Ten more Proton dealers upgrade to 3S and 4S centres

Proton has announced that another 10 of its dealers have signed on to upgrade their outlets to 3S and 4S centres. This is the third batch of dealer signings for the company – the first two were held in December 2017 and January this year.

The national automaker says it is encouraged by the increasing number of dealers who are upgrading their outlets to 3S and 4S to serve their customers better. The upgrade and expansion is one of the new guidelines of its business expansion plan.

“Month by month, we see more dealers joining to upgrade their outlets. Surely, this means that Proton is a brand worth investing – a promising brand. I am delighted that we have many entrepreneurs here who share the same view. I applaud their courage and far sightedness. These are businessmen who understand the need to invest more now, in order to enjoy much more in the future,” Proton CEO Li Chunrong said at the signing ceremony.

“Customers today are very different than before. Their needs have gone from expectation of a simple service when they walk into an outlet, to a different level all together. Now it becomes a lifestyle need. It is important for us to stay connected with the market requirements in order for us to be on top of our game, and to serve our customers professionally and with integrity,” he added.

Dealers said they remained optimistic about the outlook and future of the brand, and that the upgrading of outlets was the way forward.

“The new facade will also boost customers’ confidence of the brand – people generally like brands which are able to embrace change and move with the times,” said Rozlan Abdul Manaf of Wasilah Global, who added that the brand is certainly moving in the right direction. “This gives us the confidence to pursue the upgrading plan. For sure, we can foresee newer and exciting models coming from the partnership with Geely, which will spur further interest from the market for Proton cars,” he said.

For Mohd Khairul Idzwan of Rohamas Autoservices, the upgrading of an outlet to a 4S centre is an inevitable move. “The order of the day is to serve customers better. This long term strategy will ensure that we can compete with other car brands around this vicinity, and elsewhere,” he said.

This sentiment was shared by Philip Jason How Eng Thye of Regal Motors Holdings. “We truly believe in the future and the turnaround of Proton. The upgrading of an outlet comes naturally because we know, as dealers, we not only sell cars but also, we need to provide a holistic experience to customers, which includes sales and after-sales services,” he explained.

The automaker has been paving the way with a competitive dealer support incentive scheme to entice existing dealers to upgrade their outlets to serve as one-stop centres as well as to attract new investors to consider dealerships with the brand.

”The dealer incentive support scheme not only supports us in terms of monetary subsidy, it also gives a clear guide on the standard guidelines on the dealer outlet set-up requirement. Our new outlet will be triple in size with a comfortable customer waiting lounge as well as family/kids area for a greater customer experience,” said Ryan Lai of LHM One Stop Car Service Centre.

“The impressive dealer incentive scheme allows us to get ahead with our marketing effort to promote our cars efficiently, as the more cars we sell, the better the incentives get,” Mohd Khairul added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• The giant is stirring. Its coming back. There has been an awakening… have you felt it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 21
    • MoFaz on Mar 28, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Yes indeed, according to him. Goodluck P1

https://paultan.org/2018/02/23/video-proton-is-too-big-to-fail-pm-najib-razak/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Fakenews on Mar 28, 2018 at 4:33 pm

I believe it’s the same Ten dealers mentioned 2 months ago … So the caption title is incorrect N misleading .. with ” ten more”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • Not the same lar https://paultan.org/2018/01/25/more-proton-dealers-to-upgrade-to-3s-and-4s-centres/

• Gorilla on Mar 28, 2018 at 7:21 pm

The more pertinent question is “will you buy a Proton or Geely “… Everything else is just noise and chest beating

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:19 am

After doing my due diligence by researching on the net, I have confidence in Geely hardwares.

Am seriously considering this Boyue but the fear of Proton historical poor quality, QC, sales, after sales service is still there.

But I sincerely believe Geely, Dr Li & the new management team acknowledges these issues &are trying very hard to rectify it despite the internal resistance to changes for the better. Old bad habits are hard to overcome.

• tokmoh. on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:47 am

@Not Toyota Fan

Believe in Dr Li, believe in Proton. They now adopt Volvo’s SOP for QC, newer batch Proton now much less issue off the plant.

Proton got app you can make appointment for service way in advance. It’s a huge convenience for me. Not even Perodua app can do this last time I used it.

I really got no complaint for my Proton service last weekend.

The new Boyue has a lot of Volvo engineering and design input, it’s designed by Peter Horbury himself, who left Volvo to lead Geely Design.

• Champion betul on Mar 28, 2018 at 7:45 pm

Wow!!!! 10 out of 200 dealers …. Bravo

• Sell first before talk. It has been too long… dah lama dah. Talk no use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • Transformation takes time, even Optimus Prime cant transform instantly. But once it fully transforms, its unstoppable. U felt it, now tremble with fear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
  • Richard Tido on Mar 28, 2018 at 2:46 pm

Good. PDAM should look at this as an example instead of cry baby. If Proton dealers can do it, why PDAM always ask bantuan?

