2018 Perodua Myvi gets five-star ASEAN NCAP rating

The 2018 Perodua Myvi has been awarded a five-star safety rating from the New Car Assessment Program for Southeast Asian Countries (ASEAN NCAP). The safety rating is applicable to all variants of the five-door hatch, from the 1.3 Standard G (MT) to the range-topping 1.5 Advance.

The new Myvi follows ASEAN NCAP’s 2017-2020 protocol (details here), which now includes a score for Safety Assist Technologies (SAT). This joins the revised Adult Occupant Protection (AOP) and Child Occupant Protection (COP) tests. The latter now accounts for side impact protection (a further 16 points) and head protection technologies (another 4 points) for a total of 36 points (previously 16 points max).

In the AOP test, the new Myvi scored 32.71 out of 36 points, which represents a 90.9% compliance. As a comparison, the previous, four-star-rated Myvi (tested in 2015) scored 11.55 out of 16 points, a 72.2% compliance; the five-star-rated Proton Iriz (tested in 2014) got 14.07 out of 16 points (87.9% compliance).

As for the COP test, the 2018 Myvi was given a score of 43.14 out of 49 points (88% compliance). By comparison, the previous car managed 34.83 out of 49 points (71.1% compliance); the Iriz scoring 40.06 out of 49 points (81.8% compliance).

Standard safety kit on all variants include four airbags (dual front and side), ABS with EBD, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC), Traction Control (TRC), emergency stop signal, reverse sensors and Isofix child seat anchors for the second row.

The 1.5L variants pile on two more airbags for a total of six (dual front, side and curtain), but only the 1.5 Advance gets the Advanced Safety Assist (ASA) suite of safety and driver assistance systems. These include Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC).

As a refresher, PCW warns you when a collision is about to happen, PCB is low-speed autonomous emergency braking, while FDA alerts you when the car in front has moved on (in a traffic jam), saving you from being honked by the car behind. PMC detects an obstruction in front, and will not allow the car to accelerate. You can find out more on ASA and its functions, here.

For more information about the 2018 Perodua Myvi, check out our comprehensive launch report and spec-by-spec comparison posts. We’ve also driven the five-door hatch, and you can read our first drive review, here.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally praise the Perodua Myvi's safety rating, highlighting its five-star ASEAN NCAP score for the 2018 model, especially for the 1.3G variant with 4 airbags. Many appreciate the value for money, safety features, and good build quality, despite some debates about the number of airbags deployed during crash testing. There’s also discussion about missing features like the temperature gauge and the number of airbags not deploying, but overall, the consensus is positive about the car's safety standards. While some off-topic comments about octane ratings and other unrelated issues surface, most focus on the Myvi's safety, reliability, and market success. Several comments also express confidence that the Myvi will continue to dominate sales and emphasize Malaysia's preference for affordable, safe vehicles.

• But knowledgeable commenters here says ASEANNCAP taboleh pakai wor. So better use ANCAP rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • So john, any wise words for P1?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
      • ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:48 pm

Only one way to survive for p1…all models reduced price by 20%, new boyue car price otr Rm 55 – 60k, improve after sales service (serious problem)… Hopefully those steps can help p1 survive…

• Castilo on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:44 am

(Like) owned a Proton car now or b4.
          (Dislike) never own 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • balldisc on Nov 18, 2017 at 9:42 am

unfortunately the after sales service side is already cancer stage 4… the only way to overcome is let the old staff dead. they were corrupted with their own way of doing things.

• John Tongsan on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:50 am

HPF – Hopeless Proton Forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
      • I Hate Left-Side Signal Stalk on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:47 am

Yes Myvi signal stalk still on right-side steering wheel.

Perodua never annoy its buyers unlike Proton.

• ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:54 pm

U gotta know that we Malaysians get second class or even third class classification eg we use ron 95 as standard, jpn use ron 99 as standard, we compare cars against asean ncap but other compare against global ncap, our ringgit 4.5 equal US 5, Singapore 1.3 dollar equal us 1…just imagine where we are…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
      • ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:56 pm

Our ringgit 4.5 equal us 5….sorry typo error

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Our ringgit 4.5 equal US 1!!!….Sorry typo error again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
          • Dug Ong on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:54 am

Better just shut up. From your writing alone, you showed everyone that you are spurring Cow Kaka.

• tiadaid (Member) on Nov 17, 2017 at 3:27 pm

Yes, because there are plenty of third class Malaysians like you.

• sub_zero on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:55 pm

so country like USA and some part of europe who still use ron 89, 92 and sometimes 95 are third class? topkek

it’s never about the RON it’s all about EURO (not the other EURO emission standard) rating

what’s the point having RON 100 when it’s euro2 petrol grade when you USA can have euro5 grade petrol on RON 89 which is to be honest the cheapest shit they can get?

• SickofMisinformation on Nov 25, 2017 at 2:58 pm

“so country like USA and some part of europe who still use ron 89, 92 and sometimes 95 are third class? topkek’

Please dont comment if you dont know what you are talking about. The octane rating in USA is different to the rest of the world.

It is never about the emission standard when it comes to performance.

• Dug Ong on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:52 am

Nonetheless, kudos Perodua for taking your customers’ concern about the safety aspect of your cars seriously.

Safer cars for Malaysia.

Now it’s your turn Proton. 2017 is the end of low quality, fuel hungry cars.

• safety 1st on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:36 pm

Think safety, think of your loved ones. P2 myvi Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Wowzerz on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Wowww whatta good Friday tmr ! TGIF !!

• Ibnu bakrin on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Haha Kudos Perodua. What’s next? Export?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • James on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:43 pm

Haha Kudos PT team.
      Myvi updates came Fast & furious

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • 12yrsold on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:34 am

Yah, they kept their promise of streaming anything & everything Myvi. Look at the numbers of Myvi article. I’m already bored seeing/reading about Myvi.

• John Gagal on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Conclusion: Game over for Proton. No need to hoo-ha about HPF panels anymore. Better spend more time to learn Mandarin faster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:54 pm

Tak payah pening, tak payah fikir. Beli je Myvi 2018, RV ada, ASA ada, smartag ada…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • old horse on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:58 pm

clap clap clap!! well done!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Someone on Nov 17, 2017 at 12:01 am

Yup. fuel price up? no problem…Myvi save fuel.
      clap clap clap!! well done P2!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • camtakpro on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Side impact why no side curtains airbag deployed?

• they tested the 1.3G variant

• Nameless on Nov 17, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Then side airbag should deploy.
        To be fair get this car to retest at euroNcap

• kzm (Member) on Nov 17, 2017 at 1:11 am

because they test lower variant.

• kikiki on Nov 17, 2017 at 4:36 am

I think this is not the Advance variant, which the only variant with side curtain airbags, I think.
      If you mean side airbag, it’s normally located at the side of the seat. But in the video I couldn’t see it deployed though.

• john is otak batu on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:04 am

many ppl dont understand the purpose of airbags. they are there to reduce risk of occupant injuries in the event of collision. it is not there to enhance vehicle strengh or protection to the body in accident.

airbag has nothing to do with the crash scores – except in the occupant protection evaluation.

• suomynona on Nov 18, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Correction: The 1.5L variants (High & Advance) got side curtain airbags.

• alldisc on Nov 18, 2017 at 9:45 am

side airbag is small in size, and positioned low. in the video it’s view was blocked by child seat.

• talldisc on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:05 pm

If the Asean ncap has been revised, would proton persona and iriz remain 5 stars(since it was tested 3 yrs ago) ? Both are lacking in the autonomous equipment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Nov 17, 2017 at 1:13 am

they follow protocol they use that time..it is still valid

• Oliver on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Why is the ASEAN ncap test only shows 2 air bags?
    Is 2 air bags good enough for 5 stars?
    Where are the 6 air bags??

