Customers love Merc’s “Russian doll” look – designer

The same-same design approach used by Mercedes-Benz for the W205 C-Class, W213 E-Class and W222 S-Class is a non-issue to customers, it seems. According to Gorden Wagener, Daimler’s head of design, the strategy is deliberate, and it’s working well for the company, he told Australian publication CarAdvice.

After the launch of the new A-Class, Wagener admitted that the trio of sedans are “very homogenous” and added that it was a “very conscious decision, very successful decision, but outside [those models] we play a lot with different things.”

W213 E-Class (left), W222 S-Class (right)

When asked whether the company received any negative feedback about the similarities between the C-, E- and S-Class models, Wagener said “no, no. Only a few journalists mentioned our three limousines are too close to each other, but the customer loves it. You look at our numbers, I think we’re doing quite good in the moment, yeah.”

During our Meet and Greet session, Mercedes-Benz’s “Russian doll” design approach was brought up several times by our readers. Watch the video below to see what they think of the new E 350 e. In the meantime, are you a fan of what the tri-star is doing with its core sedan models? Share with us your thoughts below.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• tokmoh. on Feb 12, 2018 at 4:14 pm

Lazy designers. But whatever, still better buy than other Germans, unless Geely buy their shares too.

Mercedes, Volvo > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • lilytan on Feb 12, 2018 at 5:23 pm

Just like my 3 kids… S-Class the 1st child is receiving most privileges and responsibilities, while C-Class the youngest in the family is more likely to receive indulgences. E-Class the middle child always feeling excluded.

• Dodo Cheng on Feb 12, 2018 at 4:33 pm

It looks ugly. Like the designer ran out of idea and cut off the back short. Besides hard to tell apart the C from the E. A bit of an insult for E owners when their vehicle is mistaken for a C

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 12
    • Abdullls on Feb 12, 2018 at 5:36 pm

If you can’t distingiush c and e obviously you’re not a car guy. C is definitely smaller than e but not necessary cheaper than e. Anyway if you don’t like the design you can buy BMW or Audi. Or saga if you can’t afford one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 12, 2018 at 5:51 pm

Agree with dodol…most e class owners feel so HINA and jatuh maruah when people ask why are they driving c class when their previous car was the previous generation e class…jatuh miskin issit…so no hadap one…oh well thanks to mercidis for their no brainer design strategy…no wonder nowadays so difficult to see e class on the roads unlike last time where you can immediately tell the model just at one glance…silly mercidis…so kudis one…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
      • Audi Fan on Feb 12, 2018 at 6:37 pm

Deswai i bought previous gen E250 AMG only 190k…

• Audi Fun on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:32 am

Yeap, and guys like you don’t realize that even a C-Class can be more pricier than a E-Class…cough….C300 (310k (ckd) – 400k (cbu)….. and S-Class….cough…. C63S (900k)

• arowana on Feb 12, 2018 at 4:39 pm

so Hafriz is enjoice..

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Feb 12, 2018 at 4:47 pm

Well personally I think the three models are distinct enough, so no complaints.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
      • As long ada Tristar, pipu will look at u in awe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Feb 12, 2018 at 5:54 pm

But seriously apis…are you like the design or not…one sausage different size only…are you okays with how 3 look the same…are you like it…tell me…tell me

• Audi Fun on Feb 13, 2018 at 12:38 am

Dey thamby – stop liking your own post la and restarting our router. Am gonna tell IT later :-)

But seriously, don’t be so butthurtla bro – I know your BMW couldn’t achieve this and would technically look like cra* if they tried.
          Nvm bro, u can ask our abang in the office to sambung bayar ur ride, sure got big $$$ after CNY haha.

• I always thought the German carmaker most guilty of ‘one-face-fits-all’ exterior styling is Audi.

• Agreed…lazy people.. but Mercedes better than bmw or Audi.. Merc small, middle n big brother look alike, ..Audi like son, father n grandpa look alike(different generations..look at the a4 current model n the previous..so is q5 n q7) but bmw is special…tis one ah,,son grandma, uncle even ur neighbour n ur rojak seller also look alike..don’t even noe wat model..I think they have like 200 different variations of 1 model!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Choha on Feb 12, 2018 at 11:12 pm

This is the only reason I chose 5 series over E

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 13, 2018 at 1:00 am

mercedes design is so boring compared to the bruno sacco days

• C, E, S doing good in sales means maintain it….Even facelift is not needed for another 2 years in Malaysia…potential buyers is aiming at this 3…MB got Class!…

• kamlc on Feb 13, 2018 at 8:30 am

new e class is ugliest,

only c class looks good

that is why e class doesnt sell well

i personally thinks s class is ugly too

• Sorry to say this are dumb ass designers coming from a top notch brand. As a merz fan, is pretty sad to see all this mediocre looking cars.
    The s class w222 was not pretty with no wow factor, and yet they can follow up with this design with the c and the E class and the mayback as well.
    First they need to get rid of this silly designers. Peoples buy because of the qualities.
    If this designers think they are good, they need to look in the mirror and check their heads
    Dumb and Dumber