Hyundai i30 N – 275 PS and 353 Nm, six-speed manual

Hyundai has finally unveiled the i30 N, its first sports model under its performance-based N sub-brand line up. The new car – spied previously on trial at the Nurburgring – will be launched across Europe later this year, and it’s set to take the fight to rivals such as the Volkswagen Golf GTI and Ford Focus ST.

The front-wheel drive i30 N is powered by a 2.0 litre Theta T-GDI turbocharged engine, with two output tunes being available. In its standard form, the mill delivers 250 PS at 6,000 rpm and 353 Nm at 1,450 to 4,000 rpm, and performance numbers include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.4 seconds and a 250 km/h top speed.

A Performance Package bumps up the power on the twin-cam E-CVVT mill to 275 PS at 6,000 rpm, with torque remaining the same at 353 Nm. No change to the top speed, but the higher output tune gets the car to the century mark from standstill a shade faster at 6.1 seconds. Only one transmission for now, and that’s a six-speed manual ‘box with, as the automaker puts it, a strong clutch that’s built to last.

Based on the regulation i30, the N variant has been dressed up with aggressive-looking front and rear bumpers, a new rear spoiler finished in gloss black, twin tailpipes as well as black bezels for the headlamps.

The brand’s Cascading Grille features, marked with a N badge, and the front splitter gets a red accent to hike up the visual presence. The side sills are finished in black, while the outside mirror caps are of the gloss black variety.

The i30 N also gets an increased wheel arch, and in standard form sits on 18-inch wheels and 225/40 Michelin tyres, while the Performance Package version wears 19-inch units, wrapped with 235/35 Pirelli P-Zero high-performance Hyundai N tyres. The N sits lower than the regular five-door i30, four millimetres lower with the 18-inch wheels and eight millimetres lower with the 19-inchers

The 275 PS variant also gets red N brake calipers and larger 18-inch front, 17-inch rear brake discs (on the standard, 17-inch and 16-inch respectively) and adds on an electronic limited slip differential (E-LSD) and a variable exhaust valve system.

Plenty of performance-oriented gear on this one, the list including an electronic-controlled adjustable suspension, rev matching, launch control and lap timer, among others.

The car also features a rack-mounted motor driven power steering system (R-MDPS), with its electric steering assist system located in the steering gear – the automaker says the design offers a very high output and is designed even for track day driving with cup tires.

To increase driving fun for those who seek such thrills, the electronic stability control (ESC) can be switched off completely for maximum freedom, and the car also features an overboost function, which increases torque (+8%) and acceleration (+6-7%) on short bursts.

Five drive modes are available (Eco, Normal, Sport, N and N Custom), offering a broad range of configurations, from comfort-oriented daily commuting to race track performance. Selectable via two dedicated buttons on the steering wheel, the different modes change the character of the car, adjusting the high-performance parameters of the engine, the dampers, ESC, E-LSD, sound, steering and rev matching.

Unique bits in the i30 N’s interior include dedicated high-performance sport seats, with lumbar support and extendable seat cushions. Available in a combination of suede and leather or cloth, the seats also come with a stamped N logo on the back rest. There’s also an N steering wheel, which gets blue stitching and an N logo, the last also being found on the gear shift knob.

Elsewhere, the car’s electronic instrument cluster provides display of a shift timing indicator, and the red zone of the variable LED rev-counter changes according to the driving performance and varies with the engine’s oil temperature.

Other novelties include a G-Force meter for live performance tracking – this, along with lap and acceleration times are displayed via the free-floating central screen, which comes as a five-inch unit as standard, with an eight-inch touchscreen available as an option. Mod cons include Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support as well as Qi-standard wireless inductive charging pad for mobile phones.

Safety systems on the i30 N include Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) and a Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), and European customers will get the benefit of Speed Limit Information Function (SLIF), which displays speed limits in real time.

Six exterior colours will be available for the car, including an exclusive Performance Blue paint, which was introduced with the start of the brand’s WRC engagement in 2014 and has represented the N line up ever since. The other shades are Clean Slate, Polar White, Micron Grey, Phantom Black and Engine Red.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 14, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Amazing how Hyundai has so much of research and development that they can squeeze 275 PS from a just mere 2.0.

this is what you call hard work and research. This is why Hyundai can sell 8 million cars globally cause everyone knows, Hyundai works hard and they do so much of research to come out with great products.

Time for Malaysia to learn a thing or two

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 28
    • Learn? 275PS from 2L is not something impressive. Early 90s car alredi get that much and more.
      Get that figure in an ever downsizing engines, now thats something worth to learn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 49
      • John Fake News Poster on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Hyundai make good Elantra turbo too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
        • Copy paste kunta on Jul 14, 2017 at 7:29 pm

See same post every time when it come to hyundai or kia topic. Penat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 27
        • John Fake News Poster on Jul 14, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Bila mintak kerja, selalu kata penat atau letih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • vladimir on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Betui…Proton Prevé’s puny 1.6 CFE turbo good for 138 hp. Hyundai must learn from Proton instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
        • Defacto on Jul 14, 2017 at 5:21 pm

CFE can churn out 240nm torque if no gearbox limitation. Get your fact right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • RnDthenwrite on Sep 27, 2017 at 8:35 pm

