fibre” stickers to make the interior look more sporty. On the whole, from a trim and material viewpoint, I’d say that this gets very close to the levels of the Vios and Jazz in terms of perceived quality.

Above all that, the biggest advancement where I’m concerned is with the seating and driving position. You now sit much lower in the new car, compared to the MPV-like high seating position of the old Myvi, so you feel like you’re sitting in the car, rather than on it. The steering – adjustable for tilt – is also angled straighter, and on the whole the new Myvi feels far more comfortable to sit in and drive.

At the back, the amount of legroom is excellent – there’s more than before, thanks to the stretched wheelbase. Headroom, however, is slightly down compared to the old car, because the car is just not as tall as before. Still, you can slouch down a little, or recline the seat back a bit, to make up for it.

There’s still no rear air-con vent, but quite a few convenience features are present, including two teh tarik hooks, an anti-snatch handbag hook, and new to the Myvi, a pair of 2A USB charging slots for electronic devices. There are also two Isofix anchors for child seats, and new to the Myvi is a seat belt reminder for all seats.

The boot is now 277 litres, which is 69 litres more than the old car. Crucially, this mean you can now load your luggage lengthwise, which was not possible before. The rear seats can be folded with a 60:40 split, but it doesn’t fold flat anymore, as the rear seat base can no longer be tipped forward. Still, with the seats down, you now get over 800 litres of space, which is a big improvement. Underneath the boot floor is a full size spare tyre, instead of a space saver in the old car.

In terms of infotainment, the 1.5 Advance’s head-unit features a touchscreen display, which is very clear and easy to use. It also has navigation and reverse camera functions, but the buttons feel a little flimsy, and it could use an English lesson or two. It still says “Setting” rather than “Settings” for an example.

Carried over from the Bezza is a SmartLink function for your smartphones. With this, you can run your music and Waze navigation through the touchscreen, which is handy. But, this only works with Android devices, and not iPhones. Bluetooth is now standard on all models, except the Standard G.

As for the sound system, there are still only four speakers, but the automaker has moved the front two speakers from on top of the dashboard to the lower front door cards. It sounds slightly better now, less hollow and tinny, but if you’re particular about sound quality, you’ll still want to upgrade the speakers. Audio and call buttons are to be found on the steering wheel, though unfortunately they’re still not illuminated at night.

The air-conditioning system remains a manual system, but it now has digital controls, which look better than traditional knobs. One cool feature, which is unique to this car, are the two memory buttons. With this, you can preset two settings, say Memory 1 for cold mornings or nights, and Memory 2 for hot sunny days. Very convenient, and uniquely Malaysian.

One more feature designed specifically for Malaysia is the SmartTAG toll reader, standard fit on 1.5 litre models. With this, you just need to slot in your Touch ‘n Go card and you’re good to go. It has a display to show your remaining balance, and if you have less than RM10, a sound will remind you to top up. This is pure genius by Perodua.

On the whole, the interior has plenty of major positives, but there are a few minor negatives. One drawback for me is the inconsistent font used throughout the cabin. A few labels appear too big, others too small, but maybe it’s just me being too picky. Also, there’s also no centre armrest and no vanity mirror for the driver, so it’s not quite perfect.

As for safety, electronic stability control and traction control are now standard on all variants, while models from the Premium X onwards add on a hill-start assist system. In terms of airbags, 1.3 litre models get four, while 1.5 litre models come with six. The old model had just two throughout the range, without ESC too.

The big ticket items is the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) active safety system offered on the 1.5 Advance model. This uses a pair of cameras on the windscreen to offer four features: pre-collision warning, pre-collision braking, front departure alert and pedal misoperation control.

The first two is a form of low-speed autonomous emergency braking, or AEB, working between four to 30 km/h. The cameras can detect if you’re about to come into an accident, and first warns you with a buzzer – if you fail to react, it will automatically brake for you. The braking action is quite strong and sudden. If you’re feeling sleepy, that’ll surely wake you up.

This is a big thing, of course, as the next cheapest car to have any form of AEB is the Hyundai Ioniq and Mazda 3, both costing more than double of this car.

Still, it’s worth keeping in mind that this is purely a support safety system to reduce chances of low speed collisions. It is not an auto braking function that you can use in traffic jams. In fact, if you trigger the system three times in a row, it will turn off, as you’re obviously not paying attention to driving, and should go take a rest instead. That is placed in so drivers don’t start relying on this system to help them brake.

