GST zero-rated: Proton now offers GST rebate option

Proton previously announced it would provide service vouchers to customers who purchased and registered their cars from May 16 to May 31 as a response to the ministry of finance’s (MoF) switch to zero-rated goods and services tax (GST). The national carmaker is now expanding that initiative by providing customers the option of a cash rebate as well.

“Yesterday Proton announced an initiative to give Malaysian car buyers the benefit of paying zero-rated GST prices before it comes into effect. Today, we are giving them options on how they would like to receive this benefit, either as service vouchers or a cash rebate. There is now no reason to wait until June 1, 2018 to buy a new Proton as we have delivered the savings ahead of time,” said Abdul Rashid Musa, Proton’s VP of sales and marketing.

As was the case with the service vouchers offered, the cash rebates will be equivalent in value to the difference between the current and new price of the car after GST is zero rated.

Other initiatives include a 6% discount by Proton Customer Care on periodical maintenance (labour and periodical maintenance parts only) to all owners who bring their car in for servicing at authorised service centres. This service initiative will run from May 19 to May 31.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Benjamin Tan on May 18, 2018 at 6:41 pm

Great news. Plan to get Saga for my college going kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 8:15 pm

Why can’t Proton give price reduction like Honda, Toyota and BMW?

All these service vouchers have no meaning. Most Proton buyers are from the lower income, they rather see immediate cash rebate given in cash form

Many Proton owners go to smaller SC and some even bring their own oil to save cost. Although this is not allowed by Proton, but many smaller SC allows it to save the Proton owner some money.

So, these service vouchers will be wasted as most Proton owners who bring their own oil just spend very little on servicing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 3:08 pm

First thing Tun M will do when all his more important duties finish is to scrap the Boyue deal.

He will ask….sell 49.9% of Proton for RM170 million despite pumping over RM20 billion into the company?

Bye bye Boyue.

• Rashid bin Ohwai on May 18, 2018 at 8:16 pm

Proton should just give cash rebate cause most Proton buyers kais pagi makan pagi and they need the extra cash now to buy food for their family.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • Cukur Proton tak ada 300% increase in price

• Deswai proton super laku

• Christopher on May 19, 2018 at 2:35 pm

john, you said other car makers will increase by 300% if Pakatan become Government but so far, all car companies have dropped prices.

I am sorry john, we do not believe your lies anymore

• You mean you believe him last time? OMG, you should take more DHA.

• Jebon on May 18, 2018 at 9:00 pm

Let’s hope when SST comes into play, govt is coming up with another tax reduction for cars which is the customs excise duties. Maybe lower by 10%

• Bye bye Boyue..

• Abner Yamih on Jul 31, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Helo . i bought saga vvt on 26 May 218 and its already 2 month, i still ha’vent my gst rebate cash refund. Can i get some information about this. Thank You