An open letter to all plug-in hybrid users – public EV charging bays aren’t parking slots, or personal spaces

Dear plug-in hybrid user,

We think it’s time we had a talk about etiquette and common sense, seeing as the landscape has altered with regards to charging stations and how they are perceived and used, and how just about everyone is turning into a cretin in how they’re approaching the matter.

The beginnings – in the public domain – were civil enough, for the most. There weren’t that many charging stations, sure, but there were also very few vehicles able to utilise these in proper fashion, and so there was little contention, save the odd idiot or five who took up space in these designated lots with regular fossil fuel-burning vehicles simply because it was a convenient – and usually prime – parking space.

They still exist, and they always will, but let’s try to address something closer to home first. The proliferation of plug-in hybrids in recent times – brought about by favourable incentives on that front – means that there are quite a number of you out there now, and the like-minded crowd is sure to grow.

Now, some of you may have bought your car because of a strong belief in a going green, save-the-planet philosophy. Some of you may have bought it on the appeal of the technology, the leading edge of what should be the next stage of automotive evolution, along with the idea that it could mean trimming the fuel bill. Most, however (and this is an informed guess), may have bought their rides simply because of the savings to be had on reduced excise duties and taxes. Nothing like a deal, really.

Whatever the case may be, we’d like to believe that all of you are smart enough to approach the topic sensibly. And beyond a brand-aligned perspective, no matter that which you may be aligned to. As the recent hoo-ha over the Mercedes-Benz promoted charging stations in Bangsar Shopping Centre (BSC) has shown, there are lessons to be learnt, and the short of it is that a charging station open to use by all who can use it in the proper manner is the way to go.

The problem here is how so few are looking at it in a proper manner. It’s quite atrocious, really. You have people who plonk their PHEV in such a space in idle fashion (not charging) because it’s a convenient parking location or, in the case of that which unfolded in BSC, because they can flip the bird at what is a competitor’s brand by occupying the space without bothering to utilise the charger, even though charging at this juncture is free (the electricity tariffs are paid by site owners, such as BSC).

Statements done in this vein simply make you look stupid.

The thing to note is that the location and its bays aren’t hybrid parking lots – they’re meant for owners of plug-ins (or pure EVs) to charge up their rides (yes, we’re also talking about you, normal hybrid users. You really can’t park your car in an EV charging bay just because it’s a green facility). This practice deprives those who do want to follow the raison d’etre of adopting the electrification route, which is to charge up when you can at every chance you can, independent of the brand.

Even with the last, there are plenty of aberrants, as in those who do plug in to charge, but still approach things mainly from the spot being a convenient and accessible parking lot, eventually only vacating the space many hours beyond the necessary. How different then, from regular fuel station fill-ups.

All this isn’t advancing any cause, and shows just how poor human behaviour is when things are given free and made easy. Would enforcement by means such as clamping and removal fines arrest this? Of course it would, but you can bet that plenty of ugly scenes are sure to come about, and the truth is, it shouldn’t come to this.

Right now, the nascent technology needs level, objective heads, not boorish behaviour. If you’re a PHEV owner, don’t ruin it for everyone by being an idiot. Don’t park your car in a charging bay just because it’s a PHEV without plugging it in – if you don’t believe in the plug-in charging route and think that battery charging should be contained merely to that provided by the car’s engine, nothing wrong with that, but just park in a regular parking spot then.

If you do place it to charge, be mindful that there are others likely to want the same access at some point. Top that ride off and help your wallet (and the planet), by all means, but move it along when you’re done juicing it off the public grid and let someone else do the same.

After all, there’s no excuse – most PHEVs have apps to tell you when they’re charged up, and some places are already putting up visual reminders not to hog the station (for example, ChargEV chargers at Empire Subang now have a notice saying that users can only charge their car for a maximum of three hours). Remember, the electricity may be free, but it’s not your personal parking lot.

