Proton believes car prices will go up with SST’s return

Car buyers are currently enjoying a “tax holiday” with the goods and services tax (GST) rate currently set at 0%, which has resulted in prices being lower than before. However, many are wondering what will happen to car prices when the sales and services tax (SST) makes its return on September 1, and if they should make their purchase now.

According to Proton, now is the best time for consumers to purchase a new car, before the implementation of the SST. Citing Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) president Datuk Aishah Ahmad (and other sources), Proton believes car prices could go up with the return of the SST.

In May this year, finance minister Lim Guan Eng announced that the SST rate would be set at 10%, the same rate it was when it was replaced by the goods and services tax (GST) in April 2015. Later on, the MAA said it expected the government to set the SST to be lower than GST (6%) in order to lower vehicles prices further to promote buying. The MAA president also noted that the introduction of the GST a few years ago did have an impact at reducing car prices.

On the topic of the used car market, Proton stated that sellers generally absorbed the GST amount, and that prices won’t be affected by zero-rated GST. While consumers might view the used car market as more appealing, the processes of buying a used car could be more cumbersome due to the potential difficulty in getting loan approvals and high interest rates.

What do you think will happen to car prices following the implementation of the SST? Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• anonymous on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:03 pm

Hi All,

Please remember to check the percentage of increment after SST era.

Here is the link:
    https://paultan.org/2015/04/01/gst-all-proton-models-now-cheaper-by-up-to-3-25/

• theanswer on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Going up of Proton car prices will bode well with the launching of the up-market Proton Boyue.

Described as the 1st premium C-segment SUV produced by a Malaysian automotive brand.

• C.P. MOHAN on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:28 pm

If tax-holiday then vehicle-prices should be closer to the ‘langkawi-price’ having said that vehicle-rices will be the same with SST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Udon’tsaybro on Jun 18, 2018 at 3:35 pm

That’s like saying when rain falls the road will be wet…

• Not Toyota Fan on Jun 18, 2018 at 4:33 pm

Yeah, was gonna say to Proton …. No shit, Sherlock.

• Even if proton lelong the cars for free it’s sales will still be behind Perodua, Toyota and Honda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Yupe greater press freedom in MY Baru. inb4 certain groups orso scream for abolition of tolls

• The problem with this thinking is, that u can only crow as a jaguh kampung, while P1 alredi thinking to go global. U can just stay in MY and continue to crow within.

• Dong gor on Jun 18, 2018 at 7:20 pm

After all the proton improvement campaign I bought a Saga a year ago believing it has really changed. Just a year of using the remote control, the battery is dead. 1 year of 4x per day of locks and unlocks worn out the battery? Oh come on… Vios or city not until 5 yrs or more. Can’t even design this tiny chip properly after of many yrs.. Deserved to be bought over. Should have happened 10 yrs ago… Go home proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
      • Cool story bruf. Come back when u stop replacing the battery with Mr DIY cheapskates.

• Ruslan Bahari on Jun 19, 2018 at 5:10 pm

My July 2017 registered Euromobil Audi A6 1.8 TFSI had both remote FOB batteries replaced in February. Did I call mom and cry? No. I changed it with proper batteries.

• 7yrsold on Jun 18, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Lelong for free? What’s the point of lelong at first place?

• If you lelong, that is not free.

• Is this the same group of people that believes Proton can achieve 200K sales by 2020?

• Same L0rr on Jun 18, 2018 at 4:25 pm

Price up or down, nobody wanna buy proton with campro vvt engine & Punch CVT transmission. Buy Perodua & Toyota better. EEV engine & reliable gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 18, 2018 at 4:31 pm

Just love how Toyota SA speaks like a politician, the word “reliable” is used instead of outdated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Samlor shud start selling Jurassic World tickets for pipu to see dinosars in his showroom. The mighty T-rex hailut is the star attraction that u can ride on.

• notakata on Jun 18, 2018 at 7:48 pm

P2 = axlegate
      Toyota = takata

Avoid at all cost

• Proton = going to SC every week. Apply cuti always.

• Ambik cuti dun cost life unlike their 2 problems lor. Those one is cuti forever.