The next feature is Front Departure Alert. It works like this: as you stop at a traffic light, the cameras will detect the car in front. If you’re distracted – say, on your mobile phone – and you don’t notice the car in front moving, FDA will sound a small buzzer asking you to put your phone down, and drive. It’s much more pleasant than having the car behind honking you.

As for Pedal Misoperation Control, this is supposed to prevent a driver from crashing into a wall or another car if he/she somehow mistakenly selects drive when reverse is actually wanted. In this case, it will greatly reduce the engine power, preventing a crash.

All these functions only work in specific scenarios, so it’s best to know exactly what they can or cannot do – the car comes with a detailed ASA manual, so do read it. One more thing – ASA relies solely on the front cameras, so if that is blocked by, say, bird poo, the system won’t work. And if you need to replace the windscreen, you have to go to an official Perodua service centre to recalibrate the cameras.

That out of the way, let’s see how the new Myvi drives, starting with the 1.3 litre auto. First of all, it still feels very much like a Perodua, with a sharp throttle response and a vocal engine. But right off the bat, it definitely feels more refined than the old car. The throttle isn’t as jumpy, and the brakes feels more linear and easier to modulate.

The steering feels lighter and not as tightly wound as the old car, but the big difference for me is the lack of vibration coming off the steering and pedals compared to the old Myvi. It really is a night and day sort of difference, and makes the new Myvi feels far more relaxing and less tiring to drive.

As for performance, it feels just about alright. The car isn’t fast, but it’s not underpowered either, though you can’t really feel the torque being delivered lower down the rev range, as the gearbox will shift down to very high revs when you try to accelerate hard.

In that sense, the drawback of having a four-speed automatic becomes apparent immediately, and having more ratios would have helped in this regard. Would it be better with a CVT? I’m not sure about that, as most affordable CVTs have slow throttle response and bad rubber band effect.

I think I’d rather have this, because unless you’re always going to be hard on the throttle, it’ll feel absolutely fine. It’s not great, and you can feel the shifts, but it’s never as frustrating as a slow CVT can be either.

You can also get the Myvi 1.3 with a five-speed manual gearbox, but it’s the usual Perodua manual affair – the clutch is spongy, the throw is long and it feels rough and notchy. If you’re thinking of having fun behind the wheel, rowing your own gears because you enjoy it, you’re better off with a different car, like the Proton Iriz. As it goes, the auto fits the Myvi’s character far better.

Move up to the 1.5 litre model and there’s an immediate jump, courtesy of the extra torque – 15 Nm doesn’t sound like much, but remember, this is a light car. Once you get going, the 1.5 litre actually feels rather fast. There’s almost an old school VTEC-like second wind coming in above 4,000 rpm, and it gets beyond 100 km/h pretty quickly. Based on the extra performance, the 1.5 is well worth the price premium, in my opinion.

Now, rather than just saying that the 1.5 is faster than the 1.3, we set up a drag race to see just how big the difference is, with a previous-gen Myvi thrown in for good measure.

From start to finish, the new and old Myvi 1.5 were neck and neck, and they crossed the finish line together, while the 1.3 litre model lagged behind. This was translated to the 0-100 km/h times we recorded – the new Myvi 1.3 Auto did the run in 12.5 seconds, while the Myvi 1.5, both new and old, accomplished it in 11.5 seconds.

As for handling, it’s solid, but not great. It’s far more planted and stable compared to the old Myvi by a long shot, but the likes of the Iriz and Honda Jazz are still ahead. The steering now feels more connected, and you need far less steering corrections when you’re going fast on highways compared to the old Myvi. It also handles corners with more confidence and less body roll, and there’s certainly less of that nervousness that was evident in the old car when things got fast.

Ride has also been improved. Again, it’s not quite Jazz levels, but it’s a tangible improvement over the old car, especially at low speeds. On highway jaunts, the more relaxed steering, better NVH and more comfortable seats make this a better long distance cruiser than the old one.