• Perodua is one of ASEAN ncap sponsor believe it or not. It’s an ASEAN way of doing things regardless blatant conflict of interest it is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Sammy Loo on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:16 pm

This Myvi will conquer all the sales be it new or used in coming years. Reliable, safe, fuel economic, low maintenance car and with good RV!

Soon to come up with a slogon “Every house has a Myvi”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Meoworld on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:18 pm

Why only 2 airbags deployed during the crash? CRV crash test showed 6 airbags are deployed (front, side and curtain).

• pearjai on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:37 pm

First gen n second use passo n boon n now use auris 2012 chassis! While vios lose to far with city but then their use p2 proxy. The good news this is the best car for sub 60k n same time kacau city sale! But still have some weakness. While toyota prepare new auris with 2018 tnga platform we just get leftover toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • karam singh on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:59 am

wrong. Mk.III myvi using modified Mk.II Myvi platform. extended in the wheelbase.

no involvement with Auris in anyway whatsoever. doen spread fake news, like the one claiming Proton Waja shares chassis with Volvo S40 Mk.I – the S40 can fit Mitsubishi 4G93 GDI while Waja can fit in the same (since it has 4G18). they are just sharing engine mounting points.

• Oh wow, are you perodua ceo? you seem to know evertyhing

• Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:03 pm

Amazing whether Perodua got 5 star rating or not, it will still sell. Why? Cause the company is consumer oriented and they don’t bull to the customer. Also, they take after sales seriously.

Other car companies also got 2 or 3 with 5 star NCAP. But sales are so bad. the 5 Star NCAP cars infact have failed.

Why? Cause rakyat know when a car company is sincere or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:41 pm

Agreed here… P1 car got 5 star ncap but the engine and gearbox sucks…makan minyak and pick up like shit…people nowadays looks thing at all angles… Safety, power train, reliability, fuel consumption, maintenance cost, after sales service, features, aesthetic looks and car price… Everything have to be balanced and safety feature might be enhanced, P2 is doing very well here…all the factors balanced and safety enhanced… Research well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Hmm.. Looks a bit like the Iriz in front. Eagerly awaiting your website’s review.

• ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Doesn’t matter on the looks as it’s quite nice… Another plus point the engine and gearbox is purely toyota design although manufactured locally, not so sure about the engine but the gearbox confirmed manufactured at Sendayan, then the overall packaging features is excellent with top notch safety features and at the same time maintain the car price… Kudos P2…

• Engine is also manufactured here. The Vios 1.5 Dual VVTi engine is also manufactured by Perodua.

• John L on Nov 17, 2017 at 1:23 pm

What’s with the downvotes? Did I say it looks bad? Gosh, what is the mentality of Perodua fanboys?

• ccy7218 on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:24 pm

Speechless!!! P2 doing excellent job here!!! Habislah p1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • hoorayooi on Nov 17, 2017 at 4:52 am

Temperature gauge is missing, only blue and red low cost idiot lights.

• ex-VGM staff on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:31 am

small issue lah. that means the cooling system is very good. hey, do you know that early 200 mercedez c class (W203) also has no thermometer @ temp gauge?

cut cost is it??

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 17, 2017 at 6:33 pm

That’s why i am quite frustrated when i get know that temperature gauge is missing for new Myvi compared with previous two generation Myvi (they omit based on ‘assumption’ that thing is not important and drivers never pay attention into it anyway). Frankly, i did experience engine overheating when i was still learning to drive (L license) with a driving school car (5 years old Kancil that time with 300k km mileage) and immediately alerted my driving instructor about this (to stop the car at safe place and let him sorted out before continue my practical session – hill slope and parking). Another time was due to thermostat jammed while driving on the road causing temperature gauge to rise more than half with aircond not blowing cool air in my car (then i proceed to drive slowly with all electronic equipment and aircond turned off to reduce load to the engine and temperature gauge slowly went back to normal position before proceed to workshop for repair). Imagine if there was no temperature gauge (only cheapo blue and red icon), whole engine might get burned/condemned before realised the car overheating by waiting red light comes out, even in a well maintained car.

