Proton dealers network upgrade exercise now 61% completed ahead of SUV model launch in Q4 2018

As part of Proton’s business expansion plan, the national automaker is looking to increase the number of 3S/4S centres to 109 in preparation for the launch of its first-ever SUV model in Q4 2018.

Over the past three months, the company has received 170 applications from dealers or potential business partners looking to set up 3S/4S centres, with 82 of them, potentially approved for the upgrading exercise.

Up until now, 66 applications have been duly evaluated and approved, accounting for 61% of the 109-centre quota Proton has set. With this in mind, the automaker is confident to achieve its target for the dealers network upgrade exercise for 2018.

Looking forward, the company is set to introduce more models to be co-developed with Geely, and will continue executing its upgrade plan which consists of different phases until 2020.

Beyond upgrading its dealer network, Proton has also worked on improving its internal processes. This includes hiring experienced members of the automotive industry and sending its workforce to learn from its partner in China.

The automaker also focused on improving the overall quality of its products by adopting Geely’s product quality audit scoring system, itself an adaptation of the system used by Volvo Cars.

These efforts are just a few that are being done in anticipation of Proton’s upcoming SUV model, which will come with features like adaptive cruise control and an autonomous emergency braking system. Camouflaged units have also been displayed at various areas for the public to view, and there’s a well-received online naming survey as well.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Joe Lowe on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:10 pm

To boost car sales by Proton dealers and good biz, Vehicle End of Life policy must be rolled out ASAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 34
    • blah bla bla,, y taking so long to rebadge an suv.. ooo wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
      • Picaso on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:19 pm

Bro be patient la …its takes 2000 staff to stick the badge on

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 22
        • YB Albert on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:57 pm

Just because of Boyue…have to upgrade service centres.
          By right,Protong should dismantle all existing local vendors(no point telling them to cut prices by 30%,cos they curi ayam,anyway),upgrade all centres,throw away the campro engines with Punch CVT gearboxes…u can see the fence sitters come back to buy Protongs.
          Does it take another 30 donkey years to realise what the rakyat want?
          This year 2018,without Boyue,P1 can only touch 50,000 unit sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • Ya…i totally agreed

• betui on Apr 18, 2018 at 8:39 am

Converting LHD to RHD, even Tesla needs 2 years to do it!

Saying it just sticking the badge is pure ignorance

• 12yrsold john on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:50 am

Hahahaha. I’m trying to imagine 2,000 staff sticking the badge. Oh, its suppose to be Sarcastic. Cheers…

• You can have all the fancy $S showrooms in the world. You can even put a GSC Cinema or TGV cinema in your showroom to show free movies. You can serve the best latte in town.

But all this have no meaning when you price your product at RM100k. Who in Malaysia can really afford RM100k?

As Proton CEO already announced, 75% of their total sales come from Saga and Persona. Cars that are RM50k.

The balance 25%, you can assume, bulk percentage comes from Government ordered Perdanas.

So at the end of the day, PRICE rules. All the posh showrooms have no meaning when you gonna sell your car at RM100k.

By the way, those who can afford RM100k will just add a bit more and buy a Nissan X Trail at RM120k or a Subaru Forester at RM116k

• hazzif on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:35 am

its price and value for money.. perodua cars are not cheap though but people still go for it

• lolpanda on Apr 17, 2018 at 11:41 am

we’ve seen this trick or the trade before: Keep teasing ~RM100K price tag and all those features; but in reality the ~RM100K price tag will likely be for a base (kosong) model and you’ll need to pay way more than that to have access to all the fancy bits they keep talking about.

• Tak Tentu Arah on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Semalam I masuk showroom Volvo kat Glenmarie.. I tanya bila XC90 jadi Proton… saya kena halau … malu betul .. kena tipu Proton lagi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 36
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 16, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Already time to ditch SUV craze. So late to market la Proton. If only for Malaysian market, this car for sure will be expensive and won’t turn around the company. If can’t tap into Indonesia, don’t bother be in business la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • drMpower on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:15 pm

that SUV is..:

1) chinese made, so they can just translate all the manuals to english or BM. zahid said last time need to hire china man because manual all in mandarin, so this just the other way around

2) its already out. what for the prepare

above 2 things all easy to do why need to wait long?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 30
    • 1st, They need to learn how to use Google Translate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
      • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:23 pm

Which isn’t very accurate (for technical documentation) nor grammatically correct & neither is Baidu Translate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:29 pm

1. lol
      2. loool.. u know china is left-hand drive rite?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • You think snap finger only can convert left-hand drive car to right-hand drive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • Not Toyota Fan on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:08 pm

You kan cheong (eager) to buy ah?