It’s also far quieter and more refined inside, and numbers tell the whole story. On full throttle, we recorded a maximum of 77 dB in the new Myvi, compared to 81 dB in the old one. Even at a 110 km/h cruise, the new Myvi is far quieter, at 71 dB vs 73 dB in the old car. Having said that, we also drove the car in the rain, and the water splashing on the wheel wells can be quite loud, so, the NVH can still be improved further.

Lastly, fuel economy. Perodua claims that the new Myvi is up to 30% more economical than before. To verify that, we did a real world fuel test, covering over more than 400 km in a drive to Ipoh and back in the 1.3 and old/new 1.5.

The air-conditioning was set to mid levels on all three cars, and there were two driver stop points, with the three drivers always maintaining the same position in the convoy, regardless of car. Travel speed to Ipoh was 110 km/h (+/- 20 km/h), though the return trip was carried out in faster fashion as it was getting late. There was not much attempt to save fuel, because this was not a fuel saving competition style run.

In the end, the new Myvi 1.3 auto averaged 17.6 km/l in our test, slightly better than the new Myvi 1.5, which recorded 17.3 km/l. The old Myvi 1.5, meanwhile, did 15.1 km/l. Essentially, in our real world test, the new car is around 15% more economical than before. That’s not quite the 30% as claimed, but still a tangible improvement.

So there you have it, a comprehensive view of the all-new Perodua Myvi. It really is a big improvement over the old model. It looks better, has a more practical cabin, high quality interior, a lot of new convenience and safety features and as we found out, better NVH, fuel consumption and driving dynamics too.

It still has a few faults, of course, but they are very minor ones, and at these prices, there’s nothing else that comes even close to the new Myvi in value for money terms. Indeed, if you’re looking to buy a car under RM100k, do take a look at the Myvi first. It really is that good.

Check out CarBase.my for the full specifications breakdown of each individual Myvi model.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X (Peppermint Green Metallic)

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance (Granite Grey Metallic)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Dec 17, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Best thing about this myvi is people cannot stick the toyota/daihatsu badge and make it a jdm bullshit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
    • Why not? People had done it with with Waja.

• xoxox on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:34 am

lol…whatever u stick…u know it’s a myvi now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
        • Rahim Chik on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:51 am

Now we can see how Japanese brains have helped local company be successful.

We need more Japanese and China people in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
          • taksukakluar on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:36 pm

Dowan cozl ater money goes to jepunis overlord

• Zidane on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:35 am

and Savvy + Juara

• Haniff Long on Dec 18, 2017 at 11:47 am

1 month 20k
          3 months 60k

Same as 1 year proton sales. And Perodua got half of proton workforce

• nnono on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Pipu buy P2 because it is cheap not because it is good

• And people dont buy p1 because it is bad, not because it is expensive…i rather have a car that is not good instead of a bad car

• KL Has Ricer (2019) on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:54 am

with toyota badge or not, Test drove this already, perf and handling better than vios, city, preve, iris, axia, bezza, wira, waja, persona, camry, polo… u must test drive one to believe how awesome the new myvi in the real world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 72
        • The Bimmer on Dec 18, 2017 at 2:55 pm

What a laugh! Went with friend to test drive during the launch. Just ‘look’ at the car, okay, it’s a car, a small hatchback. Go open (and close) the door, OMG! The sounds! It’s not my cup of tea. Touch a bit harder the body, pffff~ Forget about it. Go and sit inside the car, here plastic feel, there plastic feel. The material quality? I rate ONE STAR. The only good to mention is the:
          1) wow~ a display with reverse cam. Front? Sorry.
          2) Bundled with the ASA, but limited to max 30km/h?! (If I not forget) maybe good to makcik2.
          The drive? Since that’s a new car and limited test drive time so can’t tell much. the handling, 2-star. Performance, good enough for daily normal drive. Comfort? So so~ The seat is soft but the quality — the PU feel. Change to backseat, when drive faster, feel bumpy. Take few quick cornering, okay I want to quit dy.
          Only one thing good, the price – 50k+. So i still recommend the friend to buy, since that’s his budget.
          ** Another thing, you get security film tinting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 45
          • Your dad’s car got ASA?

• Fanofthisite on Dec 23, 2017 at 4:37 pm

You do realise ppl are familiar with the existing myvi , right?