Good also CEO Li was hard on the Proton dealers. Initially also they made so much of noise and insisted on Bantuan….but CEO Li knew how to handle all the cry babies.

Cannot la….everything in life want bantuan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
    • Steven Chow on Mar 28, 2018 at 3:21 pm

All Proton dealers incl Pekema should be provided increased profit margins above four%, continued bantuan financial such as Payment After Registration and extending unsold vehicle stock after 60 days, as well as more time to upgrade to 3S/4S centres. Win-win solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Ruslan Bahari on Mar 28, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Why should PROTON fund dealers with Payment After Registration? It needs to be run as a business, not as a charity case. If the dealers can’t hack it, don’t be in the business.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Not Toyota Fan on Mar 28, 2018 at 11:43 pm

You greedy dealers wants your cake & be able to eat it too.

Where got manufacturers (of any product) ask for payment only after stock sold & on top of that, give more than 60 days terms. Learn to balance cashflow cum inventory like every other businesses out there lah.

Time to upgrade to 3S/4S is till 2020. Don’t tell me you guys can’t even upgrade in 2 years. If unable for whatever reasons, then you only have yourself to blame, not Proton management. Failing to plan is planning to fail.

You guys are charity or business? Our tax money has been used 30 years to bantu Proton & indirectly you dealers. After 30 years bantuan, still asking for charity? If your 30 year old son is still asking for pocket money, what would you do?

• If your 30 year old son is still asking for pocket money, what would you do?

Motivate and give more money to son for R&D efforts. Bail him out in mounting debts

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2018 at 2:50 pm

Almost all proton dealers and branches contributed to super low score in customer satisfaction index, conducted by JD power Malaysia. Proton is often the bottom three, never achieved average score. When customers not happy, they won’t come back. It’s as simple as that. This can be on costings, how you were treated, the waiting time, service quality, warranty claims, technical support and parts availability. Proton won’t go anywhere if the attitude don’t change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • No correlation. According to JDP, Honda scores lowest in servis yet got record breaking sales. MY pipu dun appreciate gud value for money cars but ape branding and cheap prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Andrekua on Mar 28, 2018 at 6:28 pm

How can it be not related? Besides your statement is just too general. You didn’t even find out the reason for the low score for Honda service rating. Personally I been there few times and I have to say I’m more annoyed with their obsession with appointment schedule rather than their inability to solve problem. As for proton, I think many ex owners posted the same thing over and over again which is their reluctant to acknowledge their problem on their end and some just simply don’t care to get to the bottom of the problem aka takpa, memang cam tu attitude.

Besides there’s reliability score, engine efficiency score, quality control and many more aspects which could influence one’s final decision. I have to say that in my own experience, their attitude is definitely the no1 reason why I would never ever buy another Proton in my life unless something drastic change.

• “many ex owners” How many r REAL owners. Anybody can be anybody on internet and tokok lah. Personally, I have been in P1 servis for 8+ years and all my complaints have been settled, thou there isnt much to begin with. Even after I send to my pomen now, he got no special mention about the servicing, just normal wear and tear replacements.

If P1 can come out with a Gen2 fastback type replacement, I will get it in a heartbeat. I have driven other cars and I wud never ever buy anything else in my life except for contis unless something drastic change (like winning a lottery).

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 28, 2018 at 11:58 pm

How many real owners?

I dare say that from 1983 till 2005 (the year Myvi came out), almost everyone who started work that period will have been a Proton owner. We were the REAL owners who tasted Proton (lack of) QC, service, attitude of salesman & service staff.

Some like you continue to patronised Proton but many of us just felt enough is enough & swore never to buy another Proton again. Even for our second car we rather buy a Perodua than a Proton. THAT was REAL owners experience talking.

• Nadzhri on Mar 29, 2018 at 8:26 am

Owning a Proton car is growing pains of life being Malaysian. Now much wiser & Change

• Easy to talk about old time grandma story. Back then P2 was even worse lah. Wanna see REAL current owner story? Here:
            https://paultan.org/2018/03/08/proton-persona-one-mans-tale-of-love-at-first-sight/

• tokmoh. on Mar 28, 2018 at 3:07 pm

Proton, Geely > all

• passion on Mar 28, 2018 at 5:18 pm

just launch the damn car already. OMG!!!

• Empty Vessel on Mar 28, 2018 at 10:19 pm

nothing to launch really … its a 3 year old model in China … in marketing terms its called EOL product

• Be patient. A gud proper conversion takes time otherwise will end up like French cars here. All gud things comes in due time.

