GST: All Proton models now cheaper, by up to 3.25%

Proton_Iriz_Review_ 003

Proton has announced its new car prices following the implementation of the Goods and Services Tax (GST), which comes into effect today. Prices across the automaker’s model range have dropped, with a reduction of up to RM1,475 or 3.25% from pre-GST prices.

The new on-the road prices includes all models in the Proton line-up, covering the Saga, Persona, Inspira, Satria Neo, Exora, Preve, Suprima S, and Iriz.

The automaker’s entry-level model, the Saga SV 1.3 MT, is now cheaper by RM803 post-GST, while the RM1,475 reduction mentioned earlier is for the Iriz 1.3 CVT Standard, which has seen its old price of RM45,540 being revised to RM43,975.

Proton GST pricelist

Click to enlarge.

“Consumers can now look forward to not only value-for-money cars but cars with enhanced quality and safety features. For example, consumers can now buy a Proton Saga from as low as RM33,242 or a Preve 1.6L CVT Executive at RM61,023. All these prices have taken into account the 6% GST and are the on- the-road prices,” said Proton CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah.

We have updated the above price list to include all available variants in the model ranges. For a complete look at GST and its impact on car prices, read our detailed report on the subject.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• palgo47 on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:09 am

so it is true then, cars are cheaper. Should we all stop whining now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 72
    • Passerby on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:26 am

cheaper by how much? by just a mere 1-2%? where is BN promise? petrol is now non-subsidised and we still cannot enjoy cheap car thanks to proton…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 70
      • 10ost on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:37 am

from 10% tax to 6% what do you expect?

better than those who panic/though the price will further increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
        • Same Lorr on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:09 am

Buy Toyota better. Good RV. Proton got so many problem. Go to SC so many time. Plus bad RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 76
          • Where is Najib's Promise? on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:47 am

Why is Proton not asking Najib to honour his promise to reduce car prices? How can reduction of 1 to 2% help Malaysians when there is a 6% GST on cost of living?

Before the election, Najib promised the rakyat that if we voted for BN, he would reduce car prices by 30%. He assured and promised every single rakyat that we could trust BN in keeping their promises and BN NEVER mungkir janji.

Now, 2 years have passed. Car prices have gone up actually. VW for example increased all their car prices by up to RM10k.

So,why Proton not asking Najib and the BN Government to honour their promise to the rakyat.

Just like the NAP, here, BN still try to play the blur game. MITI should just instruct all companies to abide by MITI regulations, after all, MITI controls all car companies and all car companies are ultimately GLC and they should abide by their masters ie the Government.

Anyway, getting back to Najib’s promise, it is high time MAA and MITI ask Najib to honour his promise to the rakyat of reducing car prices by up to 30%. Already we Malaysians are overpaying our cars by 3x the value of the car. for example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry 2.5 in the US is US$22,000. Here, we pay RM180,000 for a 2 airbag Toyota Camry.

How is a reduction of few hundred ringgit here help the rakyat who is already paying super high car prices and also going to bear the high cost of living with the 6% GST?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 36
          • Same Lorrr - Bee Dees Promoter on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:14 am

Now, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) have no choice but to join Parkson or Jusco and promote ladies undergarments. Nobody is going to touch Toyota with no VSC and only 2 airbags. So, Same Lorrrr and Sam Loo (ori1) can now only give discounts on Sorella, Bee Dees, Wacoal, Skiva, Triumph products.

Pity them. Let is all help them by asking our wives to support them

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
          • ProtonGSC on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:33 am

GST same as 10 years ago excise duty and AP system, drop as starting “system”.

After that things/price start grow increase repeatedly by months or years… Same lies and shit tactic as always.