More importantly, you have to think beyond the lines of branding – it doesn’t matter which side you’re on, because you’re all really on the same team. Don’t spoil it for yourselves by acting petty and delinquent, as many of you are being right now.

Yours sincerely,
Paultan.org

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This is the same mentality of non-OKU drivers who park on OKU-reserved parking.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 3
    • Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Malaysia like that. Even Menteri himself park in the OKU spot. All over facebook can see the Menteri park his Perdana in OKU spot.

So until our leaders show a good example….the rakyat will see all these nonsense done and follow it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 25
      • Deswai the Menteri must dicipline his drebar so dun park that S keras when it shudnt be.
        Tok about gud governance yet sendri tarak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
      • Hybrid station on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:29 pm

Seen all charging station comes without charging cable? What is this charging bay for then? Just to buy a different cable for the use of charging station at petrol station or shopping station? Might as well charge it af home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
        • Nubkek on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:08 pm

If you want to use free electricity, buy a cable. If not continue to charge at home.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
        • Seems u never test drive those cars. Cable u bring your own. Standard size plugs. Some brand even supply the cable for u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Hybrid station on Jan 29, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Bang, obviously u dont own hybrid car. And you know nut about the charger type at stations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:12 pm

Also must improve English of many local grads. Many with green colour cars park in these places because got sign that says Only Green Cars.

OMG OMG OMG…..these are our local grads….OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
      • Ignorance has nothing to do with language skills. Those who afford these cars r typically well educated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Dug Ong on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:58 pm

Sendiri cakap, sendiri percaya.

Dan dan la “Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Diagnosed as mental OKU, when non physical-OKU drivers park on OKU-reserved parking

• Stevie on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:34 pm

The able-bodied drivers park on OKU space is even worse but do not condone the above behaviour also. It all boils down to insight and upbringing. People either claim ignorance or worst trying to pick a fight with enforcement officers after their cars got impounded. We have had so many instances like this and shouldn’t tolerate any longer. My view is after we take action, it will get politicised.

• MeToo on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:51 pm

Everything is about enforcement.

Malaysian is not ready to do the “right” thing without proper enforcement/penalties. (You think Singapore follow the rules cause they like it?)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • Forced enforcement just doesnt work, but education do. When civility comes naturally, the pipu will be civil whereever they are. Unlike our neighbours down south.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
        • awg1031 on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:50 pm

nope, we need all out enforcement..education and campaign just won’t do..malaysian have been been made too easy with road rules especially..just look at speed breaking on highway, every seconds u will notice car driven at way higher than national speeding, not to mention bullying others at that speed..it’s foolish to think that our enforcer did not notice that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Enforcement only creates fake civility. Education makes true civility. Fake civility is no use cuz it breeds oppression and when they go other places, the become like animal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
          • Koh Chun on Jan 29, 2018 at 2:29 pm

And don’t get me started about the motorcyclists…..

• Education.. For how long? 30 years? What do you expect the enforcement to be like during those 30 years? Just a slap on the wrist and let then go? Idealistic moron lol

• waters on Jan 29, 2018 at 3:53 pm

You have a point. This is something we should strive for, doesn’t mean that enforcement should be ignored. Right now, what you describe only happens in the Star Trek universe. And maybe The Netherlands.

• Scandies does, and like I said, enforcement is only temporary even thru generations. It just doesnt work. Education does.

• Simple rule also need enforcement. Haih.. that shows the article are right, My full of people like u.

• Its ironic that some pipu talk about enforcement but raise a stink when being punished for breaking the law.

• OnLooker on Jan 29, 2018 at 4:03 pm

Singaporeans follow rules because of enforcement and fine for defaulters.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 29, 2018 at 11:31 am

Can afford to buy $400K PHEVs but cannot afford to pay electricity. Lmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Yes, must charge them parking also plus electricity usage. Can spend RM400k but want to charge in public spaces.

• Abdul Shokor bin Mohd Khalid on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:15 pm

The whole Hybrid and PHEV and EV system is flawed.

Honda City Hybrid higher in price than Honda City non hybrid despite tax incentive given.

