Proton Perdana Executive – a MIMOS design proposal

Saharudin Busri’s work has graced the pages of this website numerous times in the past. The head of design at the national research and development centre for information and communication technology, MIMOS, has released several design proposals for future Proton vehicles over the past two years, and his latest comes in the form of a stretched version of the Perdana, called the Executive.

If you look at the elongated Perdana limousine currently used by caretaker prime minister Najib Tun Razak, you’d notice that the middle section features an awkward step in the rising beltline and shoulder line, as the car still uses the standard rear doors of the eighth-generation Honda Accord on which it is based.

The solution, according to Saharudin, is to simply use new, longer rear doors as seen on Proton’s original Executive models, giving the car a sleeker, more progressive beltline and shoulder line. The six-window design of the standard Perdana has been retained, but with the rake of the rear door edge reversed.

Saharudin has also given the car a major makeover, with a new front end featuring trapezoidal headlights with Y-shaped daytime running light, as well as a hexagonal grille that gives the car a look reminiscent of the latest Opel/Vauxhall Insignia. Along the side, the L-shaped chrome strip brings to mind the G12 BMW 7 Series, and you’ll also find new fender vents that are still very much in vogue.

The tail lights also get a trapezoidal shape – it’s a design very similar to the Geely Bo Rui, albeit with a red strip connecting the lamps instead of a chrome trim piece. Meanwhile, the number plate recess has been moved up from the bumper to the bootlid, and the body-coloured diffuser and fake twin “tailpipes” have been banished for classier contrasting items.

The standard Perdana is already a very handsome car – painted-over diffuser and faux exhausts aside, of course – so we’re kinda on the fence on these updates. What about you? What do you guys think? Sound off in the comments section after the jump, and you can also view some of Saharudin’s past work below.

GALLERY: Proton Savvy 18 concept GALLERY: Proton Bayu
GALLERY: Proton Suprima X
GALLERY: Proton Suprima R

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bernard on May 02, 2018 at 3:52 pm

It looks ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 27
    • fugley on May 02, 2018 at 4:32 pm

jepunis cars are the ugliest

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 44
      • SacktheDesigner on May 02, 2018 at 4:58 pm

Saharudin Busri head design of futuristic Proton Savvy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
        • Mimos kaki on May 02, 2018 at 9:00 pm

What the hell is Mimos doing. Why waste money for all this prototype

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 03, 2018 at 10:28 am

Abang Mimos wants his Proton job back but Geely bosses not listening.

• ok what..now p1 wanna look better with mesidis face and aUdi p… ! ooo waiii!

• Stevie on May 02, 2018 at 4:56 pm

Ok la for official cars of ministers and all JUSA out there since it’s free. Certainly no one dying to buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • John Baoteng on May 02, 2018 at 5:34 pm

Syok sendiri self-delusional design sure tak laku punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
        • Heskey on May 02, 2018 at 7:14 pm

This amazing Mimos design works worth atleast 100million. giugiaro pininfarina now redundant..

• Looks like previous passat cc to me

• Not if u add the ‘Special Styling’ bodykit

• Ugly grill. No thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • toyota no fan on May 02, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Still cannot beat ugly catfish design on all toyotas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Ben Yap on May 02, 2018 at 3:57 pm

the center pillar looks like the old school proton saga executive.

• Firdaus on May 02, 2018 at 4:00 pm

why isnt he working for Proton??

• kobealex on May 02, 2018 at 7:17 pm

With those design? No im sorry, he shouldnt be.

No offense but i dont think anyone wants to be seen in a car with those face.

• Fugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
  • benjamin franklin on May 02, 2018 at 4:12 pm

Not bad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • very handsome car,
    side by side with a5 sportback also x malu..
    congratulation to the designer, good effort

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Abdulls on May 02, 2018 at 6:25 pm

Very handsome car. But making it and selling it is another problem. No one will buy proton executive cars unless there selling it below $100k

• Momo_Cha on May 02, 2018 at 4:13 pm

Sir, please dun waste your talent on this…

• stastasta on May 06, 2018 at 5:30 pm

if he was really talented he would be working in a hyundai or audi , not in a 3rd rate government company. sucking taxpayer money to do jobs which are out of mimos scope.

• Monster Energy on May 02, 2018 at 4:14 pm

the back looks like Geely

• 12yrsold john on May 02, 2018 at 4:21 pm

Encik Saharudin Busri of MIMOS should send his design to the RIGHT person in Geely. If U cannot send to the right person, U do not deserved to be recognized.

• suomynona on May 02, 2018 at 4:22 pm

Those doors are gonna be a PAIN to open.

Also, the rear looks like it has some Geely influence.

• SALang on May 02, 2018 at 4:28 pm

Just read get Bo Rui.. settle!!!
    And Bo Rui look 100 X nicer than Mimos..

• SALang on May 02, 2018 at 4:30 pm

Just rebadge Bo Rui… settle!!!
      And Bo Rui look 100X nicer than MIMOS”s design..

• Ruslan Bahari on May 02, 2018 at 4:32 pm

Sleek looking animal there, but alas the Perdana does not sell in high numbers for any manufacturer to justify tooling and dies for this car.