Yet Rakyat never wake up. Why? Uneducated system by our Govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
          • rogaz on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:04 am

This is about economy, you must understand economy before you write a long essay. If Amarica is a better no body stop you to go. Suit yourself with the place you live, do not condemn the system we have. The package in our country is like this take it or leave it. We know controlling business here, you do thing within law and you do yours, Stop complaining like kid, grow up if you really matured.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • happy with my Preve on Apr 04, 2015 at 9:09 pm

@ rogaz, if you are an economists, keep it to your self. You don’t have any rights to ask us to be out from our beloved country. Our comments here are from citizens of the country (except some) ,who love this country. We are proud to be a Malaysian and we have every right to express ourselves even though we’re not always right but our government or GLC’s should respect our view. We voted them(again&again)and pay their salary to work for country and do best for the betterment of Malaysian, not to scrape us off….

• Same old stupid.

• I just saw a few aunties lining up to buy Iriz. Aunties love Iriz

• Najib on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:57 pm

If Proton close shop, all cars price drop 30%

• Ah Beng (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:11 am

palgo47, kiasu basher will not stop whining and barking. they keep condemning proton until they able to take over the government one day..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 41
          • Iris tak laku on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:23 am

Haha… AH Beng seems kiasu also. That’s Y he is here to protect his useless P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 17
          • Adik Manis on Apr 02, 2015 at 3:37 pm

You tak balik Bangla kah? Still staying in PT?

• eims perfume on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:21 am

car price down by 3.25%

but during purchasing process, we’ll be charged with more GST from bank?

so the total cost for rakyat to pay to own a car is actually decreased or increased?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
        • Matty on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:01 am

As a Malaysian, it’s a gift for us as long as the price won’t keep going up, but we know it won’t last for long. Sooner or later, the distributors will give all sort of reasons to hike the price again, such as depreciation of Ringgit and so on.

• Ok lah…ok lah…. car price remain old price. Dun angry, ok?

• Capati Janji on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:09 am

Now 3% price reduction, still got another 27% more to go down.

Ingat, janji mesti dicapati!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:32 am

I think some already reduce about 5-10% previously..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 14
      • rogaz on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:13 am

What business you do please reduce the price. The government is doing the best for the country based on the information they have . You remenber the last election PKR said reduce petrol price, free education and many more in Selangor. So now where is the Janji, if you said to others look at your self dd you honour you janji or you have to complain about PKR too to be fare or just quiet.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:30 am

I feel kesian to all people who buy car last week till yesterday…they believe car price will be increase instead their car now instantly devalue 1-3% overnight. Who to blame now?….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Agree.
        I can see car plate number jump tremendously at JPJ last 2 weeks,should be all the booking B4 GST.

• tokmoh. on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:21 am

Iriz before this RM37k++ after discount, now no more discount, “increase” to RM41k++

Untunglah those bought before actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Drop price also still cannot sell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 42
  • rambutan on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:24 am

lol. it’s funny to see all the opposition cybertroopers go quiet when, boom, all the articles come out at once, showing that on the whole prices are cheaper

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 169 Thumb down 51
    • sick&tired on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:33 am

who cares! everything else will go up! you think people buy car everyday!!?? our car prices are still very very high.

The government is also not subsidising fuel anymore.

High car price + Unsubsidised fuel + GST= BN government manyak baguuuiii!!!

Btw i assume you like to do bend over rows and you also like to take it from the back??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 52
      • annoy_namous on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:18 pm

Who ever want normal petrol price, buy ron 95. Who ever feel he’s rich, buy ron 97 + GST. Start choosing, stop barking. The choice is out there.

• Ah Kai on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:39 am

Yeah right..!! Cheap one time but poorer many times. Be prepared for the spare part & servicing coming in. Who’s laughing now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 25
    • Superglue on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:39 am

You call that cheaper???

Setakat jimat beratus ringgit, beli handphone pun tak cukup skrg.