• Ahmoi on Jun 20, 2018 at 7:02 pm

Myvi &bezza have 5 star ncap. Myvi 6 airbag mininum 4 airbag. Compared to proton saga just 2 airbag.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 18, 2018 at 9:46 pm

look at paultan p1 ads.. buy p1 support Malaysia through tabung harapan. u don buy p1 ur are traitor.

• Mikey on Jun 18, 2018 at 4:31 pm

The most important thing is putting food on the table. Buy a new car only if you can afford one. Paying car installment for 9 years with interests is a long term commitment besides maintaining. Know the difference between NEEDS & Wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 18, 2018 at 9:44 pm

govt should built more rail system.. oh wait cancel already

• Diamler on Jun 19, 2018 at 12:01 pm

P1 oso allow to cancel order. So chillax bruf

• stastasta on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:43 am

govt nego the cost of HSR down to 20 billion, 50% discount. saving taxpayer money.

• proton = tan chong = both says price go up post GST = both sales drop tremendously since past 3 years

oh so many similarities

• Not just P1 or ETCM. Even PT repoted will go up in general lar. Stop being myopic. P1 just being realistic only. https://paultan.org/2018/05/28/vehicle-prices-could-go-up-following-the-return-of-sst/

• Royston on Jun 18, 2018 at 5:59 pm

Dear proton, reduce you car price lah. Strech here and there to adjust the price including sst in it

• Its ongoing. Why do u think they trying to gip world keras specs in Boyue for cheaper than world keras prices?

• Denny on Jun 18, 2018 at 7:47 pm

Strecth here n there n you get ancap 1/2 star for safety.

• i think sst not affect car price because car has excise tax…how to implement sst to car.manufactured in other country.

• One Cent Point on Jun 18, 2018 at 11:14 pm

Why create such issue or rumours? Because of politics? If the price will go up, I hope the people will boycott not to buy for half a year or more, then the price will drop for huge discount sale.

• Shaheen on Jun 19, 2018 at 1:24 am

Yet another desperate attempt to boost sales, before SST..

• Proton never give good News

• toyota no fan on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:20 am

Ask toyota, it will gip good discount news coz now tak laku

• Whats the benefit of providing happy fake news? Oh wait, that won the GE….

• M.khairun on Jun 19, 2018 at 7:06 am

Consumers, if the price go up after SST. Stop buy any car. We have the power.

• https://paultan.org/2018/05/30/government-pulls-the-plug-on-mrt-line-3-project/

No choice lor

• Mohd Izwan Dato Zakaria on Jun 19, 2018 at 8:52 am

Bad experience with Proton in 2010. Even if the car is cheaper now by 50%, I would not buy it. Proton denies any mistake in their part, even said it is within the fault tolerance and then said all other car manufacturer have the same problem, as if I never drove any of those car before. What a load of crap from Proton.

• Ross Lee on Jun 19, 2018 at 9:22 am

And i cud’nt care if they hv a newer model. They came to invest with only 5 people (so as advertised) but they came and installed their mainland china people with no experience or qualification as “Director” of all departments in place of existing experienced and qualified malaysian. Let’s get real, China’s business is simple, monies on papers is in malaysia but all transacted in china n China’s employees are all paid in china including housing food etcs except for some pocket expenses. I support malaysia and malaysian made but proton, not anymore.

• Cars in Malaysia are being taxed heavily. I suggest that we remove tax protection from proton and perodua since they are not national cars anymore. The gov should remove the current AP system since it only benefit the connected fews but not the rakyat.

• Still got this wei https://paultan.org/2018/06/11/malaysia-aspires-to-start-another-national-car-tun-m/

• West Wing on Jun 19, 2018 at 5:51 pm

After SST, the price shall remain the same as time shall be bad so car manufacturers may absorb the SST. Proton tried to scare consumers to buy now as s their sales are bad.

2nd. hand Cars shouldnt have any problem with SST as it doesn’t apply to them.

• Anonymous111 on Jun 19, 2018 at 6:48 pm

really, Proton is the only company that figured this out, what brilliant minds work there

• Becoz others havent figured it out? Oh except for ETCm of cuz… Lolz!

• Ollie on Jun 20, 2018 at 9:28 am

What is there to believe?? Sst is very clear, can calculate now. Just publish the prices after sst no need to release believer statement