Actually Stock 142 remap 151, limited because of cvt ask any petrolhead

• Mana itu Altis tebo? Oh wai…

• safety 1st on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:25 pm

john – the 90’s evo or impreza engine cant meet the emission regulation as well as super thirsty… nobody in europe would buy that…. nowadays the challege is to get the power, fuel efficiency and emission all in one

• The same moot point as comparing CFE with this EU specific engine. CFE cud have been tuned for higher perf in temperate climate, but CFE needs to withstand tropical climes like in MY.
          Bashers aint comparing apple to apple, so neither will i

• Kancil Hybrid on Jul 14, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Betul. Nothing new. 4G63 standard dah 280 hp. That was in the 90’s.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 16, 2017 at 2:25 am

4G63T you say.

Not sure if you own one. But i do. A 330hp one at that. Know how thirsty that engine is and what sort of detuning it needed every time it needed to go pass the emmisions test??

My only beef is it needs 6.1 seconds to 100 with that much power and torque. Something is not right.

• Make it reliable may be a tough one.

• kangkung mahal on Jan 26, 2018 at 11:01 am

boi u should watch professional car review appreciates this car on youtube, not like you dumbwit who keeps bashing korean cars for copying design just bcs u said the peter schreyer lacks of creativity, maybe u can do some research from where he came from?

• Proton orso spent alot research and development $$

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • 12yrsold on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:27 pm

U are right. P1 happily spend billions on R&D & the Rakyat have to pay for the bills, a Hefty one I must say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
        • My england is bad on Jul 14, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Ek eleh kau bayar cukai 1 million? Dun talk big la budak. Dah dah pegi study

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • P1 is not the only one. Gov gips rebates and incentives for R&D in MY. Its called Value Added Economy.

• Merc A45 amg put out 381 hp in new update (360hp pre update). Hyundai will not squeeze more than 300 hp probably because the i30n is front wheel driven, while the a45 amg is all wheel drive. Malaysian can easily pass 400hp with some tuning on their 2.0 turbo engine. Again, reliability and cost is always be the issue.

• Kangkung with Cheese on Jul 14, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Well said. Merc F1 1.6L Turbocharged engine churning 850–950 horsepower.

• Turboed on Jul 14, 2017 at 5:25 pm

That with what setting? Twincharger? Twin turbo? Any brand can do but the maintenance cost will cost you arm and leg

• Hyundaiman on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:27 pm

You’re comparing a Merc and a Hyundai? Great job Hyundai, now they are comparing your brand to a Merc! Keep up the good work Hyundai

• safety 1st on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:27 pm

kind of flatter when the bery first N product being compared with AMG product haha… it stated there their main rival is the gti bro…its within the price range.. more power = better material=expansive

• ah loy on Jul 14, 2017 at 10:28 pm

Any GDI engine and DCT gearbox cars in Malaysia is useless..too expensive both for the car itself and much more for maintenance..it’s Resale Value going down a half in 2 years and almost 1/3 after 5 years..it is stupid to buy one!

• kesharoo on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Wow, looks great. Now for the price and availability in Malaysia….

• kiddd on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:00 pm

If equip with dct, it will be more fun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • hazamiey on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:39 pm

pretty sure it will be the most exciting hatch to drive. problem is it still looks cheap compared to rivals

• applegreen on Jul 14, 2017 at 2:58 pm

most rivals in luxury brand. This one is the 1st attempt by hyundai

• 2.0, FWD, 6 speed manual, 250hp & 275hp, 353nm torque, 0-100 6.4 & 6.1. The specs are identical with Megane RS 250 & 275. If the drive is as fun as the Megane RS and sell at a cheaper price. It sure is bang for the buck.

• safety 1st on Jul 14, 2017 at 4:30 pm

thats the challege being tasked to the ex BMW M division’s chief and another guy whom hyundai employed who was responsible tuning the AMG cars

• Karma Coming on Jul 14, 2017 at 6:29 pm

When Proton gonna make a 200hp engines???? zzzzzzz…….

• Later basher says syiok sendiri engine, wasting money coz pipu just want fuel efficient car

• nonama on Jul 14, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Elantra turbo still no review on handling etc officially launched a month ago..honda blablabla even not launching has every single details etc…PT..why are u so bias…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 14, 2017 at 7:02 pm

We are only driving the Elantra Turbo next week.

• Look forward to read it

• nonama on Jul 15, 2017 at 8:47 am

Pls do a comparison with honda 1.5 turbo too as it is a direct match …people would like to know which 1 is better…

• bringbackmanual on Jul 14, 2017 at 11:58 pm

sadly it wont do well here since malaysian driver dont know how to drive manual

• uvuveyeyeyeye osas on Jul 15, 2017 at 1:46 am

dont know hot to drive manual? are you kidding me ? even majority people who apply the driving license also learn that manual gearbox, how you can come with this statement? bro, this is malaysia la bro. not US

• MY drivers after get P, all dah lupa. Lupa how to use manual, lupa undang undang, lupa what is signal stalk for, lupa gud manners, lupa all civility. Deswai ‘P’ on window means Pelupa.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jul 15, 2017 at 7:43 am

The front is so Lancer