• What for the prepare? Lets see what esteemed PT has to say: https://paultan.org/2018/01/12/photo-of-proton-right-hand-drive-geely-boyue-is-fake/

• Sometimes I wonder if Malaysians even think before commenting. If you don’t know, read up so you don’t end up looking like an idiot.

There are a host of things that needs to be re-designed, re-moulded and re-tested to make a LHD vehicle a RHD one. It isn’t as simple as you think. The cost can be upwards of RM100m (which is 1/8th the cost of designing a car from the ground up excluding the engine).

I would really rather PROTON get it right instead of rushing through the conversion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • lilytan on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:31 pm

Please take your sweet time and be properly prepared. Dont give us half-cooked product and services after your much hyped take over.

• common sensor on Apr 16, 2018 at 3:59 pm

Geli-Geli is a good name for the re-badge SUV ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Eddie Lee on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:10 pm

To start with, i’m a Pakatan man all the way, let’s get that out of the way.
    When Proton started with these sales of share, i was a bit sceptical, but now i realize, a government can’t run a business, there is too much invisible hand. Yes, we rebadge car now, but what is wrong with that, it is a business and as long as proton is making money & not depending on gov coffer year after year, I’m down with that, it should have been done long ago… good luck proton on your future endeavour.
    You might have yourself a future customer…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • Anything But Biru on Apr 16, 2018 at 4:28 pm

For Proton to succeed, just follow this mantra – Customer Didahulukan, Pencapaian Diutamakan…

• kzm (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:14 pm

we will get another national car@p3 after this

• You are having diarrhea but you wash the toilet and hope that the diarrhea will go away.

• old horse on Apr 16, 2018 at 6:42 pm

even they sell at RM100K, who are the buyers they trying to attract? At this price range:
    1) HRV? – unlikely as people want this for smaller and decent quality
    2) Vios/City/Jazz? – assume this range of people still preferred sedan over suv but still cheaper
    3) CRV/CX5/Xtrail? – SUV owner to switch from Jap to ProGeely SUV based on price of 20K-30K saving? unlikely as well since family owned properly value duration/proven record more than this new

so at best they try to swing those Exora owner from p1 MPV to this SUV i guess…unless this ProGeely SUV is selling at RM70K-80k to take away #2

Anything touch RM100K for P1 will be hard into the market

• Proton is only good for Brim recipient category. Anyone with the right mind that can afford RM70-80K car would not buy a Proton.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 17, 2018 at 12:04 pm

Good analysis. One more point, IF …. a big IF, Perodua launches it’s SUV before Boyue, it would grab some potential buyers away.

The potential buyers of Boyue would most probably be those who are looking for C segment SUV but are price conscious. Hence either upgrade from existing P1 owners (but only those Exora/Suprima/Preve/Inspira), those who don’t wish to buy the Accordana or those driving other brands older C segment sedans and are looking for value for money C segment SUV.

Granted definition of “value for money” is different from 1 person to the next.

• OMG…I agreed, if the selling price for this car more than 100K, it will not sell well.

• tokmoh. on Apr 16, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Excellent. Keep up the good work! Malaysians, ASEANs and the world will soon know the might of Geely empire!

Geely, Proton > all

• old dog on Apr 16, 2018 at 9:22 pm

wow, Geely already starts market Lotus in TVB drama!!

• Ahmoi on Apr 17, 2018 at 8:16 am

Proton geli.. who wanna buy proton at rm100k?

• My Boyue on Apr 18, 2018 at 3:22 pm

Imagine doing all this and when they launch the car, failed. Its gonna be sad, really sad

• My Boyue on Apr 18, 2018 at 3:23 pm

Btw, what do they mean “History is calling”. Are they implying that this model is gonna create history? China rebadged SUV is history? Really?

• Amran on Apr 18, 2018 at 10:43 pm

Q4? Too long. Save our money to buy perodua suv..

• Belasahaje on Apr 19, 2018 at 11:15 am

Komen org2 banggang banyak kat sini….sapa2 nak baca silakan….