Anyway, here is a hint for you. You would save a few hundred bucks buying proton. However, You suffer many years paying for repair, waste time, frustation due to poor QC and suffer major loss of resale value….So go and enjoy your “cheaper proton”, my fren.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 40
    • Maseratits on Apr 01, 2015 at 12:40 am

Cheaper by 3%? That’s nowhere close to the 30% our dear government had promised the rakyat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 20
    • Tan CK on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:21 am

Have u even bought a car before? Discounts are always given for car purchases. Lower prices mean nothing. Salesmen will just reduce the discounts given. At the end of the day, the price will be the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • driver on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:26 am

its only car price, you should take into consideration fuel, service, parts n labour, insurance etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:36 am

Look at all those comment…I wonder wat happen if the price is actually increase rm100-1000. Do they will say oni small increase no problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • andas on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:47 pm

No wait! They will start make noise even if increase by rm1.. not suprise la..

• lol. you’ve angered them bro. it’s starting…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 0
  • kalau lagi cheaper ok la, harap semua kereta pun turun harga juga

• Cheers everyone. It is April fool.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:02 am

Bravo BN! You always take care of us rakyat and we like you very much. We made a wise choice voting for the right party.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
    • for_stupid_macai on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:15 am

itulah bagi sikit gula , pun sudah gembira , dia ambil pisau tikam u masih ketawa lagi , tlg lah , pandang jauh sikit …….= = dun be so stupid for this so call decrease price ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
      • macai BN/PR on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:26 am

kah kah…you all talk cock only..be it BN or PR supporters. living in dreamland only

• engineblock on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:15 am

how bout perodua???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:21 am

Looks to me that the prices are more like “discounts” rather than GST savings. Not consistent, and you can see how the not so happening models (like Iriz 1.3 Standard) getting up to 3%++.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • get a life on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:28 am

Why you guys bother so much about price cars when housing price skyrocket you didn’t see! You rather sleep and having fun with family in a car ha? Nonsense! Its time to shift these whinings to affordable rakyat housing. More meaningful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • You can find it in the housing blog… This is an automotive blog… what should u aspects. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Pls move yourself out from this blog…
      Wrong place to complain!
      4 cars only! Not 4 properties!

• sleman on Apr 01, 2015 at 4:59 am

fehh, gile murah siot! syukur2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Great move Proton.

Looking forward to seeing more good news in this nature.

• Jolly on Apr 01, 2015 at 6:10 am

Hope opposition wins next election with manifesto of……giving away free cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Sam L00 on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:16 am

still expensive compare to my TRD vios made from japan company..Toyota

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • kacimara on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:38 am

Hahaha give some get more.
    how about AP?

• kenot on Apr 01, 2015 at 7:50 am

Yup..now it is cheaper. But don’t forget. The bank charges for car loan and insurance still subject to 6% GST. So, plus minus it still same.

• It’s OTR price. But owning it down the road, means what you saved you actually spend more. But anyway, GST is certained. Just move on and focus on clearing this country of corruption buggers.

• andas on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:17 pm

Say i need to pay 1k insurance for my car.. do u think that 1k did not include with tax ka? Off course included la.. now its all depend to insurance companies whether they will reduce the fee or not.. nowadays celik people also go blind..

• ciakap on Apr 01, 2015 at 8:35 am

Now..i see why P1 give huge discount before. they want to cleared up all SST tax’s cars before they implement GST on that car. While SST tax can be reclaim by manufacturer,but to get back money from SST paid before,it will took a few months since they deal with G.

While P2 dealers keep asking SST to be paid as soon as possible since they have huge stock of cars that held SST.

For current situation, P1 smarter than P2.. Who agree? Like please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Sugar Glider on Apr 01, 2015 at 3:52 pm

Nah, i disagree. You will be surprise when you see P2 reg for March’15. Better to clear out stock by pushing outlets to sell more than usual/before GST rather than give huge discount and damage the profit of the company. P2 has secret strategy. Believe me. :)

• I thought cheaper by 32.5% :)

• cheaper by so less % better dont reduce…we still afford to pay for that…

• mitsu on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:07 am

how about second hand proton? should decrease like 30% right per year

• superman on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:31 am

desperate move by drb to sell cars to save their skins. sorry it will not work. they destroyed proton in less than three years already and even if they give cars for half price, people would not buy them. face it you are hated by Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Low Budget on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:43 am

If at half price, all existing stocks will be cleared within couple of days.

