Tesla Model 3 slow production – 23% orders cancelled

When Tesla first began taking orders for the Model 3, it was a huge success. Hundreds of thousands of people in the US placed their pre-orders, but the company started facing one production difficulty after another. In the first quarter of 2018, Tesla delivered just 8,180 units of the Model 3.

Now, a report from analytics firm Second Measure reveals that as of April, about 23% of those who placed a pre-order have had their US$1,000 deposit refunded. This comes after Tesla announced that it was temporarily stopping production for the Model 3 to address bottleneck issues.

In August 2017, Tesla said 63,000 individuals or 12% have cancelled their orders, but its CEO Elon Musk went on to explain: “it’s like if you’re a restaurant and you’re serving hamburgers and there’s like an hour-and-a-half wait for hamburgers — do you really want to encourage more people to order more hamburgers?” Currently, the carmaker has over 450,000 reservations left to fulfil.

Pricing for the Tesla Model 3 starts from US$35,000 (RM139k), netting the buyer a fully electric car with a range of 354 km, with a 0-100 km/h time of 5.6 seconds and a top speed of 209 km/h. An extra US$9,000 (RM36k) buys a long-range model which stretches the e-range to 499 km, does the 0-100 km/h in 5.1 seconds and tops out at 225 km/h. A high performance dual-motor AWD variant that’s “faster than a BMW M3 and with better handling” will be introduced at a later date.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• anonymous on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:43 pm

But people in Malaysia never intend to cancel their book of Perodua Myvi even though they are in the long waiting list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Sinister on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:56 pm

Are you retarded? At least can get a good cheap car waiting for the Myvi.

• Tajuddin Ohwai on Jun 07, 2018 at 10:08 pm

ignore him. That is our regular retard who likes to condemn Perodua in every article. Now, he lost badly, he comes here causing more trouble

• stastasta on Jun 11, 2018 at 12:17 pm

40k USD is relatively affordable. if your take home pay is 5k after taxes, thats only 8 months salary.

• anonymous on Jun 08, 2018 at 2:22 pm

Telsa in US is cheap to them.

• anonymous on Jun 07, 2018 at 5:44 pm

But people in Malaysia never intend to cancel their booking of Perodua Myvi even though they are in the long waiting list.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • Habisla Tesla!

• Sinister on Jun 07, 2018 at 9:57 pm

Memang habis…..conman Elon finally caught with his undies down

• vVivi Zurianti on Jun 08, 2018 at 7:42 am

lucky thing we malaysian have P2 and P1 (aka Geely)

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:34 am

This must be the 1st car manufacture that cannot cope with sales hence refund $$$ to buyers bcos they cannot fulfill their orders.
    Proton must be thinking why la this not happening to us, I mean the Sales exceed production part.

• This is oso the 1st car manufacture that keeps burning cash reserves as sales purportedly goes up, but now all comes crashing down. Losing sales & losing money means the company will go brankrap or bought out veli soon.

Elon must be thinking why la this happening to us. I mean he went into this looking to make profit but now hes gonna be a pauper b4 the end.

• Mikey on Jun 08, 2018 at 3:59 pm

For this to happen, U better pray hard that Tesla fail & fail Big Time becos otherwise, U have to eat your own words which happen very often by U.

• rchoo on Jun 08, 2018 at 9:38 am

American product, what can you possibly expect from them, expensive and no good.

• True dat bro. Used many Murican equipment and tools but they never last. Just only looks fancy.