• Guna usaha sendiri on Mar 24, 2018 at 10:48 pm

You comparing tothe what? Second hand e90? Sama sama 50k :D just maybe add 3-5 times more for annual maintenance fees and triple the fuel consumption

• wahhh you wanna talk bout plastic interior here and there mehh? then how about honda city 2015 and above? joke

• Trucker on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:27 am

Because of P2 malaysian will always get a stripped down version of JDM and give an opportunity to opportunist daihatsu/toyota to price up high on malaysian market. Pls close shop!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
  • Joer234 on Dec 17, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Hardly a success story if over 15 years and it hasn’t sold more than 2 million units.

If foreign cars weren’t taxed as much as they are now this car will probably sell in the hundreds of units per month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 13
  • Rm appreciated 10% on Dec 17, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Hopefully price cut abit. Rm akan terus kukuh. Harga barangan semakin murah

• Bernard on Dec 17, 2017 at 8:35 pm

Everyone wants a reasonably good car but very few can afford it in Bolehland, hence they buy a Myvi. Therefore, it is no surprise it is a best seller. Are people happy with it? They have to be as what else can they do?

In America, a cashier at Walmart can buy a car better than a Myvi. Case in point.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 7
    • tiadaid (Member) on Dec 18, 2017 at 8:39 am

Really?

So can you explain to me why in America predatory lending for second hand cars are rampant to the point that people are charged interest up to 25% per annum for a car?

And can you explain to me why when I visited America I see plenty of old clunkers on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 49
      • Gilbert on Dec 18, 2017 at 1:12 pm

You wanna know why in america there are plenty of old clunkers? Its their mindset, some dont like to work, lazy…. Live on government welfare…. The ones that work, even a crappy job can easily afford a toyota corolla…

Example, a new camry only cost 150 bucks loan payment a month, a mercedes e class cost less than 600 a month… And minimum salary is 1000 a month… You never lived there, you just visited, dont judge the book by its cover before reading it through

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • RavenAii (Member) on Dec 31, 2017 at 12:45 am

Also, their mindset doesn’t mind driving a second hand, well might as well a third or fourth ownership of the car. Malaysian? “Oh the resale value is down already better sell the car eh.” Korean car is bad, Japanese brand is better. Like it or not that’s your mindset.

In the US, even if you work as a waitress, you still can afford a one storey single bedroom house and drive a first generation Toyota Yaris, and still live happily with friendly neighbours!

In Malaysia, you work as the Govn servant living in a two storey terrace house and buys a Proton as your daily driver, the makcik and aunties next door starts gossiping of how miserable your life is.

That is why, you don’t need to compare US and Malaysia. It’s totally different.

• right winger on Jan 19, 2018 at 12:08 pm

really? you mean to say that some one on the new min wage $15/hour, 40 hours/week (as per labor law there) which equates to $2400.00, gross pay/month, can afford all that you said?

• hazlan Amir on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:21 am

The high price for cars are all caused by Proton. this is the price Rakyat is paying for almost 30 years to protect the biggest automotive failure in the world. now that Proton is “Supposed to be Private” and owned partially by Geely, is time to reduce the car taxes and excise duty to make cars cheaper. its proton fault and they will take the curse of people with them that is why Karma hurts them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 11
      • Azlan on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:47 am

It’s not 100% Proton’s fault. We don’t charge excise and duty to keep Proton cars cheap, we charge it to bring up the automotive industry here. If any company sets up a factory here and produces car with local content they will get the same tax breaks.

Just because Geely owns 51%, it won’t change that fact either. It all depends whether the government wants to stop investing in the local automotive industry.

Also if all prices are reduced, you’ll have to raise prices on other things too for tax purposes. So think carefully about what you want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
        • hazzif on Dec 18, 2017 at 1:11 pm

the existence of proton is causing all this bro..
          if proton does not exist, people can work with toyota or honda or nissan as their volume will be much higher..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • Noname on Dec 18, 2017 at 5:04 pm

How about p2? The monopoly of cheap hatchback local market? I will take jazz anytime if priced similar to myvi.

• You must be a Perodua salesman.
        Work harder, be more creative and productive. Than you can afford a better car. Don’t blame others, it’s an easy cop out. There are many others who can buy luxury brands (look at the sales data) even with the “protected PROTON” cars around.

