Toll fares to be halved for two days before Raya: Tun M

Alongside announcing the reintroduction date of the sales and service tax (SST) as well as the cancellation of the MRT Line 3 project, prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad also announced after a cabinet meeting today that there will be a 50% discount on all toll fares across the country on the two days before Hari Raya Aidilfitri, June 13 and 14.

Previously, discounts during festive seasons were handed out by the highway concessionaires themselves, so it’s unusual to see such an announcement by the government. Then again, it’s a new Pakatan Harapan government, which has a vested interest in toll collection to say the least.

The coalition promised to remove the collection of tolls in stages if it won the 14th general election, which it duly did. There hasn’t been any concrete details on that front so far, but it was previously reported that the government may have to privatise highway concessionaires and take over all their debt obligations to accomplish that feat, at the cost of up to RM55 billion.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Eh, bukan dah abolish ke? Why still need pay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 97
    • Rob Mugabe on May 30, 2018 at 4:48 pm

still want to be batu api john? It takes time before it is abolished. Remember the Batu Tiga Toll? Your boss took 8 months to abolish it and demolish it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • john basher on May 30, 2018 at 5:11 pm

”The coalition promised to remove the collection of tolls in stages if it won the 14th general election, which it duly did.”

Tarak baca kah? Or hanya mau bash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
      • 1st week – stage 1 (announce abolishing)
        2nd week – stage 2 (abolished alredi)

What? Nak tunggu? Apa? No dateline so 3030 pun ok? Sah dah tipu ni…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 13
        • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 30, 2018 at 8:04 pm

ha ha ha ha ha ha….trying so hard after 3 years of trying so hard

• Haha. While ur kept “busy”, the true likes/dislikes w/o u is now open to see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
        • john basher on May 31, 2018 at 5:11 pm

So u are saying PT tipu? U think the readers will belip u or PT?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 30, 2018 at 4:24 pm

I thought its goiig to be free…again janji dicapati

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 14
  • Mikey on May 30, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Thank Q HARAPAN even though I don’t balik kampong but I believe most users will appreciate this gesture. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
    • It would have been free for raya instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Most users will appreciate that they honour their promises instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • Mikey on May 31, 2018 at 12:52 pm

Asking HARAPAN to honor all promises after 2 weeks may be asking too much don’t U think so john. I tot U are a reasonable guy. Looks like U haven’t changed after GE14. It’s time to play opposition now john.

• AutoBasher on May 31, 2018 at 5:32 pm

After 10 years also his boss never fulfill the promise of reducing car prices by 30%. What crap is this guy talking about fulfilling promises?

• https://paultan.org/2018/04/04/miti-deputy-minister-says-average-car-prices-have-gone-down-by-16-38-percent/

• Nope. If they can make such sweeping decisions like scrapping GST within 2 weeks in, this is easier for them. At least provide lah timeframe. Timeframe mana? Bila? 3030 kah?

• Panorama on May 30, 2018 at 11:49 pm

We still have to come back after that. Why reduce only before raya?.

• Cukur.. cucur.. minyak dah turun rm1.50..

• azrai on May 31, 2018 at 8:03 am

It is unfair if G abolished all the toll. Why? Because it cost the G’s coffers come from taxpayers money all around Malaysia including Sabah, Sarawak, and Felda that does not even using the tolled highway. We don’t really want to avoid paying toll but of course the rate should be reasonable just for the sake of maintenance and other operational cost.
    And certainly for the concessionaire that already expired according to the agreement, PLUS for example have lapsed the 30 years concession period should be tolled at as minimum as possible to just for the maintenance. Can you see what happened to the now toll free Federal highway? It is become even more chocking because people don’t have to pay anything at all.
    The free Pan Borneo Highway? Yes, it is what the Sabahan and Sarawakian deserved since 1963’s most of the ‘hasil’ has been gone to KL.
    Since the financial situation of our country at an alarming level, some manifesto should be reconsider. Anyway, we already sat under 61 years old regime before. it is a regime change, not just a Government change.

• kailao on May 31, 2018 at 10:01 am

they knew this before GE14, yet they still promised it in their manifesto. so now they people already give the the mandate, and now you can reconsider your manifesto??? wtf! please don’t be gov if you don’t even know what manifesto means. rakyat is not bodoh anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • 61 years under old regime, but 1/3 of it under the current PM. And now, he’s doing what he did before. Making multiple announcement without consulting his cabinet members.

On another note, abolishing toll is definitely a no-no. but maintaining the rate should be the way, which what the previous government were doing. Another thing is, the government should stop building new tolled highways for intra-cities and instead channel the money to improve public transport infrastructure in all major cities in the county. Also improve public transport and highways for inter-cities connection to east coast and east malaysia