• Carlover on Mar 28, 2018 at 6:02 pm

Taking a risk about investing is norm for businesses, must have a big dream etc, then one will succeed. But investing in proton, seems like a long way to go before success. Unless for cash rich one. What kind of model is coming out except a rebadge suv.? Any fuel efficient engine in d making? Dont say turbo gdi, cause its gonna be expensive. Whatever it is, proton must follow perodua success story. Dont syok sendiri. This story is only applicable in malaysia only.

• Johwn on Mar 28, 2018 at 8:30 pm

P1 dealers and centres upgraded….but their cars sold low quality. how??

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 28, 2018 at 10:31 pm

Proton, pls revamp & update your Proton Edar website. Ensure that these new 3S are updated, so that Boyue potential customers may go these 3S.

The current Proton Edar website badly needs a revamp, the look is as if it’s made back in year 2000.

• Use this instead https://paultan.org/2016/08/08/proton-introduces-myproton-a-new-mobile-application/

• Not Toyota Fan on Mar 29, 2018 at 12:10 am

TQ but for me, I don’t want to load an app when all I want is information on 3S dealers, which should be on the company’s website or Facebook page.

• The app is more than that. Can do booking and repot problems prior to servicing. Instead of going there and waiting in line then wait more for parts to be delivered, this app enables u to go in, the technicians knows whats ur problem and has the parts ready, get ur car serviced promptly, unlike waiting 1 whole day in ToyotaP2.

• John L on Apr 01, 2018 at 3:57 pm

As a Proton owner, I would say, what is the point of having 3S or 4S service centers if the customer service is still shit?

I’ve been to Tropical Impact at Balakong which is supposed to be a 3S center for 2 years since I bought my Iriz new. But when my rear bearings failed, they didn’t help me to claim warranty. They said warranty only 1 year or 10,000km. So I had to fork out RM500+. Later on I found out from other owners and other service centers that the warranty is 3 years.

Also, at my 30,000km service, Tropical Impact tried to get me to service my aircond, which nowhere in the service booklet said was necessary. Then I had to go back and forth between them and Proton customer care. In the end, they followed what was stated in the booklet – to inspect the aircond at 30,000km and do what’s necessary if repairs are needed, so they just changed my compressor oil for RM80. (The full service would have been almost RM300.)

Yesterday, I went to Senaxis in PJ to service my car because it was recommended. Apparently Tropical Impact did not update my service record in Proton’s system, so I brought a long my past service invoices. When Senaxis looked at those invoices, the first thing they asked me was, why did they change my compressor oil(?), my aircond was perfectly fine. Hmmmm…

Everything was straight forward at Senaxis – they followed Proton’s service menu and didn’t ask to do anything extra. I can tell they were honest, not only from how they dealt with me, but also how they dealt with the other customers. They even helped me solve an issue I’ve had for months. I’ve been wanting to upgrade my Iriz’s ECU/TCU, but Proton’s own official Helpline was hopeless. I wrote an email to them asking the simple question of whether the update can be done? And they told me to refer to Proton Edar branches. What kind of reply is that? Why can’t Proton’s own HQ answer a simple Yes or No question? I called 2 Proton branches – one told me they didn’t have the equipment to do the update. Another beat around the bush with me and told me to book my next service with them and they’ll see what they can do about the ECU update.

But when I went to Senaxis yesterday, they gave me a direct answer – the ECU update is only available for 1.6 liter models, not 1.3 liter models. This is the simple answer I was looking for for so long! But then, even though the ECU update was not available for my 1.3 Iriz, there was an electronic power steering update available and Senaxis did it for me and claimed warranty from Proton so I didn’t have to pay a single cent for it. Not only that, they helped me to retune my clutch or something (I didn’t really catch what the foreman said) and amazingly, the result I was looking for with an ECU and TCU update (a smoother drive) was achieved by Senaxis by just fiddling around with the clutch. Now my Iriz drives much smoother and the throttle response is better! It feels like I’m driving a new car.

Proton needs more service centers like Senaxis, not those stupid 3S or 4S places that cannot solve customer problems. Also, later on Senaxis showed me that my front tires were wearing out unevenly. When I changed my bearings just a month ago at Tropical Impact, I asked them if my tires were ok and they just said yes. It seems that they didn’t really inspect my tires.

If anyone knows how I can contact Bao Teng’s CEO, please share it with me. If Bao Teng cannot improve their customer service, then no turnaround will ever be possible.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 02, 2018 at 12:14 pm

Read a lot of GOOD feedback about Senaxis. Even though they’re only a service centre, they really have good customer service, good knowledge & very willing to help customers. Something many Proton 1S, 2S, 3S dealers don’t do (the tidak apa attitude).

Proton should retain this service centre & designate it as a Key Account Service Centre. After sales service is a key component of ownership & one crucial factor to next replacement purchase.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 02, 2018 at 10:28 pm

Your experience just proof that when you have a shit company, forming 3S or 4S is just becoming a bigger lump of shit. It’s the worker’s attitute that matters. Not 2S,3S,4S and all other asses.