Volkswagen produced over six million vehicles in 2017

Looks like it’s good news again for the Volkswagen Group. Its core brand, Volkswagen, has finally breached the six million manufacturing mark in 2017 – a first for the company.

This production milestone is contributed primarily by its all-time best-sellers, such as the Jetta, Golf, Passat and Polo. Growth is also backed by the strong demand for newer models like the Tiguan, T-Roc and the sleek Arteon, whereas the Santana remains a strong performer in the Chinese market.

“More than six million vehicles produced in 12 months – there is one thing that this shows above all: our plants and employees are continually improving their production competence,” said Thomas Ulbrich, board member of Volkswagen. “We have top teams in production which successfully master growing demand from customers.”

In total, Volkswagen has more than 50 production facilities located in 14 countries, with a global product portfolio of over 60 models. Last year, the company introduced 10 new global models, and its ageing portfolio is expected to be refreshed with new models in the coming years. Apparently, by 2020, there will be 19 SUVs made for the global market, and 40% of its model range will be comprised of SUVs and crossovers.

At the turn of the decade, Volkswagen will roll out a family of all-electric vehicles based on the brand new MEB platform. Such cars include the likes of the I.D., the I.D. Crozz and the I.D. Buzz. As part of the new, large-scale Roadmap E strategy, the automaker plans to sell one million Battery Electric Vehicles (BEVs) by 2025.

To recap, the VW Group’s Roadmap E promises that around one in four new vehicles produced by the group will be a full EV. This could mean up to three million EVs a year, and Volkswagen is looking to electrify its entire model portfolio by 2030. The company has invited tenders for one of the largest purchasing volumes ever, with plans to spend over 50 billion euros on battery cells.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Jeffri Taib on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:30 am

VW doing so well despite scandal. This means their cars are good. Pity Proton was too arrogant. VW wanted to marry Proton so bad. But Proton aksi.

Otherwise Proton will be a billion ringgit profit company now. And Malaysians can enjoy rebadged Tiguan and rebadged Polo.

We will be so proud to drive a Proton Tiguan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Musang King on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:49 pm

Agreed. P1 wud add atleast 1 more million to Volkswagen 6 million vehicles.

• DSGsuck on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:31 pm

Say no to problematic DSG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
        • Snarttess on Jan 02, 2018 at 5:43 pm

Please keep your narrow-minded, ill-informed outdated and incomplete information to yourself. TQ

• Proton oh Proton on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:36 am

Pls improve your service quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • VW NOT FOREVER K on Jan 02, 2018 at 11:40 am

And more than 3 million are in workshops ..well done

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • VW IS YOUR FUTURE on Jan 02, 2018 at 12:49 pm

Please study VW history first before criticising them

• Love hate VW on Jan 02, 2018 at 1:20 pm

Study? Check out the second hand price for VW car and you will save your time to study :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
        • Thinker on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:12 pm

Whatever lah, they own Audi Porsche Betley Ducati Skoda..u think they r stupid aaa with 50. Billion Eu to spend? U just keyboard warrior ..wife kids also cannot afford

• Against Blind Basher on Jan 02, 2018 at 4:35 pm

Clearly you don’t own any continental car. The depreciation rate of those continentals are about the same. Suggest you to spend some time to study before commenting. :)

• 12yrsold on Jan 02, 2018 at 2:29 pm

Car business is GUD business. Why!! Bcos cars sold need replacement of parts. This is where $$$ are made. VW & Toyo are smart companies. They sell millions of cars every year.

After selling, its the spare parts that will bring in the revenue, profits/business. This is what happen when you think long term.