• suomynona on Nov 18, 2017 at 1:41 pm

You know what’s scarier? I can’t find the red idiot light! Got the blue one to show that the engine is cold la, but hot means how?

https://s1.paultan.org/image/2017/11/2018-Perodua-Myvi-brochure-9.jpg

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 19, 2017 at 5:08 pm

If abnormally hot, the red idiot light will comes out with 2 scenarios.

1) Flashing red idiot light (that means drive slowly and turn off all electronic equipment and air cond to reduce chances of overheating)
        2) Continuously lit up (need to find the safe place to stop the car ASAP since the car already overheat badly, if burnt gasket or engine smoking out before the red light comes out, good luck)

For me, temperature gauge is still required (i did highlight this also), but not necessary in analogue form (a digital or bar display is good enough since it take much less space on instrument display plus more accurate reading compared with analogue temperature gauge). Even speedometer also went to digital for some modern cars.

• Airbags inspector on Nov 17, 2017 at 6:05 am

The side airbags didn’t deploy in the side impact crash test? Thought they had minimum 4 airbags.

• Oooo.. must bang car front to open fuel cap.. lolx

• Realworld Driver on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:51 am

How come the side this can be 5-Star NCAP when there is no side airbag deploy during side impact??! This test passes??

• vincent on Nov 17, 2017 at 9:42 am

I am more curious to know how does it fare in EuroNCAP or ANCAP?

• To those Perodua haters, before making any negative comments, you need to have your eyes checked or perhaps learn how to read properly first. On the result page, it clearly says 1.3G. This clearly shows that Perodua is not fooling the public by submitting their highest Advance spec for NCAP rating. Please have a positive mindset and be proud of what Perodua has achieved so far. This new Myvi is probably the best value for money car and most importantly a much much safer car, that most of the Malaysians can afford. Malaysians asked for cheap price tag with bagful of features so Perodua has delivered it. Kudos!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • Meoworld on Nov 17, 2017 at 6:46 pm

The 1.3G have 4 airbags (front and side), but only 2 front airbags are deployed during the crash test. Shoud it be all airbags are deployed? Which condition of the crash will deploy all 4 airbags?

• To those Perodua haters, before making any negative comments, you need to have your eyes checked or perhaps learn how to read properly first. On the result page, it clearly says 1.3G. This clearly shows that Perodua is not fooling the public by submitting their highest Advance spec for NCAP rating. Please have a positive mindset and be proud of what Perodua has achieved so far. This new Myvi is probably the best value for money car and most importantly a much much safer car, that most of the Malaysians can afford. Malaysians asked for cheap price tag with bagful of features so Perodua has delivered it.

• calibre16 on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:34 am

“…while FDA alerts you when the car in front has moved on (in a traffic jam), saving you from being honked by the car behind.”
    Should have been called Handphone Playing Assist then.

• MYvi lover on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:02 am

100% buatan Malaysia? Macam body toyota auris. Terang2 cakap pakai toyota engine.

• KRSDY on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:25 am

ANCAP actually no one trust la.

• PT reader on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:26 am

Sorry, this is generation myvi use plastic fuel tank?

• Nameless on Nov 17, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Those empty bags from the curtain and side didn’t deploy out when the beam hits the side of the car.
    Like that also can passed !

• Angela Tan on Nov 17, 2017 at 6:49 pm

Does it even matter what people say about the Myvi? It’s still going to sell in obscene numbers and everyone from your neighbour to the kitchen contractor that installed your cabinets will buy one.

• MulutLongkang on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:02 pm

ASEAN NCAP but why donthe test in JARI??? Car develop in Japan meh? What about ASEAN NCAP facilities in Melaka?? Perodua sent the car to Japan? Or straight from Daihatsu factory?

• AbgLongFadhil on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Why JARI? Japan Automotive Research Institute sticker on the car. Are this done in Melaka or Japan??? Its Asean NCAP?????

• Animal on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Bila kete dh safety complaint bila kete safety kurang complaint cb org malaysia