But BMW X5 40e, Merc S400h, BMW 740Le all got about RM300k reduction.

The rich get richer. The poor get ketuk even more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
      • If it’s allowed to be priced within the price range of P1 or P2, both companies will gulung tikar in no time.. because nobody wants to buy national brand and more. MITI will not allow this that’s why final retail price must be subject to approval from MITI.

BMW Benz and other luxury brands will have no impact on them

• kzm (Member) on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:40 pm

lol.. n u think eg. 10% reduction same for 100k n 500k? u think if 500k get 50k reduction, 100k must have 50k reduction? what kind of math is that?

• U not understand that luxury hybrid cars maintainance are super expensive especially it’s battery compared to japanese hybrid cars.

• When things r given free, civility goes out the window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Yes, so this facility shouldn’t be free. Please charge per hour of electricity used. Say 1st 3 hours free, subsequently at rates 3x higher than normal parking rate.

• Not just the charging but they shud be made to pay extra when parking there fully charged or not even charging.

• zamer on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:17 pm

Agreed. Free tongkat breeds uncivility.

• johnnas on Jan 29, 2018 at 11:42 am

Much can be said but just be simple about it. These people are idiots…pure idiots. It’s really a wonder how can they be so casual about it.

and when they will make a big fuss out of their mistakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • My england is bad on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:20 pm

Luxury car owners hvin a hard time to differentiate, Charging bays & Parking bays. Same same

• johnnas on Jan 29, 2018 at 11:45 am

This time I agree with john.

• Chris Ng on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:10 pm

Malaysian have this big problem with ethic. Driver insists on parking at Disabled Person parking bay. Double parking. Parking at illegal spot. Despite having all sort of laws – this problem is getting worse because there is lack of enforcement. Enforcement officers are busy taking bribes and neglect enforcement. Go to LRT Station at Awan Besar – you will know what is sampah & pariah attitude of the drivers, LRT management and enforcement officers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Manners relates to behaviour not enforcement (manners maketh the man, not polisman). Civil manners must be naturally bred via education and follow-by-example not forced via enforcement.

Just look at neighbour down south. Whole generations were enforced civility but they let loose when come here. Enforcement just doesnt work, but education do. Just look at what Scandi countries do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • awg1031 on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:54 pm

it’s too late for that..we need enforcement!

• Its never too late for education, but enforcement is just temporary.

• Please don’t give me this nonsense about educating drivers.

Are you telling me that drivers don’t know that:

It is an offence to park illegally.
        It is an offence to double park.
        It is an offence to go over the designated speed limit.
        It is an offence to not use indicators when changing lanes.
        ETC….ETC….ETC.

Of course they know! MANY choose to ignore the rules f the road!

In this case of fossil fuelled cars using an EV space, simply tow the offending vehicle away.

The driver of that car will soon be “educated” when he has to pay a heap of cash to retrieve his car. It quite possibly could stop him doing it again, unless he’s a total muppet who doesn’t give a damn about anything.

It’s 2018…and we need to have a debate about what is right or wrong on the road? Give me a break. Those who continually break the road rules on a daily basis KNOW exactly what they are doing.

They choose to take the risk, so either fine them, or take away their licenses if they are habitual offenders.

That will educate them!!

• Ya see, the problem is… they will only comply when they know theres eyes on them. Alwiz the fear is there, and alwiz looking for opportunities to disobey when its safe to do so.

Thats not the way to inculcate gud habits becuz its fake. Like i said, even whole generations can be enforced from baby til old age but everything flies out the window once they know its safe to do so. Thats not natural and it shudnt be the way for MY here.

In Scandies, theres little overseeing allreaching arm of the law enforcement, but u dun see these shits whether they be crisscrossing Sweden, Denmark, Norway or Finland. They naturally follow the law even in isolated boondocks. Have u seen any of our neighbours citizen exhibit that willingly?

So again, to answer to the problem isnt enforcement but via education and showing gud examples.