• MIMOS designers are too free and nothing to do in office. The China designers are so much better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • MusTanG on May 02, 2018 at 5:01 pm

The proportion seems… off..

IDK.

• Ahmadjr on May 02, 2018 at 5:01 pm

Tutup je la mimos ni. Pergi design kereta orang apa masalah?

• Azahari on May 02, 2018 at 5:13 pm

Wow. Looks wesome

• Front fail

• abang dollah on May 02, 2018 at 5:40 pm

Good work Saharudin however you are betting on a wrong horse. Even DSZ has moved on to better pastures and thriving in Petronas.
    Please ditch P1 and move elsewhere.

• BELUT on May 02, 2018 at 6:23 pm

His design copy and paste from other manufacturer and does not look good at all. The previous designs are dull as well, not exciting at all.

• is it me or the front grille looks out of proportion between the left and the right.

bad designer

• Can’t we have a better design than this?

• Sallehjani on May 02, 2018 at 7:19 pm

Issue with proton is powertrain…design is generally ok….

• Edwin on May 02, 2018 at 7:38 pm

Volvo’s headlights with Jaguar’s rear end. True copycat. Well done

• DonkeyKong on May 02, 2018 at 8:28 pm

Good lord, that is indeed a hideous pile of junk..

• Not Toyota Fan on May 02, 2018 at 8:38 pm

Actually, why bother. Even if they launch it, the Accordana production volume would not be enough to drive material costs down. Realistically, how many Accordana can Proton sell? At 10% of last year sales, it’s merely 7,000+ units. Even with the current top selling models like Saga, the volume is STILL not enough to drive cost down.

Might just as well take Geely D Segment & rebadge. Ride on their production volume to get the best unit cost.

• Frederick D on May 02, 2018 at 9:10 pm

Fugly hideous…No talent in car design. Replace old no talent designers with younger generation.

• I quite good in guessing a car when I just manage to see small part of it… But after I saw this car, I surrender…
    I have at least 7 answers but all wrong… Sigh…

• My first impression,Lousy!Lousy!Lousy!Design.No wonder Proton can’t improve it self.This design is committing Suicide!

• Osmanus kaburos on May 02, 2018 at 11:07 pm

Yo… check out 2018 accord! They can ship it if honda give the platform. I believe this render based on it.

• David King on May 03, 2018 at 1:16 am

Very futuristic design like Germany car.Nice!

• It’s still in design phase, right? Right?? Let’s hope it stays that way.

• Khris on May 03, 2018 at 3:59 am

From the back its good, like an Audi. But the headlight proportion its weird and the rear door is too long, doesn’t match with the fastback styling.

• I have a cadangan… Mimos make perdana mimos SE. Invest in those tools la… Anyone can draw… Yet again anyone can comment. Then put ur money where ur mouth is for sales… If confident people buy why not invest for it? Most of the jokers just go to P1 and say got a good design and what not… But still i wait for a day the talkers can walk the walk…

• MIMOS supposed to design microchips. Not design cars. Looks like they do not have much work in the office. Please name one microchip that was designed by MIMOS which is a hit worldwide. Don’t waste time and tax payers money la.

• Idris on May 03, 2018 at 7:03 am

Good luck opening the rear door when you car is parked in parking bays. Its long as hell!

• Akira on May 03, 2018 at 8:42 am

The worst copy and paste design ever

• loler on May 03, 2018 at 12:41 pm

Ok you like your Vios catfish inspired design so much?
      Ok i rest my case, lol

• Phillip Lou on May 03, 2018 at 8:50 am

how’s the radio antenna going to look like ? please don’t emulate the obvious shark fin style reminiscent of BMWs; take a look at the antenna in Mazda 6, embedded into the rear glass window.

• Nieko on May 03, 2018 at 8:50 am

Why is he always using the same front grill …for havens sake use Proton’s real design language, its one of the best things about their latest cars. Say what you will guys ,New protons are easy to identify ..all because of its grill …if this car had the grill it will look really good …..but no all of Mr Busri’s concepts have this same grill which looks to much like tha new Merserdes grill ie The new CLS , A class and Amg GT 4door have this same look ….

God Dam is it so hard to have some difrencess in design ….

• Front looks a lot like a Buick

• Pengguna Prihatin on Jan 22, 2020 at 6:17 pm

Bidang tugas MIMOS dh berubah ke? Sibuk2 nk design kereta. Buang masa. Tumpukan pada core biz anda.

• Kerry Sin on Dec 06, 2022 at 8:08 pm

Good Conservative design. Best to put Proton emblem on hood and leave grill bare with confidence.

• Lala Land on Dec 06, 2022 at 9:41 pm

What a beauty! I love it

• Zerobrickk on Dec 07, 2022 at 11:50 pm

Front look seriously ugly. Back look just so so. Proton please scrap the proposal for that design.

• Outalingam Crap on Dec 08, 2022 at 10:13 am

The whole car design looks very Kaddavalleh…..Idiyaz Baharuddin’s new Myvi render makes 100x better sense than the Perdana Exec