SPYSHOTS: 2019 Hyundai Veloster Turbo uncovered

We already know that the next-generation Hyundai Veloster will be making its debut next month at the 2018 North American International Auto Show (NAIAS) in Detroit, seven years after the original Veloster surfaced at the same show. Hyundai has released some teaser pics of the 2019 Veloster in camo, but here’s a much better look at the sporty compact coupe.

The Korean carmaker is currently shooting the car for promotional material, and despite the clandestine operation happening in the middle of the night over the weekend, our car paparazzi managed to get a few shots of the new Veloster in motion, completely uncovered.

Now that we’ve seen both sides of the new Veloster, it can be confirmed that the coupe’s unique asymmetrical door configuration – two doors on one side and one on the other – has made it past the first-gen. There’s a big hexagonal grille up front (with some strange curves at the sides) and the headlamps are both smaller and sharper than before. The LED daytime running lights cradle the main beams. Air curtains can be found at the edges of the bumper.

The car pictured here has a two-tone paint scheme, with black covering the roof and A pillars. Black also plays contrast on the lower end – on the front lips, side skirts and rear bumper. This Veloster appears to have sportier proportions (we’re expecting it to be longer and wider) and sharper edges than the original; the latter means it looks more like the Honda CR-Z as a result.

The rear end is a big improvement, with longer lamp clusters replacing the old blob. The letterbox rear screen is also now longer, which emphasises the width of the car better. Like in the Elantra AD, there are triple elements in the rear lights, but we can’t make up the shape yet. This is likely to be the Turbo model, with two round central pipes.

Expect Gamma T-GDi turbocharged engines with Hyundai’s own dual-clutch automatic gearbox and a six-speed manual. Hyundai seems to be keeping faith with the stick shift, launching its first hot hatch and N model (the i30 N) with the sole choice of a DIY gearbox – and that’s good news for enthusiasts. Will there be a Veloster N with the i30 N’s 275 PS/353 Nm engine in the future?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kimchi on Dec 19, 2017 at 12:05 pm

Nice I would say.

Hyundai Malaysia, if you are reading this, I wish you can allow buyers to order i30N performance or any series with manual option, it will bring a lot of fun and smile to Malaysians.

Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • asymmetrical door configuration = still a silly idea

• i think it looks very cool

• 12yrsold on Dec 19, 2017 at 2:45 pm

Nampak macam sama saja. Hanya Led lighting berbeza.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Please bring Hynudai i30 N to Malaysia!

• thepolygonal on Dec 20, 2017 at 9:05 am

You are right. I mistaken it for a stretched CRZ on the second posted picture with it’s side profile.