• Dug Ong on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:01 pm

I don’t want to generalize, but.. usually.. this type of behaviour..

• tokmoh. on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:15 pm

First world problem.

This is the problem with materialistic world. Showing off and bragging is more important than being ethical and have consideration to treat others like you treat yourself.

Rich or poor, always got these kinda parasites. When rich, the cb attitude also amplified. C’est la vie.

• Wong Mun Keong on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:37 pm

Yup, more $ just makes one more of what they REALLY are – devils/idiots OR giving/charitable.

• tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:05 am

See people like Aliff Syukri, go overseas, behave like orang ulu, makan atas jalan. Kononnya merajuk cannot eat at restaurant because he bring outside food.

Any civilised person would respect restaurant owner’s decision to not allow outside food into their premise, but to butthurt and decide to eat on the floor is so rude and immature. There’s always public park to properly picnic and eat your own food if you so want to, not just simply set up on the road and show off about it in social media.

But see la Malaysian’s reaction, instead of condemning such act, they protek it say “dia berjaya, kaya, ko dengki ke?”

Honestly, our people just not interested to behave civilised, just wanna be rich so that can do such acts and get away with it.

• Rayc216 on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:47 pm

Should have cc a copy to all non-PHEV users as well.

• Leroy Wee on Jan 29, 2018 at 12:49 pm

I suggest that the parking bays have a lighting indicator system to clearly show that the car in that bay has been fully charged.

That way the rest of the world knows the owner of said vehicle has completed charging and car can be relocated.

Sadly to say that we need enforcement because self governance is Malaysia’s weakest trait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Paul Tan on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:01 pm

The ChargEV indicator tells you. Green means fully charged. Blue is charging.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Enforcement is not the problem, ignorance is. To solve ignorance is via education, not punishment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • My open reply to Paultan.org

Dear paultan.org,

Forget about it. Malaysians’ sense of self-entitlement is too strong. Your advise is nothing but noise to them.

• Sadly, that sense of entitlement carries over to other facets of their lives as well.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:03 pm

I am not justifying such uncivilised actions, more so when these uncivilised people park at OKU spaces, but in this case related to plug-ins, using limited parking spaces by able-bodied and presumerly rich people depriving others to the parking space do not gel perfectly with me. Next parking spaces designated for certain marques only.

• Bunker on Jan 30, 2018 at 2:25 am

What limited space? Max 1 to 3 chargers per mall only. This is charging bay we are talking about here. Not hybrid parking which I agree is useless.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 29, 2018 at 1:22 pm

Basically, this is like the dobi. You come down to wash your clothes then you realised person before you had not removed his clothes from the machine even after it has finished washing. At least dobi, you can remove the previous person’s washing then put yours inside the machine. But for charging station? Perhaps you can get police to impound it, so another car can use the station.

• Just charge them RM50 per minute if they leave their car too long after.

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 29, 2018 at 3:14 pm

Here’s the scenario – you plug the charging cable in and the status in your car indicates charging completes at 1945 hours. So the time now is 1745, and you go in and run your errands and have dinner. When you finish and get back to your car, the time is 2005 hours – which means your car completed charging 20 mins ago.

So what does this mean? You’re wrong? You’re okay? Should you have been a good citizen and stopped what you were doing, go straight to your car at 1945 to unplug the cable and spend the next 10-15 minutes to find another parking spot at prime hour, and then go back up and finish what you were doing in 15 mins, and then only be on your way out?

So, what is acceptable and what is not acceptable? Who can define the threshold of the tolerance? Perhaps the parking management should openly indicate what that is…but how do they tell? Is there a station that can already tell when the charging starts and when the charging stops? Unless this capability is introduced, it’s very hard to enforce certain regulation. Put aside cultural and education differences – is there anything that we can learn and adopt from foreign countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • @acceptable or not acceptable, the answer is very simple. If you are planning to have a 20-course dinner, please get your car readily charged in your house first. Just don’t hog the facility meant for everyone.