• is it the exact same engine used in the toyota vios?
    the engine code for vios is 2NR-FE
    while myvi’s engine code is 2NR-VE
    according to wiki, the former is using an aluminium block while the latter uses high-tensile steel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Dec 18, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Both use aluminium blocks. The 2NR-VE code basically means it’s the Daihatsu version of the engine, with slightly lower outputs, but they are both essentially the same, made in the same plant.

• Salman Hisham on Dec 21, 2017 at 6:47 pm

The 2 NR-VE is a mild Atkinson cycle motor with the delayed intake valve closing.Hence,the slightly lower power figures.There some changes to the bore to stroke ratio as well.

• Ahmadjr on Dec 17, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Tengok, takde susah sangat pun nak jual kereta. Buat design lawa (template banyak), minyak jimat, safety ok. Ni sampai berapa kali nak kena tongkat pasal apa? Kalau Naza yang beli P1 dulu dah lama untung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • Sad to say my 1.5 AV is not getting the FC as claimed by P2 ie 20.1km/l….it’s actually way way below. What is the criteria used by P2? Does Malaysia even have proper standards such as the JC08 used in Japan for example. If not why? Otherwise our car manufacturers can claim anything they want couldn’t they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
    • tiadaid (Member) on Dec 18, 2017 at 8:42 am

Have you ever considered that YOUR driving style is the contributory factor in your car’s high FC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • Bro…
      If you are driving at a constant speed of 90km/h and use eco idle system, I can guarantee you will get the same FC claimed by Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • Dokgo on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:03 am

City drive hard to achieve that figure but highway drive is possible.

• xem6861 on Dec 17, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Tsk habis habis pasal Myvi,macamlah bagus sangat. Dah lah rendah headroom.Lepas adjust seat,dashboard pulak tinggi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Vios GX on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:42 pm

Myvi engine 102hp-at 6000 rpm, 136Nm at 4200rpm lower performance than Vios engine 107hp at 6000 rpm and 140Nm at 4200rpm.. Not same engine for Myvi and Vios, and engine code names are slightly different.. Pls write correctly on the engine part number..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • True.
        Because P2 has retuned the engine to make sure the engine is fully optimize for a car like myvi

• Lawson on Dec 17, 2017 at 9:32 pm

Thumbs up. I had bought 3 preodua cars from 1994 until 2009. The last is Viva elite for about 39k. I would say that perodua car is of good value is only starting onwards from Axua. For 1994 kancil of 660 cc I paid 24k. It is a bare bone, 4 speed manual, not fuel injected etc etc etc. What could be better for this new myvi is to have programmed software to alert driver on engine oil change. Synthetic engine could easily last for 12,000km or 9 months which ever comes first.

• the KING is Here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
  • Head2Head on Dec 17, 2017 at 9:59 pm

(Like) Iriz.
    (Dislike) Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 22
  • Jaafar Karim on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Before the new Myvi, people may consider Iriz because of 2 reasons. It had VSC and more airbags.

Now, Myvi got VSC plus so many airbags PLUS

1) good after sales and first class support
    2) Excellent RV. Use 3 years also still can sell RM38k
    3) Time tested VVTI Toyota engine worth RM80k from Vios
    4) SC never say, “Biasalah bang, ini Proton”
    5) FC one of the best in the market
    6) Warranty claim also no dispute
    7) Perodua is cash rich. They don’t mind when you claim warranty
    8) Company not near bankruptcy. They give you high quality expensive parts to make the car.
    9) When claiming warranty Perodua company not worried they losing more money cause cash rich

So, of course now the No 1 choice is Myvi

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 17
  • EvereadyGirl on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:15 pm

choose Alternative, be smart.
    Touch ‘n Go card reader, Pure genius by P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Ajerul on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Perghhh MYVI 2018… meleleh beb!

• VtecKickin'Yo on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:31 pm

my Myvi @ 4,000rpm.

• kanazai2001 on Dec 17, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Where is the 1.5L MT?
    Dissapointed…

#2018MYVI1.5MT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • KIA RIO – Best refined HB
    Jazz – underpower
    Mazda2 – sempit
    Mirage – plastik
    Myvi – noisy, slow
    Iriz – nt relevant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 60
  • normal_user on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Ahah. The text is very much the same as the video review. Anyway, good review by Hafriz Shah. I just think that this Myvi has lost some practicality and lower driver seat position to meet its sporty look ambitions. Even with my thin and short build (5 feet 5), the low and short seat base does not support my thigh well, and there is not enough foot well space for me to extend my legs comfortably. If only Perodua can allow tilt-angle adjustment to its front seats.