• Cheaper by 3.25323434%? Will it change anything? Nop.
    Even your RM8K+RM8K did not change anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Absolute Rider on Apr 01, 2015 at 9:47 am

Many models not up to 1% deduction.

• Idris Lee on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:14 am

alhamdulilah…syukurlah…

• Low Budget on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:44 am

Just wonder why Proton Accord is not for sale to the public yet.

• sepul on Apr 01, 2015 at 11:31 am

Cheaper price though very small percentage, but the charges for applying loans, insurance premium, interests and whatnot is increasing. So in the end we still pay roughly the same amount of money.

Unless you buy them in cash.

• xoomie on Apr 01, 2015 at 1:48 pm

paultan, what about p2?

• Betul tak? on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:13 pm

With or without price drop, Perodua still sales top.

Proton even if buy 1 free 1, masih juga tak laku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • rogaz on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:26 am

That you Malaysian look down to your own product, your own people even actually we better than American or British or Japanese. The way you think 40 years ago. Please change your mind, transform because we can do better if we believe we are better and hold on knowledge. Live with all this people, they are stupid if you really know them. Please change your mind to be better.

• P2 shame to announce bcoz all models increase RM500-RM700

• Berduka on Apr 01, 2015 at 2:26 pm

No use. Our Malaysian favourite teh tarik has increased from RM1.90 to RM2.60 at Aeon Setiawangsa. I wonder how gov want to control the inflation.

• rogaz on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:19 am

You have to control by not going there anymore. Why not make it yourself or open your own food business and make it cheaper, your have to be independent not keep on asking others to do for you like kids.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Bersuka on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:41 pm

Yeay, just got to know the price back to normal. Thats a power of consumer!!!

• 2.36 + 2.55 + 1.39 + 1.63 + 1.38 + 1.69 + 1.37 + 3.23 + 3.25 + 2.53 + 2.6 + 1.62 + 1.7 + 1.07 + 1.22 + 0.55 + 0.3 + 0.07 + 1.65 + 1.82 + 0.89 + 0.86 + 0.75 + 1.47 + 1.62 + 1.25 + 0.48 + 0.87 + 0.59 + 0.97 + 1.18 + 0.95 + 1.52 + 1.14 + 1.25 + 1.1 + 1.06 = 51.93%

janji didapati

• Expensive cars more discount up to thousands and for normal entry level cars only few hundred ringgit.So GST benefit for the rich people.

• annoynamous on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:28 pm

Traders is actually the people that making money during SST. They didn’t declare the price they get and set their price among them. Thus they are making money but declared not making the profit and wanna skip paying tax. Now GOVT implement GST so the seller declared their price and pay the tax. The most people that get the impact will be the middle man who buy cheap but wanna sell high but now afraid coz they need to pay tax. This group is the people who kompang around the country that GST is a burden but actually they are the one who cekik our darah last time, wanna profit rocket high but don’t wanna pay tax. Now all pening kepala coz need to declare the price and pay the tax. This kind of people is the ones who always set if I have profit rm1 last time, after tax also wanna profit rm1. They pass the burden to us. Now is our choice to select and know who’s the real culprit. Happy Hunting Guys. Select the best.

• old dog on Apr 01, 2015 at 10:39 pm

Protong car price should be:
    1) Saga – RM20K
    2) Iriz – RM30K
    3) Preve/Exora – RM40K
    Now that is call car for Malaysian.

Just focus these 4 models and improve their quality.

I will buy Proton then.

• rogaz on Apr 02, 2015 at 8:35 am

Please my friend last time when we have Pewaja the price of steel is so low suddenly pewaja in trouble the price of steel so high. The same happen top Proton if gone car price will increase. Because of Exora the price of MPV standstill and many people can drive MPV if not business man will keep increase the price of other car even when the price of petrol has been reduced. Please think bro.

• DayTime Deen on Apr 06, 2015 at 10:43 am

i wanna buy Proton Iriz, sales person.. help me, offer me the best.. plss.