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 8:29 am

Sure i agree with your suggestion given YOUR scenario. But please let’s stick with the scenario above and comment. I could come up with many more if you wish, and I believe so could you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • meenachi on Jan 30, 2018 at 9:43 pm

@acceptable or not acceptable, let’s see your scenario. You start at 1745 and charging will end at 1945 which mean 2 hours to do your thing. Yes, the answer is you have to stop eating at 1930 and let other people to use the charging station at 1946. Please skip the dessert.

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 31, 2018 at 10:27 pm

Good, thank you. Let’s hope all of us practise this now.

• Bunker on Jan 30, 2018 at 2:24 am

You clearly either don’t have a PHEV or you didn’t read the story because the app on your smart phone will tell you charging status.

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 8:27 am

You clearly either don’t have a PHEV or you didn’t read what I clearly stated – I know exactly when my car will finish charging because it tells me so when I plug it in…dont need no app to tell me status whatnot. And please stick to the scenario above and comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • If you know you’re not going to be able to get your car to sod off in time don’t use the charging bay. Who plans in advance to be an asshole? Oh right, an asshole

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 3:19 pm

Wow…great job. You have never been late in your entire life, and it’s always someone else’ fault. Your plan has always been spot on and everyone else is an asshole besides you. Nice, very easy to tell because it does take one to know one. Do continue to live in your ideal fantasy world where you have full control of every situation and everybody else’.

Oh you know what? You have children? Has the gynecologist ever told you when your child will be given birth? Oh crap…it’s the gynecologist’s fault for the timing of the labour because you already planned for that exact date! That gynecologist is such an asshole

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
          • Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 3:48 pm

Anyway, noted on your remarks. It simply implies that the driver is at fault. Fair enough he/she was late. Not sure if he/she should be implicated for not being allowed to use anymore. Maybe a fine would do justice, and now the question begs…when should the fine come into effect?

• With this statement you made………” you plug the charging cable in and the status in your car indicates charging completes at 1945 hours”……..then surely you have answered your own question.

Your car will finish charging at 1945, so you should be back at your car by that prescribed time. If you don’t want to, or can’t get back in time, then don’t use the free charging facility.

I would have thought that was fairly straight forward.

Perhaps I’m missing something in your post>

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 4:00 pm

Thanks for your attention. Please see feedback above.

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Bj, thanks for your attention. The next time you’re late to pick your kids up from school or daycare. You shouldn’t send your kids there anymore because you either don’t want to be on time, or can’t be on time. :) If only life is so predictable and fairly straightforward.

• Beejay on Jan 30, 2018 at 9:55 pm

Yes, sometimes I would be late due to some circumstances I can’t control but when to finish my dinner is certainly under my control.

• I don’t really think that is a very good analogy, “acceptable”.

Your car is in a mall car park right next to where you parked, so it should be fairly straight forward to be able to get back on time.

Just my thoughts ~~~

• Abdulsssss on Jan 30, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Just be frank. How to adapt when the mentality is always im here first so when I’m done or I’m leaving, you can have the space. Foreigners would move the car when they’re done with charging. I’m sure most of them would.

• takeshi on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:26 pm

Agree with @abdulssss. This is a very typical local mentality. I am sad this is even a debate question ‘Should i move my car after I finished charging?’

• Acceptable or Not Acceptable on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:59 pm

You did touch on a very good point – I like what you brought up and I believe most of us are guilty to a certain extend with such thoughts, unlike most of the foreigners who would think otherwise. I guess you’re going into the subject of our own upbringing. It’s true that most of us will only think about ourselves first, our own benefit first, me me me…i’m right and you’re wrong kind of attitude… So, what kind of localized governance can be implemented here so majority here can be pleased? There are many of those here who just provide lip service and focus primarily to only comment on the problem and critizing others instead of coming up with feasible solutions – I think this is another area of concern with regards to mentality. Well I for one believe the parking management should enforce certain governance and provide clarity as to how they do so. If they don’t means they prefer to be rather loose and vague in that as to how the facilities should be utilized. Then who are we to comment? If you’re somebody who has control then do something about it!