OK about the powertrain. The Myvi’s engine codename is 2NR-VE, while Vios is 2NR-FE. Seems like VE is a ‘lower cost’ version of its FE sibling, because the Myvi’s engine noise is quite audible as compared to Vios (the latter did not even have a acoustic windscreen). The suspension comfort when running over bumps & road irregularities is also quite not up to its Toyota counterpart. Hopefully Perodua can address these issues.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Ibrahimovic on Dec 17, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Thank you for sharing these info.looking forward for the test drive.

• Kereta ni tak selamat, jgn bahayakan nyawa org lain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
  • Afeeq Hasan on Dec 18, 2017 at 6:00 am

Why is it that in the crash test video, the side curtain air bags don’t deploy?

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:36 am

Side curtain airbags only deploy in a side collision

• Gabriel on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:07 am

Saw one in red yesterday. It is a gorgeous car!

• Ben Yap on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:16 am

1.5, 102 hp and 136 Nm torque vs competitor 1.5, 172hp and 220 Nm torque.

What a big contrast! buck P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 29
  • MusTanG on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:25 am

Nice write up Hafriz. Though there’s some questionable remarks.

1. “Acoustic windscreen for improved noise, vibration and handling (NVH) aspects.”
    – You meant vibration & harshness right?

2. “Memory 2 for cold mornings or nights, and Memory 2 for hot sunny days”
    – Memory 1 and Memory 2 I assume.

3. Does the pictures were randomly put among the paragraphs?

4. Please don’t compare Myvi’s AEB with Ioniq’s or 3’s. Even though you did explain that it is far from Ioniq’s AEB, per say, but it may be misleading to some.

Just my 2cent.

Superb review.

• ali00 on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:17 am

Somehow I still like the previous exterious design of MyVi – looks sporty. Check the new myvi rear and i was like – what was that?

Hill climbing, it takes time to switch to lower gear – in my test drive case it didn’t even turn to lower gear but climbing like a turtle

• tokmoh. on Dec 18, 2017 at 11:33 am

For RM2k, I think it’s very worth topping up from 1.3 G to Premium X if you’re in this market. You get :

1. Eco-idle. I think it really helps to save quite some amount, especially if u drive in urban traffic most of the time. In my short 15 min test drive last week it activated for at least 3 minutes, I think the savings will stack up nicely, worth the premium having need to use special start-stop battery.

2. Rear seats headrest. For the sake of your passengers, it’d do them well to have the best whiplash protection.

3. Bluetooth radio, for best convenience to listen to your music on your phone.

The rest are aesthetics eg leather wrap steering wheel, buttons on steering wheel etc, but these 3 reasons are most outstanding to me to recommend topping up.

Other notable observations in my test drive are :

1. Throttle response noticably slower if coming from 2nd gen, perhaps that’s a given since 2nd gen still uses throttle cable vs drive-by-wire now. Still wish it could be faster response like City/Jazz.

2. Wing mirrors much smaller than 2nd gen. May need to go Mr DIY and get those tiny mirrors to aid view.

3. Wipers now use clip ala Iriz and Conti cars. A bit disappointed about this as harder and pricier to replace than current U hook type. City/Jazz still uses U hook and frameless contruct.

4. SA told me Mirror link can only be done by cable, really? It’d be ideal if can be done over bluetooth though.

5. As test drive in pure urban traffic, kinda curious the engine rev at 80kph and 110kph. Anyone can share?

6. ASA need to get really close to activate, too close to my comfort. By the first warning, my reflex made me brake myself to a stop. For normal driving, I would not want to rely on it at all, it’s strictly for emergency when I’m not in fit condition to drive or accident beyond my control happening.

• yawns on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:32 am

Myvi is a slow pickup car

• tokmoh. on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:32 pm

Impossibru, myvi can tailgate ferrari, lembugini, flash high beam summore, jangan persoal kelajuan myvi.

Another thing to say about myvi, it only has 1 tripmeter vs 2 in previous gen, a bit disappointing. Even if add on other info like average fc, live fc, eco idle timer, etc, it should be possible to also have 2 tripmeters.

• Truly Japanese reliability refinement and quality. This Toyota Myvi is light years ahead and way way more supreme and better than Proton best car Suprima S. Well down Perodua!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • Syafiq Syukri on Dec 18, 2017 at 6:22 pm

2017 perodua myvi not 2018 perodua myvi.

• RodaEmpat on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:02 pm

It will be great if you can carry out a comparison between Myvi 1.5 Advance and Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium. Myvi 1.3 versus Iriz 1.3.

• roketjack on Dec 21, 2017 at 10:00 am

everyone talking rubbish lah….try design a car and then try to sell it….hahahahaha

• Johan Asri on Dec 21, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Somehow I still like the previous exterior design of MyVi – looks sporty.

I would like to buy the Jazz but seeing the Myvi has me up all night thinking on which one. Jazz spec S seems much more valuable to me but with the price, the spec is much lower compared to the new Myvi.

Probably will consider the myvi, but my heart is strong with the honda jazz.

Will go again to the dealer to check both of the car since nearby my house.

• tokmoh. on Dec 26, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Jazz S doesn’t even have VSC. Absolutely not recommended at all.

If you’re stretching urself to merely get Jazz S, it’s questionable for you to proceed with a new Jazz.

Either get used Jazz E at least (got VSC), or get new Myvi.

• shahul hameed on Dec 22, 2017 at 11:53 am

New myvi 1.3x has sudden complete shut down problem something to do with idle stop?

• Alyaniff on Dec 25, 2017 at 9:42 am

I think it is a good car. But still I think the Proton Preve is the best all rounder. Handling and power for the sportman (you have to drive a Merc to appreciate its accelaration), space and comfort for the family, good fc for long distance and average for city drive (dont all car register average for city fc?) and best safety features. People will say the CVT moans but that is overstated. I have driven one (exec cvt) and the so called moans complement the sportiness driving but by all means please, dont let me stop you buy the new myvi!

• Jeevanash on Dec 27, 2017 at 9:41 am

I love myvi

• Daniel on Dec 29, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Value for money is an understatement. It would be perfect if front and rear armrest is available as add-on option. One thing that disappointed me is the length of the rear seats. They shouldn’t have compromise that (sacrifice comfort of our legs) just to squeeze more legs room. If we need more legs room = we need more support for our legs when we sit. Doesn’t make sense Perodua. The width of front seats felt more narrow as well.

Other than that, it’s perfect!

• Wai Lung on Dec 30, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Thanks Hafriz for the test drive report. It is informative and it delivered the info that I require.

• jesse on Jan 03, 2018 at 2:14 pm

Title says “full road test review” but 80% of the article is describing the features of the car, and just 20% on how it drives…why?

• Paloi on Jan 22, 2018 at 7:37 pm

Test drove the myvi yesterday and was disappointed with how it drives esp with the comfort, handling and NVH which i can say it’s at the poor side.. Perodua, you have the design, the built quality but you lack of driving refinement.

• Ashvin on Feb 01, 2018 at 4:48 am

I think it’s too close to Toyota yaris e, european model. Look, interior dashboard, c pillar, size, engine. It makes sense to base it on an existing car but they don’t have to admit it.

• KlDriver on Feb 02, 2018 at 11:23 am

Not bad city car with good features and good fc, but built quality inside are actually no good, rattles everywhere just after 1 months even advanced version. Soundproofs lost to persona by far, can hear engine roaring, loud tyre sound even at 60 km/hr.

• I thought it was using avanza engine?

• Thanks for your detailed analysis on Myvi. I am just a regular driver looking to buy a new car for daily use. Thanks for your unbiased list of pros and cons on Myvi.

• Bought this 1.3 AT Daihatsu Sirion in Indonesia and currently not yet reaching 1K km, overall is nice affordable hatchback way much better than Indonesian LCGCs (ayla, agya, datsun Go, Honda Brio) with some note:
    – Hard suspension
    – Sluggish acceleration, can it be tuned ?
    – Reverse camera not having guideline, almost useless when you can only see cctv like view
    – No clock, even in-dash unit, its annoying when you can’t just glance to know the time, I’m not wearing watch and my phone always in pocket most of the time.

Overall good price/performance for budget hatchback.