Of course one thing remains clear – PHEV/EV space only for PHEV/EV vehicles…OKU space only for the needy ones…those are clear cut examples that should not be violated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Razif Ismail on Jan 29, 2018 at 3:22 pm

not all Malaysians drivers are educated. basically, most of them are stupid even though they drive expensive cars. that is the fact that we all have to face. it is tiring and a waste of time when we tried to educate them not to park at OKU or for this matter at plug-in hybrid charging parking bay. I believed most of them studied overseas and they know these parking bays are for a specific type of cars only. strict enforcement is needed to educate these people.

• Akulah ahjip on Jan 29, 2018 at 5:29 pm

Why so difficult set a timer and a grace period after charging there will be a charge on idle vehicles. Pay it, the boom will be released. Simple as that.
    Funny thing is some shopping malls offer green/eev parking slots. I’ve seen alphards/kancils using the spaces. It is all enforcement. Clamp those vehicles.

• 3rd world on Jan 29, 2018 at 5:32 pm

And yet DBKL set up a cycling lane in the heart of KL when even among the hybrid and electric car users don’t have first world mentality (I take it they would have a certain degree of higher education). We are not ready for a cycling lane in KL and I personally don’t think that we ever will. We’re stuck at throwing rubbish from flats mentality.

• Althou its true that MY pipu dun deserve gud things, but i guess it dun stop gov from trying.

• there is no need to blackout the number plates of those who misuse the charging station, they don’t deserve the privacy, they deserve the publicity.

• Unlike down south, here the car owners can sue PT for invasion of privacy. So err on the side of caution.

• Just like DBKL who spend RM4 million to paint bike road. This plug in hybrid tax incentive only benefitted the rich and how much can they save the environment based on so few on the road? More than 90% vehicles on the road are non PHEV. We lost millions in taxes just for the small number of super rich and now malls build all these charging stations just for those few rich owners convenient? We should only start giving incentives when there are more affordable PHEV available.

• Why are so many people in here making such ridiculous comments that this is just looking after the rich?

ANYONE who owns a hybrid can use these bays, not just a MB owner.

A quote from the original article……..”Charging at all locations is free and available to all brands, not just limited to Mercedes-Benz plug-in hybrids such as the C 350 e and E 350 e, according to MBM VP of sales and marketing Mark Raine”

So, as an example, if you own a Honda Jazz hybrid you can use these bays.

Is it that difficult to understand?

Apparently it is, for some people!

• No you cannot… jazz is not a plug-in in hybrid. It has no business being parked in a charging bay.

• tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:08 am

Not all hybrid can plug in la, honda jazz cannot.

Even if you can, if you’re not going to charge, have the humility to let it go to someone who might use it.

• stastasta on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:37 am

stupid BJ. the charging station is ONLY for plug in hybrid, e.g bmw 330e or volvo xc90. Honda Jazz hybrid is not plugin hybrid.

Is it that difficult to understand?
    Apparently it is, for some people!

• OK, stastasta, I take your point.

I was just thinking of a low entry level hybrid and chose the Jazz……my mistake. I thought that the new release of the Jazz and City were actually plug ins.

I deserved the kick in the nuts from you, I am an idiot :)

• Fatarse on Feb 27, 2018 at 8:28 am

Here’s the simplest solution. Locate the charging stations in non-prime parking spaces. Maybe for BSC in a corner at B2 away from the entrances. PHEV owners are already getting free electricity so why must they get the best parking spots too? Yes, initially, it was a form of incentive to drive hybrids but honestly, you need more incentive than up to RM200k off the price of the car due to tax reductions? That doesn’t make sense because why should hybrid owners have their cake, frosting, cherry on top and then get to eat it too?

• Naranjan Singh on Oct 17, 2018 at 7:55 pm

Surge of power (electricity) during lightning strike.
    Will it damage the car battery